Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Boomstick Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
Old school boomstick
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $135.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 65
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  54%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  43%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Boomstick Reviews
Dye Precision Boomstick Being the Ultralites sleeker grandfather this is an amazing barrel. The honing on the steel is much nicer than it can ever be on aluminum so there's less drag on properly matched paint in a steel...
Report this review to a moderator   #32170
Vegard
LOST
Vegard's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Norūwegr
Vegard is a Supporting Member
Vegard is a founding member
Vegard has been a member for 10 years
Vegard is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $20.00
Pros: Heavy, sturdy, great shooter
Cons: Heavy, often glued barreltips
Being the Ultralites sleeker grandfather this is an amazing barrel.
The honing on the steel is much nicer than it can ever be on aluminum so there's less drag on properly matched paint in a steel barrel than there is in aluminum.

In short, the Boomstick is a great barrel that will be a great addition to any gearbag and today they can be had for next to nothing in the used market

There are however a couple of cons, the first of which could also be a pro depending on how you look at it. It's HEAVY compared to aluminum and CF barrels.

A heavier barrel will result in less felt 'kick' from a marker, but it will obviously also require that you ate your wheaties 3-4 times a day to compensate for it.

The last con is that alot of these are glued, IE the back and front are glued together instead of threaded. [Some one piece versions also exist]
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Dye Precision Boomstick I was so stoked to get this boomstick. It was the big thing back then and it really was a great barrel. Since then, better barrels have come out at somewhat better prices. It had great anno, the...
Report this review to a moderator   #14311
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
akward silence's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
akward silence has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: high quality, accurate, durable
Cons: not perfect
I was so stoked to get this boomstick. It was the big thing back then and it really was a great barrel. Since then, better barrels have come out at somewhat better prices. It had great anno, the thread options were seemingly endless, and it shot darts with the right paint. You can't go wrong with a boomstick for regular play. I wouldn't recommend it for tournaments unless you are shooting perfect paint.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision Boomstick Boomsticks shoot just as nice as ULs but are just twice as heavy. They are typical, nice barrels from Dye.
Report this review to a moderator   #17969
bunkerkingap1
I-40 Fuel
bunkerkingap1's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Moore, OK
bunkerkingap1 has been a member for 10 years
bunkerkingap1 plays in the PSP
bunkerkingap1 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
bunkerkingap1 plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $45.00
Pros: best barrel ever
Cons: heavy
Boomsticks shoot just as nice as ULs but are just twice as heavy. They are typical, nice barrels from Dye.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Boomstick Great barrel one of the best on the market. It would be the best in my books if it was cheaper. The barrel shoots really nice and straight. Its also easy to clean.
Report this review to a moderator   #22690
HarrisonJones
#9
HarrisonJones's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 501 AR
HarrisonJones is a Professional paintball player
HarrisonJones plays in the PSP
HarrisonJones supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Lightweight shoots straight easy to clean
Cons: price
Great barrel one of the best on the market. It would be the best in my books if it was cheaper. The barrel shoots really nice and straight. Its also easy to clean.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Boomstick the boomstick is one of my favorite barrels of all time, i have the stainless steel back and love it, the weight makes any gun shoot so much smoother and for that it makes them a great choice on any...
Report this review to a moderator   #21976
TimTaylor
Zombies make me smile.
TimTaylor's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dos Cinco Tres
TimTaylor owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TimTaylor is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $20.00
Pros: one of my favorites
Cons: none imo
the boomstick is one of my favorite barrels of all time, i have the stainless steel back and love it, the weight makes any gun shoot so much smoother and for that it makes them a great choice on any gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Boomstick It's is a very high quality barrel and can take a beating. It has been replaced by the modern aluminum and carbon fiber UL Barrels. Its still the original.
Report this review to a moderator   #21910
WhiteWilly
LACE UP!!!
WhiteWilly's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Oxford, MA
WhiteWilly plays in the PSP
WhiteWilly plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $65.00
Pros: Accurate
Cons: Weight
It's is a very high quality barrel and can take a beating. It has been replaced by the modern aluminum and carbon fiber UL Barrels. Its still the original.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Boomstick I've used Ultralites my whole life until I found a deal on here for a 16" one-piece Boomstick. I decided to get it for fun at practices and then decided that it worked better than the stock barrel on...
Report this review to a moderator   #15647
Cory688
 
Cory688's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Cory688 is a Supporting Member
Cory688 has been a member for 10 years
Cory688 plays in the APPA D4 division
Cory688 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Cory688 is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $20.00
Pros: Awesome
Cons: Heavy
I've used Ultralites my whole life until I found a deal on here for a 16" one-piece Boomstick. I decided to get it for fun at practices and then decided that it worked better than the stock barrel on my Cyborg RX and decided to play with it all the time. I like the length and the awesomeness that Boomsticks represent. It is definitely heavier than some other barrels but I can't get over how cool they look and how old it is. Great barrel without a doubt.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Boomstick I purchased a 2-piece Boomstick in 2005 because I heard how popular it was and how good it performed. I liked the sleek look of the barrel, but wasnít a fan of the weight. I used it for a couple days...
Report this review to a moderator   #3847
lrYerfdog
Armageddon
lrYerfdog's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Timbucktwo
lrYerfdog owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
lrYerfdog is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Accurate, uses UL tips
Cons: Heavy
I purchased a 2-piece Boomstick in 2005 because I heard how popular it was and how good it performed. I liked the sleek look of the barrel, but wasnít a fan of the weight. I used it for a couple days before I bought an UL and gave the Boomstick to my little brother, who still uses it to this day.

Similar Products Use/Owned -
Dye UL
Stiffi and Stiffi Switch
SP Freak/Jr.
J&J Ceramic
Evil Pipe/Driver
And many more!

Look - This barrel looks really nice. I like the way it flows with smooth edges and nice transition from the back to the front. The back of this barrel is always silver and made of stainless steel. But, by changing the tip, the user can customize this barrel to fit almost any marker, which is very appealing. The Tip comes in many different colors and is completely interchangeable with the Dye UL, which uses the same threads. My brother uses a gloss black tip on his.

Durability - Overall the Boomstick barrels that I have used have survived through some rough dives and other seemingly damaging play. The only thing that seems to happen to these barrels is the anno wears off on the tip. The tip is made of aluminum thus much lighter but, also not as strong. (Read my review on the Dye UL to hear my story of faulty tip threads! It is relevant to this review because the Boomstick uses the same threads and tips as the UL). One thing about the Boomstick, though, is that back when they were newer you could buy one glued or unglued (like most of todayís barrels). The glued Boomsticks were much more durable and would not experience thread problems like I did. In my UL review I planned on gluing it myself to make it like an older style glued Boomstick but, I am neither experienced nor have the tools to do this properly. Other than that the Boomstick is practically indestructible (Iím pretty sure nobody is going to bend stainless steel playing paintball). There's no anno in the bore so it doesn't wear out, and since the back is silver scratches are hard to see.

Performance - Well like most high end barrels this one was decently accurate. I shoot ball on ball all the time with this barrel. Since Boomstick performs very similar to the UL the link (provided below) to The Paintball Barrel Test is helpful. It shows the UL's accuracy as a little above average amongst the other high end barrels it was tested against. I rarely ever get a barrel break but when I did it was a quick swipe of my battle swab and it worked prefect once again. Next, I donít believe that there is much difference between the accuracy/spread of any high end barrel on the market. They all seem to work great as long as the bore is very close or perfectly matched with the barrel, and all seem to shoot fairly poorly with a bad bore to ball match. The Boomstick only comes in the standard bore (.689) which reduces the ability of the barrel to be matched to smaller or larger paint. This means the user has to purchase the right size paint to fit the barrel, rather than changing the barrel to fit the paint. Despite this, it performed better than my Freak kit with standard bore. Next, different markers may require different length barrels to achieve the best accuracy. So, having the ability to change out the tip, which comes in sizes ranging from 12"-18", gives the player a quick way to change their barrel length. Finally, it is available in many different threads to fit all different markers.

Price - The price of the barrel itself is a bit expensive for me. It retails at $135 and I think it is worth the price but I also feel that no barrel should exceed $75 unless it is a kit. One downfall of the Boomstick is that it only comes in one bore size and thus no kit option. In addition there is no color option, only silver. The 2-piece build of this barrel is a great feature enabling the user to purchase only half, rather than a full, barrel to change length.

Miscellaneous - This barrel weighs a lot more than most of the barrels out on the market today aside from maybe the SS Freak which is made of the same material. The Paintball Barrel Test provides a lot of great information on the loudness and weight of many of the barrels out on the market. The Boomstick weighs in around 270.4 grams, which changes a little if the tip is longer or shorter. There is not much difference between barrels when it comes to loudness but, the Boomstick is in the middle of the pack (once again there is only a measurement of the Dye UL but it is extremely similar).

I would recommend this barrel to anyone who is looking for exceptional quality, accuracy, easy cleaning, and customizability in their barrel. It comes in all sizes so it is great for any position on the field or any personís style of play. You can find answers to any of your questions or problems in the Barrel forum here on PbNation. If your question is not asked already there are plenty of experienced people in there that can help you figure it out.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Dye Precision Boomstick The boomstick was the first 'true' barrel I ever purchased. At the time, it was the big man on campus. It's very high quality and can withstand a lot of punishment. Performance is great but it's...
Report this review to a moderator   #20279
buckeye_man18
Black Ice
buckeye_man18's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: The United States
buckeye_man18 has been a member for 10 years
buckeye_man18 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
buckeye_man18 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
buckeye_man18 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Classic, durable, accurate, sexy
Cons: Heavy, pricey, limited colors
The boomstick was the first 'true' barrel I ever purchased. At the time, it was the big man on campus. It's very high quality and can withstand a lot of punishment. Performance is great but it's really quite expensive and has been overtaken by the modern aluminum and carbon fiber barrels of today.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Boomstick This is a great barrel, only issues would be price and when you great paint unlike some barrels where you can shoot out the paint you can not with the Boomstick
Report this review to a moderator   #19633
fofo
Make an assessment!
fofo's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Indiana
fofo plays in the PSP
fofo plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Great Barrel, Shoots stright
Cons: Can't shoot out broken paint
This is a great barrel, only issues would be price and when you great paint unlike some barrels where you can shoot out the paint you can not with the Boomstick
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Add New Review