Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Ego Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
Ego
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $1,250.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
 Reviews: 63
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  81%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  19%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Ego Reviews
Planet Eclipse Ego I will be doing this review on the just the Basic 07 Ego and may put in some references to the Zick Kit I own in the review but will be mostly with the Stock Rammer. Looks - Appearance Has very nice...
Report this review to a moderator   #1929
OTEdge2
 
OTEdge2's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mission Viejo
OTEdge2 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Grips
I will be doing this review on the just the Basic 07 Ego and may put in some references to the Zick Kit I own in the review but will be mostly with the Stock Rammer.

Looks - Appearance
Has very nice milling every where, no complaints on that. Has a nice design and the bolt matches up on the back perfectly so there is nothing out of line. Only complaint here is the super small gap between the Eye Covers and the Frame where the little bit of eye wiring is exposed, this has yet to become an issue and probably never will be so no reason to say that's a con, besides that the eye covers fit flush to the body and everything flows well together.

Accuracy - Performance
Nothing but perfection in this section. The stock barrel is fine for the paint I was using and had no problems. I was shooting Players Choice Paintballs which is very basic paint, had no curving, bouncing, or chopping. As a matter of fact I rarely if ever chop any kind of ball from low brand to top of the line paint. The consistency on it is pretty good to at about 5+/-.

Speed - Performance
It is fast as you need it to go. Has many different modes and the stock board is pretty customizable. Has all the basic modes that can be adjusted (Good for these new BPS changes, no need to get boards flashed or anything). The marker is capable of extreme high rates of fire, and will for sure go as fast as your hopper can.

Feel - Performance
This marker is so small and light compared to 2006 and before models of Egos and most other high end guns. Now it is heavier since new Egos are out but this still is so very thin and light, switching hands is a breeze and you hardly feel the gun. It balances out very well to. The grips feel really nice and are sticky enough for not slipping but still smooth, only complaint with grips are that they tear eventually which isn't that big of a deal but now I will need new ones. Only thing so far that I have found that's actually bad about the gun.

Sound & Kick - Performance
This gun isn't the greatest in this but it has been improved over previous models. A lot of people like the sound of there Ego and don't mind it, and the kick really isn't that bad. If you don't like it, go ahead and get a Zick Kit. I have one and made the gun kick quite a bit less and changed the sound from a "Pap" to a "Pop" which in the end made it a little bit quieter. Tuning the marker also helps this quite a bit, try and find someone who knows a lot about Egos to put nice settings on your gun and you should be setup with a Smoother/More Efficient marker. I wont consider this a Con since it is expected in Egos and is exaggerated, its really not that bad.

Efficiency - Performance
Hate to say it but before I tuned the 07 Ego, my ETeks efficiency was way better than the Ego's. After tuning it, its a lot better now but still bugged me that it should be better out of the box (After break-in period). Not to say it is bad at all, after tuning it now I am getting about a Hopper and 6 Pods which to me is pretty good, before it was Hopper and 4 Pods. Great Efficiency.

Maintenance - Reliability
Easy - Peasy - Lemon Squeezy. Basic maintenance takes just a couple minutes, advanced takes about 15-50 depending on your knowledge and pace. This marker contains a small amount of O-Rings so it is easy to just go through and lube stuff. Manual is pretty good and if that doesn't work out for you Planet Eclipse has great customer service and the stickies on PBNation work well to.

Bang4Buck - Value
This marker is a huge step up from its previous models and is going for a good price used now. I don't regret buying this for one second and you really get what you pay for. If your looking to step your game up I would totally recommend the 07 Ego. (Or any ego for that matter)

Disclaimer - Please Read
I take time on my reviews to make them honest and non-bias as possible, on most occasions I will spell check them and revise to. The point is I take a lot of time on this and do appreciate good ratings, or bad ratings if you feel it deserves it. Before rating please read the full review and base your ratings on my review and not the gear and my opinions on it, if you do I have no control over that but please do it just to be nice. Thanks - OTEdge
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego Ego is a solid gun. Its really light and compact. One of the best designed guns on the market. Open bolt you don't have to take the gun apart to clean the breech part.
Report this review to a moderator   #27839
Bunk3rKing
Shens!
Bunk3rKing's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: FL
Bunk3rKing is BST Legit
Bunk3rKing plays in the PSP
Bunk3rKing owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Bunk3rKing is a top reviewer
Bunk3rKing is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,200.00
Pros: open bolt
Cons: a lot of air
Ego is a solid gun. Its really light and compact. One of the best designed guns on the market. Open bolt you don't have to take the gun apart to clean the breech part.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego I have owned 3 Ego's 05, 07, and the 08 I'm using at the moment. My overall experience with these markers and Planet Eclipse has been great. As a company Planet Eclipse has always strived to make the...
Report this review to a moderator   #159
LunchBox937
Really a 2k12'er
LunchBox937's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Midwest
LunchBox937 helped look for balloons
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $950.00
Pros: reliability, perfomance, low maintenance
Cons: N/A
I have owned 3 Ego's 05, 07, and the 08 I'm using at the moment. My overall experience with these markers and Planet Eclipse has been great. As a company Planet Eclipse has always strived to make the best marker money can buy, and they have done this year after year. While the Ego is pricy, it will give you more bang for your buck than other high end makers, and this is why:

-Lightweight; PE has paid close attention to reducing weight without sacrificing performance or comfort

-Reliable; maintenence is extremely low, and when there is an issue usually it's an easy fix (PE has great customer service too)

-Accurate; great accuracy with new or old/brittle paint. The balls do tend to arc down as they slow down in the air, but I see this as an advantage because when shooting over the top of an opponants bunker you can drop paintballs in on them giving them less room for cover.

-User friendly; with the easy to read display, and large protected buttons you will have no problem setting up your marker, or easily turning your eyes off before a game

You can find other high end markers that focus on being more quiet, more accurate or faster, but you won't find a marker that excels across the board like the Ego does. I give the Ego 9.9/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego Appearance: The Planet Eclipse EGO is by far the best looking marker on the market right now. From 2005-2006 there weren't alot of differences with the ego's appearance. However, the jump from...
Report this review to a moderator   #798
jamesbobob
www.paintballshowcase.com
jamesbobob's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Light, easy to maintain, reliable, great C.S.
Cons: Not one. Ever.
Appearance: The Planet Eclipse EGO is by far the best looking marker on the market right now. From 2005-2006 there weren't alot of differences with the ego's appearance. However, the jump from 2006-2007 is amazing! The integrated ram housing on the 07 ego makes the marker look so skinny and light. Also, the milling on the 07's is absolutely amazing.

Performance: If the EGO was never produced I don't think I would play tournament paintball, no other highend marker performs as good as an ego. When P.E. produced the ego they definetely put 100% of their effort into making a marker that didn't break down or require stressful maintenence. Once you break in and tune your ego correctly, you can get so much out of your ego. Efficiency is one thing you get with an ego. Since the ego is a poppit you're saving alot more air, but it does run at a higher pressure than spool valves. Out of the box greatness is another thing you get when you buy an ego. Once you take it out of the box it is ready to go. There aren't any "must have" upgrades to make sure your gun doesn't chop or have horrible efficiency like most guns. However, there are still little things like upgraded rammers that can reduce kick. If you want a marker that outperforms the rest then the EGO is for you.

Reliability: Well, since the EGO operates on a poppit valve I believe you end up with a more reliable gun. When you buy a shocker or other spool valve you probably will have to invest in an oring kit to replace the shredded or damaged orings that your marker will cause. Out of the multiple ego's I've owned I've never shredded, damaged, or had to replace an oring. A couple drops of oil on the ram is the only maintenence this gun ever needs and maybe some vaseline on the regs every 10 cases or so. If you're looking for a highend marker that never breaks down and has the least amount of maintenence then look no further this gun is just for you.

Value: For how cheap the 05 ego's are now you should have no problem getting an ego. You really do "get what you pay for" when you buy an ego. Plus, you get the best Customer Service of all time.

Overall I give the EGO a 10/10 since it deserves it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego I'll try my best in this review to describe the kick and the loudness of an Ego for those who don't have access to one because it seems that these are the only two things that could turn away anyone...
Report this review to a moderator   #1962
geekus
Hustlers
geekus's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NY
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Light, fast, easy maintenance, sophisticated board
Cons: Loud and a bit kicky
I'll try my best in this review to describe the kick and the loudness of an Ego for those who don't have access to one because it seems that these are the only two things that could turn away anyone to be a potential Ego owner.

It is louder than many guns but with a barrel, hopper and paint, it's no louder than dry firing a Matrix gun with a barrel. If that's too loud for you even if it's one of the fastest and lightest gun, then certainly you don't want a high performance gun. What you're looking for is James Bond's gun complete with silencer. As for the kick, it's comparable to an untuned Matrix gun. The Matrix' kick is even worse than that of an Ego when untuned. An Ego's kick barely cocks the gun back or raise the barrel. If anything, it's a tiny forward and backward jolt. With the Zick kit available on the 07, and comes stock on the 8, it's not quite Matrix yet, but it sure as hell is a lot less noticeable. But even without the Zick, with steady hands, it's minimal.

Having mentioned the only bad things about an Ego (count them one, two!), check out the goodies. First, name a gun that comes with a stock board as sophisticated as that of an Ego. Go ahead. Name just one. All guns can change to an aftermarket board and it would be justifiable. Not the Ego. Not even with the Yakuza board. Read on and you'll understand why.

The Ego's stock board comes with every single setting possible for the gun, readily available, as if it was programmed to be the most customizable board ever. You can fine tune it to infinite combinations and possibilities, all to your liking. Don't fret, it's not at all confusing or complicated. The manual explains it all. It has an easy to navigate menu allowing you to browse and shuffle through the menus and settings forward and backwards. Its battery efficiency is good without sacrificing the bright display. It is also loaded with features, as mentioned above, and last but not least it has optical trigger sensors. What's a better way to register trigger pulls than a pair of eyes? But don't worry, it has a microswitch for those finicky players (who feel at ease at the sound of a click) as well. But chances are you'll never use it. Speaking of the trigger, you won't notice any side to side movement because there isn't one. Other guns debate over a spring, a magnet or a combination of both to make it as close to the bounciness and responsiveness to that of an Ego and can only come so close. The wired eyes are also very sturdy and the detents are cheap to replace. The stock Q-lock feedneck is superb although a little on the tall side. The HPR and LPR are easy to clean, maintain, and access. The gun, externally, is almost as customizable with CCU kits. The stock barrels are one of the lightest and most accurate out there.

Now, onto the maintenance part. Everything is oiled except for the HPR, LPR and on/off. You only have to grease those maybe every six months or so. As for the oil on the rammer/Zick, bolt and other parts, you only do them when you clean the gun... and those will take a whole ten seconds of your life at most. A few drop of oil on each of the O-rings and ten seconds later, you're wrapping your baby back in the gun case.

Egos are a quality gun. That's the bottom line. Everyone already knows what it is notorious for, but until people really hold and shoot one, they tend to overlook its fine qualities. You can't turn your back on an Ego based on two factors because there's so much more to it. It's very hard for any gun to cater to everyone's liking, but once you've mastered and learned to deal with the flaws of an Ego, it could easily be the best marker you've ever had or will ever have.

I'm a proud owner of an 07 Ego and a Yakuza'd PM8. I'm also a previous owner of an 06 Ego, PMR and UL'd PM7.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego Ive owned ego's from the 05-07.... All of them are amazing guns. Planet Eclipse once again is on top of the high end elec market. Their great design, innovation, and overall good performance, makes...
Report this review to a moderator   #152
chillinspyder2
Rockin' Cocks
chillinspyder2's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Light, Fast, Sexy, Reliable, Tough
Cons: N/A
Ive owned ego's from the 05-07.... All of them are amazing guns. Planet Eclipse once again is on top of the high end elec market. Their great design, innovation, and overall good performance, makes it an unbeatable marker. Each year they improve their technology and keep up to the current market standards. The guns have become alot lighter over the years. Also the LED display is amazing, easy controls and the trigger is smooth.

This market is light, requires little maintenance, is easy to lube on/off the field. Planet Eclipse is a steadfast company that produces great reliable markers

9.5/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego when i got my 07 ego i first didn't really like the feel of it but it grew on me really fast. It shoots amazing, perfect in every way. +/- 2fps on my consistancy. I havn't chopped a ball yet. the...
Report this review to a moderator   #2187
ff7sephiroth_phantom
RELENTLESS PB
ff7sephiroth_phantom's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: kirksville Mo
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $675.00
Pros: light, fast, awsome trigger, efficiant
Cons: nothing
when i got my 07 ego i first didn't really like the feel of it but it grew on me really fast.

It shoots amazing, perfect in every way.
+/- 2fps on my consistancy.
I havn't chopped a ball yet.
the stock barrel is awsome
the LCD is a major +
The trigger made me want to cream my pants
It is freakishly light
ball on ball everytime
IN NEVER BREAKS

I was a gun whore over the summer but now that i have an 07 the only guns that i would take over it are Sl 74, Sl 8r, and an 08 ego.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego My review is of the ego7: I have been using my ego for around 4 months now. I have not had 1 problem with it, It is amazingly accurate, VERY fast, you don't need to but i hit 29bps with my gangstar...
Report this review to a moderator   #34
ryanpb03
*Headstrong*
ryanpb03's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: So-Ohio- 513
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $695.00
Pros: everything
Cons: not much i can think of
My review is of the ego7:

I have been using my ego for around 4 months now. I have not had 1 problem with it, It is amazingly accurate, VERY fast, you don't need to but i hit 29bps with my gangstar vlo, very consistent at +/- 2 over the chrono, i get around 8-9 pods and a hopper off 45/45 with around 800 psi left, extremely light weight, and it feels really good while playing with it. I have used other high ends, dms and pms, i am now an ego owner for life. I love the way it feels and shoots. I did upgrade to the zick kit so it has virtually no noticeable kick, and mine has the lp and hp bump pistons to help with consistency. The first time I used my ego I was actually smiling under my mask as I was watching everyone I was mowing down walk off the field. If you are looking for a true high end marker, and have the money I would HIGHLY recommend this marker to anyone. I have not found 1 thing that I dislike about the ego, it has the lcd read out on the board so no more counting those stupid little lights. you just push the button read what you want to change and set it.

You don't need to upgrade this at all either if you dont want to. These things RIP right out of the box. I rate this a 9.9 out of 10. ONLY because nothing in my eyes is perfect and you will not see me rate anything a 10 out of 10 because there is always something you can improve or something you can make a little better. Ego's are now what I measure all markers against now. You can always find another marker that is a little more efficent or a little quieter, or just a little different. You WONT find another marker that has ALL the qualities the ego has. They take everyone you want and put it in a sweet sexy little package for you to run around and shoot people with.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego I love my ego more than anything. I have owned a few guns but none can compare to my 07 ego.It is hands down the best shooting gun you can buy. Its a huge step up from any other gun. It's incredibly...
Report this review to a moderator   #206
josh_paintball
Jesus FW
josh_paintball's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kansas
josh_paintball plays in the PSP
josh_paintball owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
josh_paintball posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Lightweight, good looking, feel.
Cons: Nothing
I love my ego more than anything. I have owned a few guns but none can compare to my 07 ego.It is hands down the best shooting gun you can buy. Its a huge step up from any other gun. It's incredibly reliable,fast,light,air efficiency is outstanding, looks are amazing. I can say its better than any other gun that i have owned. (around 10 highend guns)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.6/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego this review is of the 7 too, i dont like the way the 8's look so my rating would be different. i've been using my ego7 for a while now and i still love it. i didn't like the looks of the ego8 so i...
Report this review to a moderator   #137
balla245
 
balla245's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: mars
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,160.00
Pros: i can't fit them in this box
Cons: only con i have is the price
this review is of the 7 too, i dont like the way the 8's look so my rating would be different.

i've been using my ego7 for a while now and i still love it. i didn't like the looks of the ego8 so i rated this a 5, it may not be perfect but i don't see anything out right now that i like better.

its fast, accurate (shaft barrel is amazing), light, very easy to clean and lube ( i could do it in less than a minute), it's efficient.

the only downside to this gun is that it is more than $1000 which even though it's a good gun, is a lot to pay for any type of sports equipment.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.6/5 stars.
Add New Review