Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - SL66 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
Appearing in 2006, the SL66 was an expensive "pro" edition of the Ego 06. It featured extensive milling to cut down weight, some new board features, and a new bolt system. SL66 Egos are no longer in production.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2006
 MSRP: $1,000.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 19
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  53%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  42%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  5%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - SL66 Reviews
Planet Eclipse SL66 This gun outshot all of my other guns. Never failed me in the cold or hot weather. I will never sell my SL66.
Report this review to a moderator   #12720
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
akward silence's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
akward silence has been a member for 10 years
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $899.00
Pros: Everything, best gun out there
Cons: nothing at all
This gun outshot all of my other guns. Never failed me in the cold or hot weather. I will never sell my SL66.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL66 Pros Weight- The SL66 is much lighter than the 06 ego and only slightly heavier than the 07 ego. LCD screen- Like all egos (the Etek series are not egos) the SL66 comes with an LCD screen, although...
Report this review to a moderator   #2969
dapope12
drink my holy water
dapope12's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tallahassee
dapope12 plays in the PSP
dapope12 helped look for balloons
dapope12 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
dapope12 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
dapope12 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: *see in depth
Cons: *see in depth
Pros
Weight- The SL66 is much lighter than the 06 ego and only slightly heavier than the 07 ego.
LCD screen- Like all egos (the Etek series are not egos) the SL66 comes with an LCD screen, although it is not a pro to egos its definity a pro to other guns. The LCD screen allows players to easliy view what they are changing and there is no need to memorize lights and flash counts
Bolt strip and lack of o-rings- The SL66's stock bolt is very nice and there are no o-rings to seal air, unlike matrixes, which reduces the chance of a leak down the barrel which could set you back a few games while you figure out which o-ring to replace. Also the SL66 can have the bolt stripped (just lift the pin and pull the bolt out) in the middle of a game while gasses up and have a swab run though the entire top tube to clean a ball break.

Cons
Noise- The SL66 is loud, its not the gun for those who like to be quiet and sneak. There isnt much you can do to reduce the noise, a TI rammer and a well tuned dwell could reduce the noise but not much, even though the loudness of the SL66 will not affect play.
HP Regulator- The stock HP regulator is not a bad regulator it just that it uses shims. The 07, SL74, 08, SL8r, and the etek II all do not have shims. The only downside of shims is that they need to be cleaned and oiled every once in awhile and they MUST be in the right order (up, down, up, down, ect) for the regulator to work.

Appearance- The SL66 recieved 4 stars because the gun flows. Everything has been thinned and the SL66 looks as if the 06 ego went on a diet. Also the SL66 comes in XSV edition and Bushwacker edition so you can represent your favorite pro team.
Performance and Reliablity- I have put the Performance and the Reliablity catagory together because they go hand in hand. The SL66 is one of the most reliable guns I have ever used. It consistantly shoots between 290fps and 295fps in the chronograph which allows the ego to perform at its best. The stock bolt is easy on brittle paint which will further reduce the chance of a ball break. By far the SL66's reliablity and performace gives its a perfect 5 stars
Value- Although the price of the SL66 is definitly worth it, the original price of the SL66 when it first came out was alittle much (over $1700 much). With the ego market leaning toward 07 egos and 08 egos the SL66 is at a great price.

Conclusion-
The SL66 is a great gun; its light, reliable, fast, and gives you all the goodies you can expect from an ego. If your looking to gun an ego but dont have the money for an 07 ego go with the SL66.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL66 This is my favorite gun out of any I have ever owned. I bought one new in 2007, and of course many people ragged on me cause I spent so much money however, I was glad I did. The SL66 was one of the...
Report this review to a moderator   #15835
Pballer56
Unleash the Fury
Pballer56's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MD
Pballer56 supports Sherwood Forest
Pballer56 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Pballer56 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Pballer56 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Pballer56 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,600.00
Pros: Reliability, speed, efficiency
Cons: Price
This is my favorite gun out of any I have ever owned. I bought one new in 2007, and of course many people ragged on me cause I spent so much money however, I was glad I did. The SL66 was one of the most reliable guns I have ever owned. Everyday I played with it, it never leaked ONCE. I'll even admit for the first year I had it I was lazy, I barely cleaned or lubed it and it still shot without a single problem. All I can say is, even these days the SL66 is amazing. If you have the chance to buy one, I highly recommend it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL66 this was by far the best ego ive ever owned. it shot great, felt solid, looked incredible and was so easy to maintain. i was one of the first owners of this gun, buying it a the nppl boston 06 event....
Report this review to a moderator   #16132
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE
Playoffs??? PLAYOFFS!!??
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CT
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is a Supporting Member
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE has been a member for 10 years
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE plays in the PSP
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
AdReNaLiN jUnKeE is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,800.00
Pros: light, fast, simple to work on, great air eff
Cons: none!
this was by far the best ego ive ever owned. it shot great, felt solid, looked incredible and was so easy to maintain. i was one of the first owners of this gun, buying it a the nppl boston 06 event. the only drawback was me paying 1800 for it. paying 600 now adays would still be justified in my mind. even though you can find them for around 350-400. if you have the chance, snatch one up. these guns are rock solid and in my mind eclipse hasnt improved much on the design since this
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL66 The SL-66 is one of my favorite paintball markers. I have owned more than one and have liked the way they both shot over my Ego7s. The SL-66 has never given me any problems and is very easy to take...
Report this review to a moderator   #2679
Dan2581
Kidney
Dan2581's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SoMich 248/269
Dan2581 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: Amazing gun, reliable, shoots well
Cons: Over time, value has decreased
The SL-66 is one of my favorite paintball markers. I have owned more than one and have liked the way they both shot over my Ego7s. The SL-66 has never given me any problems and is very easy to take care of. The gun is lightweight, but is not too small for some peoples preferences. The SL-66 may seem outdated, but it can keep up with any of the newer guns at this point. Despite the weight, performance, and style, the SL-66 boasts amazing efficiency. I could shoot almost a case through my SL-66 before having to fill my 68/45. The gun has no kick, is very quiet especially compared to most other egos, and gets the job done when it counts. The SL-66 is still decreasing in value as time goes on, but its great performance and style keeps it up to date. Definitely a great buy if you need to save your wallet, but want a reliable high end.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL66 I've had a couple of these. The newest being bought for very cheap(used). Shoots just like any other Ego6, but the added bonus of being lighter, better designed regulator, and usually, better board....
Report this review to a moderator   #14442
wdpangeldude
Kenny Long
wdpangeldude's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kentucky
wdpangeldude is a Supporting Member
wdpangeldude plays in the PSP
wdpangeldude supports Team VICIOUS
wdpangeldude supports Pev's Paintball
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: light for it's time, eclipse quality
Cons: expensive when new
I've had a couple of these. The newest being bought for very cheap(used). Shoots just like any other Ego6, but the added bonus of being lighter, better designed regulator, and usually, better board. If you bought one for regular used price, it'd would be better to buy an Ego7 for about the same, as far as performance goes.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL66 it is an amazing gun looks great is reliable. It is amazing and the price i got mine for was great as well alltho i do want to upgrade to a new gun
Report this review to a moderator   #6455
XSV45
 
XSV45's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Falls Church VA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: very light weight looks amazing!!!!
Cons: has a little bit of a kick to it
it is an amazing gun looks great is reliable. It is amazing and the price i got mine for was great as well alltho i do want to upgrade to a new gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL66 It's loud like an ego, but it's also crazy reliable and efficient like an ego!
Report this review to a moderator   #14894
x420psykoticx
Business Cat
x420psykoticx's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
x420psykoticx is a Supporting Member
x420psykoticx plays in the PSP
x420psykoticx owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
x420psykoticx is an NCPA player
x420psykoticx is one of the top 25 posters on PbNation
x420psykoticx is Legendary
x420psykoticx is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Reliable, efficient, fast
Cons: Noise
It's loud like an ego, but it's also crazy reliable and efficient like an ego!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL66 got a steal on this gun. havent regreted buying it one bit. shoots accurate ropes and i love it
Report this review to a moderator   #16646
Jax_Freestyle
i am the one who knocks
Jax_Freestyle's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ur *****ez
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $34.00
Pros: light
Cons: loudd
got a steal on this gun. havent regreted buying it one bit. shoots accurate ropes and i love it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL66 I love my Bushwacker SL66. It has been one of the best guns I have ever owned. I don't plan on selling it anytime soon.
Report this review to a moderator   #21163
Aaron94
Pineapple
Aaron94's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tulsa/OKC
Aaron94 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Aaron94 supports Team VICIOUS
Aaron94 is for the Gunfight
Aaron94 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: The weight and reliability
Cons: It is extremely loud
I love my Bushwacker SL66. It has been one of the best guns I have ever owned. I don't plan on selling it anytime soon.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review