Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2007 (Ego7) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
Planet Eclipse's high end marker.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $1,250.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 146
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  71%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  27%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2007 (Ego7) Reviews
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) Edited 4/20/10: I just wanted to say that the last two years with this gun have been the best I've ever had playing paintball! I know that the Ego 10 is now out as well as the SLS, but I still...
Report this review to a moderator   #3201
CAOL_98
Ego User
CAOL_98's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wyoming
CAOL_98 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
CAOL_98 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $950.00
Pros: Almost Everything
Cons: Rubber Nubbin' Detents
Edited 4/20/10:
I just wanted to say that the last two years with this gun have been the best I've ever had playing paintball! I know that the Ego 10 is now out as well as the SLS, but I still love this gun every time I go out and play. I have been so happy with it's performance and ease of maintenence. Air effeciency is very good, and I have yet to chop a single paintball in the breech. Since purchasing the gun I have switched to a cure 3 bolt and a zick 2 kit. Both of which further increase the performance and reliability even further, of the gun. I have only great things to say about Planet Eclipse and their line of markers after owning my Ego 7. It's the only gun I've ever used while playing that I air up and just forget. I don't have to worry about it letting me down on the field...I can just focus on playing.
For anyone interested in an Ego 7, or an Ego of any year for that matter, you will not be disappointed! If this is your first foray into a pro-gun, then by all means make this your intial stop...you won't regret it!
Also for the record, I am now back to using the "rubber nubbin' detents". The kila detents were not all that they were cut out to be, and the cheap nubbin's will more then suffice...especially with the cure 3 bolt installed which is easier on the detents. So overall I would have to say now, that there is pretty much not a single thing I can find fault with in this gun. Not to say it's perfect, but damn is it close!

So far I have no complaints with my Ego 7. It's been an amazing experience ever since I first recieved it, and it just keeps getting better!
The first time I aired this gun up and put some paint through it I was amazed at the accuracy (even with a .693 barrel bore.)
The weight is just incredible! I know there are lighter guns, but coming off of an Ion (mine weighs in at 2lbs 7oz with all the upgrades), a DM5 w/Ultralite, a DM6, and various Autocockers (mechanical and electronic), this is the amazingly light! Lightest gun I've owned/held (aside from my friends new Mini.)
Air consumption is amazing! I can play a lot longer then I can with my Ion. I don't have exact numbers, but I'm sure it's pretty effecient on air.
Chopping issues...none. So far I have been through 4-5 cases of paint and not single chop. I don't even think I've had a barrel break (the .693 barrel bore is to thank for this...I'm still amazed at the accuracy though!) I did experience eye problems, but that was my own fault, I think I over-oiled the bolt o-rings and the oil gunked up my eyes.
Maintenance is a breeze! Don't even think because this is such a reliable gun with so many nice perks that it's going to be a pain to maintain. In fact it's the exact opposite...it took me all of 30 minutes to totally disassemble my gun (thanks to the amazingly well written manual...if you get a used 07 and don't get a manual with it...download it...it's perfection in writing), reg and all, regrease/re-oil, and reassemble. I've never owned a gun that is this easy to maintain!

My favorite highlights of the gun:
-lightweight
-nice ergonomic design and feel
-cure bolt/ deftek feedneck /breakbeam eyes = no worrys about chopping...ever.
-maintenance

What I don't care for:
-board options...don't get me wrong, I like all of the adjustability, I just don't care for how crazy you can get with everything...I upgraded to a virtue board to simplify things a bit. Not a bad board at all.
-rubber nubbin' detents...I hate them. They probably do their job just fine, I just like the thought of detents that are not going to snap off eventually and make my gun turn into a blender...I replaced them immediatly with kila detents to make my life easier.

Overall this gun is my perfect weapon of choice. I'll be playing with this marker for a long time to come!

-CAOL
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) Pros: -light marker -pretty air efficient -oled screen -feels nice in the hands -stock barrels shoot pretty nice for being big bore My favorite year ego is the '07. Always a reliable gun.
Report this review to a moderator   #18888
bignasty sns
Addison Winstead
bignasty sns's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central Ohio
bignasty sns plays in the PSP
bignasty sns owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
bignasty sns supports Team VICIOUS
bignasty sns is an NCPA player
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: review
Cons: Loud...
Pros:
-light marker
-pretty air efficient
-oled screen
-feels nice in the hands
-stock barrels shoot pretty nice for being big bore


My favorite year ego is the '07. Always a reliable gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) I bought the Ego here off the Nation and I was obsessed with the way it looked. Loved the feel and the look, doesn't get much better than that. The jump from the Ego6 to the Ego7 was by far the...
Report this review to a moderator   #3109
Buddha k
You wanna touch it...?
Buddha k's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Buddha k plays in the PSP
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Reliability, Efficiency, Weight, ect
Cons: None Yet
I bought the Ego here off the Nation and I was obsessed with the way it looked. Loved the feel and the look, doesn't get much better than that. The jump from the Ego6 to the Ego7 was by far the largest jump in technology for Planet Eclipse and I cannot thank them enough.

Appearance: When looking at the Ego my eyes where attached to the uniqueness of the milling and just it's overall look. The Gloss Red CCU kit looked amazing on it's Gunmetal body. The detail they went into was amazing all over the body.

Performance: From the very first shot I loved the way it was shooting, perfect ropes with Draxxus paint is a very good combination. The assembly and disassembly was extremely easy. Probably the first marker I was able to take apart and put back together without a problem. During practice I was not having any problems with random leaks or small problems. The ropes where clean and every ball went where it was supposed to go, it didn't even chop the crappy practice paint I practice with.

Reliability: I did not have a problem relying on this thing, I used it in one tournament and I didn't question my choice at all. It preforms when it needs to and that's what I love about this marker. You keep the marker clean it works the way Planet Eclipse made it to work.

Value: With the SL-74, Ego8 and SL8R coming out the price on this thing has dropped significantly and it is by far one of the best markers you can get for your money. I decently up'd one for maybe 650$ is an amazing deal.

Overall I recommend this marker to anyone that's been in tournament ball for years, or people getting into it. Easy to maintain and shoots amazing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) I got my EGO 07 in a trade for my old mini. First off I would like to say that this was a huge step up from my mini. If you read my review of the mini, you would know that I thought very highly of...
Report this review to a moderator   #5443
FBHS RAINMAN
Σπ Sigma Pi
FBHS RAINMAN's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marietta, GA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $525.00
Pros: In review
Cons: in review
I got my EGO 07 in a trade for my old mini.
First off I would like to say that this was a huge step up from my mini. If you read my review of the mini, you would know that I thought very highly of it, and I was truly surprised by how much nicer/better it performed over the mini.

Appearance:
This is a very nice looking marker. When I first got it, I was immediatly impressed by the milling and anno job that PE put into this marker. The milling is very nice with a good mix of curvy and sharper lines. It is not plain, but it is not over-loaded either. I also like how the cure bolt is milled to match the "fangs" on the back of the body.

Performance:
When I first got it, I reset it to all stock settings and changed it to uncapped ramping. I was able to get a max BPS of 26 using my Torque loudmouth w/ 150 motor. It did have a good bit of kick, but I have since added a zick kit, and lowered the dwell and LPR. I was able to get a max BPS of 30 with these new settings and had almost no kick. The tip of the barrel had moved maybe 4-6 mm through a full pod of paint with average BPS of 23 and max of 30. I definitely recommend a zick kit if you get an 07 EGO if it doesn't already have one.

Reliability:
This marker seems to be very reliable. I haven't had it long enough to give a lot of details, but from what I have seen, it seems to be great. My only problem was my QEV diaphragm was dirty, but that only took about 2 minutes to fix. Other than that, it has been flawless.

Value:
I traded my mini for it and added some cash, but I'm glad that I did. Worth every bit of the money I added. If I wanted, I could still sell it, and get back a good bit of money. Seems to be holding its value very well.


Pros:
Stock board:
There is absolutely no need to buy any kind of upgrade board. This already has fine tuning capabilities and uses an LCD screen so you don't have to count blinks. firing mode adjustability is by the .1 increments so you could do 13.3. now that they have lowered the ROF to 10 it can go down to that as well. A lot of the other upgrade boards are having to be sent in and get reflashed, but the stock EGO board is just fine. to the designers at PE

ASA:
This thing is awesome. when you are turning on the air suppy, it is like there is no pressure. It turns on so smoothly, and airs up fast. No leaks or anything. It also purges the un-regulated air from the macro line when you turn it off.

Grip frame:
The grip frame is very comfortable to hold, and is very light. Fits nicely in my hand.

Regulators:
This thing is super consistent. I have chronoed in a +/- 3 every time out to the field. Last time I chronoed results : 284 284 287 285 284 285. That is pretty awesome

Trigger:
This thing is really nice. It is very crisp and has a lot of adjustability. I also like the choice between micro switch and opto switch

Cons:
Detents:
These are my only complaints. They work good, but seem easy to break. Mine have not broken yet, but they bend out of the way, and are not spring like others. I could see how they would break. They are rubber so after a while they will dry and break.


Thanks for taking the time to read my review. I hope that it is helpful to you.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) Although the Ego7 is not the best in appearance in my opinion, it is a great gun. It will be the kind of gun that will be realiable for you each and every time you go out to play. Matinence is very...
Report this review to a moderator   #15746
tweeter4
Quinn Nadu
tweeter4's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lancaster PA
tweeter4 posts videos on PbNation
tweeter4 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
tweeter4 is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Reliable, easy to maintain, efficient
Cons: Loud, ugly
Although the Ego7 is not the best in appearance in my opinion, it is a great gun. It will be the kind of gun that will be realiable for you each and every time you go out to play. Matinence is very easy on this gun and take less than 5 minutes once you are familiar with the 07 ego. I think the 07 is one of the best guns designed in the ego family. It shoots great. The 07 is rather loud though and I always thought this was the one downfall of this gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) Performance man i love this marker its super light so its uber easy to run and gun. Ur gonna get great air efficiency out of it...and as long as you maintain it you should have a rockin marker....
Report this review to a moderator   #3890
imortaltechnique
!!BOOST my EGO!!
imortaltechnique's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: 808 STATE OF MIND
imortaltechnique has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $850.00
Pros: super light, fast, great air eff.
Cons: price
Performance man i love this marker its super light so its uber easy to run and gun. Ur gonna get great air efficiency out of it...and as long as you maintain it you should have a rockin marker.

Milling compared to the 05 and 06 there is a drastic difference in weight and appearance. i mean after the 06 i was like much smaller can they make this thing and BAM!! there it is the most beautiful thing you ever saw. i think the milling is super sexy real thin look and feel.

Accuracy im gonna give that a 10/10 jes cuz its improved so much over the couple of years the ego has been out. its not a dm but i think it will get the job done.

Conclusion all in all this is a super marker you wont be disappointed if you get one. its really reliable and i feels its got every thing you need in a tourny marker. but if i had one cmplaint it would be the price when they first come out but then again its not stopping me from buying one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) well over the last few years of playing and going through guns spider electra knightkast shocker ion etek dm6 legend now 07 ego
Report this review to a moderator   #2949
pip666
 
pip666's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $850.00
Pros: weight, speed, comfy feel, perfection
Cons: to good of a gun
well over the last few years of playing and going through guns
spider electra
knightkast
shocker
ion
etek
dm6
legend

now 07 ego

basically all i can say is WOW
this gun defines comfy, reliable, efficient,

best of all next to nothing maintenance

only somewhat of an issue can be the noise they can be kinda loud but after breaking them in

well any ego

they quite down kinda

but yea 08=ripoff

stick with 07

great gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.6/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) have had the gun for awhile.. its on 07 redz ego, bone stock its a great gun... i dont like giving it ****ty paint tends to chop once in awhile but cleans itself very well... very easy to take apart...
Report this review to a moderator   #2333
marcski22
 
marcski22's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Illinois
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $950.00
Pros: Fast, light, easy maintence
Cons: cannon effect, can be a chopper
have had the gun for awhile.. its on 07 redz ego, bone stock its a great gun... i dont like giving it ****ty paint tends to chop once in awhile but cleans itself very well... very easy to take apart and clean up can do a full maintence check on it in less than 10 minutes while eating gun is way to easy... from the sidelines she sounds like a cannon going off but she is faster than **** and its not like anyone plays woodsball with these so who cares how loud they are everyone knows where you are anyway... but this gun is 5 stars all the way very efficient and very easy to maintain im a proud owner and i doubt ill ever own anything else especially another dm with all them damn orings...... id recommend this gun to anyone who has the money to afford it ppl who have their parents pay for it dont deserve the right to shoot this gun!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) first the pros- great gun, fast, reliable, easy to clean/take care of, some etek parts are able to use on it(eyes,bolts ect) light weight, cons- i dont know if its just my gun or if it is an acual...
Report this review to a moderator   #4417
frankie frank
EKK Elite
frankie frank's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minnesota
frankie frank plays in the PSP
frankie frank owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
frankie frank supports Team VICIOUS
frankie frank plays in the APPA D4 division
frankie frank supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: light, fast, easy to take care of
Cons: my stock cure bolt blew my detents up
first the pros- great gun, fast, reliable, easy to clean/take care of, some etek parts are able to use on it(eyes,bolts ect) light weight,

cons- i dont know if its just my gun or if it is an acual problem with all of them but my stock bolt kept blowing out my detents. i just threw my cure 2 bolt off my etek and it hasent happed since.

over all great gun. you can now pick them up fro around $700 and are almost the same as the 08's, but just an upgraded board,bolt,and zick kit i think. i would highly recomend buying this gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) AMAZING
Report this review to a moderator   #5328
ktiblets
 
ktiblets's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: waxhaw, north carolina
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $485.00
Pros: everything
Cons: i got a freak accident (paint in solenoid)
AMAZING
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Add New Review