Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2007 (Ego7) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
Planet Eclipse's high end marker.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $1,250.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 146
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  71%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  27%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2007 (Ego7) Reviews
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) Egos are perfection in my opinion. I absolutely positively LOVE EGOs. I would chose an ego over any other gun any day. Seriously, shoot one and see. The ego5 and ego7 (I guess the SL66 as well) are...
Report this review to a moderator   #13989
akward silence
Deep Sea Diving
akward silence's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Honolulu, HI
akward silence is BST Trusted
akward silence is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
akward silence is a top reviewer
akward silence is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Egos are perfection in my opinion. I absolutely positively LOVE EGOs. I would chose an ego over any other gun any day. Seriously, shoot one and see.

The ego5 and ego7 (I guess the SL66 as well) are my all time favorite guns. Go try these out before you pass them off as overhyped.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) I've had a ton of ego7s, they are the best thing since sliced ham.
Report this review to a moderator   #12452
ihateionhaters
Stay Frosty
ihateionhaters's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal
ihateionhaters is playing at Living Legends V
ihateionhaters owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
ihateionhaters owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
ihateionhaters supports Team VICIOUS
ihateionhaters supports Team VICIOUS
ihateionhaters is for the Gunfight
ihateionhaters is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: everything
Cons: doubt there is any
I've had a ton of ego7s, they are the best thing since sliced ham.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) This is the AK47 of tournament paintball This gun is arguably the fastest gun ever made, look it up if you don't believe me Has all of the modes Still as good as current models (2012) Looks great,...
Report this review to a moderator   #12911
NkdMangina
Brandon Doyle
NkdMangina's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MN
NkdMangina plays in the PSP
NkdMangina is playing at Living Legends III
NkdMangina is playing at Living Legends V
NkdMangina is playing at Living Legends VI
NkdMangina posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: reliable, fast, effecient
Cons:
This is the AK47 of tournament paintball

This gun is arguably the fastest gun ever made, look it up if you don't believe me
Has all of the modes
Still as good as current models (2012)
Looks great, easy to find and buy
Will/has held its value for years
has all of the features you need, clamping feedneck, on/off, good board, nice reg, 2 piece barrel.

If you're on a budget, this is THE GUN TO BUY

I would think twice about it, just buy one in the color you want, they're for sale everywhere
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) Comparing to other Ego models, it is better than most. The 7 and 8 are in my opinion, the best models. Light, reliable, amazing, design, and more. The 7 has a little more swaps on the milling and...
Report this review to a moderator   #11707
Oakley33
Ego 07
Oakley33's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 419
Oakley33 is playing at Living Legends V
Oakley33 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Oakley33 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Oakley33 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Comparing to other Ego models, it is better than most.
The 7 and 8 are in my opinion, the best models. Light, reliable, amazing, design, and more. The 7 has a little more swaps on the milling and designs which gains my vote for the best Ego. Never done me wrong, what else can you expect from Planet Eclipse ?
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) I shot my 07 Vicious Ego for roughly a year. It was reliable, lightweight, and dead on accurate. It had great efficiency, and felt right in my hands. It could have had a slightly larger gap between...
Report this review to a moderator   #14449
Ultiplaya11
ASMC Elite
Ultiplaya11's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nor*Jers 973
Ultiplaya11 donated to help Peyton Trent
Ultiplaya11 supports Team VICIOUS
Ultiplaya11 supports Team VICIOUS
Ultiplaya11 supports Team VICIOUS
Ultiplaya11 has achieved Level 7 in PbNation Pursuit
Ultiplaya11 is one of the top 100 posters on PbNation
Ultiplaya11 is Immortal
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $999.00
Pros: Weight, feel, looks, reliability
Cons: Price, size
I shot my 07 Vicious Ego for roughly a year. It was reliable, lightweight, and dead on accurate. It had great efficiency, and felt right in my hands. It could have had a slightly larger gap between the frame and the reg, but it was fine. The milling was tight and clean. It didn't look cluttered, and it didn't look starved. Overall a great gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) Great reliable gun, one of the best choices in the used gun market. Don't ever really have to worry about it, just pull it out every weekend and its going to work great for you.
Report this review to a moderator   #14102
HoktFonix
TTU & VT PB Ex-President
HoktFonix's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: McKinney, TX
HoktFonix plays in the PSP
HoktFonix donated to help Peyton Trent
HoktFonix supports our troops
HoktFonix is an NCPA player
HoktFonix is reppin' sidebar 4 life
HoktFonix is a top reviewer
HoktFonix is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Super reliable, good look
Cons: Loud.
Great reliable gun, one of the best choices in the used gun market. Don't ever really have to worry about it, just pull it out every weekend and its going to work great for you.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.9/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) The Setup Black 07 Ego Green CCU Kit Zick Kit Dwell 13 LPR 2 Turns In Other Improvements My first impressions were good but not amazing since I have already owned previous Egos, and it came in the...
Report this review to a moderator   #2892
OTEdge2
 
OTEdge2's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mission Viejo
OTEdge2 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Covered In Review
Cons: Covered In Review
The Setup
Black 07 Ego
Green CCU Kit
Zick Kit
Dwell 13
LPR 2 Turns In
Other Improvements


My first impressions were good but not amazing since I have already owned previous Egos, and it came in the same tin box, with the foam material on the inside. Now, for a first time Ego Owner, this might be a suprise and really shows that Planet Eclipse cares about their customer and really backs up their product.
Upon opening the box you will find your new Eclipse Ego, a bag of allen keys and O-Rings, Eclipse Gun Oil, Manual, Stickers, and the Barrel. These are the standard things that most high-end gun companies would include with your marker.
The 07 Ego Operation Manual is a pretty in-depth manual and helps you with the most of the basic, and some of the more advanced options and maintainence instructions of your new marker. A quick sum up of how it is would go like this: " The Manual has a black front and back cover with black background pages too. Inside you will find instructions and information on the parts of your gun, the basics of how to set it up, its advanced set up with the board, maintainence with all the cleaning procedures, trouble-shooting, loction of the company, and the warrenty card." For the most part the manual is perfect, including in-depth discribtions, along with pictures to help.


Now here is the base of the review, the marker itself, starting off with how it feels when it shoots. You shouldnt compare any ram driven markers to a spool valve gun, but that wont stop some people. Compared to the earlier Egos, this is a lot quiter and smoother. This can depend on the settings, and with mine it shoots pretty good. This is a rough estimate, but when shooting it I could see approximatly a 7mm to 12mm barrel raise on single shots and in a straight ramping mode it stayed at around 11mm from the original point before any shots. All of that was using just a standard $1 ruler. When it shoots, it makes a "TINK!" noise, which sounds fine to me. Those of you coming straight from spool valves may not like it since your used to puffs of air but thats up to you.
Getting a little more specific here, lets talk about the eyes. Changing from the earlier Ego editions, the eye covers now have a curve on the side of it, which looks better than the 05-06 covers. The eyes themselves are a lot easier to stay put when you put them where they should be, and dont just flick back up once you let them go to put the eye covers on, so that is a nice improvement. The eye technology is nice but from what I have seen is the same as the previous versions, but not a problem since it works great. It uses a break beam system which works better than the light reflecting eyes. My complaints in the eyes catagory is first, the wiring. It long as your grip frame is on tight, the noid is in the way and dosnt allow for easy wiring but long as you do it before you put the grip frame back on, it shouldnt be a problem. Another was that the eye covers dont fully cover the eye wires. On the bottom portion, between the body and the grip frame, you can see the eye wires which is a flaw that they should have fixed in the beginning of production and they never ended up changing that. Neither of these effect performance in any way, just a couple of things to complain about.
Lets head north now, to the feedneck. Honestly, there isnt to much to say about it since it is just a feedneck. Now on the 07 Ego they actually include a stock C-Lever. It is still the DefTek design which is the feedneck being off set so that the balls cant bounce back up, good design. 06 or Earlier Feedneck Models are not compatible with the 07+ Models.
Going backwards is the bolt, lets discuss that now, shall we? The Cure Bolt now also being included with it is a plus. It has the 2 O-Rings on the front to absorb the hit of the paintball, causing less chops. The detent slots on this are pretty small so you will still experience your detents breaking frequently. On the top is a little hole telling you where you should push down your bolt pin to attach to the ram, it is a little more convienent. The milling on the bolt matchs the back part of the upper tube on the Ego so this lets the looks flow alot better. Not real complaints about the bolt, exept the detent slots maybe.
The bolt is nothing without the rammer, see how this is. The stock rammer is nothing impressive, just a basic one, a little smaller compared to the earlier ones, just so it can fit the 07 Ego's new size. After putting in the Zick Kit, the kick was reduced so much and I really recommend it. Not much else to say about the rammer exept that it could be improved.
Jump to the other side and we will find the LPR. Once again though, not to much to discuss about this. Both the springs found inside of it are identical so no more mismatching them like in some other Ego's. I am not sure at this moment but I think the LPR Cap might be slightly smaller than the previous ones too. The only thing I can recommend is after breaking in the marker, putting the LPR screw 2 turns in, this helped my gun out quite a bit when tuning it. Maintainence on this is pretty easy, just lube it every 3 or 4 cases and you will be shooting dreams and the gun will treat you well.
Under that you have the Inline Regulator. I find that Planet Eclipse makes a great regulator and I have no reason for upgrade on this. It is easy to service, includes a swivel and is stylish to. I get great consistancy with it. Over a nice big chronograph I took 7 shots that went like this: 289, 287, 289, 289, 290, 288, and 290. Lowest is 287 and Highest is 290, a 3 +/- which is fantastic in my opinion. Maintainence same as the LPR, exept there are shims included in this one. Dont forget that there are the 16. )()()()()()()()(
Now we make our way over to the grip frame. It is extremely thin compared to the other models and feels a lot better in your hand. Its trigger guard is fairly large but not enough to accomadate 3 fingers. The buttons are easy to press. Unscrewing the frame is easily accessible unlike some other guns I have used or teched.
Ok lets see those giant things covering the frame, none other than the grips.Feel wise, they are great. They are very tacky and hold to your hand well, along with a cool design on it. Reliability wise, they arnt worth poo. After about 3 months use, they started to peel and the rubber is wearing off very quick so I will need new grips soon. Disappointing but what happens, happens I guess.
Inside them you will see the board.Besides the whole inside of the frame being a little crammed full of wires, it is overall good. The board is very customizable which is great for being stock. You can customize the main menu screen, you can save modes, set your own ramping modes, and change your settings. Basically the only thing that I can see that it dosnt provide is uncapped ramping. After using an 08 Ego, I am a little jealous of that board, since the screen has a White Background with Black Lettering, which lets you see better with day light.
The Trigger, I really like it. It is more in the scythe design this time, which is one of my favorites. It is 4-Way Adjustable, which lets you get it to how you like it. You can make it tight, loose, bouncy, stiff, just about any way you like it. (All of that sounded wrong.) This can all be a matter of opinion but I love it. Also the Microswitch or Optical choice is really nice, and lets the user really get the gun to fit themselves better.
One of my favorite parts now, the Asa + On/Off. I have used a lot of ASA's and this is by far one of my favorite. When airing it up, it feels like there is no pressure and it airs up very quick, no leaks or anything. Unairing it does it very fast and smooth, no loud thing of air coming out or anything. Not to mention that is very small and compact compared to some others. Tightening it is definitally easier now to since it can be done externally on the bottom of the ASA instead of inside the frame. I will hate you if you change your ASA.
Ok, as for the flat out look of the marker. I think it is done perfectly. It is not just plain and boring, but it isnt very busy either, just in the middle. Perfect in my opinion. There were no milling or annodizing flaws out of the box, but I have experienced fading at the back of the snatch grip. This is very minor but it is still there.
Low on air? Not a problem. This is hands down one of the most efficent markers I have ever used. After broken in, the Zick Kit, and most my settings adjusted, I just got about 6 or 7 pods and a hopper off a 68/4500. This is excellent efficency, and perfect for a back player like me.

So we are almost done, lets break this down and see what the good and the bads are.

Pros
1. Fast (Atleast 15+ BPS)
2. Accurate (14" Stock Barrel, Great Consistancy)
3. Efficent (6-7 Pods + Hopper off a 68/4500)
4. Reliable (Has had a leak like 2 times)
5. Light (Lighter than a DM7)
6. Thin (Both Tubes are about big as a Quater)
7. Looks Great (Duh)
8. Customizable (Board, Trigger, Settings, Colors)
9. User Friendly (Easy to tech and use in general)
10. Customer Service (Planet Eclipse is always there for you.)


Cons
1. Eye Gap (Very Small, but hey it is a con)
2. Wiring (Not really bad at all but whatever)
3. Detents (They really need to improve on these soon)
4. Grips (These are tearing bad and makes me sad)


Alright so overall the Planet Eclipse 07 Ego, is one of the best to this date in my opinion (Discluding 08,SL74,and SL8R). If you can get this gun I would recommend it fully, especially if its at a good price. Hopefully you took something from this long review, and thanks if you read the whole thing or even attempted to.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) This ego mows people down... super light weight, super accurate, milling is nice. and performs in all weather types
Report this review to a moderator   #23144
paintballer123321
D-Botch!!!
paintballer123321's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Washington State
paintballer123321 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
paintballer123321 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
paintballer123321 is a top reviewer
paintballer123321 is Legendary
paintballer123321 is Boss
paintballer123321 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: light weight, accurate
Cons: nothing
This ego mows people down... super light weight, super accurate, milling is nice. and performs in all weather types
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) First Impressions: I didn't like the previous 05/06 Ego's over Shockers and DM's; still, they were incredible guns. Picking this gun up for the first time, it pretty much took my breath away .....
Report this review to a moderator   #3279
rjs21
 
rjs21's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NEW to Baton Rouge, LA
rjs21 donated to help Peyton Trent
rjs21 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Many ingenious features, reliable, user friendly
Cons: Loud, detents


First Impressions:


I didn't like the previous 05/06 Ego's over Shockers and DM's; still, they were incredible guns. Picking this gun up for the first time, it pretty much took my breath away .. Kind of like Megan Fox in Transformers .. It was RIDICULOUSLY LIGHT and balanced. The new rubber grips conform more to the natural grip of your hand. Shooting this changed my perspective on Eclipse as making the greatest marker available.


Performance:


Accuracy- stock barrel shoots very well .. I love the fact is is .693 stock bc it is always better to over bore for tournaments. Accuracy is more than just paint to bore match .. it is also depends on how frictionless the surface is (hone) which explains why UL's are awesome and this is just as good ..

Shooting- does have Vibration and barrel rise more than Dye or Smart Parts markers, but you will have no problem maintaining ropes, lanes, one balling

Trigger-
I like this smooth trigger over any of the Egos (up to Sl8R even) .. it is opto or switch which is nice .. but I think everyone uses switch probably . very good microswitch return. VERY ADJUSTABLE

Efficiency- Just like any Ego about 1600 shots of a 68/45 ... 10 pods and a hopper for your NPPL back players that spill half of it anyways

Breaking Paint
- Ok, I have a Zick Kit but even before that I didn't break one ball in the chamber even in the worse conditions ... out of 80 cases of paint
to this date. Pretty Insan
e. Cure bolt is

Reg-
+/- 5 fps which most high ends avg. Which makes the Ropes, accuracy, and shooting smooth. Nice to grip, swivels, and EZ to take apart

ASA- great ASA, serviceable, bleeds air

Feeneck-
CLAMPING! Rather have it sit lower, but it still works with Vlocity, Halo, Pulse, JRNY, Torque all fit. Even if you decide to Shake n' Bake (remember those days?).

Detents
- has the stupid rubber nubs which are CHEAP in both ways. I see Eclipse going to ball detents in 09 which last FOREVER .. like that tattoo you have of your X's name

Board-
Greatest feature. LCD display .. very navigational .. if you can use an IPOD . you can definitely use this ... Has the major modes NPPL, PSP, and can be capped at 13.3 BPS, 12 BPS, or 15 BPS. Easy to program.


Reliability and Maintenance:


Definitely a plus over other markers. A little oil here and you are set. Eclipse is the only company to admit you can use 3 in 1 oil or Vaseline which also works great ..

The QEV is now serviceable over previous models

Stripping down the whole guns is made VERY SIMPLE

MANUAL:


Eclipse, Angel, and Dye have the best manuals out.

E CS: At events, they are super friendly. Best customer service in the industry hands down. Plus they have several service centers around the country.



Overall:

Pros- Most performance, reliable gun out! Doesn't really need any upgrades at all.

Cons- Detents, for $1250 they should be ball bearing. Loud but you won't loose your hearing.

SUBJECTIVE:

Just look at the B/S/T forums and see how many people want to trade for an Ego or up from 07 to 08 .. etc. Definitely, a sound purchase is the shaky world of PB products.

If you can't afford an 08, there is no difference in performance of an 08 over a Zicked 07 ... The one QEV is already proved to cycle just as fast and uses less parts than the 08's so don't fall for gimmicks. Pick one up for $650.

This is the first gun I will recommend to anyone looking to buy a tournament marker.



PLEASE RATE MY REVIEW - I wrote it on a napkin and had a 12 yr old type it .
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2007 (Ego7) Please don't read my pro's and con's and jump to a conclusion I bought my Ego7 new right before the Ego8ís got on the market for the masses. My shop already had gotten the 08ís in but hasnít put...
Report this review to a moderator   #4779
justavillain
I've got nothing
justavillain's avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sparta, Michigan
justavillain is a Supporting Member
justavillain is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
justavillain is a top reviewer
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: Ease of Maintenance, speed, reliability, OLED disp
Cons: Grip panels, detent ware, noise, T Slot ASA, Trigg
Please don't read my pro's and con's and jump to a conclusion

I bought my Ego7 new right before the Ego8ís got on the market for the masses. My shop already had gotten the 08ís in but hasnít put them on the wall and I viewed this as a good opportunity to buy the 07 at a lower price and get a marker that is just as good as the 08 since there wasnít a lot changed from the 07 Ego to the 08.

I have used this Ego is a hand full of Tournaments and for a ton of local play; it is a very nice and reliable marker for any person to use and play with.

The Stars and why I gave what I gave


Appearance Ė 5 Ė over all this is a nice looking marker, has nice lines and a good body, the CCU kits allow you to ad a little bit of a custom flair to your marker. I chose a white CCU kit to go on my gunmetal Ego7.

Performance Ė 5 when you have a marker that can fully cycle faster than any normal force feed hopper that is amazing.

Reliability Ė With a 5 min maintenance job and the only thing you need to think about is the QEV diaphragm going out makes this a very very reliable marker.

Value Ė 4 Ė I gave it the 4 because itís an awesome buy for what theyíre going for now but when you bought it at the 1250, or 1000 like I did and now theyíre going for about half or less then what they were new itís a little sad. So for you the buyer of a used one itís a 5 but for the people who bought it new itís a 4 in my book. Not bad at all. The price to performance is well worth it.

Pros

Ease of Maintenance Ė How easy is this one to maintain? Easy as the rest of them, all you really need to do is pull the rammer out whip it down real quick add a dab of oil to the o-rings smooth the oil over the rammer, pull the bolt whip it down, 2 dabs of oil on the o-rings, and 2 more on the body and smooth that all out. Thatís about it. Every few cases you need to pull the HPR and LPR open and clean and lube their pistons but not much after that.

Speed Ė This marker is very fast. The marker can shoot faster then any loader can really feed(The q-loader is the only one that can feed as fast as the Ego can shoot). The marker can cycle at ridiculously fast speeds, on training mode Iíve gotten my ego up to 78-95 CPS. If that is not fast enough for you Iím sorry.

Reliability Ė Like I said in the beginning Iíve owned this for just over a year. I play just about every weekend or every other weekend. Iíve yet to replace an o-ring in my marker. Now I havenít had the same rammer in there but my Zick Kit rammer was in there most of the time.

With my Matrixes Iíd have to replace an o-ring at least once a case.

OLED Display Ė Planet Eclipse has been using the OLED Display for a long time now, since the EBlades for the Autocockers. They have this technology down pat. I personally like having the display over the aftermarket boards such as the Virtue ones with the LED displays. It makes adjusting your marker that much easier.

There are the new Tadao Boards that have the OLED display as well as the new Virtue boards with it.

Air Efficacy Ė Plain and simpleÖwhen I play with my well broken in Ego7 I can get a case off of a 4500 fill and have more left. My Matrixs wasnít close to that, nor my DP G3, or Mini.

More Ė This is kind of an overall on the marker. The 07 line was a HUGE jump from the 05/06 line up of markers. The marker is a ton lighter now and just as fast and reliable. Donít get me wrong I love my old 06 Ego, itís fast and a champ. Itís just that big of a jump from the old line that it makes it an awesome buy. I didnít buy the 08 because it is just a little different than the 07 Ego. I am looking in to the 09 since that is more of a jump from the 08 Ego.

Cons Ė

All of these cons arenít really cons for the marker just slight annoying things about it.

Grip Panels Ė They ware and brake after a little while of play. Up until not to long ago there was no grips other then the stock ones out for the 07 Ego. The other annoying thing was it was some what hard to get the stock ones to replace the worn out ones from even large PE dealers. Over all I like the stock grips. Another choice over the stock grip is the Virtue Grips, they slip right on no mess no fuss.

Detent Ware Ė I havenít gone though that many detents but Iíve definitely went though more in my Ego then I have in any of my other markers that Iíve ever owned. Itís a good system and works well but they either brake or donít it seems. Iíve had some detents last for 20 or so cases and some only last for about 2 cases. I was told that putting a little bit of oil will help. Iím guessing this is to keep the rubber from drying out and that would help it prevent cracks.

Noise Ė Itís not a big deal to me but to some people they donít like how loud the marker is compared to some. It is a lot louder then a Matrix but thatís a totally different marker style, Spooly Vs Poppet. When you are playing you donít notice how loud the marker is so I donít see a problem, some people might though.

T-Slot ASA Ė Now I have 0 I mean 0 problems with the OOPS ASA I love it, it works very well. But being limited to just that ASA itís a little annoying, not a big deal just a little annoying.

Trigger Set Screws Ė The only one I have a problem with is the magnet one. I am the type of person who likes to run with just the weight of the micro switch for his return pressure. Iíve yet to get the 07ís trigger to feel perfect for me. Iíve gotten use to it and I can hold a very nice and steady speed with it. But it always felt heavy and clunky like an Ionís trigger or mushy and soft. But that can be fixed by replacing the micro switch on the board or dealing with a slightly heavier trigger pull then you like.

QEV Ė I havenít had the need to replace the QEVís diaphragm yet but Iíve known people who have. Itís not that big of a problem but it is a little annoying having that in the back of your head that it can go out. There is a mod in the PE Forum were you replace the QEV with another banjo fitting like the other hose has to fix this problem for ever, it wonít affect the efficacy that youíd notice or the CPS that youíd notice so itís an easy fix with replacing the diaphragm or replacing the entire QEV.

As always if you have questions check out Planet Eclipseís Website for more information at
http://www.planeteclipse.com
They have all the manuals there, as well as a list of Dealers near you, to have your marker serviced and to buy a new or possibly used Ego.

Thank you for your time
Mark "Justavillain" Nawara
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Add New Review