Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2008 (Ego8) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
high end PE marker
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $1,250.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 206
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  76%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  21%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2008 (Ego8) Reviews
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) Appearance: When I first saw the picture of this thing, I thought to myself. "Oh great a milled down Ego7 with some extras." But when I finally had the chance to see one for myself I was in aw. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #3089
Buddha k
You wanna touch it...?
Buddha k's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Buddha k plays in the PSP
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Reliability, Efficiency, Weight, ect
Cons: None Yet.
Appearance: When I first saw the picture of this thing, I thought to myself. "Oh great a milled down Ego7 with some extras." But when I finally had the chance to see one for myself I was in aw. The milling is perfect, no scratches, dents, or anything for that matter. The barrel had no show of anno wear and the threads where in amazing condition.

Performance: The very first time I got the chance to shoot it was down at my local shop, I was surprised on how quite it was, and there was absolutely no kick. It wasn't heavy with a tank and most importantly it was comfortable to hold. Down at the field I was using the practice paint which wasn't in that great of condition, the Ego still shot straight lines of paint and didn't chop a single ball.

Reliability:
When I think of reliability I think of, if you can either trust the marker or not. I used it in a tournament on April 6th and it was amazing. I cannot complain on how this thing shoots, I was shooting lanes all day and get nice tight shots when I needed them most. I went home cleaned it up and shot amazing the next weekend at practice.

Value: To anyone who hasn't shot an Ego8 yet, I would say this is an amazing marker for it's money. But do not purchase one if you don't have the money and if you do not know how to work them. I would say it's the best marker I've ever shot that's in this price range.

I would not recommend any upgrades for this gun because it does not need any. The bolt is already amazing, the feedneck is the best one out there, the detents are great, and I believe any regulator you get with your gun stock is the best one for the marker itself. It would also be nice if Planet Eclipse could include a SL barrel kit, but who's complaining? The Shaft II is already an amazing barrel.

Overall I'm extremely impressed with Planet Eclipse has done with this gun, and I cannot wait to see what they come up with next.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.9/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) I had a Confederate flag ego 8 i loved how it shot and the fact that you didn't see any of them on the field. but i was not a big fan of bolt out the back guns. and the price drop hurt it as well....
Report this review to a moderator   #13004
KidInfamous
There can only be One
KidInfamous's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
KidInfamous plays in the PSP
KidInfamous donated to help Peyton Trent
KidInfamous supports Team VICIOUS
KidInfamous posts videos on PbNation
KidInfamous is a top reviewer
KidInfamous is Legendary
KidInfamous is Boss
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: looks performance
Cons: price drop
I had a Confederate flag ego 8 i loved how it shot and the fact that you didn't see any of them on the field. but i was not a big fan of bolt out the back guns. and the price drop hurt it as well. but it was lighter and looked better then the 09 and 10 egos.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) i love my ego gold-coffee ccu kit lovely
Report this review to a moderator   #4558
jakobpwns
screw you
jakobpwns's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: odessa
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,070.00
Pros: awsome in every way possible
Cons: little pricey
i love my ego gold-coffee ccu kit lovely
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) love my jungle splash 08, better than any gun i've owned,even my 09 ego....i traded my 09 ego for it and i don't regret it one bit
Report this review to a moderator   #5200
Mattyzpb74
Awaiting Email Confirmation
Mattyzpb74's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Neeeeeewwww Yooooorrrrk
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.01
Pros: everything
Cons: reverse threaded barrell
love my jungle splash 08, better than any gun i've owned,even my 09 ego....i traded my 09 ego for it and i don't regret it one bit
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) over all great gun , other than the grip screws being to long or the grips being thin which leads to going in to your soilenoid. but other than that the gun is amazing. The color schemes on all their...
Report this review to a moderator   #4193
relentlessp8ntballa
Ballin' on a budget.
relentlessp8ntballa's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cashville, Tn
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: great gun , depenedable, accurate , and very light
Cons: thin grips long screws + tormn up soilenoid :(
over all great gun , other than the grip screws being to long or the grips being thin which leads to going in to your soilenoid. but other than that the gun is amazing. The color schemes on all their 08 guns.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) I've just gotten mine and it shoots great. Got 7-8 Pods on a 68/4500. It is extremly light, I mean it's incredible that so much technology fits in it. First of all the packaging is unbelivable, it...
Report this review to a moderator   #2500
red_flame_666
I Bleed Red and Black
red_flame_666's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: Small, Light, Accurate, Fast
Cons: None
I've just gotten mine and it shoots great. Got 7-8 Pods on a 68/4500.

It is extremly light, I mean it's incredible that so much technology fits in it.

First of all the packaging is unbelivable, it literally felt like i was buying like the I-GUN lol reminds me of apple don't ask lol. But seriously smooth case with nice allen key set, gun oil, and then theres the manual. I have yet to see a company make a gun manual like the ones PE make. Wow, if the Ego 08 is the first ever ego you are thinking of buying but you aren't sure if you'll understand how to properly set and work it, DO NOT FEAR for PE has made the holy grail in manuals, all color with figures of actual pictures (not drawn up diagrams) real pictures of individual peices, how to greese them, work the board etc.. you name it it's there.

In Comparison to the 07 Ego, Seeing as i've owned one prior to my 08 as well as my friends own 07's, I can say that the Ego 08 has a tighter grip frame. Gripping the Ego 08 is thinner than gripping the Ego 07, which, for me anyways is a big plus, the tighter i can grip my gun the more control I get with it. The milling is alot nicer than the 07, i was sad seeing the SL-74's milling knowing i wouldn't be able to buy one but seeing the ego 08 with a similar milling I jumped for joy. Also as mentioned in the Ego 08 tech vids out they replaced the screw behind the reg to now being in the trigger guard allow your fingers to slind up higher on the gun giving you that much more control over it.

As for performance, shoots great. Always got to wait to break in the reg to see it at it's peek performance, the barrel is great, would have liked to see some new milling on it though. But milling is only on the outside and it's the inside that counts, and that barrel shoots great.


As for upgrades, honestly none are really needed the only useful upgrade I would recommend would be the SL Barrel kit. Not because the stock barrel is bad but because with the SL kit you get different bores and barrel sizes which helps alot when your playing with different paint every time you go play.

But PE has found the solution to this and I for one have taken the oppurtunity to get, the origin Ego 08 which comes stock with an SL barrel kit Matching color.

As for the Loud And kick Issue: yes it's a little loud, but seriously who cares, if your team is good at communication by the start of the match you know already where everyone is and honstly i really don't find my opponents by listening for their guns to fire, if anything i look for their paint flying. As for the Kick , I've owned a DM8 and that thing has litterally no kick but it scared me half the time. It felt as if my gun was not working properly when the ego shoots and i feel that gun fire, it reassures me it's working. Also at this level of technology the kick of almost every gun is reduced pretty much as low as it's gunna get.

Overall Great gun PE impresses me again this year. I've tried many paintball guns of all companies and PE ego's are by far my favorite. There Low Maintenece, easy to work on and shoot great. You wanna shoot the best Get The Ego 08 !!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) i call her Goldilocks...shes gold...hence the name...i like to oil her every night, bc she doesnt like the lube all up in her diaphram...i can finger her while im walking real fast ..easily up to 15...
Report this review to a moderator   #4395
dch0zenone
 
dch0zenone's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ny
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,275.00
Pros: she never lets me down
Cons: nada
i call her Goldilocks...shes gold...hence the name...i like to oil her every night, bc she doesnt like the lube all up in her diaphram...i can finger her while im walking real fast ..easily up to 15 balls per sec..and when shes feeling like a ramp..whatch out...she sooo freakin fast...she is so gentle on my balls...she never breaks my balls..and for that i love her...is she worth the price...hell yeah...go buy one and test it out for youself..ull see
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) Although the 2008 version of the Ego is now outdated by 5 other egos it is still very competitive for the price. There is nothing this ego can't do that any other gun on the market can and is a great...
Report this review to a moderator   #12049
bcelos
Broken gun association
bcelos's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Connecticut
bcelos plays in the PSP
bcelos owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
bcelos is an NCPA player
bcelos plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Light, Fast
Cons: Out dated as of now
Although the 2008 version of the Ego is now outdated by 5 other egos it is still very competitive for the price. There is nothing this ego can't do that any other gun on the market can and is a great money saver for the competitive baller.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) Overall this is the best marker I have ever shot. And I have shot a lot of markers. Pros: -Weight -Accuracy -Consistency -Efficiency -Setting Options -Durability
Report this review to a moderator   #3505
CJ-A-5
Delish
CJ-A-5's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: :tdown:
CJ-A-5 plays in the USPL
CJ-A-5 plays in the PSP
CJ-A-5 plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: Weight, Accuracy, Consistency, Efficiency, Setting
Cons: Price
Overall this is the best marker I have ever shot. And I have shot a lot of markers.

Pros:
-Weight
-Accuracy
-Consistency
-Efficiency
-Setting Options
-Durability

Cons:
-Price

Summary:
The reason I gave this marker 4/5 stars on reliability is for some of the 'hidden' maintainance. For example; oiling the oring on the noid, and keeping the screen clear. There are a few people who don't know about these simple things. And they're marker stops shooting like it used to. But if you know what you are doing.. this baby will stay top-notch for a long time.

I did get this marker for a sponsorhip price, so I can't list the ammount. I got a very good price, but not everyone does. Price is the one con to this marker.

Overall:
Try one out. You'll love it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) Ok i have been shooting this gun foir abour 6 practices now and i love it. It is light, an eye catcher, and just out shoots every other gun out there if you have it setup right. i love eclipse guns....
Report this review to a moderator   #3919
P0t_H3@D
Smokin' Bud!
P0t_H3@D's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: To High to Know
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: Weight, Consistancy, EVerything
Cons: Price
Ok i have been shooting this gun foir abour 6 practices now and i love it. It is light, an eye catcher, and just out shoots every other gun out there if you have it setup right. i love eclipse guns. and they outdid them selves this time. Great job guys
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review