Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2008 (Ego8) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
high end PE marker
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $1,250.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 217
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  76%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  21%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - Ego 2008 (Ego8) Reviews
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) Great gun for the money. I would take an ego over any other gun on the market for the price.
Report this review to a moderator   #13489
tchalien
RETIRED LU Coach
tchalien's avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Lynchburg
tchalien has been a member for 10 years
tchalien plays in the PSP
tchalien plays in the NXL
tchalien owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
tchalien posts videos on PbNation
tchalien plays in the APPA D4 division
tchalien is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Better Case compared to 07
Cons: none so far
Great gun for the money. I would take an ego over any other gun on the market for the price.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) I had purchased a brand new 2008 Ego in the beginning of the 2008 season. It has been my work-horse for nine years now, and it has never let me down. It's the AK-47 of paintball guns. It performs...
Report this review to a moderator   #84450
team pyro
 
team pyro's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Latrobe, PA
team pyro has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: reliable, lightweight, accurate
Cons: loud, that's about it
I had purchased a brand new 2008 Ego in the beginning of the 2008 season. It has been my work-horse for nine years now, and it has never let me down. It's the AK-47 of paintball guns. It performs just as well as any other marker. It's reliability is second to none.

Coming from an Indian Creek Designs Promaster, I was very impressed with the quality of the gun. Upon opening, the packaging was great. A hard case was included along with an alan key set, barrel bag, and spare o-rings. A .692 14'' two-piece barrel was included. It has a large enough bore size to shoot any paint. The porting is adequate, and it's fairly accurate. The gun looks amazing. It's a sleek design. The milling is clean and the anodizing was well done. Picking up the gun, it feels very lightweight (less than 2 lbs). While the ergonomics are mostly good, the macro-line can get in the way, and those with large hands may find the trigger guard too small. The s-shaped trigger has four points of adjustment, and should suit most players. It has very little side-side play, and you can get high rates of fire. While I prefer spring loaded triggers, the magnet does the trick. The board has all of the adjustibillity you could ever want, bps, debounce, dwell, multiple firing modes, game timers, etc. An LCD screen is included with three buttons, which makes setting up the gun very user-friendly. A clamping feed-neck is included which should fit any loader. An on/off ASA is included and it is mounted using a T-rail, which makes it very stable.

Upon shooting the gun, I was quick to notice how loud it was. While the noise isn't a big deal, in fact sometimes it intimidates opponents, it makes it hard to hear your other teammates when you're holding down a lane shooting 12 bps. While the gun has more vibration than other guns, I wouldn't call it kick. Honestly it never bothered me. It shoots ropes. The grouping is fairly tight, but lose enough to allow for good lanes. Typically I get under +-5 fps at the chronograph. The arch is mostly straight then starts to drop off as it reaches the end of the field. It makes it great for lobbing shots over the bunker at people in the snake. It shoots extremely fast. With my Dye Rotor I got it up to 22 bps. I'm sure it would be a lot faster with a quicker loader, but 22 bps is plenty fast enough. Not only does it have a high rate of fire, but it is mostly gentle on paint. I can go an entire weekend of play without chopping a ball. On top of that the gun is very efficient. I can get close to a case off of a 68 ci 4500 psi tank.

My favorite thing about this gun is the relaibillity. In nine years, I have never had a problem except for when the screen broke when it got wet. I've had less issues with it than with my Tippmann, and that's saying something. After play, I take it apart, clean the internals, and lube up all of the o-rings. It's very easy to take apart with a quick release bolt. The ram comes out by unscrewing the back cap. The lpr and hpr simply screw off and come apart. Not much maintenance is required, for example, I have left it in my gear bag for a year before, and when I got it out, and aired it up, it shot like a dream.

Since then I have purchased a Bob Long Ripper V2 VCOM. While I love the Ripper, the Ego will always be my go-to gun. It's well crafted, and will still hold its own against any paintball gun, new or used.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) Shoots great every time, Low maintenance, great gun
Report this review to a moderator   #23890
The Real Elite
 
The Real Elite's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Charlotte
The Real Elite owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
The Real Elite has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
The Real Elite has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
The Real Elite has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Consistent, Accurate, good looks, efficient
Cons: Little loud but who cares
Shoots great every time, Low maintenance, great gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) Played with this for the first time this past weekend, I really can't say much bad about it, it was a LITTLE air hungry but I didn't really spend too much time tinkering with it. It was fast, easy to...
Report this review to a moderator   #37701
TheChrisHill
 
TheChrisHill's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South Carolina
TheChrisHill owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TheChrisHill has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TheChrisHill has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TheChrisHill has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Reliable, accurate, efficient.
Cons: Not Much
Played with this for the first time this past weekend, I really can't say much bad about it, it was a LITTLE air hungry but I didn't really spend too much time tinkering with it. It was fast, easy to use, accurate, and got all the looks at the field. I'd recommend this gun to everyone who wants to bust out into the high end marker game.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) This is my 2nd favorite ego so far out of the ones I have owned. It's light weight, sleak, and very reliable. The only con was that it was quite loud and used a good amount of air.
Report this review to a moderator   #12947
ThePinkMonster
Rise To The Top
ThePinkMonster's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: 7oh3
ThePinkMonster plays in the USPL
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: looks, sleak, reliability
Cons: loud, used air quite a bit
This is my 2nd favorite ego so far out of the ones I have owned. It's light weight, sleak, and very reliable. The only con was that it was quite loud and used a good amount of air.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) I have had my Ego8 since August 2008 and have had very few issues with it. I have wrapped it around a starting post at World Cup in 2008 and torn they QEV diaphragms 2 times. Eclipse replaced the...
Report this review to a moderator   #34837
thewaytolite
D. Gunwhore
thewaytolite's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hephzibah, GA
thewaytolite has been a member for 10 years
thewaytolite owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
thewaytolite plays in the APPA D4 division
thewaytolite supports Empire
thewaytolite is All In
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,200.00
Pros: Rock solid reliable performance
Cons: QEV diaphragms tare after about 100 cases
I have had my Ego8 since August 2008 and have had very few issues with it. I have wrapped it around a starting post at World Cup in 2008 and torn they QEV diaphragms 2 times. Eclipse replaced the frame in 2008 and the QEV diaphragms I bought a pack of 10 or 20 after the last time i had to replace them and haven't had a single issue since.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) AMAZING GUN!!! i don't know why they just don't make every gun like this one.
Report this review to a moderator   #13195
ThisReffRoxx4Shooo
Dito Rox
ThisReffRoxx4Shooo's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami
ThisReffRoxx4Shooo is playing at Living Legends V
ThisReffRoxx4Shooo owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
ThisReffRoxx4Shooo supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
AMAZING GUN!!! i don't know why they just don't make every gun like this one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) Happened to trade for this gun in complete working order, then had multiple problems. Cleaned regularly and still nothing happened. Way more kick then should have been, and first shot drop off.
Report this review to a moderator   #31353
ThomasAscher
Always buying and selling
ThomasAscher's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: LI, New York
ThomasAscher owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
ThomasAscher is Legendary
ThomasAscher supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Planet Eclipse
Cons: Didnt work well
Happened to trade for this gun in complete working order, then had multiple problems. Cleaned regularly and still nothing happened. Way more kick then should have been, and first shot drop off.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) its not an sl but its still the work horse of egos all they need is a zick 2 and a cure 4 bolt and they are ready to rock
Report this review to a moderator   #17890
thomasIves26
Is It Sunday YET!!!!!
thomasIves26's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort Benning
thomasIves26 plays in the PSP
thomasIves26 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
thomasIves26 plays in the APPA D4 division
thomasIves26 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: its a ego
Cons: nothing
its not an sl but its still the work horse of egos all they need is a zick 2 and a cure 4 bolt and they are ready to rock
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse Ego 2008 (Ego8) This was my first paintball gun and I fell in love with it. It shot ropes and I had no issues with it. It was easy to maintain. Easy to use. It is on the louder side but that never really bothered me.
Report this review to a moderator   #28543
Time To Shine
... ya
Time To Shine's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Time To Shine owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Time To Shine owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $525.00
Pros: Smooth, Easy
Cons: No Cons
This was my first paintball gun and I fell in love with it. It shot ropes and I had no issues with it. It was easy to maintain. Easy to use. It is on the louder side but that never really bothered me.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review