Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
DM7
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $1,400.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 127
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) Reviews
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) Well, i sold my NXT Shocker to get a new gun and picked up a DM7. It may have been the best choice I've ever made in terms of guns. The DM7 is one of the most reliable guns I've ever used. The NXT...
Report this review to a moderator   #6394
iduncant
 
iduncant's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hamilton, Canada
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $375.00
Pros: Shoots Dead Straight no matter what
Cons: Eye pipe Troubles
Well, i sold my NXT Shocker to get a new gun and picked up a DM7. It may have been the best choice I've ever made in terms of guns.
The DM7 is one of the most reliable guns I've ever used. The NXT would require cleaning and lubing at the end of every day of play, in fact it would start to drop off and choke around half way through any day of play.
The DM7 never goes down, if it chops an egg, the pipe cleans itself out.
But the best point i think is it's accuracy. With the stock fuse bolt it is far and away the most accurate gun I've ever shot. I like it better than an autococker for its acuracy.
in practice I shoot mix and match leftover paint through a .691 bore invert night stick and it shoots absolute ropes, ball on ball every time.
When it shoots tournament grade paint through a bore-matched UL... well lets just say if you miss, its your fault not the guns'.
my only problem with the DM7 is the Eye pipe, sadly they are very difficult to come by and I've found under continuous tournament use the eye pipe wears out and cracks. the only one you can buy comes in the DM7 complete rebuild kit that will run you $200.

But other than that its a great gun.

Recomended upgrades
Board - OLED, i just love guns with screens the stock board's not bad
Eyes - By a set of virtues, they'll never let you down

Keep the stock bolt, i've tried the L7 and the performance upgrade isn't worth the cost, plus you lose accuracy i found. I'd rather shoot straight rather than quieter.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) My first tournament gun. Shot amazing and never had any problems with it. Great in the hands. It is bulkier then newer guns that have come out but still keeps up with the best of them.
Report this review to a moderator   #21222
IJustBunkeredU
Gingerlicious
IJustBunkeredU's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 785 (KU)
IJustBunkeredU supports Team VICIOUS
IJustBunkeredU plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: light, efficient, smooth
Cons: bulkier then newer guns to date
My first tournament gun. Shot amazing and never had any problems with it. Great in the hands. It is bulkier then newer guns that have come out but still keeps up with the best of them.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) Bought this gun from TMG back in 2010 and it has been one of my favorite markers. For the price you can pick it up these days (about 300) it is a very fantastic marker.
Report this review to a moderator   #37750
ikee91v3
3rd time's a charm!
ikee91v3's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
ikee91v3 plays in the PSP
ikee91v3 plays in the APPA D5 division
ikee91v3 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
ikee91v3 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
ikee91v3 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $375.00
Pros: Light, very smooth shooting, very good looking
Cons: Mediocre air efficiency
Bought this gun from TMG back in 2010 and it has been one of my favorite markers. For the price you can pick it up these days (about 300) it is a very fantastic marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) very fantastic marker, not bad at all. shoots smooth and very fast accurate gun!
Report this review to a moderator   #19534
importuner350z
Thomas
importuner350z's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Washington
importuner350z plays in the PSP
importuner350z owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: smooth!
Cons: none!
very fantastic marker, not bad at all. shoots smooth and very fast accurate gun!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) Appearance: The marker is a great looking gun. The milling is so smooth and very flawless i have absolutely no complaints in this department. Plus i have the icon edition and that makes it look evan...
Report this review to a moderator   #4512
isocracy18
 
isocracy18's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Smooth shooting accurite and quiet
Cons: requires large amounts of lube
Appearance:
The marker is a great looking gun. The milling is so smooth and very flawless i have absolutely no complaints in this department. Plus i have the icon edition and that makes it look evan sweeter.

Performance:
The Dm7 is such an amazing shooting gun. By far the most amazing shooting gun i have ever shot. I personaly like it better than the ego 07. It is a very smooth shooting gun and is extremely accurite. It is very quiet as well. i have shot many cases of paint through it and never broke a ball. The bps is very consistant and never spikes so there is no need to buy a virtue board though it is a still a good upgrade. There is nothing wrong wit the stock hyper 2 reg. but i did upgrade it with a hyper three for a little more consistancy. I love the way the gun shoots and i would do nothing 2 change it. oh did i mention it is pretty air efficient aswell. Just dont use cheep paint with this gun.

Reliability:
The gun has been very reliable so far i did have a small leake do to under lubing but that was easily fixed some dye lube and a new o-ring and i dont no why but the on/off leakes a small amount but that can be fixed by adjusting the nob i would replace that with a cp on/off but the stock one works aslong as u no how to adjust it the right way. other than those two leakes i have never had any problems with the gun.

Value:
The Dm7 is by far the best gun i ever baught and i will continue to buy dye markers for the rest of my carreer thanks dye your the greatest.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) Best gun i have ever owned. The first Dm to start using the eye pipe, after 4 years it has been the only thing i have ever had to replace on the gun. The only flaw about the gun is the air on/off...
Report this review to a moderator   #32725
jollymore
HATE
jollymore's avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kelowna B.C
jollymore plays in the PSP
jollymore supports Team VICIOUS
jollymore plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: Light, smooth, great consistancy
Cons: reg on/off
Best gun i have ever owned. The first Dm to start using the eye pipe, after 4 years it has been the only thing i have ever had to replace on the gun. The only flaw about the gun is the air on/off above the reg it is completely unnecessary and its unfortunate that you have to buy a part that negates that stupid part.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) Period of Use: Roughly Eight Months Paintball Experience: Roughly Eight Years Similar Products Used: Dye DM4 Dye DM5 Dye DM6
Report this review to a moderator   #5431
karasawa
He's More Liquor Than Man
karasawa's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Langley AFB
karasawa owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
karasawa owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $899.00
Pros: See Review
Cons: See Review
Period of Use:
Roughly Eight Months

Paintball Experience:
Roughly Eight Years

Similar Products Used:
Dye DM4
Dye DM5
Dye DM6
Evil Minion (PM6)
Proto Rail
Proto SLG
Shocker NXT
Ion :?
Etc. etc.

Marker Setup:
Crossfire 45/45 HP
PMI 68/45 HP
2000 Powerlyte Scepter Kit
Virtued VLocity Jr.
Critical Trigger
Dye Hyper III Regulator (standard threading)
Alternative PB Laser Green Eyes
Alternative PB Eye & Solenoid Wire Saver
Alternative PB Black Out Screw Kit
Macro Line Guy Black Out Macro Line Fittings

Recommended Upgrades:
None really. Out of the box it's amazing. If you are looking to play back I would recommend the "Ghetto Top Hat Mod" to increase shots per fill.

Strengths:
- Low recoil or "kick".
- Low sound signature.
- Lightweight (still could take a bit off though).
- Method of operation has been around for a good length of time.
- Consistent over the chronograph.

Weaknesses:
- Not as light as its competitors.
- Low efficency (I still manage to shot five pods and a hopper off a 45/45 and this can be altered by the "Ghetto Top Hat Mod").
- Trigger is a tad bit loose and takes some time to adjust properly.
- Recognization of a shot could be faster with reflash of the board.
- Numerous Orings can be a turn off to those technically challeneged.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) As long as you take care of this marker it will be one of the best guns you have owned.
Report this review to a moderator   #36629
kazio
GO GATORS
kazio's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida
kazio is an NCPA player
kazio plays in the APPA D5 division
kazio has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
kazio has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: quiet, consistent
Cons: a little maintenance
As long as you take care of this marker it will be one of the best guns you have owned.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) ok i had my dm7 for awhile and loved it. i had a cp plug and cp trigger instantly added because i really didnt like the feel of the twisty thing or the reach trigger. the upps were not essential but...
Report this review to a moderator   #9524
KIngOfjoos45
 
KIngOfjoos45's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hilmar CA
KIngOfjoos45 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
KIngOfjoos45 supports Team VICIOUS
KIngOfjoos45 is for the Gunfight
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: smoothe lines
Cons: stock trigger
ok i had my dm7 for awhile and loved it. i had a cp plug and cp trigger instantly added because i really didnt like the feel of the twisty thing or the reach trigger. the upps were not essential but i really think that its one of the better guns ever produced
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 7 (DM7) I bought a dm7 (oil slick anno...sexiest gun ever next to my purple dm9). i paid a little too much for it ($450) but way worth it. The one of a kind oil slick anno is just plain awesome looking. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #19058
kool_aid22
#1 Hater
kool_aid22's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Atlanta
kool_aid22 is BST Legit
kool_aid22 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
kool_aid22 is Legendary
kool_aid22 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: reach trigger, hyper2, good price if used
Cons: for a little more $ you can get a newer DM
I bought a dm7 (oil slick anno...sexiest gun ever next to my purple dm9). i paid a little too much for it ($450) but way worth it. The one of a kind oil slick anno is just plain awesome looking. The dm7 comes with the hyper 2 reg and the reach trigger (better than the ironman or dm9 triggers in my opinion) and a good stock clamping feedneck. Like any DM, the dm7 is easy to maintain, fast, reliable, light, and a definite go-to gun in a sticky situation. Do not hesitate to jump on this gun if its for the right price ($350-$400). Dye, you're awesome
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review