Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
DM4
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2004
 MSRP: $1,450.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
 Reviews: 48
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  56%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) Reviews
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) I've had my DM4 since new in 2003 (9yrs now) and it has never let me down.. I have played in many tournaments and have enjoyed the game of paintball on many levels with my DM4. It's the only...
Report this review to a moderator   #33854
RAPER
Matrix Dr
RAPER's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Illinois
RAPER has been a member for 10 years
RAPER is playing at Living Legends VI
RAPER owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
RAPER owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
RAPER plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,400.00
Pros: very reliable. very well made
Cons: the membrane pad could be better
I've had my DM4 since new in 2003 (9yrs now) and it has never let me down.. I have played in many tournaments and have enjoyed the game of paintball on many levels with my DM4. It's the only paintball marker that I will never sell or get rid of. I have never had a thing go bad on it besides a couple membrane pads. Even the grips are origional on it still. I love my DM4 and it will always stay in my gear bag. Honestly, I think I've only replaced the orings on the bolt one time, but I run only the best lube and I'm very in tune with my matinence.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) In this review, I will go over the basic aspects of the Dye Matrix 4 marker, and why I have given each category the rating I did. NOTE: Please understand I bought the marker broken, and paid $65...
Report this review to a moderator   #44502
Seaskull
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $55.00
Pros: Smooth, quiet, not too expensive, solid build
Cons: Heavy, not easy to find parts
In this review, I will go over the basic aspects of the Dye Matrix 4 marker, and why I have given each category the rating I did.

NOTE: Please understand I bought the marker broken, and paid $65 dollars to replace the ASA that came with the gun. It came with a Smart Parts Max-Flo, and I replaced it with a Planet Eclipse 2011 POPS ASA. It is very unlikely for you to find a DM4 for that price.

APPEARANCE I rated the appearance a 3/5 stars because it always turns heads and raises curiosity when it shows up at a field. I took away stars because of the shape of the body. The body is very tall, but isn't too thick. When I refer to it being tall, I am saying that the marker has a large distance from the bottom of the grip frame to the top of the feedneck. It isn't too terrible, but may make a difference for those picky ballers,

PERFORMANCE This is going to be the section where the result is directly related to the amount of time spent fine tuning the marker. I rated this marker a 5/5 on performance, because it can be extremely smooth and quiet with just the stock bolt. To put this into perspective for the painball players who are more experienced, the smoothness and quietness is comparable, and has performed BETTER than a DM9 and a Luxe 2.0. These markers are VERY capable of keeping pace with more modern markers.

RELIABILITY I rated the reliability of this marker a 4/5 because the DM4 is a very reliable marker, as long as you take care of it. I personally baby all of my markers, and always clean everything and re-lube everything after a day of use. The only reliability is is whenever the battery runs out, it simply starts leaking or the bolt doesn't completely reset itself.

VALUE For the value of the DM4, I ranked it as 5/5. Me personally, I paid a very low price for this marker, and it was worth every penny. However, in the 2014 mindset, I would not pay over 150 for a used DM4 in any condition. However, it is a fantastic shooting marker for the price range they are available for today.

CONS In the cons category, I stated that the DM4 is heavy, and that it is not easy to find replacement parts. It is true, it is in fact hard to find replacement parts, but you can purchase a brand new o-ring rebuild kit from ansgear.com along with other upgraded triggers, and the Techt L7 bolt. However, the weight of the gun is also a pro. For example: I use a DM4 with a 68/3000 steel tank and a Dye Rotor. It is a ridiculously heavy setup. However, if you can perfect all of your core moves like snapping with the heavy monster, then snapping with a lighter marker will be even easier. So the weight could go both ways.

SUMMARY / RECOMMENDATIONS In summary, the DM4 is a heavy, but reliable marker that can shoot just as well as it's descendants. The gun is very attractive, and is worth a price below $150. As for recommendations, I would recommend a new trigger if there isn't an aftermarket trigger already installed. You DO NOT need to waste your money on a L7 bolt or a Orange bolt. The stock bolt is very reliable and works just as well, so it isn't worth the time and effort to "upgrade" to a different bolt. Just spend the extra time to fine tune the LPR settings and the regulator

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS TO A FRIEND. Absolutely yes. As long as it is for the right price, as always.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) I used the dye dm4 in my first tournament ever and i have to say it still impresses me. Th gun is 8 years old and it still holds up with some of the top guns in the sport and beats some of the mid...
Report this review to a moderator   #31134
skitzo_paintballer
Im Jacks smirking revenge
skitzo_paintballer's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montana
skitzo_paintballer owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
skitzo_paintballer owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
skitzo_paintballer has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: smooth shot great consitancy
Cons: big, heavy, replacment parts hard to find
I used the dye dm4 in my first tournament ever and i have to say it still impresses me. Th gun is 8 years old and it still holds up with some of the top guns in the sport and beats some of the mid range guns that are brand new. (yes im looking at you invert minis) Though its bigger and heavier that any gun now adays the added weight creates almost no kick and the shots are uber smooth. my biggest issue was i could never find the replacement parts i needed. My suggestion is if you can get one in great shape for 150 do it. you will not regret it i promise
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) Just picked up a mint DM4. It hadn't been shot in over 5 years according to the previous owner. All that I had to do was re-lube it and replace 2 o-rings in the regulator. Once that was done, I went...
Report this review to a moderator   #39940
Thundergod
BOILER UP
Thundergod's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Thundergod is playing at Living Legends VI
Thundergod owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Thundergod has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $140.00
Pros: Fast, Accurate, Zero Kick, Sweet Milling
Cons: It's a boat, efficiency
Just picked up a mint DM4. It hadn't been shot in over 5 years according to the previous owner. All that I had to do was re-lube it and replace 2 o-rings in the regulator. Once that was done, I went out and shot it. No leaks. Started out with 4000 psi in my crossfire 68/4500. Shot 2 full-to-the-brim rotors and it took it down to 2500 psi. Not the best, but the gun is tuned for smoothness and not efficiency. Only upgrade was an orange bolt.

As far as accuracy, it's about as accurate as any current high end. I actually find it to be more accurate than my ego 10. At about 50 feet, I had a spread of 14" with the stock UL barrel.

Final thoughts:
If you are a new player, you can pick these up extremely cheap for the performance that you get. My advice is to pick one of these up over an ion, spyder, or any other beginner gun really. I hope this helps.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) bought my gun from a paintball store, was a competition team gun. shot very fast and was a fun gun to use.
Report this review to a moderator   #7865
tradermike38
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: great systems, fast, shoots ropes
Cons: pricey brand new
bought my gun from a paintball store, was a competition team gun. shot very fast and was a fun gun to use.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) I traded an NYX matrix i had a few years ago for a DM4, and I regret trading that gun (the NYX, i got rid of my DM4 for an A4 Fly). I didn't especially think that much of my Dm4, it was alright, it...
Report this review to a moderator   #31146
Vswizzle
SWIZZIN 24/7 365 *****ES
Vswizzle's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Spotting Trains
Vswizzle owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Vswizzle is for the Gunfight
Vswizzle has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Vswizzle has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: Milling is good looking, shoots relatively good
Cons: tall, wide *** frame, awkward ergonomics
I traded an NYX matrix i had a few years ago for a DM4, and I regret trading that gun (the NYX, i got rid of my DM4 for an A4 Fly).
I didn't especially think that much of my Dm4, it was alright, it shot OK and all that, but IMO you shoudl jsut go with an old trix, i went and got another old matrix after that, because the Dm4 really isn't that much lighter than the old trixs, and the old trixs are better shooters IMO.
I disliked how tall the DM4 is (taller than an old matrix for sure), along with the feel of the gripframe in the hands. They shoot alright though.
I prefer old trixes to DM4s and DM5s. they're just better, i've had 3 of them so I would know.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) First gun. Loved it even though it was heavy. Had a lot of O Ring problems too but keep it lubed and it'll shoot like a dream. Drop a THUMP board in and you're good to go.
Report this review to a moderator   #13987
well_then
Formerly: THE cu2010
well_then's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: The 434
well_then owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
well_then has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Sleek and reliable
Cons: Heavy and too many o-rings
First gun. Loved it even though it was heavy. Had a lot of O Ring problems too but keep it lubed and it'll shoot like a dream.

Drop a THUMP board in and you're good to go.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) I have had two DM4s and i loved them both. Personally this is the only Dye gun i will shoot as my own and call mine. Weight is hefty for todays standards - also shoot a G6r and geo. Will always keep...
Report this review to a moderator   #35447
windebank9
what is it to you?
windebank9's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Berlin NJ
windebank9 is playing at Living Legends VI
windebank9 supports Team VICIOUS
windebank9 supports Team VICIOUS
windebank9 plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Super Smooth -
Cons: Weight - Size - Battery Harness
I have had two DM4s and i loved them both. Personally this is the only Dye gun i will shoot as my own and call mine. Weight is hefty for todays standards - also shoot a G6r and geo. Will always keep my DM4 history close by and will always pick one up given the chance. Once tuned perfectly these things are monsters. I recommend one of these to any one of any skill level.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review