Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
DM4
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2004
 MSRP: $1,450.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
 Reviews: 45
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  56%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) Reviews
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) Absolutely love this gun, shoots great in all weather conditions, and is very soft on paint. Easy to communicate while shooting with the soft sound signature.
Report this review to a moderator   #11612
impulseballer42586
WCPS Operations Manager
impulseballer42586's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portland, OR
impulseballer42586 is a Moderator
impulseballer42586 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Smooth, quiet, soft on paint
Cons: heavy, large
Absolutely love this gun, shoots great in all weather conditions, and is very soft on paint. Easy to communicate while shooting with the soft sound signature.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) My first good paintball gun, paid 800 for it, now its practically worthless. Despite being super heavy, it shot well and looked great.
Report this review to a moderator   #21459
Inversed
Simply Amazing.
Inversed's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gettysburg College / NJ
Inversed is a Supporting Member
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: Shoots straight as an arrow
Cons: Heavy
My first good paintball gun, paid 800 for it, now its practically worthless. Despite being super heavy, it shot well and looked great.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) My DM4 wa my fav gun hands down. I had the lucky board and a spitfire chip in it and boy is was like that gun was shooing the money right out of my pocket. for a bigger gu i found it light and it was...
Report this review to a moderator   #15554
JOHNNY G
little rainbow bomb
JOHNNY G's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Nova Scotia
JOHNNY G donated to help Peyton Trent
JOHNNY G owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
JOHNNY G supports DLX Technology
JOHNNY G supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
My DM4 wa my fav gun hands down. I had the lucky board and a spitfire chip in it and boy is was like that gun was shooing the money right out of my pocket. for a bigger gu i found it light and it was kind tall bot i loved it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) had this for years now, still shoots solid to this day, a very nice marker for what they go for now, these were 1200+ back when they were new to give an idea on the quality at hand.
Report this review to a moderator   #13139
kfresh
ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
kfresh's avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: *863*FL
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: very solid marker
Cons: older
had this for years now, still shoots solid to this day, a very nice marker for what they go for now, these were 1200+ back when they were new to give an idea on the quality at hand.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) Great gun. glad i bought it. shoots amazing
Report this review to a moderator   #6594
Oirets
 
Oirets's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbia, SC
Oirets plays in the PSP
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: Speed, accurate, shoots good
Cons: Weight(It aint no thing),efficiency(Its a spoolie)
Great gun. glad i bought it. shoots amazing
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) I have a DM4 with Virture 5 board that i have used to years. It shoots fast, straight, and accurate. The eye doesnt mess up or chop at all. Great gun that got replaced by a newer better one lol
Report this review to a moderator   #21242
p8ntfreak98
mall crawler
p8ntfreak98's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Diego/Nor*Jerz
p8ntfreak98 has been a member for 10 years
p8ntfreak98 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Lightweight, fast, easy to program
Cons: Got replaced too quickly
I have a DM4 with Virture 5 board that i have used to years. It shoots fast, straight, and accurate. The eye doesnt mess up or chop at all. Great gun that got replaced by a newer better one lol
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) no kick, quit, but it is very big and heavy compared to other guns that came out that year.
Report this review to a moderator   #28975
PNTANDREW15
Call Kenny Loggins
PNTANDREW15's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Springfield, Mo
PNTANDREW15 is playing at Living Legends V
PNTANDREW15 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
PNTANDREW15 supports our troops
PNTANDREW15 has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
PNTANDREW15 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: quiet
Cons: BIIIIG!!
no kick, quit, but it is very big and heavy compared to other guns that came out that year.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) I've had my DM4 since new in 2003 (9yrs now) and it has never let me down.. I have played in many tournaments and have enjoyed the game of paintball on many levels with my DM4. It's the only...
Report this review to a moderator   #33854
RAPER
Matrix Dr
RAPER's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Illinois
RAPER has been a member for 10 years
RAPER owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
RAPER plays in the APPA D5 division
RAPER has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
RAPER has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,400.00
Pros: very reliable. very well made
Cons: the membrane pad could be better
I've had my DM4 since new in 2003 (9yrs now) and it has never let me down.. I have played in many tournaments and have enjoyed the game of paintball on many levels with my DM4. It's the only paintball marker that I will never sell or get rid of. I have never had a thing go bad on it besides a couple membrane pads. Even the grips are origional on it still. I love my DM4 and it will always stay in my gear bag. Honestly, I think I've only replaced the orings on the bolt one time, but I run only the best lube and I'm very in tune with my matinence.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) In this review, I will go over the basic aspects of the Dye Matrix 4 marker, and why I have given each category the rating I did. NOTE: Please understand I bought the marker broken, and paid $65...
Report this review to a moderator   #44502
Seaskull
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $55.00
Pros: Smooth, quiet, not too expensive, solid build
Cons: Heavy, not easy to find parts
In this review, I will go over the basic aspects of the Dye Matrix 4 marker, and why I have given each category the rating I did.

NOTE: Please understand I bought the marker broken, and paid $65 dollars to replace the ASA that came with the gun. It came with a Smart Parts Max-Flo, and I replaced it with a Planet Eclipse 2011 POPS ASA. It is very unlikely for you to find a DM4 for that price.

APPEARANCE I rated the appearance a 3/5 stars because it always turns heads and raises curiosity when it shows up at a field. I took away stars because of the shape of the body. The body is very tall, but isn't too thick. When I refer to it being tall, I am saying that the marker has a large distance from the bottom of the grip frame to the top of the feedneck. It isn't too terrible, but may make a difference for those picky ballers,

PERFORMANCE This is going to be the section where the result is directly related to the amount of time spent fine tuning the marker. I rated this marker a 5/5 on performance, because it can be extremely smooth and quiet with just the stock bolt. To put this into perspective for the painball players who are more experienced, the smoothness and quietness is comparable, and has performed BETTER than a DM9 and a Luxe 2.0. These markers are VERY capable of keeping pace with more modern markers.

RELIABILITY I rated the reliability of this marker a 4/5 because the DM4 is a very reliable marker, as long as you take care of it. I personally baby all of my markers, and always clean everything and re-lube everything after a day of use. The only reliability is is whenever the battery runs out, it simply starts leaking or the bolt doesn't completely reset itself.

VALUE For the value of the DM4, I ranked it as 5/5. Me personally, I paid a very low price for this marker, and it was worth every penny. However, in the 2014 mindset, I would not pay over 150 for a used DM4 in any condition. However, it is a fantastic shooting marker for the price range they are available for today.

CONS In the cons category, I stated that the DM4 is heavy, and that it is not easy to find replacement parts. It is true, it is in fact hard to find replacement parts, but you can purchase a brand new o-ring rebuild kit from ansgear.com along with other upgraded triggers, and the Techt L7 bolt. However, the weight of the gun is also a pro. For example: I use a DM4 with a 68/3000 steel tank and a Dye Rotor. It is a ridiculously heavy setup. However, if you can perfect all of your core moves like snapping with the heavy monster, then snapping with a lighter marker will be even easier. So the weight could go both ways.

SUMMARY / RECOMMENDATIONS In summary, the DM4 is a heavy, but reliable marker that can shoot just as well as it's descendants. The gun is very attractive, and is worth a price below $150. As for recommendations, I would recommend a new trigger if there isn't an aftermarket trigger already installed. You DO NOT need to waste your money on a L7 bolt or a Orange bolt. The stock bolt is very reliable and works just as well, so it isn't worth the time and effort to "upgrade" to a different bolt. Just spend the extra time to fine tune the LPR settings and the regulator

WOULD I RECOMMEND THIS TO A FRIEND. Absolutely yes. As long as it is for the right price, as always.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 4 (DM4) I used the dye dm4 in my first tournament ever and i have to say it still impresses me. Th gun is 8 years old and it still holds up with some of the top guns in the sport and beats some of the mid...
Report this review to a moderator   #31134
skitzo_paintballer
Im Jacks smirking revenge
skitzo_paintballer's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Montana
skitzo_paintballer owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
skitzo_paintballer owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
skitzo_paintballer has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: smooth shot great consitancy
Cons: big, heavy, replacment parts hard to find
I used the dye dm4 in my first tournament ever and i have to say it still impresses me. Th gun is 8 years old and it still holds up with some of the top guns in the sport and beats some of the mid range guns that are brand new. (yes im looking at you invert minis) Though its bigger and heavier that any gun now adays the added weight creates almost no kick and the shots are uber smooth. my biggest issue was i could never find the replacement parts i needed. My suggestion is if you can get one in great shape for 150 do it. you will not regret it i promise
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review