Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
DM8
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $1,300.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 92
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  53%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  39%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) Reviews
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) So I used a dm8 for about 8 months and it is one of the most reliable guns ive ever shot. I only had one problem with it, and it was my fault because the dwell was off set. This is also the most...
Report this review to a moderator   #9080
Austeller18
 
Austeller18's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Memphis
Austeller18 is a Paintball photographer
Austeller18 plays in the MiLP
Austeller18 posts videos on PbNation
Austeller18 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Light, reliable, costomer service,stunning looks
Cons: nothing
So I used a dm8 for about 8 months and it is one of the most reliable guns ive ever shot. I only had one problem with it, and it was my fault because the dwell was off set. This is also the most accurate gun ive ever shot. The ultralite barrel makes this thing incredibly hard to even miss where you are shooting. It comes stock with it, so there are no upgrades there. The weight of the gun is phenominal. With all of its features it is still right at 2 pounds. It has a great bolt, asa, reg, barrel, body, board, just everything about the gun is top of the line, light, and reliable. You will definantly get your moneys worth out of this gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) I've had my fair share of markers but I always wanted a DM so finally I purchased one and I must say it was exactly what I thought it would be and that is: awesome! I was shooting egos before...
Report this review to a moderator   #5834
bobalis
ROLO
bobalis's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: SE MI
bobalis has been a member for 10 years
bobalis supports our troops
bobalis has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: Compact, light, quiet, fast
Cons: air consumption, complexity
I've had my fair share of markers but I always wanted a DM so finally I purchased one and I must say it was exactly what I thought it would be and that is: awesome!

I was shooting egos before this (ego7, sl66, 06 ego) and after getting to play with this, I definetly like the DM more. The UL frame is the most comfortable frame that I've held. The gun is quiet, noticeably more so than my egos. Today, for example, I was playing in a 15+ acre "jungle" field and I saw 3 ppl just walking about 75-100 ft from me. I waited until they were in the open and then I opened up on them. I got 2 of them (ran outta paint) but after the game I spoke to them and none of them said they saw me or heard me. I know if I was using my ego, they would have heard my shots.

The marker shoots incredibly fast, faster than I can pull the trigger and thus, I don't really care if it can't do 30 bps or whatnot. With my critical trigger on there, I can rip it very fast, probably around 15-17 bps on semi (on a REALLY good day).

The hyper3 does a good job and I don't see the need to replace it except if you find its free swiveling macroline fitting annoying. I haven't really noticed it while I play so I don't have a problem with it. Today I had a 279-284-284 reading and that's good enough for me.

The UL barrel it comes with is fantastic. The back is .693 and I personally don't fully believe in "paint/bore" matching so I find that this is all I need.

The DM8 style detents are annoying though. As soon as you pull the sleeve out of the gun, the magnetic detents shoot out. However, for 20 bucks you can get a DM9 sleeve and it solves the problem. The only other problem that I can forsee a person having is air consumption. Since its a spoolie, it uses more air than poppit-style guns. For me personally though, I got about 4 pods and a hopper on 2500 psi and I just refill after the game so the effeciency isn't a problem for me, but it can be if you don't have access to air and you want to shoot a lot of paint.

As far as maintenance goes, just follow the manuals instructions and if that isnt' enough, there are plenty of videos online of how to properly maintain your marker. I'm kinda obsessed with my guns so I'll thoroughly clean them and re lube them, even if they don't need it and thus, I don't mind the "extra" work in dealing with this gun over my egos.

Overal, I'd say this gun is fantastic. All of the things that you find annoying fly out the window as soon as you see that first string of paint fly from your barrel (esp if that string lands on someone else).
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) I have had this gun for about a month.It shoots ropes of paint.I have heard that it is the same as the new dye guns but not as expensive.I would definitly reccomend this gun.
Report this review to a moderator   #39768
Codypbnation
Name's Ball,Paint Ball
Codypbnation's avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Houston TX
Codypbnation is playing at Living Legends VII
Codypbnation owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Codypbnation is attending Decay of Nations VII
Codypbnation supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Good feel,Smooth
Cons: No problems
I have had this gun for about a month.It shoots ropes of paint.I have heard that it is the same as the new dye guns but not as expensive.I would definitly reccomend this gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) not sure if it was just mine but if you didnt clean it, it didnt work like it should. but other than that i loved it shot very smooth and was soft on paint.
Report this review to a moderator   #18011
dylan_kersey
 
dylan_kersey's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
dylan_kersey plays in the PSP
dylan_kersey is playing at Living Legends V
dylan_kersey owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
dylan_kersey supports Team VICIOUS
dylan_kersey supports Pev's Paintball
dylan_kersey has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: eye pipe, value
Cons: you have to clean it every time you play with it
not sure if it was just mine but if you didnt clean it, it didnt work like it should. but other than that i loved it shot very smooth and was soft on paint.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) Bought this from a local seller and never had problems with it. Shot ball on ball most of the day. Did alright with poor paint or poor conditions. Would recommend to other buyers.
Report this review to a moderator   #25061
empire94
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Middlesex MA
empire94 plays in the PSP
empire94 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
empire94 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
empire94 plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: smaller gun, easier to use in snake
Cons: heavier than other guns
Bought this from a local seller and never had problems with it. Shot ball on ball most of the day. Did alright with poor paint or poor conditions. Would recommend to other buyers.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) So after a long vacation from the Matrix genre, I decided that I wanted to give them another try. I traded my 08 Ego for my Dm8, and I'm very surprised and happy to say: I'll never look back....
Report this review to a moderator   #7785
eos356
Eclipse Geo
eos356's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia
eos356 helped look for balloons
eos356 is playing at Living Legends III
eos356 supports Team VICIOUS
eos356 supports Bob Gurnsey
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Lightweight, Fast, Looks great, very quiet.
Cons: Maintaining could be a pain, eye pipe.
So after a long vacation from the Matrix genre, I decided that I wanted to give them another try. I traded my 08 Ego for my Dm8, and I'm very surprised and happy to say: I'll never look back.

Looks: Dye has a reputation for good looking markers. The Dm8 is no exception. Smooth lines, a nice flowing body style, and internal eyes make the Dm8 a beautiful gun.

Performance: It shoots very well. The biggest thing that I noticed coming from an Ego was the lack of noticeable kick, as well as a very quiet sound signature. This is a welcome change from the Ego, which gives away your field position every time it fires. Groupings are tight with the stock barrel, but the Dm8 is Autococker threaded, so other barrel options are definitely available. The regulator is very consistent, and delivers stellar performance once broken in and tuned.

Efficiency: Not good. It's a spool valve marker, so this is to be expected. I would not go so far as to say that it is awful, but it could definitely stand improvement.

Maintenance: Not very difficult. Involves taking out the fuse Bolt system, cleaning, lubricating and then putting it back in. That takes care of your basic maintenance needs. Now the eyes and detents are another story. The eye system on the Dm8 is completely internal, with no exterior parts like eye covers. This is nice on one hand, but troublesome on the other. The eyes are advertised as being self-cleaning, a claim I have yet to test. In short, the first few times you have to service the Eyes/eyepipe, will be slightly irritating, but once you get used to it you will be able to do it quickly.

Value:Actually quite good. As the DM9, DM10, NT are being released, the DM8 offers rival performance for a fraction of the cost. Buying one used can save you a lot of money, but still provide you with a tournament quality marker.

Conclusion: I do a lot of research before I purchase or trade for a marker. On the whole, I really like the DM8. It feels like a very high quality marker, and it performs well on the field. Add the fact that it is relatively cheaper than the DM9, with almost the exact performance and you come up with a nice package. I would recommend the DM8 to anyone, I'll be keeping mine for a while.

-Alex
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) I love DM's, and this may come across a little biased, but they just seem to be the perfect gun for me. They have always been super smooth when properly tuned, and I have always been able to get...
Report this review to a moderator   #13861
laxplayer9352
USMC
laxplayer9352's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jax, NC
laxplayer9352 is a Supporting Member
laxplayer9352 is a Paintball photographer
laxplayer9352 supports our troops
laxplayer9352 plays in the APPA D3 division
laxplayer9352 is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Smooth, Eye pipe
Cons: Weight,
I love DM's, and this may come across a little biased, but they just seem to be the perfect gun for me. They have always been super smooth when properly tuned, and I have always been able to get enough pods off of a 68/45 with them (anywhere from 6-9 pods).

I prefer them over the NTs because of the ability to adjust the LPR to either set the gun up to run superrr smoooothly or to run a little more efficiently. I personally have not seen an issue that couldn't be fixed by cleaning the gun (and replacing an oring). I've owned over 35 DM's and have NEVER had to replace a solenoid, all the heresay about blowing solenoids is crap. I would recommend these guns to anyone and everyone as they are going cheap on the used market and all shoot like a dream.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) The Gun is super smoother and has always been reliable for me. I love the eye pipe system, much better then the old eye cover system on the previous DM series. Everyone that has ever held a Dye UL...
Report this review to a moderator   #31327
ooop18
2K6er
ooop18's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: GR Mitten
ooop18 is playing at Living Legends V
ooop18 posts videos on PbNation
ooop18 supports Pev's Paintball
ooop18 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
ooop18 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Smooth, Quiet
Cons: efficiency
The Gun is super smoother and has always been reliable for me. I love the eye pipe system, much better then the old eye cover system on the previous DM series. Everyone that has ever held a Dye UL frame knows they are very comfortable. The board is easy to program and the gun is easy to maintain. Great gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) pretty good gun, very smooth shooting when tuned right. Would be worthy of a 5 star but the constant oring changing and lubing had me always a little worried if something was going to go wrong...
Report this review to a moderator   #25947
Oros97
Live and let live
Oros97's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 407, Florida
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: smooth shooting
Cons: bolt maintenace, eats o-rings
pretty good gun, very smooth shooting when tuned right. Would be worthy of a 5 star but the constant oring changing and lubing had me always a little worried if something was going to go wrong throughout my owning of the dm8
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 8 (DM8) This was my second marker from DYE that I've owned, and coming from my DM6 I was pretty excited to get it out and use it. Right out of the box I had an oring problem on the fuse bolt that kept...
Report this review to a moderator   #12103
p8ntball@ddict
CT's bestest butt buddy.
p8ntball@ddict's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: So Cal
p8ntball@ddict is a Moderator
p8ntball@ddict is a Supporting Member
p8ntball@ddict is playing at Living Legends V
p8ntball@ddict supports Team VICIOUS
p8ntball@ddict is a PbNation video producer
p8ntball@ddict supports our troops
p8ntball@ddict has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: great quality and customer service
Cons: Lots of orings to maintain
This was my second marker from DYE that I've owned, and coming from my DM6 I was pretty excited to get it out and use it. Right out of the box I had an oring problem on the fuse bolt that kept blowing no matter how many times I made adjustments. I sent it in to DYE and they were able to take care of it and get it back to me in no time. After that point I had no problems. Gun shot great, could handle brittle paint with no problems efficiency was average however but not a deal breaker. It was a little tough to clean inside the breach if the paint got around the eye pipe but it was rare. All in all it was a great gun and I'd recommend to anyone.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Add New Review