Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Bob Long Technologies - Marq 7 Rapper Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Bob Long Technologies
11669 Highway 26
Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245

Phone: (209) 293-4440
Fax: (209) 293-4420
Email: techsupport@boblongdirect.com
Website: http://www.boblongdirect.com
 Manual: Download the manual for Bob Long Technologies Download
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $1,050.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
 Reviews: 47
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  36%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Bob Long Technologies - Marq 7 Rapper Reviews
Bob Long Technologies Marq 7 Rapper I had one of the Ondonto Rappers, great marker when it was working properly, but it might have been because I was using militia lube rather than dow55
Report this review to a moderator   #11779
curly2k3
O' Herro Preeeez
curly2k3's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: MN
curly2k3 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
curly2k3 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $435.00
Pros: Rare, Fast, Smooth
Cons: pillow shot out, rear oring blows
I had one of the Ondonto Rappers, great marker when it was working properly, but it might have been because I was using militia lube rather than dow55
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 7 Rapper I got my Rapper in a trade, and like all markers I review, I put it through a thorough testing. My review below is a reflection of these results. Looks: The Rapper looks good. It's one of those...
Report this review to a moderator   #8156
eos356
Eclipse Geo
eos356's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia
eos356 helped look for balloons
eos356 is playing at Living Legends III
eos356 supports Team VICIOUS
eos356 supports Bob Gurnsey
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: See Review
Cons: See Review
I got my Rapper in a trade, and like all markers I review, I put it through a thorough testing. My review below is a reflection of these results.

Looks: The Rapper looks good. It's one of those markers that looks much better in person. The lines are smooth and flow well. Mine is a dust green, which is dark, and looks much like an Army Olive Drab.

Feel: The Marq has a unique feel. When looked at initially, one could get the impression that the marker is uncomfortable to hold. Pick the marker up, and you will be pleasantly surprised. The grip frame is comfortable in the hand, and allows plenty of room for your fingers. The trigger is acceptable, but has a tendency to bounce if not tuned correctly.

Hardware: My Marq came with the Tadao M8 board (not an oled) The board is easy to use, has all the firing adjustments I need (modes, speeds, etc) It also came stock with the 2-eye system instead of the 4-eye. I have yet to test the 4-eye system, but the 2-eye system worked flawlessly. *I will update this review when/if I purchase a 4-eye system* The rest of the marker is stock. The stock bolt, detents etc all perform well, and do their job. The stock regulator is actually quite good, very consistent and easy to maintain. One thing I found disappointing was the lack of an on/off asa.

Performance: I was skeptical as to how the Marq would shoot, and I wasn't sure exactly what to expect, given the innovations in design. My worries disappeared as I let off strings of paint, one after the other. There was very little kick, and accuracy was more than acceptable for any speedball applications. The air efficiency is good, and I imagine it will improve with better tuned settings. In short, my first shooting test left me with a huge smile, and a lot less paint.

Maintenance: This, in my view, is the Marq's only real flaw. I had hoped that working on this marker would be slightly easier than it is. The regulator work is simple; but the work on the engine and bolt are a little more complicated. Luckily, there are many helpful videos and resources available to help you out if you get stuck. Once you've worked on the marker a couple times, it becomes easier and less time consuming. Another thing to consider is that you will need to purchase a pressure tester from Bob Long for about 35$. I was a little disappointed to find out that they didn't come with the marker stock, and for that I deducted points.

Conclusion:

Pros:
-Light
-Fast
-Accurate
-Efficient
-Great customer service

Cons:
-Maintenance work can be a headache.
-No pressure tester stock.

Overall, I am very pleased with the Rapper. I usually go through markers pretty quickly, but I think the Rapper will have a place in my gear bag for the 2010 season, and maybe longer. It can perform well out of the box, and is a great feeling marker; coming from a great company with great customer support. If you're in the market for a new tournament marker, I would definitely give the Rapper a serious look.

Thanks for taking the time to read my review, and please rate it if you found it helpful.
-Alex
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 7 Rapper Disclaimer: There is not such thing as Non-Bias. I will try as hard as possible to be non-bias in this review. Well let me start off by saying, I traded for a used Rapper. This is also my first...
Report this review to a moderator   #4828
Rockyboarder
So Long Gay boys....
Rockyboarder's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego
Rockyboarder owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Light, fast, sleek, comfty.
Cons: Efficiency is ok, maintenance
Disclaimer: There is not such thing as Non-Bias. I will try as hard as possible to be non-bias in this review.

Well let me start off by saying, I traded for a used Rapper. This is also my first marq. Mine had the upgrades of Tadao M8, Dye UL, and a 1 of 1 Legacy Engine w/ pillow QD bolt. As well as Clear Seoul Grips.

Looks: Upon taking this out of the box, I was stunned. The gun itself was very aesthetically appealing to the eyes. It looked like all the harsh lines that I'm sure were once there were wiped away and very carefully. The lines on the Rapper are amazing. I love it. Even the little details like the eye covers are flush with the body milling. The little things that BL goes through to get not just a square cut out for an eye cover shows that this company cares.

Shooting: Shot over a chrono with reballs down in the 220's. Velocity was +/- 3 or so Fps. Prettttty consistant with such a crap barrel to ball match and lower velocity.
The stock trigger isn't bad at all. I had 2 vices prior to this marq and the stock triggers made me confident in the BPS I could reach (with or without the 4 eyes). I was easily shooting solid strings at around 14-16 inconsistent balls per second. No bounce on my gun at all.

Kick: I was testing as such a low velocity, it couldn't be found or measured. Or maybe thats just how the gun shoots. Not a lot of mass is really moving.

Efficiency: Not bad at all. Not great but not bad. Stock settings get you about 9.5 pods. This may be enough for me but some crazy back players shoot around that much per game (7 man NPPL).

Feel: Gun felt great in the hands. Felt right. Last gun I had used the UL frame and I didn't think anything else in the world could top it. The Rapper / Marq frame was rediculously comfty. It felt very natural and ergonomically correct to the form of MY hands. Not saying its for everyone but it does it for me.

Mainenance: Well here is my nitpick part of the review. Maintenance is not bad but not great. This is comming from someone who has shot every platform out on the market and even some not on the market. I have owned my share, teched my share, shot my share, and everything of the sorts.
Maintenance on the regulator. Its cake. It doesn't need to be done often at all.
Maintenance on the LPR isn't bad. Doesn't need to be touched almost ever.
The bolt setup and engine. Sucks. To get the engine out, one much stick something (NOT METAL) down the front of the breach and push out the engine forcably. Now doing this presents a few issues. One can ruin the pillow on the pillow bolt and or tear o-rings on the outer engine on the rear transfer hole. Disassembline the engine isn't hard and cleaning / relubing everything is a breeze. Putting the engine back in can be a heartache because the rear transfer hole in the body is pretty sharp and is notorious for tearing o-rings. If you don't have a spare kit, you're screwed. It is straight forward.

Packing / Box: BL doesn't include an LPR tester (A must) for this gun stock. Instead, one has to buy it for 30 - 40 bucks extra. Not cool. Some people have made their own and mine came with a "ghetto rig" LPR tester which works just fine.

Overall, the rapper is amazing. A bit stupid on the tolerances of the chamber and o-ring tearing but overall its easy. Lube it up and leave it alone for 5 - 10 cases. It feels great to shoot. It has its own shooting form and no kick.

Overall, 9/10.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 7 Rapper Great high end gun Fast Effiecient Smooth Great stock board Does need upgrades but barrel and new engine are nice maintaining it can be kind of a pain Kind of Bulky 8.5/10
Report this review to a moderator   #12610
Taylew
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Taylew is playing at Living Legends VI
Taylew owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Taylew supports Team VICIOUS
Taylew posts videos on PbNation
Taylew has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Fast, Smooth, Effiecient
Cons: Kind of Bulky
Great high end gun
Fast
Effiecient
Smooth
Great stock board
Does need upgrades but barrel and new engine are nice
maintaining it can be kind of a pain
Kind of Bulky
8.5/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 7 Rapper Traded one of my other guns for this at one point in time (can't remember what gun it was, im sure my feedback would tell me) Gun was nice and light, quiet and shot really well. I have owned many BL...
Report this review to a moderator   #18465
TeamSR
Bow To The King
TeamSR's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
TeamSR owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
TeamSR owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TeamSR is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.99
Pros: looks, weight, performance
Cons: None really
Traded one of my other guns for this at one point in time (can't remember what gun it was, im sure my feedback would tell me)

Gun was nice and light, quiet and shot really well. I have owned many BL guns and this was by far the favorite of them all. Even though i didn't own it long, i would def pick up another one if the chance was there!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 7 Rapper Rappers are great guns and for the price right now you really can't beat it. Bob long knows what he is doing even several years ago!
Report this review to a moderator   #19691
theTINman333
Dont you know who I am?
theTINman333's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Spokane
theTINman333 plays in the PSP
theTINman333 donated to help Peyton Trent
theTINman333 plays in the APPA D5 division
theTINman333 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
theTINman333 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Great gun for the price
Cons: nothing
Rappers are great guns and for the price right now you really can't beat it. Bob long knows what he is doing even several years ago!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 7 Rapper I never shot this gun straight out of the box, so I'm not actually sure how good it is in that situation. I had 4c eyes, a Yakuza board, SPD grips, and a Violent Products trigger waiting for as soon...
Report this review to a moderator   #4514
ApolloAnton
gettin slizzard
ApolloAnton's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
ApolloAnton donated to help Peyton Trent
ApolloAnton owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
ApolloAnton supports Team VICIOUS
ApolloAnton is for the Gunfight
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: Sexy milling, light, fast
Cons: Subpar efficiency for a poppet
I never shot this gun straight out of the box, so I'm not actually sure how good it is in that situation. I had 4c eyes, a Yakuza board, SPD grips, and a Violent Products trigger waiting for as soon as I got it.

I fell in love with this gun because of it's amazing milling. It is hands down one of the sexiest guns out there. I would take the milling of a Rapper over any other Marq series gun. The only milling that comes close to touching it is that of the Vice, but both are Bob Long guns, so that doesn't surprise me.

Performancewise, I find the Rapper to be an amazing gun tor shoot. I shot Protege before it, but it was too ugly and a lttile bit more kick than the Rapper. I have also shot a Vice (no LP poppet though) and an Ego 7, and comparatively the Rapper has less kick than either of those guns. Speedwise, 4c eyes and a properly programmed Yakuza board can probably break the 30 bps barrier with a hopper that can feed that fast. I can shoot about 26 bps ramping with my Pulse a little more than halfway. In semi, it seems like the gun is more responsive and shoot more consistent streams of paint.

Over the chron, my first 3 shots with my marq were 297, 298,298. Amazing consistency. I do have an AKA 2-Liter+ on the way just because I love to spend my money on things I don't need.

The only real con with any Marq is the efficiency. It's not atrocious, but I do expect more from a poppet. I can usually get a little more than half a case on a hot 68/45, and I truly don't need more than that, but it would be nice to see it get almost a case on a 68/45. I am in the prcess of acquiring an HE Proficiency Engine for my gun, hopefully by Commander's Cup, which should fix my only gripe with this gun.

Many say maintenance is on the more complicated side with the Marq engines, but it's mostly just lubing the proper o-rings, and lining up the holes on the bottom of the engine properly. I do wish I had the LPR slot on mine milled, but that's something I don't really mess with too much and I don't have an LPR tester anyways.

tl;dr
sexy, fast, consistent light gun, easy maintenance, efficiency could be improved, but that's what the HE proficiency engine is for.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 7 Rapper I had a couple of Marq7s and just wasn't a fan of them over the other Marqs. The 7's milling just wasn't as appealing and I believe the 6 and the rapper were actually lighter. I'd definitely search...
Report this review to a moderator   #13975
laxplayer9352
USMC
laxplayer9352's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jax, NC
laxplayer9352 is a Supporting Member
laxplayer9352 is a Paintball photographer
laxplayer9352 supports our troops
laxplayer9352 plays in the APPA D3 division
laxplayer9352 is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Fast, Efficient
Cons: Ugly, bulky
I had a couple of Marq7s and just wasn't a fan of them over the other Marqs. The 7's milling just wasn't as appealing and I believe the 6 and the rapper were actually lighter. I'd definitely search around and pick up one of those guns instead.

The marqs are awesome guns though. I've had over 10 now and they are very efficient and shoot very smoothly. The stock trigger is awesome for semi and they can really rip. Cannot go wrong with a marq, I just have my preferences.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 7 Rapper I shoot a dust black one. Mine came stock with an adjustable feedneck, pillow bolt and assassins barrel. I installed a Tadao board and a Critical Trigger shortly thereafter. For me, it's best...
Report this review to a moderator   #2955
Edwin@tkpb
 
Edwin@tkpb's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Old Katy, Tx.
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $650.00
Pros: Ease of use, reliability, easy to work on.
Cons: A little heavy, tricky HP/LP adjustments.
I shoot a dust black one. Mine came stock with an adjustable feedneck, pillow bolt and assassins barrel. I installed a Tadao board and a Critical Trigger shortly thereafter.


For me, it's best investment I've ever made for a marker. Ball on ball, everytime. I've chopped paint once, I pushed a squeegee into the chamber, shot it and it worked fine.

On a 70/45 LP Stubby Crossfire I get 9 pods and a hopper, easy.

Bob-Long asa's are amazing, so there is no need to replace it with an on/off.


Recommended Upgrades: Either the Tadao board or the Hater/Symbio combo, Critical or Techna trigger and J&J barrel kit.

I give it a 10/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 7 Rapper i bought my mark 7 rapper at the jacksonville nppl even the other weekend from firstcall trader but of course i looked there before i went to the trade my gun booth because i work at firstcall...
Report this review to a moderator   #3648
cold crime
 
cold crime's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $540.00
Pros: accurate, quiet, fast
Cons: none really
i bought my mark 7 rapper at the jacksonville nppl even the other weekend from firstcall trader but of course i looked there before i went to the trade my gun booth because i work at firstcall paintball...anywho if u havent heard about it yet, one of the guys from trade my gun got fired and he came and teamed up with firstcall paintball and at jacksonville did alot better than trade my gun did. ill post a thread about it in a bit, but the rapper is awesome, it shoots great, very accurate, shot one of the guys while he was mowing the grass today...**** was weak

mine is black with red parts, a CP reg, CP drop, CP ASA, and a tadao yakuza board...i give it a 10/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Add New Review