Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Zap - Chronic Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Zap
720 Wright Street
Strathroy, Ontario,
Canada

Fax: (519) 245-7992
Email: contact@zappaintball.com
Website: http://www.zappaintball.com
Tournament grade paint
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $57.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 24
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  79%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  17%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Zap - Chronic Reviews
Zap Chronic This was great tournament paint! Super thick fill and brittle! In cold weather it was not the best to shoot due to it being so brittle. I never had a bounce with it and the fill was so thick it was...
Report this review to a moderator   #37337
paintballer045
Noob forum OT OG
paintballer045's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Good ole' Georgia
paintballer045 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
paintballer045 supports Team VICIOUS
paintballer045 is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
paintballer045 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $55.00
Pros: Great paint
Cons: Price
This was great tournament paint! Super thick fill and brittle! In cold weather it was not the best to shoot due to it being so brittle. I never had a bounce with it and the fill was so thick it was very obvious the person was hit.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Zap Chronic This was the best paint I ever shot and I used it always at national events. Never let me down and never had any problems with it. Also could easily get it for 20/case. Sad that it isn't available...
Report this review to a moderator   #15710
Cory688
 
Cory688's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Cory688 is a Supporting Member
Cory688 has been a member for 10 years
Cory688 plays in the APPA D4 division
Cory688 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Cory688 is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $20.00
Pros: Great fill, awesome shell
Cons: No longer available
This was the best paint I ever shot and I used it always at national events. Never let me down and never had any problems with it. Also could easily get it for 20/case. Sad that it isn't available anymore.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Zap Chronic Shell - Appearance & Performance The shell is like a dark orange color and has a Chronic logo on the ball in either Black or Red. These balls are easy to track when your shooting and can see them...
Report this review to a moderator   #2094
OTEdge2
 
OTEdge2's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mission Viejo
OTEdge2 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Price Sometimes
Shell - Appearance & Performance
The shell is like a dark orange color and has a Chronic logo on the ball in either Black or Red. These balls are easy to track when your shooting and can see them very well so you know where your shooting. Looks fine, but dont fall prey to the fake Chronic brands.

Fill - Appearance & Performance
The fill is a very noticable bright orange and it is very hard to miss it. Long as it dosnt hit anything that is orange on the opponent (Protected Color in most Tournaments), then you will know if they are wiping or not. The fill is pretty thick and wiping it is some what hard and even when you do it still shows up a little bit. These can stain some clothing.

Breaking - Performance & Reliability
These break very easily on enemy and bunkers, this is one of the highest of quality tournament paints and will very rarely bounce. This is ment to be shot in Low Pressure guns like Egos, Matrix's, etc. If shot out of Spyders or Tippmanns you probably will break every single ball in your gun as it hits it to hard. Most box's of properly stored Chronic will not have any breaks in the bag, if it does im sure most places will allow you to return it or check before you buy it.

Price & Bang4Buck - Value
The prices can vary depends on who and where you are getting them from. If you have a sponser that can get them cheap then more power to you, if not then they can be quite expensive in some cases. Not always the greatest practice paint if you are buying them at $60 a box, but if you have a sponser or dealer then just use that. In tournaments never sacrafice bad paint just to save a few dollars and lose, get Chronic. One of the best tournament paint brands you can buy.

Disclaimer - Please Read
I take time on my reviews to make them honest and non-bias as possible, on most occasions I will spell check them and revise to. The point is I take a lot of time on this and do appreciate good ratings, or bad ratings if you feel it deserves it. Before rating please read the full review and base your ratings on my review and not the gear and my opinions on it, if you do I have no control over that but please do it just to be nice. Thanks - OTEdge
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Zap Chronic I have been using this paint for a long time, when we could get it in. It has always been a good paint for me and I will explain why. As with all paints I buy I do reviews of them, don't know why I...
Report this review to a moderator   #2208
QuencyJones16
Cause I don't have a gong
QuencyJones16's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tennessee
QuencyJones16 helped look for balloons
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Shell, fill, affordable
Cons: None really
I have been using this paint for a long time, when we could get it in. It has always been a good paint for me and I will explain why. As with all paints I buy I do reviews of them, don't know why I just always have. So here are the results of my tests.

*This will be a review on both the normal Chronic and Chronic Pro.*

Chronic 10 ball, varying distances. Chronic Pro 10 balls,

Shoulder height (5'), 5 balls. Shoulder height (5'), 5 balls
1- Broke 1- Broke
2- Bounced once, broke 2- Broke
3- Broke 3- Broke
4- Bounced twice, broke 4- Broke
5- Broke 5- Broke

3 feet, 3 balls 3 feet, 3 balls
1- Broke 1- Broke
2- Bounced twice, broke 2- Broke
3- Broke 3- Broke

2 feet, 2 balls 2 feet, 2 balls
1- Bounced, did not break 1- Bounced once, broke
2- Bounced did not break 2- Broke

* These test were done in mid January, so temperature was around 45 F outside and inside it was around 68 F.*

Size, Consistency
Chronic-
Chronic is normally around .689-.690, varying from case to case, but is very cosnstent

Chronic Pro-
I have always had them at .687, never any smaller, nor larger.
Shells
Chronic-
The shells are a bright color no matter what shell you get (Orange, Pink, ect.) with the large Chronic symbol on them. The symbol is usually a black color.

Chronic Pro-
Now the shell in these ranges from a gold color to a metallic Orange color, both with the Chronic symbol on them.

Fill
Chronic- The fill in Chronic is a bright colored fill, no matter the fill color. In terms of consistency I would put it at ketchup with a bright fill. It has a thickener in it so that when air hits it, it starts to gel up into a waxy substance.

Chronic Pro-
Chronic Pro has two fills to them, one thick (same as Chronic), and a thinner fill that is meant to stain. If you have let the paint sit for a while they will separate, so shake your paint before you use it.

Seams
Chronic-
None to really account for

Chronic Pro-
They do sort of have a seam, but it seems to help with flight a bit.

In all I do like this paint a lot, after using it for about 5 years now it has never let me down and if ZAP keeps it up I do not think it will.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Zap Chronic We used to love shooting this stuff at tournaments. That bright pink metallic fill was very easy for the refs to make a determination. I swear they must have pressure sealed the paintballs to fit...
Report this review to a moderator   #15844
anjordan77
All Paintball Supplies
anjordan77's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
anjordan77 has been a member for 10 years
anjordan77 plays in the USPL
anjordan77 donated to help Peyton Trent
anjordan77 helped look for balloons
anjordan77 is playing at Living Legends III
anjordan77 is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $65.00
Pros: bright metallic pink fill, thin shell, perfect bal
Cons: price
We used to love shooting this stuff at tournaments. That bright pink metallic fill was very easy for the refs to make a determination. I swear they must have pressure sealed the paintballs to fit more fill in there. Great paint and wish it were still around!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Zap Chronic Best paint I have ever shot in my life. Its super accurate, the fill is unwipable and super bright, very brittle but never breaks in my gun, very consistent bore size usually a 689-691.
Report this review to a moderator   #2655
alex14
Flipmode is the squiddod.
alex14's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: McDonoughlds, GA
alex14 has been a member for 10 years
alex14 plays in the PSP
alex14 plays in the APPA D2 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $59.00
Pros: Bright, unwipable fill, no seam, PERFECT
Cons: cant use in CFOA or PSP
Best paint I have ever shot in my life. Its super accurate, the fill is unwipable and super bright, very brittle but never breaks in my gun, very consistent bore size usually a 689-691.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Zap Chronic WOW THIS PAINT IS GOOD HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #2555
speedballer519
hello there
speedballer519's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Enfield, Connecticut
speedballer519 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
speedballer519 supports Team VICIOUS
speedballer519 is for the Gunfight
speedballer519 supports Sherwood Forest
speedballer519 supports Sherwood Forest
speedballer519 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: AWSOME
Cons: smells weird
WOW THIS PAINT IS GOOD HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Zap Chronic I have been using chronic for tournaments for over a year an at first it seemed perfect. It flew straight, broke on the slightest of targets and was thick. However the last several batches i have...
Report this review to a moderator   #1932
Waffleman
SCREWBY
Waffleman's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: 8OH!5
Waffleman is a Supporting Member
Waffleman has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $35.00
Pros: Bright an thick fill
Cons: Inconsistant quality
I have been using chronic for tournaments for over a year an at first it seemed perfect. It flew straight, broke on the slightest of targets and was thick.

However the last several batches i have shot have been utter rubbish. The paint is so brittle not even the best ego with the largest bore barrel can squeeze this stuff out. Getting it to break on the target is easy, getting it to NOT break in your gun is the hard part. And because its a thick paint one barrel break an your done for.

One thing however i have noticed is that there seem to be two different grades of chronic. At the same XPSL event my team had purchased 40 cases of chronic an another team had done the same, however they where a zap specific sponsor'd team and where shooting a different colored shell formula. This stuff was fantastic and shot great for them, however the paint we recieved was different shell and alot different out of the gun. However it came in THE SAME BOX! I think Zap has something up their sleeves.

I can't recommend this even for practice paint, it is to difficult to see if the paint you purchased is one of the 'bad' batches unless you actually open it up and do a drop test as the paintballs all physicaly look fine.
My final opinion - skip it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.8/5 stars.
Zap Chronic This is probly the best paint i have used in a while. It breaks on target all the time, never chops or breaks. NO DIMPLES, NO breaks in bag. Best paint imo
Report this review to a moderator   #1761
Pirate Mafia
Affiliated
Pirate Mafia's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sussex County
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $55.00
Pros: BEST PAINT, breaks, nice fill, perfect
Cons: NONE
This is probly the best paint i have used in a while. It breaks on target all the time, never chops or breaks. NO DIMPLES, NO breaks in bag. Best paint imo
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Zap Chronic When my local PB store has Chronic, I buy as many boxes as I can get. Problem is he cannot get any more and I cannot find any online. This really is one of the best paintballs I have ever used. I...
Report this review to a moderator   #26720
Diekrupt
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Accuracy
Cons: Availability
When my local PB store has Chronic, I buy as many boxes as I can get. Problem is he cannot get any more and I cannot find any online. This really is one of the best paintballs I have ever used. I used to love proto darts but they seem extinct. I used to use GAP which was great. Of course allstars and marbs but they are too expensive.

If you can find Chron they are a great price for great performance. They worked great in my old shocker and new Geo 2.1. I just with they had better production and the top online PB sites carried it.


  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review