Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Hyper 2 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
The proven Hyper2 in-line regulator has been designed to meet and exceed the air flow demands of the top guns in the sport of paintball. DYE's in-line regulator is designed specifically for low pressure, high volume paintball guns.
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $119.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 16
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Hyper 2 Reviews
Dye Precision Hyper 2 love the reg, try to put on on every gun i own. just wish the inlet hole was at the bottom, or at least lower. it is sometimes tough to route macro line from a straight fitting on an ASA with...
Report this review to a moderator   #39973
Lurch_man
Step over the line...
Lurch_man's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: FL
Lurch_man posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: consistent
Cons: inlet location
love the reg, try to put on on every gun i own.

just wish the inlet hole was at the bottom, or at least lower. it is sometimes tough to route macro line from a straight fitting on an ASA with mini-drop to a 90* fitting on the reg. just makes for tight turns in the hose.


other than that - its great!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Hyper 2 Looks - Appearance I think if in the right color, this looks great on any marker. Most of the matrix's flow really well with this regulator and it really adds style and function to your...
Report this review to a moderator   #2870
OTEdge2
 
OTEdge2's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mission Viejo
OTEdge2 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: Mostly All
Cons: Maintainence
Looks - Appearance
I think if in the right color, this looks great on any marker. Most of the matrix's flow really well with this regulator and it really adds style and function to your marker.

Consistancy - Performance
Depending on what your coming from, it should increase. Some regulators are better but this is one of the leading inline regulators. After broken in I will get about 5+/- depending on how the gun itself is tuned, it can get a lot better or a lot worse. If your coming from a regualtor made by Plant Eclipse, AKA, and maybe CP. Dont expect much of a differene since most of these regulators are just the same, if not better.

Maintenance - Reliability
It is a little bit of a pain to take this apart. Compared to just screwing off and your done, this requires a tiny amount of work. Also this uses shims which you can lose, so you have to be pretty careful with disassembly.

Bang4Buck - Value
This is a great regulator and a very common one at that. These go for a lot at MSRP Price, but I would never buy this regulator new. I got all mine from all the Matrixs I have owned. You can get these used here on nation for insanely cheap, since they are a stock gun part. So long as you can pick this up for $40 or under, you will be happy with this product. Only other regulators I can recommend are any Plant Eclipse Regs, 2-Liter, and the Sidewinder. Those are a lot better but cost more to. The Hyper 2 Regulator is a good choice for a new way to improve consistancy and looks. Get it.

Disclaimer - Please Read
I take time on my reviews to make them honest and non-bias as possible, on most occasions I will spell check them and revise to. The point is I take a lot of time on this and do appreciate good ratings, or bad ratings if you feel it deserves it. Before rating please read the full review and base your ratings on my review and not the gear and my opinions on it, if you do I have no control over that but please do it just to be nice. Thanks - OTEdge
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Hyper 2 The Hyper 2 reg is one of my favorite regulators due to: -Consistency -Fitting placement -Adjustment screw -Swivel Design of the fitting -Maintenance -Looks aren't too bad either The Hyper 2's...
Report this review to a moderator   #14962
Zepulkinator
Epic Purple Dude
Zepulkinator's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The 'Dookie, IL
Zepulkinator plays in the PSP
Zepulkinator supports Team VICIOUS
Zepulkinator is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Zepulkinator is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $20.00
Pros: Consistent, Fitting Placement
Cons: Not being produced anymore
The Hyper 2 reg is one of my favorite regulators due to:

-Consistency
-Fitting placement
-Adjustment screw
-Swivel Design of the fitting
-Maintenance
-Looks aren't too bad either

The Hyper 2's design is the same design as the AKA Sidewinder.

If you're looking for cheap reg, that has all the qualities of great reg that is more than twice the cost then I'd recommend you get a hyper 2.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Hyper 2 Since this reg comes stock on All DYE markers, they are not hard to come by when you tech mostly those markers. I have used them for years, since the DM4 came stock with them and they have never let...
Report this review to a moderator   #1538
QuencyJones16
Cause I don't have a gong
QuencyJones16's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tennessee
QuencyJones16 helped look for balloons
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: Consistent, good build
Cons: Price
Since this reg comes stock on All DYE markers, they are not hard to come by when you tech mostly those markers. I have used them for years, since the DM4 came stock with them and they have never let me down.

Right out of the box they can be a bit inconsistent, this is from the massive amounts of lube that is on them from the factory. Don't be scared if you are experiencing +/- 5-10 right out of the box, clean them and let them break in and they will get better.
*Clean your reg when you get it, lube so it just looks wet*
But with a few cases through them and a good cleaning regularly don't be surprised to get +/- 2-3 no problem (see what cleaning and patience gets you).

They can be a bit of a hassle to take a part the first time, they are tightened down very well, so be careful and use the proper tools. But once then you get used to how they work and how they are built. Remember some come with 7 shims and others 9.

What I like and do not like about this reg.

Pros

Reliable- Never had one leak on me or a o-ring really break, good build
Consistent- When broken in +/-2, so not bad at all.
Slender design- Although they weigh .5 oz, they fit very well in your hand, and with the swivel at the bottom, you can put your micro fitting anywhere you want.

Cons

Price- Unless you buy a DYE marker, be ready to spend around $90

Since they come stock on all DYE markers, you sort of know they are going to be high quality. But if you have another marker, they will work just as well on any marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision Hyper 2 I've had three Hyper2's - and all of them have been great regs once you do a few things with them. Go arm yourself with the tools you need (especially strap wrenches). Out of the box, strip them...
Report this review to a moderator   #2334
railz
Manamana - DooDooDeDooDoo
railz's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
railz is a Supporting Member
railz donated to help Peyton Trent
railz is playing at Living Legends III
railz supports our troops
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $59.00
Pros: Extremely consistent when broken in, swivel base
Cons: Lubed to all hell brand-new, easy to strip bottom
I've had three Hyper2's - and all of them have been great regs once you do a few things with them.

Go arm yourself with the tools you need (especially strap wrenches).

Out of the box, strip them down and remove the thick THICK coating of crappy lube Dye puts on them from the factory. Relube the shim stack with a very THIN coat of lube or paintball marker oil. When I mean thin, I mean THIN - a wet look is all you want.

Check the seal and flip it if need be. Now, put it back together and either put about 5 cases through it, or if you have a DM4/5/C/6/7/8 with an integrated on/off, air up the marker and then use the on/off to take pressure off the bolt but still in the reg. Let it sit like that for about a week, and you're good to to (this advice was from a Dye tech and it works!).

Biggest problems with them are leaks out of the bottom swivel (dirt or pinched/nicked stem o-rings) or inconsistency (too much lube or dirt/lint in the shim stack). Make sure you put the shims on back the correct way or you'll break your marker!

=={}{}{}{}{||

Some older Hyper2s have seven shims instead of nine. If you're missing a shim when you take it apart, look in the top section of the body - it's usually stuck to the inside with lube.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision Hyper 2 This reg is great! It has good airflow, and is very efficient. Simple if you need a new reg this is for you, and it is very stylish. Great buy and product.
Report this review to a moderator   #3050
pedrofb19
Sweet stroller ***
pedrofb19's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toledo
pedrofb19 plays in the PSP
pedrofb19 donated to help Peyton Trent
pedrofb19 plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: cheap light small good air flow
Cons: none really
This reg is great! It has good airflow, and is very efficient. Simple if you need a new reg this is for you, and it is very stylish. Great buy and product.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Hyper 2 Ive used several Hyper IIs on several different markers. Theyre light, wide enough to allow for a good grip, and are very consistent. They are also fairly short and allow for a good grip without...
Report this review to a moderator   #1696
PlayFront36
Now in HD!
PlayFront36's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Illinois
PlayFront36 has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $35.00
Pros: Consistent, reliable
Cons: Macroline placement
Ive used several Hyper IIs on several different markers. Theyre light, wide enough to allow for a good grip, and are very consistent. They are also fairly short and allow for a good grip without having too much extra material left to get hit. The only thing that I dislike is where the macroline comes out, it almost never rests in a comfortable spot.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Hyper 2 Solid solid SOLID!!!!! piece of equipment. Out of the box I was getting +/- 9 ish which is amazing for a reg with 10 dry fires on it. Used it on my Epiphany and it worked perfects and felt amazing in...
Report this review to a moderator   #5385
SWAYED117
 
SWAYED117's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rochester NY
SWAYED117 donated to help Peyton Trent
SWAYED117 supports Team VICIOUS
SWAYED117 posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $10.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: N/A
Solid solid SOLID!!!!! piece of equipment. Out of the box I was getting +/- 9 ish which is amazing for a reg with 10 dry fires on it. Used it on my Epiphany and it worked perfects and felt amazing in the hands. My shots are very consistent and smooth if you can pick up a used one youll be doing yourself a favor

Maintenance I havent done yet but from what I hear at the field is long as your being careful its not overly difficult.

Also Velocity adjustment is a breeze with a allen key (not sure which size)


  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Hyper 2 This came stock on my DM4 years ago. It never failed me once; not even a blown o-ring. Kept my marker +/- 3 (a bit more inconsistent on cold days). Grips very well. My only gripe is that some of it...
Report this review to a moderator   #1443
MVPaintballer
Mega Flagellator
MVPaintballer's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: New Hope, PA
MVPaintballer is a Mega Moderator
MVPaintballer is a Supporting Member
MVPaintballer donated to help Peyton Trent
MVPaintballer supports Bob Gurnsey
MVPaintballer posts videos on PbNation
MVPaintballer supports our troops
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.01
Pros: Looks good, fast recharge, easy setting
Cons: Hard to field strip
This came stock on my DM4 years ago. It never failed me once; not even a blown o-ring. Kept my marker +/- 3 (a bit more inconsistent on cold days). Grips very well.

My only gripe is that some of it is hard to field strip. It has allen grooves on most of the body components (something Dye is good at doing - hiding grooves and screw heads); but not on 1 of the components. Once you get it open, its just 2 pieces really, a spring and a ram. Very easy to clean.

A bit expensive, but not bad since it came stock. If you don't care about looks an AKA Sidewinder is a better choice.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Hyper 2 Cousin bought a used DM5 and this was obviously the stock reg. A price is required in the above field so i just put a buck although he didn't just buy the reg alone. After a thorough cleaning &...
Report this review to a moderator   #2043
nerdcore
Radical!
nerdcore's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crashville
nerdcore has been a member for 10 years
nerdcore is playing at Living Legends VII
nerdcore is a top reviewer
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $1.00
Pros: Great stock reg.
Cons: Expensive by itself.
Cousin bought a used DM5 and this was obviously the stock reg. A price is required in the above field so i just put a buck although he didn't just buy the reg alone.

After a thorough cleaning & relubing (previous owner really knew how to get dirty), gun itself performed really well in no small part due to the Hyper 2.

Easy enough to maintain, consistent enough by most standards, definitely can't go wrong for a stock reg.

But if you've got a different gun & feel the need to replace the regulator, there are better options than paying for one of these by itself.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.3/5 stars.
Add New Review