Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Component Concepts Incorporated - Phantom (VSC) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Component Concepts Incorporated
530 South Springbrook Road
Newberg, OR 97132

Fax: (503) 554-9370
Email: cci@phantomonline.com
Website: http://phantomonline.com
Phantoms are the height of precision pump markers. No hefty pump arms, slim - sleek - lightweight aluminum body, precision machined internal hammer & bolt system and hand-finished with excellent attention to detail!
 Manual: Download the manual for Component Concepts Incorporated Download
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $288.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 39
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  59%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  41%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Component Concepts Incorporated - Phantom (VSC) Reviews
Component Concepts Incorporated Phantom (VSC) I've had a VSC Phantom since late 2003 and have played tournaments (against electropneumatic toting players), scenario games, and pump-only games with the marker. It's not the best, it's not the...
Report this review to a moderator   #3236
bnctaj
 
bnctaj's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
bnctaj has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $280.00
Pros: Lightweight, versatile, common, simple, consistent
Cons: Personal preference, rattles
I've had a VSC Phantom since late 2003 and have played tournaments (against electropneumatic toting players), scenario games, and pump-only games with the marker. It's not the best, it's not the worst. It gets the job done, and that's really all that can be asked. The stock barrel is in fact great... it just requires rather large paint. Detents will fix that, as will an aftermarket barrel.
Strengths:
Weight:
The Phantom, especially in a stock class configuration, is very light. Of course, this is to be expected given that it is an aluminum Nelson-based paint-marker. Doubly so since it is stock class.
Versatility:
The Phantom can be quickly configured to a centerfeed, right feed, or left feed from this marker, and one may change out the valve housing for a back bottle one, a drop-out valve, or one may undo the twelve gram changer to attach a regulator and run a bottom line. Also, one can attach a t-stock (made by CCI or whomever one prefers), use a .45 or M16 grip (or a Euro, or a Lonestar, or basically any aftermarket AR15 grip), or any one of a number of other things. Under-barrel cocking kits are available, too. Just about any external mod thought possible can be done; the internals don't need much improvement.
Consistency:
When the Phantom is properly set up, the marker is as consistent as today's electric wizzbangs, with all their fancy do-dads and whatnot. And by properly set up, I don't mean that it has a regulator... on unregulated CO2 it is not uncommon to get within two feet per second either way of a set velocity, which is within the margin of error of most chronographs.
Common:
The marker is relatively common, increasingly so since mid 2003. As such, parts are relatively plentiful compared to Sheridan-style markers and many other (cheaper) Nelson-based markers.
Simplicity:
One can take the marker apart without tools. That means that if the marker isn't functioning properly (which almost never happens) it can be fixed on the field if it is needed.

Weaknesses:
Personal preference:
Some people just don't like the around the barrel pump, the thin grip frame, or the fact it's stock class. Other people can't handle a pump properly and blame the marker.
Rattles:
The marker will rattle when put together properly, which can make one believe that one put it together improperly or that the marker is flimsy. In truth, it's rather robust, but when the rattling noise/feeling combines with a temperament to having certain screws too tight, to being a very light marker, it can cause the perception that something is wrong with the marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Component Concepts Incorporated Phantom (VSC) Appearance: the marker is fairly plain due to its design. Getting a different anno color helps immensely. They look best if you get the hardline kit instead of using microline. Performance: the...
Report this review to a moderator   #3853
nflvikings
It's fizzix.
nflvikings's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Illinois
nflvikings is a Forum Captain
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $285.00
Pros: In review
Cons: In review
Appearance: the marker is fairly plain due to its design. Getting a different anno color helps immensely. They look best if you get the hardline kit instead of using microline.

Performance: the only problem I had with the performance was the pump mechanism. Since there is only one pump arm, it tends to twist and bind a bit making the pump stroke rougher. It's not so rough to make you want to quit using it, but it's not comparable to the stroke of a Cocker with a CCM kit. It got very good air efficiency. At 80* I could get about 30-35 shots off of a 12 gram depending on how fast I shot. The trigger is a bit uncomfortable unless you get a trigger shoe.

Reliability: the Phantom VSC was one of the most reliable markers I ever owned. In my two years of shooting them (1 year each on two separate phantoms) I never had it break down on me. Nelson valve pumps are inherently simple, there isn't much room for failure. I only did maintenance on it once a month unless it rained or there was dirt in the breach.

Value: for less than $300 it's a pretty damn good value. It's a solid marker that works when you need it to. It's a bit pricey for someone just looking to try pumps, but it's a good value for someone who knows they like a stock class setup.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Component Concepts Incorporated Phantom (VSC) Quite frankly, this is the one of the best stock class marker you can buy. Yes the Carter is better. BUT factor in price, parts, and time to wait for it to be built and the Phantom is a real...
Report this review to a moderator   #39442
Sogamember666
This is not an Exit
Sogamember666's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fort Benning
Sogamember666 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Sogamember666 supports Team VICIOUS
Sogamember666 supports Bob Gurnsey
Sogamember666 supports our troops
Sogamember666 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Description
Cons: Description
Quite frankly, this is the one of the best stock class marker you can buy. Yes the Carter is better. BUT factor in price, parts, and time to wait for it to be built and the Phantom is a real contender.

The marker is LIGHT! its basically a 4 small tubes of aluminum with a grip frame. Efficiency is great, even better if you have it set up for a back bottle. The closer the 12 gram is to the valve the better. Accuracy is top notch. I don't know what magic Mike did when he created this thing but the stock barrel is perfect. I've never swapped one out and I've owned about 6 phantoms now. Price varies new but usually you can snag a VSC for about $250 plus more for different annos, gauged valves, pump kits, etc.

Some people hate the pump kit. It works, it might be a tad rough new, but it does break in. Some people hate the design of it, to bad its been a proven design since 1989.

These things are great. I've loved every single one since I first bought one back in 2007. And I've hated myself for letting every one go. The Phantom is the AK47 of pumps.

However I would get a couple things when getting one to make sure it runs its best.

Spare Nylon set screw (lost easily)
Detent Rings (prevents rollouts)
Spring kit to fine tune velocity
Seals kit (just in case)

All of those items can be had for less than $30 and it just means your Phantom will outlive you.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Component Concepts Incorporated Phantom (VSC) Appearance: The thing you have to remember is that the beauty of this marker is in its simplicity. You don't get any fancy milling here but I love how this marker looks and have loved them for over 8...
Report this review to a moderator   #1637
jeryzkid22
lone ranger
jeryzkid22's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
jeryzkid22 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
jeryzkid22 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: easy to change setups, lightweigt,
Cons: none yet
Appearance: The thing you have to remember is that the beauty of this marker is in its simplicity. You don't get any fancy milling here but I love how this marker looks and have loved them for over 8 years.

Performance: I couldn't ask for anything more. For my favorite setup I have a J&J Edge kit which makes this amazing marker shoot even more consistent. I get about 30 good shots out of a 12 gram and I can shoot all day at my local fields by using one filled 3.5 oz tank.

Reliability: I haven't gone to a field in the past 8 years without bringing one of my phantoms. I change my springs and cupseals once a year and maybe put two drops in the asa every other time playing. If your phantom goes down on you then you might want to think about another phantom.

Value: Priceless. I have become a better snap shooter than most of the people I've played against. If you learn to make every shot count then imagine what you can do with 200 shots. They say you get what you pay for but with this marker you get way more than what you pay for even if you decide to get unnecessary upgrades.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Component Concepts Incorporated Phantom (VSC) I have owned 8 or more markers in the 7 years I played paintball, of the 8, three (including my last one) where Phantoms. I love Phantoms- in particular the VSC configuration which you could change...
Report this review to a moderator   #2794
1212forty
ALWAYS AN OPTIMIST!
1212forty's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Most reliable, light, sexy, fun marker I've owned!
Cons: Balls roll out the barrel-fixed with barrel rings
I have owned 8 or more markers in the 7 years I played paintball, of the 8, three (including my last one) where Phantoms. I love Phantoms- in particular the VSC configuration which you could change into any configuration at will. I had a 14" barrel and a mini 6" barrel with a 10 round tube, acid grey, 45 grip, 12 gram changer and 4oz co2 tank, ghost ring, bobbed valve with punisher gauge and a good ole trigger show all in matching acid grey.

Sometimes I had problems if it was REALLY cold out side or if it was extremely hot and humid in terms of velocity issues/balls rolling down the barrel...but for the most part (95%) of the time I played p-ball with a phantom I never had any problems. They are extremely light, very durable, VERY reliable-never break down, simple, sexy AND very very VERY cheap to own and operate=a great investment and they improve your abilities as a player. If you can hold your own with a pump gun you can hold your own with anything...pump guns teach you to use your skills and movement to the best of your ability to get a kill as opposed to just sheer firepower.

With my Phantoms I could play an entire day on just 300 pballs, sometimes for free since they usually dont charge to fill a 4oz and 'tounry' players will give you whatever they cant fit in their pods which adds up to more than enuff at the end fo the day. With Phantoms I had a ratio of around 3-6/1 , for ever 3 to 6 shots fired I would take some one out-you cant say the same for any other gun-back tounry players have a 500/1 ratio which is god aweful.
It takes alot of perserverance but in the end once you become 'one' with the marker you will feel absolutely excellent about your game, its an accomplishement and a challenge-it makes the game much more fun IMO.
Give it a go and practice snap shooting ALOT. Do this and you will become a good player...plus you get tons of compliments
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Component Concepts Incorporated Phantom (VSC) i've owned 3 (all vsc): 1. silver w/ black parts 2. silver w/ clear 3. blue/yellow/green acid wash w/clear i wouldn't have kept buying them if they weren't great pump guns. APPEARANCE: sexy,...
Report this review to a moderator   #26777
PureInsanity
dElish.
PureInsanity's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wiscompton
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: light, consistant
Cons: adjustable t-stock puts gun at awkward height.
i've owned 3 (all vsc):
1. silver w/ black parts
2. silver w/ clear
3. blue/yellow/green acid wash w/clear

i wouldn't have kept buying them if they weren't great pump guns.

APPEARANCE:
sexy, sleek, simple... the perfect combination

PERFORMANCE:
-just about ~32 effective shots from a 12 gram.
-consistant ...+/- 10 on a bad day.
-stock barrel could be a smaller diameter.

RELIABILITY:
basically indestructable.

VALUE:
i'd say they're a great value. you can find them for cheap, or you can spend an extra 50 bucks for a sweet acid wash.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Component Concepts Incorporated Phantom (VSC) **The Price Paid Is An Estimate. I traded an airsoft gun (~150 dollars) and added 100 dollars cash** Of course you can't expect feed from a pump marker, but this thing shoots amazing. 12g changes...
Report this review to a moderator   #3284
TeddyBear1992
OneLoveOneLifeOneChance
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: 914-SoNY
TeddyBear1992 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Light, Accurate, Versatile
Cons: Speed
**The Price Paid Is An Estimate. I traded an airsoft gun (~150 dollars) and added 100 dollars cash**

Of course you can't expect feed from a pump marker, but this thing shoots amazing. 12g changes midgame aren't great, and reloading isn't good either. But when the gun is loaded, it is feather-light and accurate. I haven't played with it in the woods yet, but I have played 2 days of speedball with it. I may not be keeping up with semis speed-wise, but I am with eliminations.\

The best part about the phantom is that it can be configured so many different ways. Vertical Air using either a 12g changer or a 3.5oz with a stock class feed or a hopper feed. You can use vertical air, a bottomline setup, a dropout changer, the list goes on. The breech can be configured as a 10 or 15 round stock class feed, or a Left, Right, or Center feed to be used with a hopper. A sight can be easily mounted for "sniping" as well as a stock to steady your shots. Many different parts can be ordered from sites such as wevo or wwa to trick out your phantom to be configured any way you want.

Overall, if you have had a single thought cross your mind to buy a phantom, don't hesitate, just buy it. The only disadvantage is the pump handle, but that's only a disadvantage if you are used to a semi/electro

Overall Rating: 9/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Component Concepts Incorporated Phantom (VSC) If You want me to change update or add something to my review please pm me. Also if You rate my review please pm me telling me what you gave it and why, i won't be offended i just want to improve...
Report this review to a moderator   #867
impact4
 
impact4's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $249.00
Pros: light, accurate, very dependable, consistent
Cons: kind of expenisive other than that none
If You want me to change update or add something to my review please pm me.
Also if You rate my review please pm me telling me what you gave it and why, i won't be offended i just want to improve it.

Accessories
I got this gun from wevo paintball for $249 of course you have to buy a lot of extra stuff with but this isn't the time for that. A must get is the 3.5 oz co2 tank manly because buying 12 grams gets expensive eventually. A 3.5 oz should last you 250 shots or more depending on the conditions. Also you need to pick up some 10 round tubes and maybe a harness for them

Accuracy
The phantom is quite accurate however just as it is with all paintball markers all that really matters is wind, paintball to barrel match and velocity. So if you think pump markers are more accurate you are wrong you can one ball a spyder or an ego with the same paint to barrel match at the same speed and get the same accuracy. When first breaking the gun in don't get discouraged,
the consistency will get better as you shoot the marker.

Weight
A definite advantage however is the weight i am not sure of the exact weight however it sure is light and tiny. This helps with shooting in one lane for while and getting to bunkers with that little extra speed.

Durability and maintenance

As you may or may not have heard phantoms are known to last very long.This is most likely because no electronics are used so it is much harder to break anything. Also there are very few moving parts. Taking care of the gun is very easy. Disassembly is quite easy especially when you get used to it. One way to take care of the gun that i haven't test is to put a drop of gun oil in the asa and dry fire about 20 times. Very easy.

Price

While at first a may seem to cost a lot it is worth it the phantom is a high quality gun made in America.

Overall
Worth every penny, you will save the cost in paint in maybe a year. Definitely a good buy.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.9/5 stars.
Component Concepts Incorporated Phantom (VSC) appearance: what can I say, it's not made to look pretty. It's got a nice acid wash, but for the most part, this gun is designed function over form. Performance: The gun itself doesn't perform any...
Report this review to a moderator   #1306
schecter88
Pronounced Shek-ter
schecter88's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $340.00
Pros: reliability, low paint usage, respect
Cons: handicap, detents
appearance: what can I say, it's not made to look pretty. It's got a nice acid wash, but for the most part, this gun is designed function over form.

Performance: The gun itself doesn't perform any better than any other gun, as far as pump guns go, the pump action is smooth and it fires smooth with little to no kick. However, the stock barrel isn't the most accurate barrel created, despite what they tell you.

Reliability: the gun NEVER breaks. The only problem with this gun is sometimes if the 12g doesn't get screwed in perfect, it may leak, but a swap of 12gs fixes that. As far as mechanically, the gun works. And with only a 15rnd feed tube, I can fill the tube and several 10rnd pods and insert a 12gram and be ready to go while the rest of the guys are assembling and filling pods. The only big beef with this gun is the detents, it seems all paintballs fit that little blue detent and if you lose that you have to buy a new set. I own 3 sets of O rings but only 1 blue one.

When you get the gun, don't think you are gonna be able to hit anything with your super accurate gun. This thing sucks to play with when you first start off. However, what it will do is teach you to be the best snapshooter and how to time your shots and movements. You won't be able to rely on a trigger happy finger, you'll have to learn to play the game like never before.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Component Concepts Incorporated Phantom (VSC) from the day i got this i loved it, there was a leak but it was fixed within 3 minutes, also the gun is very accurate and is efficent, the auto triger is nice aswell within the money you save in...
Report this review to a moderator   #3720
pedrofb19
Sweet stroller ***
pedrofb19's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toledo
pedrofb19 plays in the PSP
pedrofb19 donated to help Peyton Trent
pedrofb19 plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $210.00
Pros: small, efficent, easy to clean, cheap, upgrdes, ac
Cons: none rally
from the day i got this i loved it, there was a leak but it was fixed within 3 minutes, also the gun is very accurate and is efficent, the auto triger is nice aswell

within the money you save in paint and air this will pay for its self in a year (depending on how much you play)

this is one of those guns you will never sell

cci
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Add New Review