Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
2006 model Dye Matrix. First DM with UL frame stock.
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2006
 MSRP: $1,300.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 115
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  54%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  44%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) Reviews
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) These guns still shoot like any of the new ones. The added weight actually reduces the felt recoil so they feel like they are shooting more smoothly. I like the platform, just don't like how large...
Report this review to a moderator   #13902
laxplayer9352
USMC
laxplayer9352's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jax, NC
laxplayer9352 is a Supporting Member
laxplayer9352 is a Paintball photographer
laxplayer9352 supports our troops
laxplayer9352 plays in the APPA D3 division
laxplayer9352 is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Smooth, Heavy
Cons: Heavy, Big
These guns still shoot like any of the new ones. The added weight actually reduces the felt recoil so they feel like they are shooting more smoothly. I like the platform, just don't like how large the body is. I like how they milled it down on the Dm7s. I'd spend the extra money and just get one of the newer DM models.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) I based the review on my dm6 with the following ups. CP on/off asa, CP Continous Flow Plug. I have not shot the completly stock gun and have heard the flow plug makes a big difference. This review...
Report this review to a moderator   #11045
iquadra
BucK NastY
iquadra's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: K-Town, WI
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Cheap, Accurate, Keeps up with every high-end out
Cons: None (read below)
I based the review on my dm6 with the following ups. CP on/off asa, CP Continous Flow Plug. I have not shot the completly stock gun and have heard the flow plug makes a big difference. This review is based upon MY dm6 with the flow plug.

I recently decided i was going to get back into paintball again and was shocked to see how cheap some of the older high ends were. I found a dm6 and ego 06 and picked them both up. Although the ego was good the dm6 was better. I ended up selling the ego to try a even newer gun but could not let the dm6 go. It's that good.

Apperance - I am a big fan of the dm6's look and think it's awesome how the dye logo is milled into the back of the gun and not some cheap sticker like the newer models.

Performance - This is where the dm6 truely stands out. THIS GUN WILL KEEP UP WITH ANY NEWER GUN AND IS EXTREMLY ACCURATE. The only con to this is the gun has no space between the trigger frame and hyper 2 reg so if you like to put your thumb there you cannot. But as stated before this gun is so accurate and fast it makes up for the very minor down and still gets 5 stars. The stock board is perfectly fine and tournament ready.

Reliability - I have yet to have anything with my dm6 fail on me (knock on wood). For being a 6 year old gun this thing is amazing. Like with most guns on the market it just requires proper care (cleaning, lubing, etc.). The first time lubing this gun can be somewhat difficult but once you get the hang of it (after 2 or 3 times) its really a piece of cake.

Nothing beats going to a local field and peppering fools with a dm6. Great job dye for making one of, if not my favorite gun in the history of the sport!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) The Setup Red DM6 Critical Trigger Crossfire 68/4500 Halo B Starting out with the looks of this gun, looking back at the DM5, this one is a whole lot better. The milling on this one was done a...
Report this review to a moderator   #4489
OTEdge2
 
OTEdge2's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mission Viejo
OTEdge2 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Looks, Feel, Smooth, Cost, Accurate
Cons: Efficency, Maintainence, Eyes, Feedneck
The Setup
Red DM6
Critical Trigger
Crossfire 68/4500
Halo B


Starting out with the looks of this gun, looking back at the DM5, this one is a whole lot better. The milling on this one was done a lot better in my opinion, as Dye went with smoother cuts instead of a more boney style of milling. This is personal preference of course but definitally when you wipe down the gun it has less angles you need to get paint or dirt out of.
Next im going to cover the packaging, now I have never been much of a fan of Dyes quality of packaging because all they do is simply give you a cardboard box with some printing on it, your gun with its accessories, all covered by foam. Its not terrible but when you pay the out of box price (Which used to be a lot more then its price now) then you would expect them to pack it neater. Atleast out of the box it does come with some nessessary things such as a barrel cover, lube, extra o-rings and other parts, and the allen wrenchs needed to access parts of the marker. This is basically a standard with any company selling markers though so packaging im not dissappointed but its nothing special.
Once getting this marker broken in, the consistency gets a lot better then before, still I belive there is room to improve. Just using it normal on the field its accuracy will keep you happy but if your looking to put your gun to the test, then it wont be anything to crazy. After being broken in, shooting Elixer, with a matching bore I got 276, 271, 278, 281, 275, 279. Of course there will be worse or better then that but in those 6 shots there was a 10 fps fluxuation. A better regulator would help but the Hyper 2 is in the top ten list of the best so your going to be throwing out a lot of cash to get better regulation just for something as small as 10FPS. Accuracy is up to par with any other highends.
For my first complaint I will have to talk about the "Self Cleaning Eyes". Accuracy wont mean nothing if you chop, or your gun wont even shoot due to eye malfunctions. The whole idea for the self cleaning eyes was that if you do get paint in the breach that it will clean it out in a few shots, but from anything I have seen it just smeers any dirt or paint around the breach and gets it on the bolt, now in the DM7 and DM8 they have improved this but as for this marker it seems to be a pain, just make sure you are getting quality paint and problems wont arise but if they do you know whats coming.
Being this is the first Matrix the ever come stock with a Ultralite Frame, I have to say that this gun fits in your hand beautifully. In general the Ultralite Frame is a love or hate kind of thing but I myself dont mind holding this one, fits comfortably in my hand along with the Hyper 2 Regulator. This Matrix is also very light, especially coming from a DM5.
The next complaint I feel I have to talk about is the feedneck tightening screw. Coming from the DM5 which you had to take out an allen and tighten the screw to keep the feedneck in, to this where it should allow you to tighten it easier but I have found it to be really annoying to turn it while a hopper is in the feedneck. If you have an extra $20 to throw away, I would suggest getting a lever feedneck, but if not then this problem isnt to huge, just a small setback in my opinion. Luckly the DM7+ have decided to incorperate the lever feedneck as most gun producing companies have.
If you have not been introduced to the spool valve world, shooting this marker will feel magical to you. There is hardly any kick or sound, most Dye Matrix's maintain this through each year they are produced. This is probably the biggest turn on about the marker that everyone loves. Listening to this marker on the field sounds kind of like little puffs of air coming out and along with the zero kick, makes this one of the funner guns to fire.
Sadly, there is a down side to having no kick and little sound, the efficency sucks. You will find this to be one of the bigger problems with most spool valves (some of the newer ones in this time have great efficency). I got about a hopper and 5 pods off of a 68/4500 tank, when im used to a hopper and 7 or 8 pods with my other Ego's and stuff. This gets me through 1 or 2 games depending on which format im playing but if your field makes you pay for each fill then your gonna get screwed up the butt. Luckly a lot of fields/tournaments have all day air fills. There is not a lot you can do about effiency, just a couple small things.
Another thing that pesters a lot of people about this marker, or in spool valves in general, is the maintainence or the problems that often come up. The bolt has a lot of O-Rings on it, so if you dont keep those lubed often, it usually turns into a problem such as drop off or not even firing. So clean that gun after a day of play and take apart and lube up your LPR and HPR every once in a while too and your gun should treat you good. The On/Off on the LPR is more of a hassle then its worth most of the time, its basically just another place to leak out of. CP and other companies too I belive, are now selling LPR Caps for the DM Series the plug up that spot in substitution for the On/Off which is really kind of pointless being there is on one the ASA. This is a personal choice and mess around with that stuff first before making a decision of which you would like.
Probably the best reason to buy the DM6 is this.....its cheap. Now that it is 2008 (Year this is writen in), it is going for about $300-$500 used, and for that price this is a great marker to pick up. Honestly there isnt to much difference in this to the DM7. I have no regrets buying the DM6 and hope that this review helped you out.

Pros
1. Looks (Smooth Milling, Many Colors)
2. Feel (Stock Ultralite Frame, Light)
3. Smooth (Quiet and Kickless)
4. Accurate (Great Stock Barrel, Somewhat Consistent, Dosnt Chop)
5. Cheap (Great Used Price)


Cons
1. Efficency (Hopper + 5 Pods)
2. Maintainence (Lots of O-Rings)
3. Self Cleaning Eyes (Do nothing but cause more problems)
4. Feedneck Twist (Dosnt Function Well)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) I bought my DM6 with virtue for $350. Shoots great and looks great. Efficiency wise I get about 1200 from a 72/4500. Not too shabby for a spool valve. My DM6 came with a CP continuous flow plug...
Report this review to a moderator   #6450
ezekiel2517lim
One of the 5 best rappers
ezekiel2517lim's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern Maine
ezekiel2517lim plays in the PSP
ezekiel2517lim supports Cereal Killerz 2
ezekiel2517lim is an NCPA player
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Smooth, light, and sexy
Cons: Feedneck
I bought my DM6 with virtue for $350. Shoots great and looks great. Efficiency wise I get about 1200 from a 72/4500. Not too shabby for a spool valve. My DM6 came with a CP continuous flow plug so I didn't have to deal with the on/off. Great consistency and feels great in the hands. I would recommend for anyone looking to get a DM.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) I bought my dm6 right when they came out for 1100. Now they are going for very cheap which is what gives them their awesome value. Performance- DM6 performs great stock.After they are broken in and...
Report this review to a moderator   #2475
Roaming Fighter
Shellshockedpaintball.com
Roaming Fighter's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: teh 985
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,100.00
Pros: Shoots smooth.
Cons: Maintanence
I bought my dm6 right when they came out for 1100. Now they are going for very cheap which is what gives them their awesome value.

Performance- DM6 performs great stock.After they are broken in and tuned right it has virtually no kick and is very easy on paint.My dm6 was also very accurate, the ultra light barrel is one my favorite barrels on the market. The trigger is very smooth and the board has all the modes you could need, but you must open up the grips to change the mode.

Looks- The dm6 was one my favorite looking markers i've ever owned.Its very sleek looking. The milling is pretty simple and keeps a clean look to the marker.

Feel- The DM6 comes stock with the ultralight frame which means you will either love it or hate it. I loved the feel of the UL frame. It feels like it molds to my hand. The dm6 is also pretty light; its not the lightest, but its definately ot heavy.

Maintanence- This gun does need to be lubed after EVERY pratice to keep it running at 100%. You can get by and skip a few, but i recommend you lube it as much as possible. Its really not that bad, but it became a task for me after awhile.

Reliability- My dm6 was for the most part a reliable gun to me. The only times it didnt shoot good for me was when i didnt lube it and maintain it properly.

Overall the dm6 is an awesome marker, and one of my favorites. They are going for very cheap so if you have some extra cash i would definately pick one up.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) Accuracy: Dm6 is deadly accurate. pretty much all dm's are and the fact it comes with a 14 inch UL barrel is an A+++ cuz then ur pretty much hitt'n all target. i give it 10/10 Performance I cant...
Report this review to a moderator   #3889
imortaltechnique
!!BOOST my EGO!!
imortaltechnique's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: 808 STATE OF MIND
imortaltechnique has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,200.00
Pros: fast, easy maint., light
Cons: air eff.
Accuracy: Dm6 is deadly accurate. pretty much all dm's are and the fact it comes with a 14 inch UL barrel is an A+++ cuz then ur pretty much hitt'n all target. i give it 10/10

Performance I cant complain... i used my dm6 in quite a few tourny's and it performed well in each one. I think main thing you take care of ur marker ur marker will take care of you. i give it 10/10

Cuts/Milling Well i got my dm when it first came out so my first thoughts were WOW!!!! its got nice smooth lines and compared to the dm3 i would say the milling has come a long way. i give it 9/10

Conclusion all in all i really love this gun and if i had a complaint it would only be about the lack of good air efficiency..other than that its a great marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) well I have owned and shot just about everything,I would shoot a dm6 over any ego any daybc its so darn accurate.I owned a 07,08 ego and sl66 and nothing is as accurate as a dm,I switched to ego's...
Report this review to a moderator   #4182
scpb909
2k5r
scpb909's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SoCal
scpb909 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
scpb909 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
scpb909 plays in the APPA D4 division
scpb909 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: accurate,can shoot any paint,fast and quiet.
Cons: can be inefficent without proper tuning
well I have owned and shot just about everything,I would shoot a dm6 over any ego any daybc its so darn accurate.I owned a 07,08 ego and sl66 and nothing is as accurate as a dm,I switched to ego's but find myself always going back to dms.A dm6 is just as good as a 7 or 8 just a a few ounces heavier and efficent after a few mods .I play back sometimes and I can shoot 7-8 pods and still have 2k psi left in my 68/4500.I was getting 5 pods and a hopper off a 45/4500.However it is more maitainence then a ego and heavier.Maintence is just the bolt and if you have a leak its a easy fix just replace one of the bolt orings.Now I had egos with leaks and they say dms have alot of orings?Well try rebuilding a ego,you have tons of orings in the ego,little tiny ones too.I am not saying Egos are not good guns but if you play back you want the tight pattern when shooting or quiet sound when playing snake or 50 go with a dm6 and shoots the same as a dm8 or 7.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) i have been playing for two years and had over 13 gun nows but the best investment on markers i made was buy my dm6. ibought my dm6 as my third gun and have had it since then and still use it today...
Report this review to a moderator   #3211
1969
OFWGKTA
1969's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 805 * so*cal
1969 is a Supporting Member
1969 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
1969 is for the Gunfight
1969 plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,250.00
Pros: light fast shoots straight with any paint
Cons: when not broken in air effcienty
i have been playing for two years and had over 13 gun nows but the best investment on markers i made was buy my dm6. ibought my dm6 as my third gun and have had it since then and still use it today its a great value now because of the price and its realy the same thing as a dm7. Even on a bad weather day with bad paint it still shoots very nice and smooth and is very gnetle on paint. After mabe 9 casses you start to notice your effcienty has gone up to mabe 6-7 pods on a 68-45 tank.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) ok so after owning an ion, the guy at my local store convinced me to buy a "real" gun. so first a saw a nice shocker, and a dm4. my decision was between these two guns. then.....at the top of the...
Report this review to a moderator   #2849
eyeownyu
ryan
eyeownyu's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 949 socal/805 slocal
eyeownyu plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: no kick, quiet, fast,
Cons: efficiency, weight (maybe)
ok so after owning an ion, the guy at my local store convinced me to buy a "real" gun. so first a saw a nice shocker, and a dm4. my decision was between these two guns. then.....at the top of the wall in the store, i saw this gun that looked much like the dm4? i didnt know much about guns back then, so i asked him what it was. a dm6. so i bought it. the first 6 months i considered my self still a noob just with a good gun. to me it shot amazingly. but now that i have advanced in my paintball "carrier" i can say this gun is truly amazing. ive shot 08 egos, 07 egos just in comparison. while the egos are nice guns, the dm series of guns is about equal to the ego line. they have there differences but both guns are sick.

PROS:
no kick. i dont care how much you tune your ego or whatever you cant beat a dm6. noise level, hey some people dont care, but i guess if your in the snake and no one knows your there a quiet marker can help. fast, as fast as any newer high end gun. as fast as your hopper will feed.

maintenance, everyone says its hard. i can relube my bolt in under 2 minutes. you just have to do it after everyday of play. alot of people say it is unreliable and leaks alot. well when i first got my gun, i wouldnt relube it after everyday of play. and i would get the occasional leak. now i do lube it everyday of play, and i havent gotten one leak. before i used to be scared to air up my gun on the first game of the day, with fear of it leaking. now i have no problem. moral of story....lube the gun, take care of it, it will take care of you.

CONS:
my one and only complaint about this gun is air efficiency. im not to sure how many shots i get off a 68/45 since my field only fills up to ~3800 psi. but all i know is it isn't that great. my buddies with egos would have to fill half as many times as me. my last compaint is value, thats why i gave it a 4 star. since dye (and eclipse) has the great idea of making a new marker every year, the value of an outdated dye marker goes down. i bought my gun for 700 in the april of 07 and this price was about right, i might have paid alittle too much. well now they are selling for about 450-500. im kinda mad about resale, but same goes with all marker name brands that makes new guns every year.

OVERALL:
for the price of bad efficiency, you get a quiet gun, no kick, awesome looks, and reliability. i think its worth it. if you want a cheap, used gun that can perform the same as a dm8, but you don't have 1400 bucks to shell out. buy this. i can almost guarantee it will shoot the same as a dm8, it just might not have the little bells and whistles, it will shoot the same.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) Apperance When I first got my DM6, it looked amazing. The feel of the ultralite frame was unbelieveable. I have never seen a more sexy gun. Performance The performance was kinda of bad at first. ...
Report this review to a moderator   #5479
ImpShooter101
Ninja Pirate!!!!
ImpShooter101's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: kłhm
ImpShooter101 supports Cereal Killerz 2
ImpShooter101 donated to help Peyton Trent
ImpShooter101 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
ImpShooter101 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,050.00
Pros: Light / Accurate/ Small Profile
Cons: Efficiency/ Eats o-rings
Apperance
When I first got my DM6, it looked amazing. The feel of the ultralite frame was unbelieveable. I have never seen a more sexy gun.

Performance
The performance was kinda of bad at first. I heard from a lot of people you have problems at first. Mine leaked a lot down the bolt, sent it off to dye, they gave me a new bolt and everything has been good since then. This thing is pretty dang accurate. I have shot about every gun out there, and this thing is at the top of my list.

Reliability
As i said at the beginning of the performance, this thing gave me a lot of trouble at first, leaking all the time and having to replace o-rings after every play. But after I got it back from dye, this thing has been the most reliable gun in my opinion. I never have to worry if this thing is going to work when I take it to the field.

Value
Value= a lot, well for me anyway. I bought mine brand new from a local store. I think nowdays you can pick up a used one for around $250-$400, and that is pretty cheap for such an amazing gun.

Conclusion
In my point of view this is the best gun I have ever owned. A+++ for DYE
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review