Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
2006 model Dye Matrix. First DM with UL frame stock.
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2006
 MSRP: $1,300.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 115
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  54%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  44%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) Reviews
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) This was my gun of choice for about a year while I also owned a 2005 Ego. This gun was lighter and shot far more consistently than any other I owned. I never really had any issues with it and I even...
Report this review to a moderator   #21938
synkow
synkow
synkow's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Carolinas
synkow owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: easy to clean, light
Cons: expensive
This was my gun of choice for about a year while I also owned a 2005 Ego. This gun was lighter and shot far more consistently than any other I owned. I never really had any issues with it and I even bought it used.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) Great gun shot really smooth but weight compared to other guns is heavier
Report this review to a moderator   #32197
TeamDarkRage
 
TeamDarkRage's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Martin TN
TeamDarkRage is playing at Living Legends III
TeamDarkRage owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
TeamDarkRage supports Team VICIOUS
TeamDarkRage has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TeamDarkRage has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: accuracy and smoothness
Cons: not as light
Great gun shot really smooth but weight compared to other guns is heavier
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) I bought my DM6 back on 2006 so I paid pretty much top dollar for it, these days you can get a DM6 for around $250-$300 which is a steal IMO. This marker is shoots smooth and quiet. It always amazes...
Report this review to a moderator   #33116
TheMadMan
 
TheMadMan's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern California
TheMadMan owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
TheMadMan has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TheMadMan has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Quiet, Smooth, Reliable, Ergonomic, Sexy
Cons: Not as efficient as some poppet valve markers
I bought my DM6 back on 2006 so I paid pretty much top dollar for it, these days you can get a DM6 for around $250-$300 which is a steal IMO. This marker is shoots smooth and quiet. It always amazes my friends how quiet and smooth it is. It is pretty ergonomic as well due to the UL trigger frame.

I would recommend two upgrades for the DM6.

1. Trigger, the stock one is not fantastic. I have a RPM Critical Trigger which is AMAZING (no exaggeration).

2. ASA, the stock one was hard to use twist on and off for me, it also tended to shred o-rings some times.

This is STILL my favorite marker and I use it everytime I go out to play. It has never let me down, from tourneys to rec play, it is my go to marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) The DM6 I used was always reliable and excellent to shoot. Having used many of the other DMs, I would still love to shoot a DM6. The marker was smooth, fast and felt great in my hands. Air efficiency...
Report this review to a moderator   #12244
TheMike
I'm A Professional
TheMike's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 330
TheMike plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Comfort
Cons: Price
The DM6 I used was always reliable and excellent to shoot. Having used many of the other DMs, I would still love to shoot a DM6. The marker was smooth, fast and felt great in my hands. Air efficiency and original price being the only things I had issues with, I wouldn't mind getting another even though it's considered older.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) I paid $265.00 for mines, best marker I own for the price. Keep in mind I've only shot protos and dm's so my opinion is kind of incomplete there. This marker has never let me down as long as I...
Report this review to a moderator   #33998
todamax369
Dustin
todamax369's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NY 845
todamax369 is BST Trusted
todamax369 is playing at Living Legends VII
todamax369 posts videos on PbNation
todamax369 is attending Decay of Nations VII
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $265.00
Pros: Quiet, smooth,
Cons: A project to maintain/tune
I paid $265.00 for mines, best marker I own for the price. Keep in mind I've only shot protos and dm's so my opinion is kind of incomplete there. This marker has never let me down as long as I maintain it religiously. And I mean prob before/after every game. Cleaning at least the bolt. I personally enjoy it while others seem to never clean their markers. To each his own. Very finicky to tune. I cleaned my lpr and it took me a good two hours over the chrono getting my consistency +/- 7. I hear other markers (pe) are a peach to maintain and very reliable. If you're not one to always be taking it apart and cleaning then probably not for you. But I clean/lube my bolt about once a week and this dm6 has never let me down. Very quiet, smooth. Love it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) Purchased this as a back up/practice marker and it's so nice! Smooth and well in my hands. My new model will more then likely be a Dye too!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #28846
trevisw513
2 Corinthians 5: 17
trevisw513's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Trenton
trevisw513 plays in the PSP
trevisw513 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
trevisw513 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
trevisw513 is attending Decay of Nations VI
trevisw513 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Smooth as silk, great feel!
Cons: Not at all
Purchased this as a back up/practice marker and it's so nice! Smooth and well in my hands. My new model will more then likely be a Dye too!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) So, I had this gun a while ago, I am doing a review on it now though, in comparison to other guns I have used. First off, I loved my Dm6. It was buttery smooth, Accurate, Fast, No Kick, and built...
Report this review to a moderator   #6786
tristanot
 
tristanot's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Provo, UT
tristanot plays in the APPA beginner division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $320.00
Pros: Looks, Smoothness, Build quality, No kick!
Cons: Front Plug, Stock Feedneck, Stock ASA
So, I had this gun a while ago, I am doing a review on it now though, in comparison to other guns I have used.
First off, I loved my Dm6. It was buttery smooth, Accurate, Fast, No Kick, and built very nice. There is a noticeable difference between Dms and other spoolies, such as LPR-less G3s, SLGs, and PMRs. I'd even suggest a Dm6 over most Protos...I can just feel a difference.
My Biggest Problems were the stock parts on there. The Stock Feedneck wouldn't fit my Rotor and you can't adjust the knob too well when the Rotor is actually in the feedneck all the way.....I like the Dm7 clamper over it all day. The Stock Front Knob was the achilles Tendon to all Dms before the Dm9. It was WRETCHED to play with, I replaced it with a CP Continous Flow AS soon as I got it. Also, the Stock Dye On/Off Airport, In my opinion, is one of the WORST ASA's ever. The smooth knob makes it hard to gas up your marker, and really could be done much better. (Thanks Dye for making a 1/4 Turn!!)
All in all though, I'd suggest you buy a Dm6 if you have the cash over:
Pm5/6/7/R
Proto SLG 08 or 09 or UL
DP Guns in general...
Most other spools in the sub-400 category
Ego 5/6/Etek 1/2
BUT
I would say these markers blow by it for the price:
-Older Timmies
-Protege
-Marqs
-Ego7

BUT hey, it is all preference, but look into a Dm6, not a bad deal these days.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) I've owned this since the beginning of 2008 I loved it then and still love it buttery smooth. only real thing i don't care for anymore is how much work it is to clean and lube it.
Report this review to a moderator   #13976
vance164
vance164's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Dalles Or.
vance164 is playing at Living Legends V
vance164 posts videos on PbNation
vance164 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
vance164 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
vance164 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
vance164 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: smooth, quiet
Cons: old, ease of teardown
I've owned this since the beginning of 2008 I loved it then and still love it buttery smooth. only real thing i don't care for anymore is how much work it is to clean and lube it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) For a while, I have used an ego6. One day, I used my friend's DM5 for a few games, and was surprised by how little recoil it had (at first I thought it wasn't firing but then I saw the balls...
Report this review to a moderator   #6835
Vilheilm
 
Vilheilm's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $315.00
Pros: Speed, Accuracy, Lack of noise & recoil
Cons: Maintenance
For a while, I have used an ego6. One day, I used my friend's DM5 for a few games, and was surprised by how little recoil it had (at first I thought it wasn't firing but then I saw the balls breaking down the field). I found a DM6 for a good price, and have been using it since I got it.
The first time I gassed it up, it leaked out of the bolt. I replaced two O rings, and it worked fine for a couple games, then it blew another. After removing chunks from my bolt, and putting in another new O ring, the gun continued to work well for the rest of the weekend.

I'll add/change information as I play more games with this gun.

Accuracy: the DM6 is just as accurate as my Ego. Cross field shots are doable.

Weight: once again, the same as my Ego. Its light enough to not be a hassle when shooting and reloading at the same time.

Size: I laid my ego on top of my dm, and they had the same height and length from top of feedneck to bottom of asa. However, the Hyper2 regulater on the matrix is smaller, while the ego is thinner since it has an open bolt design.

Recoil: From my experience, the DM6 has more recoil than the Dm5, and is a little louder. It's a tad quieter and has less kick than an Ego6 though.

Efficiency: It shoots less paint off a 68/45 than my ego, but it shoots enough to get the job done.

Sticky Grips, 45 ultralite frame, trigger: I really like the feel of this gun. since it is thinner towards the top of the grip, I can easily fit my hand around it. The sticky grip has kept my hand from slipping even after being hit with multiple shots. I took the spring out of my trigger, so the only resistance is from the micro switch on the board. I can walk it easily with up to four fingers. Also, the shape of the trigger, and largeness of the trigger guard make it especially comfortable. The trigger is not as crisp as the trigger on an ego, but it seems to be able to go faster

Self Cleaning Eyes: I have heard many complaints about self cleaning eyes. I broke the very first ball fired, and the gun was shooting fine as soon as the barrel cleaned out. I hear they are a pain to clean though, but luckily I haven't had to yet.

On off lpr: Another feature I have heard complaints about. I haven't had any problems with it, and it is convenient to not have to go to the range when I fire off the last shot after taking off the tank. Maybe I'm just lucky.

ASA: Mine has a CP asa that I have had no problems with. I hear the stock one is hard to turn.

Board: There's a Tadao board in my DM6, and it works great. It's mostly psp and nppl modes, but since I don't live in England, it doesn't really matter. The psp mode has an adjustable ramp activation speed, so it can be set to comply with rules for most tournaments.

All in all this is a good gun. Nowadays it's inexpensive, but still accurate, light, and fast. While it requires more maintenance than an Ego, It also seems to produce slightly better results. Its a trade off, and it all comes down to personal preference.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 6 (DM6) Was my desired gun for about a season (summer). Ended up selling it because new matrixes come out so frequently.
Report this review to a moderator   #17692
w!lly707
 
w!lly707's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: IL
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: barrel
Was my desired gun for about a season (summer). Ended up selling it because new matrixes come out so frequently.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review