Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Airgun Designs USA - Automag R/T Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Airgun Designs USA
401 Florine Court
Cary, IL 60090

Phone: (847) 520-7225
Fax: (847) 520-7848
Email: romanr@airgundesignsusa.com
Website: http://www.airgundesignsusa.com
68 Cal Automag with a reactive trigger similar to Tippmann's response trigger
 Manual: Download the manual for Airgun Designs USA Download
 Release Date: 1997
 MSRP: $799.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
 Reviews: 8
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  50%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  38%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  13%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Airgun Designs USA - Automag R/T Reviews
Airgun Designs USA Automag R/T This is a broad review of the AGD classic RT. I'm not reviewing one in particular because I've owned probably 20 of them over the last 10 years, so its based on a collective experiences with all of...
Report this review to a moderator   #1754
SN toter
yeah...I had a Super Nova
SN toter's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
SN toter is a founding member
SN toter has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $135.00
Pros: Reliability, quality, performance
Cons: Weight, HPA only
This is a broad review of the AGD classic RT. I'm not reviewing one in particular because I've owned probably 20 of them over the last 10 years, so its based on a collective experiences with all of them.

Looks can be subjective, you either love em or you hate em. Personally, I think a polished body with a smear kit looks more sick than anything else out there, you may disagree but thats how I stand

Performance...did I mention I've had over 20 of em? I wouldn't keep going back to them if I didn't love the way they shot. Efficiency is okay with a level 7 bolt, mediocre at best with a lvl 10 installed. Generally out of a 47 ci 3000psi tank I get about 450 shots with a level 7 bolt, about 400 with a tuned level 10. You can adjust the reactivity of the trigger by adjusting the input pressure of your HPA tank. At 650 psi you will really won't get an rt effect, but if you put in 1100 psi your halo will have its work cut out for it. I prefer about an 850 psi input. I can single shoot it like no other and if I need to, find the sweet spot and really get it ripping. These markers shoot great, paint on paint, excellent recharge rate(they actually have shoot UP for the first couple shots in a stream), and very well balanced.

Maintanence...easy as pie. Really I've only ever seen 2 things cause issues with these. One is that over years orings do get worn and need replaced. One repair kit will last a lifetime for a classic RT. The other is the sear. The older sears can wear down over time and need replaced. Thats it. Two drops of good oil before you play and you're set.

Cons...One thing that might be a con is the weight. It is a heavy marker compared to what else is out there. I like a heavier shooting platform, but I know most people would see that as a negative so I'm putting it here. Also the classic RT bodys only work with classic RT Valves, so you can't interchange those with classic mag or RTP parts unless you replace both the body and valve and get a bushing for the rail. Also these are NOT co2 friendly, HPA only boys and girls(only a con if you live where you cannot get HPA).

Value...best part. I've spent as little as $120 and as much as $350 on these over the years depending on condition and upgrades. One thing I can say with certainty is that they hold their value. I never had one that I lost money on.

Overall these are fantastic markers that can hold their own against anything else out there if you know how to shoot them(triggers can take a little getting used to). Here are some of the RT's I've owned...

http://www.mcarterbrown.com/gallery/.../DSCF00104.JPG
http://www.mcarterbrown.com/gallery/...d_smear_rt.JPG
http://www.mcarterbrown.com/gallery/...ed_Lava_RT.JPG
http://www.mcarterbrown.com/gallery/.../DSCF00102.JPG
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag R/T Automag are legit, and automag rt is no different. It rts so easily and it is so reliable.
Report this review to a moderator   #17553
bigbthebenji
Purveyor of Paintball
bigbthebenji's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
bigbthebenji is an NCPA player
bigbthebenji has achieved Level 6 in PbNation Pursuit
bigbthebenji is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
bigbthebenji is Legendary
bigbthebenji is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: reliability
Cons: nonee
Automag are legit, and automag rt is no different. It rts so easily and it is so reliable.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.5/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag R/T These are solid guns. My big problem woth them is that they only take quick detach barrels. Other than that, they're comperable to a tippmann but a little nicer.
Report this review to a moderator   #39726
Bigjoe11
"The Boss"
Bigjoe11's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North Carolina
Bigjoe11 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Bigjoe11 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Bigjoe11 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Bigjoe11 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: it's much like a tippmann response trigger, but qu
Cons: the spool valve can get stuck forward if not lubed. there is also shootdown if not running shp.
These are solid guns. My big problem woth them is that they only take quick detach barrels. Other than that, they're comperable to a tippmann but a little nicer.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag R/T This is one of the all-time best paintball markers Airgun Designs, Inc. has ever produced. My favorite of the automag family. Like most automags, maintenance is easy. Highly recommend.
Report this review to a moderator   #43299
jokgga
 
jokgga's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Paintball
jokgga is a founding member
jokgga has been a member for 10 years
jokgga owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
jokgga has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Solid, Reliable, Accurate, Smooth
Cons: Gas hog, expensive
This is one of the all-time best paintball markers Airgun Designs, Inc. has ever produced. My favorite of the automag family.

Like most automags, maintenance is easy.

Highly recommend.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag R/T I purchased my Automag used for about $225 10 years ago. Out of the box the marker is reliable and well built but not much to look at. The great thing about Automags is the options to customize....
Report this review to a moderator   #42754
line_pride_04
 
line_pride_04's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tuscaloosa Alabama
line_pride_04 has been a member for 10 years
line_pride_04 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $225.00
Pros: Built like a tank. Easy to use and work on.
Cons: Gun is heavy and not mcu to look at out of the bow
I purchased my Automag used for about $225 10 years ago. Out of the box the marker is reliable and well built but not much to look at. The great thing about Automags is the options to customize. There are so many products out there that will make your marker as unique as you. Its a great marker that can grow with you as a player and won't break the bank. The only thing upgrade that I would say is a "must" is the level 10 anti-chop bolt kit. Other than that its a marker that will perform solidly out of the box for many years.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag R/T Paid 500.00 back in 1999 for a used RT (early model SN# < 1000). Came with a DYE boomstick (fantastic barrel back then, dead on accurate but would be considered very heavy for a barrel nowadays)....
Report this review to a moderator   #6202
RustyNAILS
Bunkering You Since '96
RustyNAILS's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rochester, IN
RustyNAILS owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Looks, rate of fire
Cons: Heavy, prone to shortstroking, wire detents
Paid 500.00 back in 1999 for a used RT (early model SN# < 1000). Came with a DYE boomstick (fantastic barrel back then, dead on accurate but would be considered very heavy for a barrel nowadays).

Where to start with this thing. Needless to say, this gun was beauty and the beast (and not the good kinda beast).

Pros:
Pretty gun

Great rate of fire back then, easily 8-10 balls per second back then (probably coulda done more if we had better loaders back then AGD reported it was capable of cycling 25+ times per second.

Cons:
Wire detents- worst detents ever. Why tom kaye never came up with something better is beyond me. The RT would easily sheer them basically turning them into thumbtacks inside the breach. Ball break city.

RT reg - Damn thing would recharge so fast it would become quite hot. Would heat up the incoming air to the point it would cause pressure fluctuations that would actually cause the RT to "shoot up" in high rates of fire (increasing FPS). Not good. Have to used to do a special chronoing technique to get passed this flaw. Basically had to chrono in at about 240-250 fps to compensate for the fact in high rates of fire the FPS would jump up to around 285.

Air hog- Bad, bad, air hog. Worse air efficiency then a shocker. Granted mine, never had any of the bolt upgrades, but I couldn't imagine any of them making that great of jump in this area.

Blender- Even when the detents weren't sheered, the RT always seems to be very, very hard on paint.

Weight- Damned heavy marker, especially if you ran your tank on gun. Gun with barrel probably weighed in at about 5 lbs. (no joke, thanks to the stainless steel body)

People can talk mags up all they want, they were great guns, but in my eyes never as effective or reliable as the Autococker (this was back in the day mind you, where if you wanted a high end you only had two choices -mag or cocker).

In the end, regretted buying it. It ended up being a backup to my old 98 Autococker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag R/T I have a Automag RT classic. great gun shoots fast for being semi auto. Never had to worry about it not working. My only complaints are that it does not have a locking feedneck of traditional style...
Report this review to a moderator   #17175
shadowlord06
The Hobbit
shadowlord06's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Western PA
shadowlord06 supports Team VICIOUS
shadowlord06 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
shadowlord06 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
shadowlord06 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
shadowlord06 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: fast and reliable
Cons: heavy sort of unefficient
I have a Automag RT classic. great gun shoots fast for being semi auto. Never had to worry about it not working. My only complaints are that it does not have a locking feedneck of traditional style threads. Instead it uses a twist lock system that while allows it the user to change barrels quickly it also means that there are not many new barrels available for it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA Automag R/T This is the best gun I have ever owned in my life. It brings back the good days when ballers werent little pricks and just had fun. I own a geo, a vice and victory 2 and i still love my mag the best....
Report this review to a moderator   #31386
TwistedFreak
TwistedFreak's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago
TwistedFreak is playing at Living Legends V
TwistedFreak owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
TwistedFreak has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
This is the best gun I have ever owned in my life. It brings back the good days when ballers werent little pricks and just had fun. I own a geo, a vice and victory 2 and i still love my mag the best. Not only is it a sturdy reliable gun. But the thing can shoot ropes with the rt. Its a bit heavy but the things a beast.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review