Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Kingman Group - Spyder Sonix Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Kingman Group
14010 Live Oak Avenue
Baldwin Park, CA 91706

Phone: (888) 546-4626
Fax: (626) 851-8530
Website: http://www.kingman.com
Features: Redesigned contour body milling, 9.5 inch aluminum barrel, Vertical feed neck, Dusted matte finish anodizing, Pull pin top cocking knob, Delrin bolt construction, Quick disconnect pin, One piece velocity adjuster / spring guide.
 Manual: Download the manual for Kingman Group Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $69.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.9/5 stars.
 Reviews: 38
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  11%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  71%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  13%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Kingman Group - Spyder Sonix Reviews
Kingman Group Spyder Sonix I bought this gun thinking it would be a really good gun since i had just started out..oh boy was i wrong...the first day i took it to the field...halfway through a game it started to chop a ball or...
Report this review to a moderator   #6713
jtusa181
BST King
jtusa181's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
jtusa181 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: lightish
Cons: chops balls, loud,inaccurate,
I bought this gun thinking it would be a really good gun since i had just started out..oh boy was i wrong...the first day i took it to the field...halfway through a game it started to chop a ball or two then suddenly balls were dropping and swerving and then it just wouldnt shoot em...the spring sucks!..even after getting a new spring the gun was chopping like crazy!!!..i chopped over 6 balls in a single speedball game(the game was only 1 minute!)

bottom line..dont get this gun!..i was very dissapointed
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Kingman Group Spyder Sonix i bought this gun a few days ago at dicks sporting goods and have only shot it for a few minutes ill test it out saturday for the complete test
Report this review to a moderator   #3189
J_Doggg63
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $149.99
Pros: Great for noobs like me
Cons: not in the sport long enough to know much
i bought this gun a few days ago at dicks sporting goods and have only shot it for a few minutes ill test it out saturday for the complete test
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Kingman Group Spyder Sonix Well, I got a Spyder Sonix Pro to mess around with, and so far I am in love. The 86* frame and trigger are phenomenal, giving me a fire rate of around 8-10bps without really trying super hard. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #26989
2nwyka
A Lover and a Poet
2nwyka's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
2nwyka posts videos on PbNation
2nwyka has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Fast, never chops, reliable, light, accurate
Cons: Mechanical, sear can stick at times.
Well, I got a Spyder Sonix Pro to mess around with, and so far I am in love. The 86* frame and trigger are phenomenal, giving me a fire rate of around 8-10bps without really trying super hard. The darn thing is accurate, too! I'm able to put paint on a pie-plate from 50' with nearly every shot. The marker is light, as well, leading to less fatigue and is great to lend out to younger players.
This thing is pretty maintenance free, as well. Just drop some lube in the ASA as you air up and pull the thing apart every 4000 shots for a rebuild and you should be good to go!

Overall, very good beginner and intermediate marker. Very difficult to break or set up wrong (I've had people do that before...they were just pretty pro at breaking it!), it's durable and fast enough to keep up with most modern mechanical and lower-end electronic markers!
Noah
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Kingman Group Spyder Sonix The sonix is a pretty good gun. It was one of my first guns and it shot pretty well even with CO2. I would recommend getting a different barrel though. Overall its a great starter mechanic gun and...
Report this review to a moderator   #34694
BenRo82
Diehard Louisiana fan!!!
BenRo82's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Louisiana
BenRo82 supports Team VICIOUS
BenRo82 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
BenRo82 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $99.00
Pros: consistent
Cons: barrel, kinda loud
The sonix is a pretty good gun. It was one of my first guns and it shot pretty well even with CO2. I would recommend getting a different barrel though. Overall its a great starter mechanic gun and all you need to do to keep it running smooth is just clean it every now and then.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Kingman Group Spyder Sonix Great reliable gun had mine since 05' when the model came out never had it breakdown on me once makes a great backup gun, for when a problem arises in your expensive marker and your already at the...
Report this review to a moderator   #34666
bheazy92
West Coast
bheazy92's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: cypress
bheazy92 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
bheazy92 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: reliability, accuracy, price, never chops
Cons: stock barrel
Great reliable gun had mine since 05' when the model came out never had it breakdown on me once makes a great backup gun, for when a problem arises in your expensive marker and your already at the park. Stock barrel is pretty bad though and i don't like the two finger trigger but that's more my preference. Not to mention I've probably only chopped paint in this thing enough times to count on my fingers in 7 years of ownership. Great cheap mech gun, buy it if you need a consistent backup.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Kingman Group Spyder Sonix I bought this Sonix marker, after playing several Tippmann, Brass Eagle, Spyder and electric markers. I played with guys that had good accuracy and never had a break down, most of the time they...
Report this review to a moderator   #32728
Christian P
UWL and Scenario
Christian P's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Christian P is playing at Living Legends VI
Christian P is playing at Living Legends VII
Christian P has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Christian P is attending Decay of Nations VII
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.00
Pros: lots of barrels, reliable
Cons: heavy for one hand
I bought this Sonix marker, after playing several Tippmann, Brass Eagle, Spyder and electric markers. I played with guys that had good accuracy and never had a break down, most of the time they played Spyder autocockers. I feel the electronic markers can fail if hit in the wrong place where autocockers shoot with out a problem.

I know there are better marker out there. Here I'd how I modded my Sonix to be a great marker for me.

For woodball, we play hilltop to hilltop, 1200 yards apart. I love to snipe so I have a 21" silenced barrel I play for the start. Turning up the pressure to adjust the long barrel and distance its easy on this gun. I have hit 800+ feet snipes downhill with this marker.

The stock barrel was 30% accurate at 60 feet in length. Do not expect to go over 100 feet to target accurately with most barrels on this marker. Upgrading to a ported barrel is a must to play a long shot. I got a 14" barrel I mounted with a no trace laser I had been given for an airsoft gun I mounted for speed ball. For 20 to 50 feet, it works as fast as you can pull the trigger and never misses. It works great as a lead in for a left hand it right hand marker.

Do not upgrade the hopper to a electronic our anything other than gravity fed. I can out shoot it, but when you're the last one, I plan my shots carefully and don't spray.

Upgrade the hopper attachment to a clip on over the friction fit.

The aluminum air tank that holds 4500 max is what I play. Get a gauge that you can see the PSI.

This gun looks like a 1940's Lugar machine gun the Nazi's used to me. I try to play it as a sniper, and it can make look longer shots, but its made to play speedball. PLEASE NOTE: in 5 times out, with 5000 rounds shot through, I find it doesn't jam, chip paint, or malfunction when in play.

Its buy this for a first time marker, or any auto cocker that I'd play, with a hopper clip adapter and a ported 12-14" barrel. Don't forget, its the Indian, the bow and arrow have to deliver the shot. The Spyder Sonix is a reliable ugly gun that I enjoy playing.
"
Do not compare this to anything other than an autococker marker
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Kingman Group Spyder Sonix Great gun for the price. $150 was the price for a bundle. It is a mechanical gun so it isn't great. It has fair consistency. Very few balls chopped. Like most entry level markers it runs on CO2 or...
Report this review to a moderator   #26257
daken12997
 
daken12997's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northwest Arkansas
daken12997 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
daken12997 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: reliable. lightweight
Cons: barrel isnt great. bad feed neck.
Great gun for the price. $150 was the price for a bundle. It is a mechanical gun so it isn't great. It has fair consistency. Very few balls chopped. Like most entry level markers it runs on CO2 or HPA. I recommend HPA. The gun is more consistent with it. I'm pretty sure you can get a new electronic grip for it. Great gun for a beginners.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Kingman Group Spyder Sonix Nice gun to start for a general player great for speedball and small woods beginner but can only take so much before repairs are needed
Report this review to a moderator   #10724
Deltoren
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: small light fast reilable and accurate
Cons: loud and not easily modified
Nice gun to start for a general player great for speedball and small woods beginner but can only take so much before repairs are needed
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Kingman Group Spyder Sonix This was my very first paintball marker that I bought when I was 10 or 11 after my step-dad got into recreational woodsball. I bought it in the Sonix Value Pack, which came with the marker...
Report this review to a moderator   #34482
EpikYummeh
Doodlebug Sportz!
EpikYummeh's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: WA
EpikYummeh plays in the APPA beginner division
EpikYummeh supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: strong frame, low price
Cons: innaccurate, heavy, hard trigger pull
This was my very first paintball marker that I bought when I was 10 or 11 after my step-dad got into recreational woodsball. I bought it in the Sonix Value Pack, which came with the marker (obviously), a mask, hopper, 12oz. CO2 tank, and other little things (replacement parts, barrel plug, etc.).

For a kid of that age, it was AWESOME having my very own paintball marker and not have to rent the beat-up Tippman 98 Customs.

Now that I'm older, though, it just doesn't cut it. I play recreational speedball and the trigger is so hard to pull I can shoot it faster with one finger than two.

It has only broken paint once since I bought it, so it's very good in that aspect. A solid mechanical marker.

The body is very heavy, but also very durable. I've never dropped it, but it feels very strong in your hands.

My only legimitate complaint (you get what you pay for; accuracy, firing speed, light weight, etc. are not things to expect in a $100 marker) is that it is impossible to put back together. The striker spring (see manual p6, part #SPR004) is far too long to be able to get back into the marker, so I now have a marker that doesn't work.

If you want a decent beginner marker for somebody who may only go once, this is a viable choice, though more modern mechanical markers are definitely going to be a better choice in the long run due to advances in internal construction.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Kingman Group Spyder Sonix this gun is a great overall starter for people on a budget. it was my first, and it is a BEAST. this thing will take even a hit against a boulder (dont ask). it is very innacurate though... but i got...
Report this review to a moderator   #11430
gut536
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
gut536 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: good shooter, not that air hungry, NEVER BREAKS
Cons: heavy, very loud, large, innacurate
this gun is a great overall starter for people on a budget. it was my first, and it is a BEAST. this thing will take even a hit against a boulder (dont ask). it is very innacurate though... but i got an invert twister 14" barrel and it got better. but if you are looking for a great starter gun on a budget, this beats everything.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review