Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - Flatline Barrel (A-5) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
 Manual: Download the manual for Tippmann Sports Download
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $100.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
 Reviews: 21
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  71%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  29%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - Flatline Barrel (A-5) Reviews
Tippmann Sports Flatline Barrel (A-5) definitely a great barrel for more menacing appearance on the field, but i would only use it for sniping situations, close quarters its not as reliable. i don't know how that is but thats what i...
Report this review to a moderator   #26551
conzork
All-Star Paintball O.G.
conzork's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort Carson, CO
conzork posts videos on PbNation
conzork has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $45.00
Pros: REACH out and touch someone
Cons: not too great if that someones within 20 feet
definitely a great barrel for more menacing appearance on the field, but i would only use it for sniping situations, close quarters its not as reliable. i don't know how that is but thats what i found.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Flatline Barrel (A-5) If you are looking for slap it on, go straight out and use it barrel, this is not the barrel for you. The flat trajectory is made by putting a backspin on the ball. Too much backspin, the ball...
Report this review to a moderator   #3643
Phlip310
 
Phlip310's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Reach, Flat trajectory
Cons: Picky on paint, velocity and temperature
If you are looking for slap it on, go straight out and use it barrel, this is not the barrel for you.

The flat trajectory is made by putting a backspin on the ball. Too much backspin, the ball rises, not enough backspin the ball drops, left or right spin instead of backspin=wild hooking or slicing shots. This means the gun has to always, always, be fired in an exactly upright position, firing with it canted sideways is just going to hook your shots.

Heavy winds will change the relative velocity and will affect the accuracy/distance. Just like any other barrel it is affected by cross winds. The flatline though has the addition of headwind will increase the rising motion and a tailwind will add to the sinking motion. No benefit here.

PAINT:
Think of dodge ball with those old red rubber balls. Spin is good because they can't catch it.... but ever get one that was warped out of round or under-inflated? The spin makes the flight wobble. This is the same for paint with the flatline.
Cold weather make paintballs more brittle, the S curve and the texture scratching the surface of the painball will break cheap, thin wall paint all of the time.

SETUP:
Remove the shroud with one ouside screw on the marker end. Now, the barrel is a separate piece from the barrel adapter that attaches to the marker. There is one small hex screw holding the two pieces together. Make sure the barrel is in tight to the adapter with no gap or you will get ball breaks. Make sure the factory "scratch" mark on top lines up barrel to adapter or you will hook left or right. Tighten this small hex screw and then never remove this screw again.
The spin is dependant on three things... ball stickyness, barrel texture and the velocity the ball goes through the s-curve. Each time you change the ball manufacturer/lot or the temperature changes you need to adjust the velocity to get the proper spin.... go to the target range. The time is worth it. You are looking for a flat trajectory at extreme range.


THE BONUS YOU GET FOR YOUR EFFORT:
Flat Trajectory:
As and example, I was down at SCVillage last Sunday, in their cool "Bosnia" field. Running down the middle are three bunkers with upright posts and low roofs. I was in the first bunker, the second was empty and I kept killing people that moved into the third. Why? Because they did not have a flat line. Their arc'd shots kept hitting the roof of the middle bunker or the dirt in front of me. My shots reached right through. They asked for a chrono, the ref saw I had a flat line barrel and knew what was happening! I love having an advantage! Correct amount of backspin= no arc
Longer Distance:
Do you like having the wind at your back becuase your enemies shots land on the ground in front of you and yours are hitting them or their bunker? Now imagine having that without a wind.... an extra 100ft of range! No paint on paint at that range but good enough for head shots!


NEITHER PRO NOR CON:
Accuracy:
It is reasonable accurate, to hit a head sized targe: 1-2 shots at short to medium range. 2-6 shots at extreme range.


MAINTENANCE (Cleaning):
By the right paint and it is not prone to ball breaks. If one breaks at the field live with it until between rounds. Then rinse through with water and squeege. Field Swabs tend to remove the texture on the inside, not good! At home remove the barrel and put it in boiling water to clean it.

DON'T DO THIS BECAUSE IT WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY AND IT MIGHT NOT WORK FOR YOU!(but I did it to increase backspin for me) (or you can just by smaller diameter paint)
If you look inside the barrel it is textured all along the inside. The backspin is created by the extra friction along the inside top of the barrel as it goes through the s-curve. I took very, very, fine sandpaper(400 grit) and tore off a thin piece that would only contact the bottom 1/3 of the barrel. I then removed most of the texture on the bottom inside of the barrel. Think it through... if it does not make 100% perfect sense, don't even try it, you will make your flatline worthless.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Flatline Barrel (A-5) Alright, this is my review for the Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel kit. this barrel is great for back players and gunner position roles. Pros: Long distance, accurate if shot correctly, easy to...
Report this review to a moderator   #629
Urban_Warfare
A-5 User
Urban_Warfare's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Washington
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: see below
Cons: see below
Alright, this is my review for the Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel kit. this barrel is great for back players and gunner position roles.

Pros: Long distance, accurate if shot correctly, easy to install, easy to clean, easy to maintain.

Cons: expensive, can be VERY inaccurate if shot incorrectly, is picky when it come to paintballs, very loud (can be a good thing if you want it to be).

Conclusion: the Tippmann A-5 Flatline Barrel is very picky sometimes, but when it's needs are met, it can be one hell of a barrel
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.6/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Flatline Barrel (A-5) when i first got it i tried it out at my little target range at my house. i stood quite a bit farther back than i usualy do and took the first shot. at first i was amazed at how far and accurate it...
Report this review to a moderator   #2936
mini master
give it all
mini master's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: short, shoots farther than most other barrels.
Cons: price, accuracy when shooting fast
when i first got it i tried it out at my little target range at my house. i stood quite a bit farther back than i usualy do and took the first shot. at first i was amazed at how far and accurate it was, i nailed all my targets with only one or two shots. So then since i have an e-trigger i swiched it to auto to see how it does while shooting fast... it was bad. once i was shooting about 10-15 bps the balls would curve about 20 meters to the side or way up/down. this made me very mad cuz i paid 150 and didn't get what i paid for.

if you don't shoot fast then your good to go Since i shoot fast it was a no no
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Flatline Barrel (A-5) I bought the Flatline with the battle shroud and it looks cool with my red dot sight but its not worth it
Report this review to a moderator   #3140
nursedavidnaz
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $110.00
Pros: shoots far
Cons: not as accurate as comparably priced barrels
I bought the Flatline with the battle shroud and it looks cool with my red dot sight but its not worth it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Flatline Barrel (A-5) This barrel does what is says it can do. It shoots paint really far. However, as much as I tried, I could never get it to be AS accurate as a regular 14" barrel. But it wasn't terribly...
Report this review to a moderator   #3035
mr.california
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Socal
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: it looks pretty scary to a noob
Cons: Broken paint is a PAIN to clean
This barrel does what is says it can do. It shoots paint really
far. However, as much as I tried, I could never get it to be AS accurate as a regular 14" barrel. But it wasn't terribly innacurate...then again I don't have an E-grip, so maybe high rates of fire screws accuracy up (if you got a stabilizer I think that would fix the problem)

The barrel is extremely loud. When I took my first shots at the field everone turned around to see if someone was shooting a real gun.

The worst thing though is when you break paint in it. Because the inner surface is not smooth like all other barrel but rough, the paint won't squeegie out very well. And because its curved, its hard to clean it out with anything but a squeegie.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Flatline Barrel (A-5) It does what it's supposed to do, however it seems like it takes a little more "oomf" to get the balls there. Good product just not necessary.
Report this review to a moderator   #19985
69!
 
69!'s avatar
Join Date: May 2001
69! is a founding member
69! has been a member for 10 years
69! is playing at Living Legends V
69! is for the Gunfight
69! is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Long shot
Cons: Big and goofy
It does what it's supposed to do, however it seems like it takes a little more "oomf" to get the balls there.

Good product just not necessary.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Flatline Barrel (A-5) The barrel does help shoot further, but it is very inacurate.
Report this review to a moderator   #10022
badjuju98
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: Shoots further
Cons: Not acurate
The barrel does help shoot further, but it is very inacurate.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Flatline Barrel (A-5) I purchased the A-5 Flatline to complete my A5A2 build and get the look I wanted. I didn't expect it to perform as well as a perfectly dialed in 98 Flatline does and in that I was correct. But this...
Report this review to a moderator   #33014
Beorn1023
Nutz behind the trigger!
Beorn1023's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Littleton, Co
Beorn1023 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Beorn1023 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Beorn1023 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Beorn1023 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $49.00
Pros: Range, adaptability
Cons: picky on velocity and paint
I purchased the A-5 Flatline to complete my A5A2 build and get the look I wanted. I didn't expect it to perform as well as a perfectly dialed in 98 Flatline does and in that I was correct. But this is a great barrel for the new lower price and does give mech players the advantage of range over our electro cousins.
Over the last few years using it I have noticed that if your velocity drops anywhere near 260 fps the barrel will NOT put the required backspin on the ball to generate the lift/flat trajectory we associate with the Flatline barrels.
I highly recommend investing in a good quality chronograph. Variable paint sizes due to brand/ batch or humidity levels can have a huge effect on velocity and your marker will need to be adjusted accordingly. I've had days where I chrono'd and adjusted 3 times in a 6 hour day. Also with this barrel I've learned to stay away from tournament paint, as their shells tend to be brittle and Tippmans don't like tourney paint anyway.
If your shots are hooking consistently to one side have a buddy watch you shoot and take some pics and I'll bet you are holding your marker just a bit out of level.
If your shots are all over the place with this barrel then then your velocity and remember it has to be over 270 fps to be safe, or check the paint.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Flatline Barrel (A-5) I bought this back when I was first starting out and definitely thought it was going to be worth the money, but it wasn't. When I tried using premium grade paint I had lots of ball breaking problems,...
Report this review to a moderator   #10088
bluej248
 
bluej248's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: adds distance
Cons: inaccurate, not good for full auto guns
I bought this back when I was first starting out and definitely thought it was going to be worth the money, but it wasn't. When I tried using premium grade paint I had lots of ball breaking problems, so I had to use a lower grade paint with a harder shell which solved that problem, but created a new problem which was the paintballs were not breaking most of the time on any opponents. Also this is not a full auto friendly barrel either, if you're going to get this barrel just keep your gun in semi-auto mode. I recommend getting another barrel if you're willing to pay the amount of money these sell for.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review