Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Airgun Designs USA - ULE Custom Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Airgun Designs USA
401 Florine Court
Cary, IL 60090

Phone: (847) 520-7225
Fax: (847) 520-7848
Email: romanr@airgundesignsusa.com
Website: http://www.airgundesignsusa.com
AGD Custom mechanical Automag includes X-valve.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $475.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
 Reviews: 9
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  67%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  33%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Airgun Designs USA - ULE Custom Reviews
Airgun Designs USA ULE Custom Recommended Upgrades You just bought it. Strengths Pull a single screw and you can do 90% of the maintenance you would need in any situation. With a wide array of aftermarket parts you can make...
Report this review to a moderator   #37411
Dark Side
You will know the power
Dark Side's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Charleston SC
Dark Side is BST Trusted
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: see below
Cons: The only excuse you can have is your game
Recommended Upgrades
You just bought it.


Strengths
Pull a single screw and you can do 90% of the maintenance you would need in any situation. With a wide array of aftermarket parts you can make this Mag your own. If you want a tight package that will turn heads of even seasons PB vets you can mount a warpfeed. Designed to get the hopper off the top of the marker it is great for making those snap shots count. The Level 10 bolt will at times a pain to tune will not chop paint afterwards. It set the bar for antichop tech.

Quality
The quality is outstanding. AGD knows how to make a killer product that will not die.

Trigger
The old school double finger trigger, but there are several aftermarket designs available.

Weaknesses
The valve likes to operate at least at 800 psi. It will operate lower but you will have decreased performance. This makes it an air hog. Normal woodsball gamers shouldn't worry though. Some people may call them heavy.

Conclusion
I've owned Mags in various configurations since 99. They are the ultimate mech gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA ULE Custom I have used automags since the early 90s,i love them.The ule rt custom is absolutely the best mechanical marker ever made.If you take into account weight, accuracy,durability,depenability,quality,and...
Report this review to a moderator   #5407
mr fly
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $475.00
Pros: light,reliable,easy to maintain
Cons: not extremely efficient
I have used automags since the early 90s,i love them.The ule rt custom is absolutely the best mechanical marker ever made.If you take into account weight, accuracy,durability,depenability,quality,and ease of maintenence.my rt has probally around 100,000 rnds through it with no more maintenance than a cleaning.Its light,shoots fast,shoots consistantly,and has a great trigger pull. Ill not compare it to a mechanical marker they are different breeds.If your a woodsballer or scenario baller its the best you can buy,scrap the cheesy low quality tippmann(basically same gun they have been sellin since 87 only cheeper quality and higher price) and get a ule mag guaranteed you wont regret it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA ULE Custom I've been shooting a ULE RT Pro with RPG Exile Body, RPG UL Frame for over a year now and I love this marker. It's not the best looking marker in the world as it was milled down to the bare minimum...
Report this review to a moderator   #1760
Foxworthy
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Light, Consistent, No Chops
Cons: Bad Shots Per Tank
I've been shooting a ULE RT Pro with RPG Exile Body, RPG UL Frame for over a year now and I love this marker. It's not the best looking marker in the world as it was milled down to the bare minimum but the weight came in at about 1lb 14oz with Lucky Unitec Barrel, and optional Vertical adapter and foregrip. So its not as pretty as some heavier milled bodies like the Karta or Dallara.

I gave the marker five stars for performance compared to other mechanical markers. The marker has superb consistency and the only knock on performance would be that the trigger isn't as walkable as an electro. Which is true but the trigger when tuned properly is far more walkable then most any mechanical out there that hasn't been given a pneumatic trigger upgrade.

I gave the marker five stars for reliability as it has run perfectly for me. I've shot several cases of paint through it and not one chop.

I gave the marker five stars for value as its well worth the price I paid for it. In the current marker market I could probably part it out for more than I paid if I decide to part with it. Which is great value. I wouldn't do that though cause I love this marker.

The bottomline is that the ULE Custom is a light and fast mechanical marker. The level ten bolt is awesome for stopping chops when tuned and the trigger is the best I ever felt on a mechanical marker. I would highly recommend this marker for anyone who is looking a mechanical marker that is light, reliable and consistent. Its not as fast as most electros in semi but the rt effect on the x-valve can be tuned to make electros balls actually fired per second look bad.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA ULE Custom So I wanted an Automag ever since I shot my buddy Tim's after a few rec-ball games I played with his lightened up ULE 'Mag. Comfort/Feel of the marker: There were several things I really liked about...
Report this review to a moderator   #17244
Zepulkinator
Epic Purple Dude
Zepulkinator's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The 'Dookie, IL
Zepulkinator plays in the PSP
Zepulkinator supports Team VICIOUS
Zepulkinator is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Zepulkinator is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Light, Accurate, FAST, Comfy, Simple
Cons: Finicky, Inefficient
So I wanted an Automag ever since I shot my buddy Tim's after a few rec-ball games I played with his lightened up ULE 'Mag.

Comfort/Feel of the marker:
There were several things I really liked about the 'Mag that I played with. First was feel, or comfort of the marker in my hands. His had an RT Pro grip on it which stretched the marker out a bit and made it feel like a Luxe.

Marker Setup:

I used my Revvy, Deadlywind barrel and Guerrilla Air 48/45 with an Assault reg on it, which was outputting somewhere around 900psi. Which if set up correctly, can make a mag R/T pretty fast. This one wasn't set up like that so it was just a really reliable mech gun.

Consistency/Accuracy:

I took the marker to the chrono it wasn't too bad for entry level XO V1 paint. I was using a Deadlywind barrel with a .682 insert, which made the paint just a little bit underbored. It shot 278, 284, 277, 285, 280, 283. Not too bad, and I went off to play a game.

In Play Action:
Went off to play a game with it (woodsball, with some buildings on the other side) and decided to go into the woods part of the field. One thing I noticed was that the marker was very light. So I went to the top of a hill to shoot the marker, thinking I would give myself an advantage seeing as how it was my first time using the marker. It was dead on accurate, anything I pointed at, I could shoot. I shot a kid's hopper, was able to snap shoot and hit targets within 3 shots and could easily get on the trigger if I wanted to. The trigger on a 'Mag can me ULT'd (Ultra Light Trigger) and at that point it is walkable if you have strong fingers. I was pleasantly surprised with all of this and it really made me want to buy a 'Mag.

Efficiency:
The high input pressure makes mags a gas hog (or so I've been told). But they are just that way by nature, that's what gives you that nice smooth, crisp shot every time. The number of pods I got off my GA 48/45 tank would have to be somewhere around 4 pods and a hopper, with the tank filled to 4500.

ULE Custom, the perfected 'Mag:
So I looked into getting myself a 'Mag, and I figured out that the ULE Custom is made up of some of lightest and best factory parts in terms of Automags. It has the Ultra Light Engineered Body, Intelliframe, and the X-valve (which recharges at 26 times a second and will never have dropoff if assembled correctly).

Bottomline:
If you want a nice shooting, high quality mech gun that also has the ability to have a trigger pull so light it can be shot like an electro, you need to get yourself a quality AGD ULE Custom Automag. They still make them and you can order one off their website: www.airgundesignsusa.com for about $500. Like the old saying goes, Quality Always Shoots Straight!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA ULE Custom This was the first high end marker I ever bought; I was very against electrical markers and anyone with two brain cells will tell you these are the best mechanical gun on the market. That being said...
Report this review to a moderator   #35245
bobrow15
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Light, Quiet
Cons: unavailibility of aftermarket parts
This was the first high end marker I ever bought; I was very against electrical markers and anyone with two brain cells will tell you these are the best mechanical gun on the market. That being said I have loved this gun since the day I picked it up, and though I have high end electric guns now I still break out the ole` mag and play a few rounds almost every day I go out.

Grips
As with any gun you love them or you hate them, I personally love them and people have shot my gun who hate them. It comes stock with old school DYE sticky grips, and they are big but comfy.

Consistency
Not perfect +/- 8 but well within acceptable limits.

Efficiency
Its a total gas hog but I really couldn't care less (its called all day air, coming soon to a field near you!) Never got exact numbers on shots but just know you will become familiar with the operation of the air table at your field.

Playing
Plays much like a high-end electric gun minus all the weight! The gun snaps quickly to position and puts balls directly where you point the gun every time, while I have never tuned mine to fire fast that rarely matters when your first two paintball hit your opponent.

Reliability
I would like to say it is perfect and other than one tiny flaw it is. I clean and lube the gun after every day and mechanically the gun has been beyond even flawless, a claim that the most expensive electric marker could never make. I have had one small issue with the fact that my gun like destroying detents at the rate of about one every full day of play, and I have never been able to figure out why even with the great guys at AGD. If i could figure out the detent problem this gun would literally be flawless.

Customer Service
Like nothing I have ever seen; the guys on the forums can help with any problems and when they cant the guys at the company will take care of you. They may not be a huge company anymore but they still stand behind their customers.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA ULE Custom The only two issues with the Automag line is gas efficiency and tuning the level 10 bolt kit. Tuning the bolt takes a bit of trial and error and time but once it is set, it's amazing. Gas...
Report this review to a moderator   #25701
POWMP
 
POWMP's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: El Paso, TX
POWMP supports Team VICIOUS
POWMP supports Pev's Paintball
POWMP has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
POWMP has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
POWMP has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Maintenance, consistency, easy to fix
Cons: Gas efficiency, bolt tuning
The only two issues with the Automag line is gas efficiency and tuning the level 10 bolt kit. Tuning the bolt takes a bit of trial and error and time but once it is set, it's amazing. Gas efficiency is by far on the lower end of the scale.

However, maintenance is the easiest of any marker out there. With one screw, you can disassemble all the important pieces of the gun (once you've removed your tank). It's also extremely consistent from shot to shot with velocity and accuracy.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA ULE Custom I bought my first Automag as an impulse buy. Since then I have never looked back. I always keep one in my gear bag as a backup. The level 10 bolt and ult do take some work to tune. Once done...
Report this review to a moderator   #15691
highhorse1983
Aw... I wanted to explode
highhorse1983's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lewiston, ID
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Reliablility
Cons: Effiency
I bought my first Automag as an impulse buy. Since then I have never looked back. I always keep one in my gear bag as a backup.

The level 10 bolt and ult do take some work to tune. Once done there is no need to worry about chopped paintballs and the trigger pull can be reduced to under 2lbs.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA ULE Custom the ULE custom is really everything you can ask for in a mechanical gun. The gun is compact, pretty light, the level 10 is as reliable an anti chop system as any eyes and they are mechanically very...
Report this review to a moderator   #12828
automagsrule
LOIC
automagsrule's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Monkey Island
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: see below
Cons: see below
the ULE custom is really everything you can ask for in a mechanical gun. The gun is compact, pretty light, the level 10 is as reliable an anti chop system as any eyes and they are mechanically very simple and reliable. Also with a well tuned RT or ULT they are faster than any mechanical (and even some electros).

The only real downside to these guns is the air efficiency leaves something to be desired, but its not terrible by any means and with fields everywhere giving out all day air, its so minor i dont even count it against the gun at all.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Airgun Designs USA ULE Custom Although it is a mech marker, wth the ULT tuned properly you can actually walk the trigger effectively. It is extremely light(mines an all custom DW/RPG ULE mag) havent chopped paint since i got it,...
Report this review to a moderator   #57689
THE KAMKA
I need about Tree Fiddy
THE KAMKA's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Flawduh
THE KAMKA has been a member for 10 years
THE KAMKA has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
THE KAMKA has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
THE KAMKA has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $675.00
Pros: everything
Cons: pricey for only a mech, but well worth it
Although it is a mech marker, wth the ULT tuned properly you can actually walk the trigger effectively. It is extremely light(mines an all custom DW/RPG ULE mag) havent chopped paint since i got it, and always shoots true.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review