Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Odyssey - Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Odyssey
55 Howard Ave
Des Plaines, IL 60018

Phone: (800) 579-1633
Email: tech@paintballsolutions.com
Website: http://keeactionsports.com/index.jsp
Features: 22 + balls/second, Spring loaded drive cone, Low battery indicator, 20,000 rounds/battery change, 170 round ball capacity. Also includes the rip drive built in! Takes 6 AA batteries.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $99.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.0/5 stars.
 Reviews: 75
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  16%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  69%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  9%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Odyssey - Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive Reviews
Odyssey Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive Used a revvy, reloader (not B) & egg and finally decided to throw down a c-note for a faster loader. Ordered a Halo B. Also ordered rechargeable 9v's & an adaptor right off the bat because no way...
Report this review to a moderator   #2112
nerdcore
Radical!
nerdcore's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Crashville
nerdcore has been a member for 10 years
nerdcore is playing at Living Legends VII
nerdcore is a top reviewer
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Fast, balanced.
Cons: Weak shells?
Used a revvy, reloader (not B) & egg and finally decided to throw down a c-note for a faster loader. Ordered a Halo B. Also ordered rechargeable 9v's & an adaptor right off the bat because no way would i deal with 6 AAAs weighing down the thing.

First thing i noticed was the weight. Even with the 9v's the Halo was on the heavy side. But full of paint, it didn't really matter. And this thing would feed faster, obviously.

Felt balanced & fed faster. But it wasn't the ropes i could shoot that made me notice the feed speed - it was how fast i could empty the thing. Reloading like crazy now (relative to previous hoppers).

Rip drive is a nice touch but i only find it useful off the field, like at the chrono or at home, when the Halo didn't need to be on.

Did notice the stock shells aren't that strong. They held up but tiny chips & cracks formed here, couple stress fractures formed there. Then i accidentally bumped my gun off a bench seat & a piece the size of a finger nail chipped off the front of one shell half, leaving a nice hole. Can't blame that entirely on the shell, since it was my fault for knocking it over, but it didn't fall that far. My old reloader shell would've withstood the blow. But nothing new shells didn't fix.

Hopper technology moves almost as fast as gun technology so there are some better hoppers now but for the price, Halo Bs are solid.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Odyssey Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive the halo is a pretty good hopper, especially for the price you can find them used. its fast enough to keep up with anything. a couple downsides, with the shape of your hopper you have to tilt your...
Report this review to a moderator   #4302
NightKreeper
 
NightKreeper's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Springfield, Missouri
NightKreeper is a Supporting Member
NightKreeper has been a member for 10 years
NightKreeper plays in the PSP
NightKreeper plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: strong shells, fast, RIP drive,
Cons: stock drive cone, heavy, not the most consistent
the halo is a pretty good hopper, especially for the price you can find them used. its fast enough to keep up with anything.

a couple downsides, with the shape of your hopper you have to tilt your gun down or hold the pod there for a second while reloading. the stock drive cones are prone to break, so i recommend buying a delrin one before it breaks on you in a game. they jam occasionally (especially with reballs), but with the new empire freeway anti-jam, they dont. also, rip drive is a MUST.

overall: 8/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Odyssey Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive Odyssey's Halo belt driven hopper (with rip drive) is a solid product. I personally have never had any problems with it what so ever, and fulfilled it's purpose of being a hopper. The feed rate is...
Report this review to a moderator   #4170
omgzorsitsnick!
I'm not a 2k8'er
omgzorsitsnick!'s avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Frederick, MD
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $82.95
Pros: consistancy, efficient, reliable
Cons: heavy?
Odyssey's Halo belt driven hopper (with rip drive) is a solid product. I personally have never had any problems with it what so ever, and fulfilled it's purpose of being a hopper.

The feed rate is consistant, the battery usage is minimal, and the maintenence is also minimal.

Pros

Battery Usage
low. I've gone roughly 7-10 cases without having to change the battery.

Weight Distribution
Great. The weight is symmetrical on the hopper, so one side will not outweigh the other...at least by much.

Reliability
I run two hoppers, a torque, and a halo, the halo has not failed me yet, no cracks, nothing broken, nothing replaced, all in great condition. (But I do take care of my stuff so that also may explain why it's in peek condition.)

I've dove into snake, got it shot many times, dropped it, slammed it, nothing happened to it. Paint has also gotten in there, and it still worked.

Looks
I personally feel like the halo hopper looks fine, it has smooth lines, which is cool i guess.

If it's not your cup of tea, then don't get it.

Ball breakage
At a minimum. I've never had my ballstack go under such intense pressure from the hopper that it breaks.

Features
-Anti-Jam
If the hopper recognizes a jam, it will reverse itself and go forwards a few times until it unjams
-LED Display
I see the light!
-Rip Drive
It's a nice feature, to not have to turn on your hopper when in teh chrono station, or in the middle of the game and your hopper dies.

Cons

Weight
It outweighs most hoppers on the market today.

It's not a problem that needs to be solved, I mean I'm perfectly fine with it.


Overall the hopper is greaatt. I would say go and test out the other hoppers first, and see which one you like the best.

I wouldn't suggest buying used....you never know what could be wronng with it...unless you know the person.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Odyssey Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive The Halo B with rip drive is a solid loader. The rip drive is what really saves it. I've taken dives and lost batteries (battery door cracks easily) but the rip drive allowed for me to somewhat...
Report this review to a moderator   #17855
orange!
i did it for the lulz
orange!'s avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: RVA
orange! owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
orange! has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Rip drive is a life saver
Cons: Bulky, heavy, not as reliable as I expected
The Halo B with rip drive is a solid loader. The rip drive is what really saves it. I've taken dives and lost batteries (battery door cracks easily) but the rip drive allowed for me to somewhat continue playing in a game. Overall, a good loader
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Odyssey Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive The only complaint Ive ever had on these was a weak feedneck. Even though I've since upgraded hoppers I cant seem to get rid of this. It's reliable and the rip drive has saved me countless times. ...
Report this review to a moderator   #14019
p8ntball@ddict
CT's bestest butt buddy.
p8ntball@ddict's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: So Cal
p8ntball@ddict is a Moderator
p8ntball@ddict is a Supporting Member
p8ntball@ddict is playing at Living Legends V
p8ntball@ddict supports Team VICIOUS
p8ntball@ddict is a PbNation video producer
p8ntball@ddict supports our troops
p8ntball@ddict has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: fast, reliable
Cons: weak feedneck
The only complaint Ive ever had on these was a weak feedneck. Even though I've since upgraded hoppers I cant seem to get rid of this. It's reliable and the rip drive has saved me countless times. Disassembly for cleaning could be a little easier but overall it's a great hopper for the price, and when it gets down to it, it gets the job done.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Odyssey Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive Love my halos, they work great, wish the anti jamming system was a little less easy to fall out, but still a great loader that has been there for me.
Report this review to a moderator   #14955
p8ntcheck45
Hot Bread Z!
p8ntcheck45's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland Oregon
p8ntcheck45 is a Supporting Member
p8ntcheck45 has been a member for 10 years
p8ntcheck45 is a Professional paintball player
p8ntcheck45 is a Paintball photographer
p8ntcheck45 works for a Paintball manufacturer
p8ntcheck45 supports our troops
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: works
Cons: red/green flashing
Love my halos, they work great, wish the anti jamming system was a little less easy to fall out, but still a great loader that has been there for me.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Odyssey Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive i have this halo and i think it works wonders i like how its not a constant cycle and suggest it to all speedball players
Report this review to a moderator   #4288
paintballer140
brock Dabad
paintballer140's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: California
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $160.00
Pros: reliable
Cons: a little slow
i have this halo and i think it works wonders i like how its not a constant cycle and suggest it to all speedball players
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Odyssey Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive this hopper is amazing. it is a little bit heavy sure, but so is the rotor and the z2. the halo looks smaller than the rotor as well. and is sooooo much cheaper. I just picked up a used halo with a...
Report this review to a moderator   #25735
paintballistheshiz
Leggo My Ego
paintballistheshiz's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: chicago
paintballistheshiz owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
paintballistheshiz is for the Gunfight
paintballistheshiz has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
paintballistheshiz has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: dirty cheap
Cons: nothing
this hopper is amazing.

it is a little bit heavy sure, but so is the rotor and the z2. the halo looks smaller than the rotor as well. and is sooooo much cheaper.

I just picked up a used halo with a speed feed for 40 shipped, when used rotors are selling for over 100.

Its just common sense and not worth spending the extra cash for no real extra value to your gear.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Odyssey Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive This loader is working great for me, I haven't had it long but it is great. I seriously recommend getting a speed feed for this because the lid is tough to open sometimes. Another problem is I have...
Report this review to a moderator   #21165
PaintBoss374
It's The Lifestyle.
PaintBoss374's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Nevada
PaintBoss374 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
PaintBoss374 supports Team VICIOUS
PaintBoss374 is for the Gunfight
PaintBoss374 supports Pev's Paintball
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Fast, Feeds well.
Cons:
This loader is working great for me, I haven't had it long but it is great. I seriously recommend getting a speed feed for this because the lid is tough to open sometimes. Another problem is I have had a jam but it was only 1 so that's not terrible. The apperance is great! It looks great on my marker. I haven't had any mid-game problems with this loader once I got the speed feed. If you aren't a player that moves around a lot then another problem for you may be that some paint is left in the front due to the flat surface in the front of the loader. This is only a problem for me when I'm just shooting out in my backyard but even then it's not a huge deal. This is a great loadr and I recommend it to anyone.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Odyssey Halo Belt Driven Loader With Rip Drive I like this hopper a lot. It's batteries last a while. It does need 6 AA's though. It doesn't fit into most stock feednecks. I had to buy new feednecks for my PMR and Epiphany thanks to this loader....
Report this review to a moderator   #4709
paintfreak93
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mechanicsburg PA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $95.00
Pros: feeds well, doesn't eat up batteries, rip drive
Cons: jams a lot, doesn't fit into most stock feednecks
I like this hopper a lot. It's batteries last a while. It does need 6 AA's though. It doesn't fit into most stock feednecks. I had to buy new feednecks for my PMR and Epiphany thanks to this loader. It feeds really well though and is quiet. Reccomend getting the one with the board in it though since it's only a few dollars more. Don't get the one without the rip drive though because this hopper jams a lot and i've had it jam 3 times it 1 X Ball game so deffinitly get the rip drive.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review