Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Bob Long Technologies - Alias Intimidator Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Bob Long Technologies
11669 Highway 26
Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245

Phone: (209) 293-4440
Fax: (209) 293-4420
Email: techsupport@boblongdirect.com
Website: http://www.boblongdirect.com
Alias Intimidator
 Manual: Download the manual for Bob Long Technologies Download
 Release Date: 2003
 MSRP: $1,400.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 61
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  36%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Bob Long Technologies - Alias Intimidator Reviews
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator Great shooting gun, the size is just a little on the larger side for me. Great gun considering when it came out.
Report this review to a moderator   #35701
pntbll309
Money Talks BS Walks.
pntbll309's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Rockies
pntbll309 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
pntbll309 supports Team VICIOUS
pntbll309 supports Team VICIOUS
pntbll309 has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
pntbll309 is Legendary
pntbll309 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: feel,consistency
Cons: size, bulk
Great shooting gun, the size is just a little on the larger side for me. Great gun considering when it came out.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator Owned 3 of these guns at one time a long, long time ago. Great gun. Very fast and light. Slightly reliable. I do remember the manual was printed on someone's house printer as the ink was hazy as if...
Report this review to a moderator   #15004
potato
 
potato's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: crooklyn
potato is a Supporting Member
potato has been a member for 10 years
potato donated to help Peyton Trent
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,100.00
Pros: A timmy
Cons: If it breaks your screwed
Owned 3 of these guns at one time a long, long time ago. Great gun. Very fast and light. Slightly reliable. I do remember the manual was printed on someone's house printer as the ink was hazy as if it had ran out. That might explain why I could never fix any of the guns as the manual was completely unreadable. Bought them brand new so no explanation for why it would be like that but at the time I didn't care.

I remember cleaning the gun was a pain especially if you got shot on the frame. It had the new style grips but paint would still find it's why onto the board. However it wasn't a big issue. Probably the best thing about the gun was that you could use a pull through squeegee in the middle of a game to clean a chopped ball.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator I love my alias. i use it for tourneys to this day. Its not as light as the guns today but it still keeps up easily. Now they are cheap. Pick one up and mow some faces with this beast. Best gun ever
Report this review to a moderator   #28247
potatowedge
potatowedge's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Colorado Springs
potatowedge owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
potatowedge supports Team VICIOUS
potatowedge supports Team VICIOUS
potatowedge supports Team VICIOUS
potatowedge posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Fast as snot
Cons: heavy
I love my alias. i use it for tourneys to this day. Its not as light as the guns today but it still keeps up easily. Now they are cheap. Pick one up and mow some faces with this beast. Best gun ever
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator Garbage outta the box, but a few tweaks and some know how and its still my favorite
Report this review to a moderator   #32911
PuzL
PuzL's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: california
PuzL owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
PuzL has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
PuzL has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
PuzL has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.99
Pros: Intimidator
Cons: Intimidator
Garbage outta the box, but a few tweaks and some know how and its still my favorite
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator Well i bought my first one . And i got it it shot faster than anything i owned my dm6,pm7. This guns are sick. Im starting to collect them. They are so easy to work on. Just bought every shop has...
Report this review to a moderator   #5060
robs02ss
 
robs02ss's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: This gun turnd me into a timmy freak!!!
Cons: None at all
Well i bought my first one . And i got it it shot faster than anything i owned my dm6,pm7. This guns are sick. Im starting to collect them. They are so easy to work on. Just bought every shop has parts for them!!!! They are very reliable.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator In 2004, this gun was the the at the top of my list even after playing with a dm4 and dm5. Retired from paintball with this as my active gun. Now back in it and shooting an Ego because the feel...
Report this review to a moderator   #35396
SanchezOSanchez
Yep, THAT Sanchez!
SanchezOSanchez's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: JAX, FL
SanchezOSanchez owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
SanchezOSanchez supports Team VICIOUS
SanchezOSanchez plays in the APPA D4 division
SanchezOSanchez has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $995.99
Pros: FAST AND ACCURATE
Cons: VERY LOUD
In 2004, this gun was the the at the top of my list even after playing with a dm4 and dm5. Retired from paintball with this as my active gun. Now back in it and shooting an Ego because the feel reminds me of the Alias.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator I was lucky enough to get hold of the 1 of 10 Bob Long Assassin's gloss pink edition Alias. This gun was old reliable. I never had any problems with it once I put in an eiganram (which I would...
Report this review to a moderator   #24592
skunk_13_2005
Cross Creek Paintball
skunk_13_2005's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Virginia
skunk_13_2005 supports Team VICIOUS
skunk_13_2005 supports Pev's Paintball
skunk_13_2005 has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
skunk_13_2005 is attending Decay of Nations VI
skunk_13_2005 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Old Reliable
Cons: Without Eiganram its a bit jumpy
I was lucky enough to get hold of the 1 of 10 Bob Long Assassin's gloss pink edition Alias. This gun was old reliable. I never had any problems with it once I put in an eiganram (which I would highly recommend to anyone with an Alias).
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator gun is great for the money easy to work on upgrades are cheap and it is very reliable not to mention very fast. all though some parts can be a hassle to change out. and it seems like out of the 3...
Report this review to a moderator   #9096
StealthyNinja66
Thats Some Hot S***
StealthyNinja66's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Travis AFB, CA
StealthyNinja66 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
StealthyNinja66 supports our troops
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: fast, light weight,, upgradability
Cons: parts
gun is great for the money easy to work on upgrades are cheap and it is very reliable not to mention very fast. all though some parts can be a hassle to change out. and it seems like out of the 3 timmys i have owned the screws seem to back out when it shoots over a period of time bit that is easily taken care of with some lock tight but for the money its a great gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator Appearance: For the time period, the milling was beautifully done, no machine marks, all buffed up and properly anodized. The lines are streamlined and aggressive, the frame complements them well and...
Report this review to a moderator   #42991
tacxplosion
 
tacxplosion's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Guatemala (for real)
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Well balanced, light, user friendly board
Cons: Can't cap under 15 BPS * (See review)
Appearance: For the time period, the milling was beautifully done, no machine marks, all buffed up and properly anodized. The lines are streamlined and aggressive, the frame complements them well and emphasizes them with the included snatch grip. All around it's a good looking marker when appreciated in context; by current standards (2014), it's a bit on the heavy side and the press-fit feedneck stump on the earlier generation alias is just a bad memory.

Performance: For the sake of familiarity, I'll be drawing a recurring comparison the the direct competitor for this marker, the '05 ego. I will also divide performance into the categories I find important (you opinion may differ).


-Ergonomics: For the time period, the only marker that I can think of that has the 2k5 beat is the DM5 with the UL frame, and even then it was a taller package than the 2k5. The hump on the frame makes you naturally align your fingers to the trigger's axis for the optimal trigger pull, even with the blade style trigger that comes stock with it. The frame to HPR spacing is somewhat shorter than most modern markers, answering to the demand of compact markers for snake/hyperball play.

-"Shot quality": IMO defined as the perceived transfer of forces onto the user related to cycling and shooting paint (including sound signature), the Alias is considerably smoother than most poppet driven markers of the time, including the 05 ego; the main reason being, the bolt is connected at the mid section to the ram, whereas most poppet markers of the era (and current markers also) had the bolt attached to the fore section of the ram, which provides a longer lever arm for torque that may increase friction of the ram inside the sleeve and decrease the mechanical efficiency of the cycle, requiring higher LPR pressures, thus smacking the rear of the system harder. That being said, it's not "spool" smooth, since the valve opens rather fast which also lends it an unmistakable poppet sound signature which is somewhat loud by today's standards, even so it's quieter than the 05 ego (which isn't saying much) and most other poppet markers of the time (save for a well tuned 'cocker), The redesigned sleeve/poppet makes it quieter than it's 2k2 or 2k5 counterparts.

-Efficiency: The marker is efficient even by today's (2014) standards, you can get 1600 shots of a full 68/4500 with a well tuned marker (look up lurker method for sweetspotting regulators). That's better than most poppets of the time period (except maybe for the Macdev cyborg), the redesigned sleeve/poppet helps in this regard, once again, by providing better flow characteristics than the 2k2 sleeve and poppet combination.

-ROF: If all we needed were ergos, shot quality and efficiency, we'd still be shooting mech 'cockers. The marker can easily cycle 20+ BPS with the stock components, the thing flat out rips. *That being said, the software on most Alias' is frenzy 124.7 code, which unfortunately doesn't allow for a ROF cap under 15 BPS, the good thing is BLAST can still flash the 2k5 board to empire 1.5 or 1.7 code, allowing the lower ROF caps. This is only a concern if one is considering participating in a major tournament.

-Ease of maintenance: For regular maintenance, all that's required is checking the ram's o'rings and wiping and lubing the bolt and ram, everything else should be a once a season affair. That being said the regulators are easy to disassemble and rebuild and the poppet is not overly difficult to get to, though it is more cumbersome than some of the later model timmy's. Swapping hoses gets a bit tricky with the tight spaces and one must take care to not use too short or too long a hose because it may kink and prevent proper air flow, though it's probably something you'll be doing once every 3-5 years. At the time of writing, spare parts are readily available through major retailers and BLAST and aftermarket upgrades abound, anything from SS/blackout screw kits to boards and solenoids can be bought through the dedicated IOG forums' BST.


Reliability: For the time period, it was a beast; it needs a bit more maintenance and is a bit more picky about lube than the contemporary ego's, but it makes up for it in sheer performance (smoother, quieter shot while keeping efficiency and comparable ease of maintenance). If maintained per the manual, the marker should keep on trucking until the hoses or dynamic o'rings give out. If you're getting an Alias with all original parts, you'll probably need to get new hose, an o'ring kit and go over the electronics to make sure they're in proper working order, if you have the original solenoid; it's almost 10 years old. Mechanically though, they're rock solid and will keep going longer than the energizer bunny.

Value: For what they're going in today's market ($200-$250 stock in 2014), there are hardly any other poppet markers that can compete in price/performance. You get a fast, consistent, good looking, somewhat ergonomic, decently efficient marker for the price of a rental model; the only 2 reasons I would recommend a newer marker over an Alias to anyone are ROF caps for tourneys (it's annoying having to send it to BLAST just to have it re-flashed) and warranty support.

In conclusion, the Alias timmy is a great performing value, if a bit dated, but any shortcoming is relatively easily fixed, there's still a relative abundance of spares and aftermarket parts. If you can get a working one in good cosmetic condition for under $225 (in 2014), jump all over it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator I was able to get this timmy about 2 year ago off of some kid who shot his dads car, and had to sell it quick. at first i didnt like the way the hose for the expansion chamber was placed (con) but...
Report this review to a moderator   #19170
Thumper614
 
Thumper614's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Connecticut
Thumper614 is an NCPA player
Thumper614 plays in the APPA D4 division
Thumper614 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: nearly everything
Cons: look below
I was able to get this timmy about 2 year ago off of some kid who shot his dads car, and had to sell it quick. at first i didnt like the way the hose for the expansion chamber was placed (con) but over time its possible to learn a way around it
Now i love my timmy, its my primary gun and its 100% reliable
overall i rate it a 9 out of 10

Other markers used before timmy: Angel A4, Angel A1 and the classic Tippman 98
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review