Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Bob Long Technologies - Alias Intimidator Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Bob Long Technologies
11669 Highway 26
Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245

Phone: (209) 293-4440
Fax: (209) 293-4420
Email: techsupport@boblongdirect.com
Website: http://www.boblongdirect.com
Alias Intimidator
 Manual: Download the manual for Bob Long Technologies Download
 Release Date: 2003
 MSRP: $1,400.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 60
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  37%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Bob Long Technologies - Alias Intimidator Reviews
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator The Alias is a bulletproof marker, requiring only simple lubrication of the regulators and ram. They are very fast and reliable markers. There is a huge fan base for these guns where technical...
Report this review to a moderator   #15058
bigbadbubba1337
Slangwhanger
bigbadbubba1337's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: OKC
bigbadbubba1337 supports our troops
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Fast / Efficient
Cons: Heavier than newer markers
The Alias is a bulletproof marker, requiring only simple lubrication of the regulators and ram. They are very fast and reliable markers. There is a huge fan base for these guns where technical advice, as well as parts can be found for this aging platform. Not to mention that BLAST still accepts them for servicing if the need arises. Read and follow the manual's guidelines for use, and these markers will never fail you.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator This was my flagship marker back in the day. I used an Alias from the 2005 season to 2007. Retrospective Pro's: Small, Light, Thin, Short, New. Efficient, Consistent, Personalize-able,...
Report this review to a moderator   #22916
bubbleboy016
is ****in amazing.
bubbleboy016's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 757
bubbleboy016 has been a member for 10 years
bubbleboy016 donated to help Peyton Trent
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Small, light, compact, mechanically simple
Cons: None
This was my flagship marker back in the day. I used an Alias from the 2005 season to 2007.

Retrospective Pro's:
Small, Light, Thin, Short, New.
Efficient, Consistent, Personalize-able, Reliable

Retrospective Con's:
None

My alias was originally black with blue accessories, but I traded the blue for other black and completely ninja'd out my marker. At the time, it was pretty unique at the tournaments I was going to in the Mid-Atlantic region, definitely a head turner. It is still the most aesthetically pleasing markers I have ever had the chance to own.

When it came to size, the Alias was pushing the limits with how small markers could get. Next to the shocker, the Alias was one of the smallest guns. Prior to the Alias, Shockers were shoeboxes, Impulses were tall and wide, Initimidators were long and tall, Angels were tall and wide, DM's were bricks, autocockers were mechanical and everything was heavy. In contrast the the 2k2 Intimidator Platform, the Alias platform reduced the height and length of the Intimidator and with extra milling, reduced the weight too.

I had used a couple of different size tanks with it: 45/45, 68/45 and a 72/45 Stubby. The alias was balanced the best with the 45/45, in terms of weight. Regardless, the air efficiency was never a problem, I could walk onto the field with 8 pods and my 72/45, drop all 8 and still have air left over. Or I could walk on with 3 pods and my 45/45 and have more than enough air left over. Efficiency was never a problem.

Not many of my other guns were nearly as consistent as my Alias. I could shoot 275-280 all day, every day. Tuning the air pressure could be tricky depending on weather. If there is any con I could think of, it would be that the Torpedo and the LPR were extremely sensitive to temperature. On a moderate day I could shoot 275-280. Without touching the regs, in colder weather I'd drop off to 250-260. On the other hand, on a hot day, I'd shoot a hot 295-300. Regardless of the temperature's impact on the reg, the thing to consider is how consistent the range of FPS was. Fortunately, regardless of temperature, resetting the regs and finding the sweet spot was simple enough that it could be done in 3-5 minutes. When properly cleaned, lubed and maintained my Alias was always +/- 5fps.

In Summary:
I rated the markers value based on the price I paid back in 2004 versus what is available in the contemporary market. At the time, though, $700 was a pretty decent price. Unfortunately, due to new technology, an excessive market and the economy, paying $700 for an Alias would be outrageous.

Before owning the Alias I had used an 03 Viking, 2k2 Lasoya Intimidator, Decked Out E-Mag, Rat Impulse and an 03 Shocker when it was first released. Since owning my Alias, I haven't played like I used to, but I've used an 07 Ego, DM5, DM7, Gen3 Intimidator. All in all, the Alias was by far my favorite owned marker in all my years playing, both aesthetically and mechanically.

If ever given the time, opportunity and financial ability to re-enter the paintball scene I would, without a doubt, recreate the Alias I once owned.

Tech Specs:
Ninja Black Alias
Tadao Infamous Board
Techna Dagger Trigger
Black Hybrid Adjustable Ram Cap
Black Check-It Unimount
Violent Products Torpedo Piston
Halo B / Crossfire 72/45 Stubby / 14" Stiffi Switch Kit

Sale thread from back in the day, with thumbnail pics!
http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=1112154
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator this was my 3rd timmy i bought and well never sell it. this is my most reliable marker i have ever bought hands down. i have put a few ups on mine just to make it a little more consistent. i have...
Report this review to a moderator   #36678
DanO96
 
DanO96's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garden City, MI
DanO96 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: reliable
Cons: little thick
this was my 3rd timmy i bought and well never sell it. this is my most reliable marker i have ever bought hands down. i have put a few ups on mine just to make it a little more consistent.

i have big hands and i dont mind how thick the frame is but some one with smaller hands might not like.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator I have shot my Alias for a couple years now and I recommend them to everyone. I have never had a major issue with it. The only issue i did have blast fixed quick and for free I can get a case out of...
Report this review to a moderator   #27996
dudeiscool654
 
dudeiscool654's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Central Ohio
dudeiscool654 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
dudeiscool654 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
dudeiscool654 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Great gun, efficient on air, easy to tech
Cons: Getting harder to find parts for
I have shot my Alias for a couple years now and I recommend them to everyone. I have never had a major issue with it. The only issue i did have blast fixed quick and for free I can get a case out of a 70/4500 and never chop a ball. Just broke my first set of eyes and had a little trouble getting replacements but that's just part of owning an older gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator These are great guns for their value today. Shoot just as good as a g6r only down side is macro line. Every gear bag need a timmy in it
Report this review to a moderator   #27120
Eastwood15
Blacklisted
Eastwood15's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Lebanon
Eastwood15 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Eastwood15 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Eastwood15 is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: Easy on paint
Cons: macro line
These are great guns for their value today. Shoot just as good as a g6r only down side is macro line. Every gear bag need a timmy in it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator pros- one of my alltime favorite markers to ever grace the game , shot great and jus sexy . cons-cant find them for sale too often.
Report this review to a moderator   #23794
fatfaka808
jusanotherdayinparadise
fatfaka808's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 808 STATE
fatfaka808 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
fatfaka808 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
fatfaka808 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
fatfaka808 is for the Gunfight
fatfaka808 supports DLX Technology
fatfaka808 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,200.00
Pros: review
Cons: review
pros- one of my alltime favorite markers to ever grace the game , shot great and jus sexy .

cons-cant find them for sale too often.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator I got my alias in a trade in 08 and it's been with me to this day! it's a workhorse, reliable, efficient, and fast! considered heavy compared to current markers, but the can be had pretty cheap now a...
Report this review to a moderator   #28737
FrankyGotU
BANG!!
FrankyGotU's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Delaware
FrankyGotU has been a member for 10 years
FrankyGotU plays in the APPA D4 division
FrankyGotU has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
FrankyGotU has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: super smooth, FAST
Cons: weight compared to current markers
I got my alias in a trade in 08 and it's been with me to this day!
it's a workhorse, reliable, efficient, and fast!
considered heavy compared to current markers, but the can be had pretty cheap now a days, and they are worth every penny!!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator Have owned 3 different Alias's, all great, still have 1 as a backup/loaner. Keep clean and they are tough to beat.
Report this review to a moderator   #22540
generalee72
Knight who says Ni
generalee72's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Port St. Lucie, Fl.
generalee72 is a Moderator
generalee72 is a Supporting Member
generalee72 donated to help Peyton Trent
generalee72 supports our troops
generalee72 is reppin' sidebar 4 life
generalee72 has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Reliable
Cons:
Have owned 3 different Alias's, all great, still have 1 as a backup/loaner.

Keep clean and they are tough to beat.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator I have the 2004 Empire custom anno'd pink. I love my gun, when shes in tip top shape, it shoots like a dream. Its very accurate and I am able to lay a rope exactly where I need it. Its fast enough...
Report this review to a moderator   #30785
GirlOfDestruction
Vincere Aut Mori
GirlOfDestruction's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Waco
GirlOfDestruction has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
GirlOfDestruction has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
GirlOfDestruction has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Reliable shooting, accuracy, looks
Cons: heavy
I have the 2004 Empire custom anno'd pink. I love my gun, when shes in tip top shape, it shoots like a dream. Its very accurate and I am able to lay a rope exactly where I need it. Its fast enough for speedball, but hardy enough for woodsball. I can go from field to field without making any changes. The adjustable settings make it easy to customize for the way you shoot. The game timer on the board is nice, so your not overshooting in games. I also like that it counts how many times I pulled the trigger.

The pink anno is nice, and I love the empire X. Its a very eye catching gun. The one con I do have on my particular gun, is the weight. Its extremely heavy and has you praying for mercy by the time the game ends. Even with a peanut, its still quite heavy.

Overall its a fantastic gun, and has been reliable. The parts for the gun are easy to find, and my gunsmith has no problem fixing me up in a jiffy when I am in a pinch. Overall if you want a great gun at a great price, that you will get your money's worth of playtime in, this is a reat choice. I love mine!
http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h6...98453163_n.jpg
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Alias Intimidator I only play rec ball so I picked up a used alias to mess around with. So far I like it. It's fast, relatively light. If you are a casual player than I would recommend this gun.
Report this review to a moderator   #42666
Intern1
 
Intern1's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Gallifrey
Intern1 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Intern1 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $225.00
Pros: reliable and fast
Cons: spare parts are getting harder to find.
I only play rec ball so I picked up a used alias to mess around with. So far I like it. It's fast, relatively light. If you are a casual player than I would recommend this gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review