Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
14" Dye barrel, integrated on/off, Hyper2 regulator, eyes, low pressure, 3D contoured body design, adjustable rolling bearing trigger, compact body, sticky grips, LED, 45 frame, removable bolt system, internal LPR, low profile feed port.
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2004
 MSRP: $1,349.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 43
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  67%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  28%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) Reviews
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) When Dye went to the DM4, they changed the game. The DM5 continued the tradition. It is just a great spool valve marker that is reliable, fast and smooth. I got rid of mine and got a DM7 because...
Report this review to a moderator   #20835
chulojw
UCI Anteaters Paintball
chulojw's avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
chulojw donated to help Peyton Trent
chulojw posts videos on PbNation
chulojw is an NCPA player
chulojw has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Smooth, quiet, no kick
Cons: big and heavy
When Dye went to the DM4, they changed the game. The DM5 continued the tradition. It is just a great spool valve marker that is reliable, fast and smooth.

I got rid of mine and got a DM7 because the DM5 was just too heavy and big. I had put a UL frame and still it was too much.

These days they are good for the new player who wants a lot of features at a low price point.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) Okay I bought the dm5 a little while after it came out. It was my first real high end. I had owned an ion and angel speed before this so I was looking for something new. Out of the box you'll get...
Report this review to a moderator   #2897
Dy-nas-ty
Avarice
Dy-nas-ty's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Alabama
Dy-nas-ty plays in the PSP
Dy-nas-ty is playing at Living Legends III
Dy-nas-ty owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Dy-nas-ty plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: Fast, quiet, balanced
Cons: A little heavy
Okay I bought the dm5 a little while after it came out. It was my first real high end. I had owned an ion and angel speed before this so I was looking for something new. Out of the box you'll get a set of allen keys, a small oring/screw kit, manual, and a tube of Dye slick lube. This is excellent service, which is more than I can say for SP. I have to say that the stock trigger on the Dm5 was one of the nicest on the market at the time. I never changed mine, but I did however clip my trigger spring. My gun would absolutely rip at the field. I was hitting a consistent 14-15 on semi. I'm not a big maitenance freak. This was one of my first high ends so it was all new to me.

PROS
Fast
One of the best barrels and regs on the market
Balanced
Backed by Dye
Quiet
Efficient (Mine was tuned really well, I had top hat mod orings and I was getting 3 pods and a hopper of a 1500 psi, which is pretty good, especially for a DM.

CONS
Heavy (not really but you know what I mean)
Stock on/off is garbage, my set screw would unscrew almost everyday, and I'm a back player so I was wasn't diving at all.
Efficency stock is horrible.

Overall this is an excellent marker, but I would go ahead and step up to the DM6. They are only about 50-100 dollar difference and you get alot for that. DM6 is lighter and already has the UL frame stock.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) Had mine for over a year and never had a problem, always not nice but was a bit of a gas hog
Report this review to a moderator   #27808
dyepb_16
 
dyepb_16's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: MN
dyepb_16 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
dyepb_16 is an NCPA player
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Smooth shooter
Cons: kinda heavy
Had mine for over a year and never had a problem, always not nice but was a bit of a gas hog
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) this gun is amazing out of the box it was shooting lines and it hasn;t stoped since. My dm is the shocktech edition though but besides the custom body its still a stock dm5 . I love my gun its...
Report this review to a moderator   #5903
Highway 64
 
Highway 64's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: acurate, sexy, and ul barrel
Cons: kinda a gas hog
this gun is amazing out of the box it was shooting lines and it hasn;t stoped since. My dm is the shocktech edition though but besides the custom body its still a stock dm5 . I love my gun its pretty fast too.

If your thinking of upping your dm start with the bolt ( i suggest the T tech )
just to get more from each tank fill
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) They are a pain in the *** to maintain, but shoot very smoothly and quietly. I don't think I'll ever own one as a tournament gun again though. Just too many o-rings to take care of.
Report this review to a moderator   #11729
HKARMYBALLER
777
HKARMYBALLER's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 847 IL
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: smooth shooter
Cons: maintenance
They are a pain in the *** to maintain, but shoot very smoothly and quietly. I don't think I'll ever own one as a tournament gun again though. Just too many o-rings to take care of.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) one of the best guns I had and most reliable but compared to the guns now it is a little heavy and bulky for my taste
Report this review to a moderator   #27168
I <3 Skittles
lol psh
I <3 Skittles's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mill Creek
I <3 Skittles donated to help Peyton Trent
I <3 Skittles helped look for balloons
I <3 Skittles has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
I <3 Skittles has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: fast quick reliable
Cons: heavy/bulky
one of the best guns I had and most reliable but compared to the guns now it is a little heavy and bulky for my taste
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) an improvement from the dm4, generally felt they shot the same. Accurate, a bit heavy compared to current standards, very consistent fps.
Report this review to a moderator   #21461
Inversed
Simply Amazing.
Inversed's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gettysburg College / NJ
Inversed is a Supporting Member
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: shot great
Cons: new model each year = no value
an improvement from the dm4, generally felt they shot the same. Accurate, a bit heavy compared to current standards, very consistent fps.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) I bought one of these brand new and I loved. Shot great and was very accurate and efficient. A few months later the Ul trigger came out and I hated it because it didn't have the latest and greatest....
Report this review to a moderator   #33689
Iowa's#1Stunna
TRAMPLE THE WEAK
Iowa's#1Stunna's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SL,UT
Iowa's#1Stunna supports Cereal Killerz 2
Iowa's#1Stunna owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Iowa's#1Stunna supports Team VICIOUS
Iowa's#1Stunna supports Team VICIOUS
Iowa's#1Stunna has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,000.00
Pros: speed, accuracy, noise
Cons: spendy, no ul frame
I bought one of these brand new and I loved. Shot great and was very accurate and efficient. A few months later the Ul trigger came out and I hated it because it didn't have the latest and greatest. Still an amazing gun that ripped and for the time was one of the best even better than the Ego that came out around the same time.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) I've had my DM5 since 2006. Prior to that I had a DM4, which I loved and to this day am very mad at myself for ever selling it. I take very good care of my guns and meticulously cleaned and re...
Report this review to a moderator   #23250
jlonz
Dye for life!!!
jlonz's avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Lusby, MD
jlonz has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
jlonz has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: Looks, consistency, feel
Cons: efficiency
I've had my DM5 since 2006. Prior to that I had a DM4, which I loved and to this day am very mad at myself for ever selling it. I take very good care of my guns and meticulously cleaned and re lubed them immediately after every day of playing. I have bee out of paintball for about five years and a couple months ago, i decided to take my DM5 out. I aired up the DM5 and it dry fired like a champ, even after sitting for a good five years. I have cleaned and changed all the o rings in the marker since, but to be able to pull a marker out that's been sitting for years and have it air up and dry fire with no leaks is amazing. Will other markers do that as well? I have no doubt, but during the year that I played with my DM5 it showed ball on ball consistency, never broke a ball, (only barrel breaks), and has never let me down. Even after years of sitting it still hasn't let me down. The only reason my review did not give the DM5 straight "5"s is because there are lighter markers out there now, it's not the most efficient on air either, and the price for a new or one year old DM, (I purchased mine in 2006), is pretty expensive. Another thing I want to mention is that I use slick honey as my lube, and if slick honey swells o rings, as it is believed to do. Then the o rings in my DM5 should have been very swollen after five years and they were not swollen and did not prevent the marker from firing.

The DM series is an amazing line of markers, I believe that you can not go wrong by choosing any DM marker. I have recently acquired a DM8 and am looking for a DM4 (for nostalgic purposes ). I am a DM user for life. Get one and you will see exactly what I am talking about.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) I purchased the gun with gear off a friend About a year again it's light easy to use pretty reliable still considered a high end gun and u can get it at a mid range price. I love DM's and I'm...
Report this review to a moderator   #11534
JWoo22
 
JWoo22's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: It's a dye
Cons: On/off valve by lpr blows o ings
I purchased the gun with gear off a friend About a year again it's light easy to use pretty reliable still considered a high end gun and u can get it at a mid range price. I love DM's and I'm thinking of picking up a Dm11/12 and keeping my dm5 as a back up / buddy gun def happy with it overall
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review