Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
14" Dye barrel, integrated on/off, Hyper2 regulator, eyes, low pressure, 3D contoured body design, adjustable rolling bearing trigger, compact body, sticky grips, LED, 45 frame, removable bolt system, internal LPR, low profile feed port.
 Manual: Download the manual for Dye Precision Download
 Release Date: 2004
 MSRP: $1,349.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 44
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  68%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  27%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) Reviews
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) Former Marker Set-Up: Dust Red UL Frame DM5 w/ UL Barrel CP Sling Blade Trigger Halo B Loader LP Crossfire 68/4500 Tank The DM5 has a lot of strengths. It is very consistent with the stock Hyper2...
Report this review to a moderator   #760
tsu-money
♫ In the Navy
tsu-money's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Guantanamo Bay, Cuba
tsu-money supports Cereal Killerz 2
tsu-money donated to help Peyton Trent
tsu-money supports Bob Gurnsey
tsu-money supports our troops
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $385.00
Pros: Performance, price, looks, reliability
Cons: Showing it's age
Former Marker Set-Up:

Dust Red UL Frame DM5 w/ UL Barrel
CP Sling Blade Trigger
Halo B Loader
LP Crossfire 68/4500 Tank

The DM5 has a lot of strengths. It is very consistent with the stock Hyper2 regulator. The Ultralite barrel also comes stock and increases the accuracy provided you have the correct paint to match.

The milling on the marker body is beautiful despite being over three years old. The marker integrates form with function by eliminating the non-essential parts to create a lightweight marker.

Maintenance may be intimidating to some, but once you get it down it is hard to forget how to clean your marker. Just remember to keep it lubed on a regular basis and you will never have any trouble with it. My only gripe is that the bolt cannot be field striped so in the unlikely event of a ball break, it would be harder to clean mid-game.

Although not standard, the Ultralite Frame is a highly recommended upgrade with it's comfortable hourglass shape and solid build. The all-metal buttons on the UL Frame will never wear down unlike the membrane pads on the stock frame.The board on the UL Frame comes packed with plenty of tournament modes so you'll always be tourny ready.

Keep in mind that this is a three year old marker and is by no means perfect. Ever since the new year has arrived the price has been steadily driven down with the flood of newer markers hitting the market. That means that people who bought this marker brand new can't even think about getting their money's worth back, but those interested in a solid first marker can't go wrong with an older DM.

The DM series has yet to disappoint with this exceptional marker. This is a great marker for the price. You won't be disappointed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) love the quiet recoiless shooting. dont like the dissassembly amount of grease needed or the amount of o ring rebuild kits needed to fix problems. when it starts leaking you have to know alot about...
Report this review to a moderator   #11403
drewwho
 
drewwho's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: TX
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: quiet, excellent milling
Cons: so many o rings
love the quiet recoiless shooting. dont like the dissassembly amount of grease needed or the amount of o ring rebuild kits needed to fix problems. when it starts leaking you have to know alot about the function of the marker to replace the right oring. my 1st 4 times i had to take it apart many times to fix. plus its air hog of all air hogs
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) This gun is pretty much best thing I've ever bought. Bought it used right before the DM7 came out and it's just been my pride and joy ever since. Bought it almost completely stock which was a big...
Report this review to a moderator   #3051
JessiRambo
Bang!Bang!clickclick WTF?
JessiRambo's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: In my house
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Fast, Pretty Easy to fix when something goes wrong
Cons: Just a Tad Heavy
This gun is pretty much best thing I've ever bought. Bought it used right before the DM7 came out and it's just been my pride and joy ever since. Bought it almost completely stock which was a big plus. Let me do what I with it. Reg is wonderful and I love that barrel. The bolt...I wana try an orange bolt and see if that makes much of a difference. Great gun!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) Appearance: I think that the DM5s look sick. I guess that it's just a matter of opinion, but in my opinion, they're one of the best looking guns out there. I've got the Limited Edition Pink one and I...
Report this review to a moderator   #4821
Crowley#99
 
Crowley#99's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 573
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Fast, Smooth, Easy to Maintain
Cons: See Review
Appearance:
I think that the DM5s look sick. I guess that it's just a matter of opinion, but in my opinion, they're one of the best looking guns out there. I've got the Limited Edition Pink one and I love the Hot Pink color.
Performance:
I've only had small problems with my DMs. I've owned three DM5s, a DM4, and a DM6. They have only been small leaks due to bad orings, but once you get the hang of maintaining a DM, a little leak here and there is no problem. I have had one major problem with my DM5 and it wasn't Dye's fault, it was Tag Sportz. I'm not trashing them, I just bought a Pred. board and it wouldn't turn on. It was just a bad board. But, when DMs are shooting, they shoot butter smooth.
Reliability:
DM5s are pretty reliable. You have the occational leak, but once you get the hang of DMs, its like a 5 minute repair.
Value:
For the $300 I paid in early 2007 for a Limited Edition gun, I havn't regretted it. I love my DMs. You can't go wrong. I will be shooting this gun for many years to come. I have been extremely satisfied with it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.7/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) just got my dream gun a dm5 it is great Pros- this gun is fast it has a dm6 ultalight frame fast enought for me this gun is very realible hasnt failded my yet in normaly conditions Cons- it is...
Report this review to a moderator   #735
~B-Ryan~
Sacrifice Foley!!!!!!!!!
~B-Ryan~'s avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: fast, reliable, great gun all around
Cons: little heavy, old
just got my dream gun a dm5 it is great

Pros- this gun is fast it has a dm6 ultalight frame fast enought for me this gun is very realible hasnt failded my yet in normaly conditions

Cons- it is heavy not that bad with a velocity and carbon fiber tank since i am a back man, of corse its old its from 2005 not a bbig deal still keeps up my my friends 2007 ego (no lie) it has only failed on test playing in the rain it froze up on me it was like 35 degrees out it was snowing and raining and it stopped shooting all together not to bad by not standers

1000 times better than my back up ion so its all good
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.6/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) Well, got this gun used and went out to play today. Greatest gun I have ever used in my life. It legit shot ball on ball and did not break 1 shot. I would recommend this gun to anyone it was so...
Report this review to a moderator   #3158
a1exweibl
 
a1exweibl's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Easton, Massachusetts
a1exweibl helped look for balloons
a1exweibl owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
a1exweibl posts videos on PbNation
a1exweibl has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $265.00
Pros: Accuracy, No breaks, easy cleaning
Cons: Wire fragilness
Well, got this gun used and went out to play today. Greatest gun I have ever used in my life. It legit shot ball on ball and did not break 1 shot. I would recommend this gun to anyone it was so great. Only thing that was bad is the stock battery harness, got one off of alternativepb.com though for cheap.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.5/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) Pros: - Balanced The DM5 isn't exactly "light" in terms of pounds and ounces, but the weight is distributed in such a way that the marker feels light in one's hands. - Comes with Ultralite...
Report this review to a moderator   #35221
EmpireEmperor
 
EmpireEmperor's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago
EmpireEmperor is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
EmpireEmperor is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: See Review
Cons: Efficiency, Membrane pad
Pros:
- Balanced
The DM5 isn't exactly "light" in terms of pounds and ounces, but the weight is distributed in such a way that the marker feels light in one's hands.

- Comes with Ultralite barrel
Stock barrel performs as well as any other on the market.

- Reliable as long as regular maintenance is performed
Like virtually all high-end markers, as long as you maintain it you should have very few problems.

- Maintenance is easy
It may seem daunting to someone who has never owned a Matrix, but if you do a little research and break it down a few times it will become second nature.


Cons:
- Efficiency
Spool valve guns are not known for their efficiency and the DM5 is no exception. Expect to get around 1100-1200 shots off a 68/45 using the stock bolt with no mods. It's not really an issue for those who play short, speedball type games, but it can present an issue for woodsball players.

- Membrane pad
Both the DM4 and DM5 have difficulty with failing membrane pads. Moisture will build up inside the pad and it will eventually cause a malfunction. This issue was helped by Virtue releasing their own, less problematic version of the pad and then solved completely by the release of the Ultralite frame. If you choose to keep the stock membrane pad, be aware that it's very likely you will one day have trouble with it.

All in all, I paid 600 dollars for this gun back in 2006 and used it for about 3 years. While the DM5 had its quirks, the good far outweighed the negative. Although the newer DMs are lighter and smaller, the DM5 is still very comparable in terms of performance and is a solid choice for those who cannot afford a newer model.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) MUST BE TUNED! MUST BE lubed before and after every play. Must be rebuilt often. Very meticulous. I happened to pay too much for mine in 2007. They have been floating around the $200 range for...
Report this review to a moderator   #24607
SmArTpArTs#5
Shego Owners
SmArTpArTs#5's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: 603
SmArTpArTs#5 is BST Trusted
SmArTpArTs#5 is playing at Living Legends III
SmArTpArTs#5 is playing at Living Legends V
SmArTpArTs#5 is playing at Living Legends VI
SmArTpArTs#5 posts videos on PbNation
SmArTpArTs#5 is attending Decay of Nations VI
SmArTpArTs#5 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Smooth, Nice Sailing, UL Frame!
Cons: Constant Lube and Maintence
MUST BE TUNED! MUST BE lubed before and after every play. Must be rebuilt often. Very meticulous. I happened to pay too much for mine in 2007. They have been floating around the $200 range for some time now. Used to be the best marker in say 05-06. Nowadays more of a woods-ball marker unless milled and teched.

T.C.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) this gun is great but its to much of a gas hog and the weight can be better.
Report this review to a moderator   #4405
yungice17
________
yungice17's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Its fast and accurate and cheap when i bought it
Cons: Its heavy, gas hog but i have the top hat mod,
this gun is great but its to much of a gas hog and the weight can be better.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Dye Precision Dye Matrix 5 (DM5) these guns shoot amazing, they are just a bit bulky and heavy. throw a UL frame on it and they are amazing.
Report this review to a moderator   #32371
cancer72
Jesus is King
cancer72's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
cancer72 has been a member for 10 years
cancer72 is a Professional paintball player
cancer72 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: accurate and flat
Cons: a bit bulky and heavy
these guns shoot amazing, they are just a bit bulky and heavy. throw a UL frame on it and they are amazing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review