Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Impulse/Impulse Vision Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Relatively oldschool EP gun, made as a lighter and faster gun after the success of the Shocker 4x4 (however the guns differ a lot in operation,reached peak popularity around 2003,discontinued in 2006)
 Manual: Download the manual for Smart Parts Download
 Release Date: 2000
 MSRP: $425.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.0/5 stars.
 Reviews: 44
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  23%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  55%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  20%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Impulse/Impulse Vision Reviews
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision One of the worst paintball guns ive ever used. Constant maintenance, bulky, heavy, but one of the most heavily used guns back in the day.
Report this review to a moderator   #13176
smartpartz_kid
Notorious
smartpartz_kid's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
smartpartz_kid plays in the PSP
smartpartz_kid plays in the APPA D4 division
smartpartz_kid is a top reviewer
smartpartz_kid is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: good anno
Cons: never worked
One of the worst paintball guns ive ever used. Constant maintenance, bulky, heavy, but one of the most heavily used guns back in the day.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision The Impulse will always remain a legend on the field. It's kicking it old school to still use one (which I do regulary) but you can't beat the performance, speed, and accuracy not to mention they are...
Report this review to a moderator   #3495
mnsherick
 
mnsherick's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $425.00
Pros: Fast, Very Accurate, Never Stops
Cons: Heavy, Ugly (stock body)
The Impulse will always remain a legend on the field. It's kicking it old school to still use one (which I do regulary) but you can't beat the performance, speed, and accuracy not to mention they are built like an abrams tank.

I've chopped 2 balls that I know of (without vision) and never chopped a ball on my vision Impulse. Even when I did chop, all I have to do is shoot 2-3 times at the ground or bunker I'm near and it clears out and shoot straight as an arrow again.

They aren't stylish at all unless you get a custom mill job or team edition body. But they make up for it when you play. I can walk a ball onto my target in 2-3 shots everytime within a few inches.

I own 3 impusles 2 with no vision and 1 with vision. I use electronic hoppers to keep up with the rate of fire. And use 68/3000 tanks which seem to last about 4 games (around 500-800 shots)

You may say 500-800 shots in 4 games, yeah that's right you don't need to shoot much to hit your target with these guns. I've played a game and shot a total of 20 balls and got out 17 players. I also use the freak system on all my barrels.

If your just getting into the sport or need a good back up I would recommend one of these you can pick them up for sub $200 with decent upgrades and maybe even a free tank hopper!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision I bought a Nasty Impulse back in 04 when they were still new. It was the first high end electric gun I ever owned and shot. I was very impressed with it and loved how it had the vision. That gun is...
Report this review to a moderator   #42253
applebutt89
Been here since 04
applebutt89's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 704 to 804
applebutt89 plays in the PSP
applebutt89 supports Team VICIOUS
applebutt89 plays in the APPA D3 division
applebutt89 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
applebutt89 is Legendary
applebutt89 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Awesome, fast gun
Cons: Weight
I bought a Nasty Impulse back in 04 when they were still new. It was the first high end electric gun I ever owned and shot. I was very impressed with it and loved how it had the vision. That gun is long gone but I recently bought a GameFace Impluse and it brings back a lot of memories. These guns shoot ropes!
Only bad thing about them now is low efficiency and the weight compared to newer guns today.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision The 2004 SP Impulse is one of the best guns I ever used. I shot one between 2004 and 2006. They are extremely accurate guns, although heavy compared to newer model guns (2008+). The Blue Light...
Report this review to a moderator   #26245
DooPA
Old School
DooPA's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
DooPA has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $425.00
Pros: quiet, efficient, accurate
Cons: heavy
The 2004 SP Impulse is one of the best guns I ever used. I shot one between 2004 and 2006. They are extremely accurate guns, although heavy compared to newer model guns (2008+). The Blue Light Cricket board does the job with a sole semi auto mode.

Necessary upgrades on the Imp include a new trigger, on/off and feed neck. Other than that this would make a great gun for someone getting into paintball. You could easily secure one for under 100 nowadays.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision It shoots ropes nice trigger and looks sexy
Report this review to a moderator   #21033
Ego10slg
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Ego10slg has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Ego10slg has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $700.00
Pros: Amazing gun
Cons: no cons at all
It shoots ropes nice trigger and looks sexy
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision I got my Impulse new back in 2002 and had it ever since. It is perfect with the proper upgrades and can hold it own with the newer fast markers minus the constant breaking down. If you treat it...
Report this review to a moderator   #3436
The_Godfather3
 
The_Godfather3's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $480.00
Pros: fast, accurate, reliable
Cons: Heavy, ugly
I got my Impulse new back in 2002 and had it ever since. It is perfect with the proper upgrades and can hold it own with the newer fast markers minus the constant breaking down. If you treat it with care it will never let you down. I do find that when they see my marker they go "What is that?, Oh it's just and Impulse." So it doesn't get that much respect in the fields but they soon realize that when I start firing to duck and cover. I can't say that I don't like the sleeper underdog kind of attention cause it's fun to prove them wrong. Some say it heavy....well then go lift some weights girly man and some says it's ugly.....well that's what they say about Donald Trump and look who he goes to bed with every night. If you want a gun that is stated above then by all means get one but if you want a small, fragile gun then go get something else. Impulses are a great gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision A SICK GAT but a little heavy
Report this review to a moderator   #4438
diablowrath35
rokin a impulse
diablowrath35's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: fast,reliable,great for backman,well rounded
Cons: HEAVY!!
A SICK GAT but a little heavy
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision Hello PBN, I have owned my impulse for about a year and a half now,and I am adding this review.As for the Impulse,it came out in 2000 as a alternative to the shocker.After 2001,there were only minor...
Report this review to a moderator   #356
VcityBaller_Impy
VcityBaller_Impy's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Loch Ness
VcityBaller_Impy is playing at Living Legends V
VcityBaller_Impy is for the Gunfight
VcityBaller_Impy is reppin' sidebar 4 life
VcityBaller_Impy supports Pev's Paintball
VcityBaller_Impy has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: upgradability,performance after upgrades
Cons: weight,height
Hello PBN, I have owned my impulse for about a year and a half now,and I am adding this review.As for the Impulse,it came out in 2000 as a alternative to the shocker.After 2001,there were only minor changes,aside from the addition of the cricket board in 2002.The impulse I bought was a 2003 Non-Vision with only a NDZ Bolt in terms of upgrades. Quite frankly,it was slow,and had a bit more kick than I wanted. The good thing is,despite being discontinued,Smart Parts will still service your marker,and parts can be found with relative ease,and you will need them if you actually want to play seriously,by todays standards a stock impulse is garbage,and quite frankly compared to a stock ion or PMR it is. The good thing about it being discontinued is that upgrades arent being made anymore,and in doing so,upgrades are available very cheap,and with a few upgrades an Impulse can shoot like a 2k2 timmy. As for the price, $200 will have you a completely upgraded impulse,or 230 or so,no more than 230 will have you a decked out private label impulse. A nonvision can be had for about 100,and with 100 in parts it can be great,if you learn about impulses and know what upgrades to buy; for starters, you will want:
A Norise feedneck,a NDZ Bolt (10 new),vision (20 used,if the impulse doesnt already have it) a new trigger of some sort (eclipse ones are fine and they are two to five dollars), a new hammer (up to 20 maximum). then right there you will have a relatively nice shooting gun,however,i reccomend you play with an impulse first if you are not used to a gun that is heavy by todays standards.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision I bought my Impulse in September, it is a Rat Jr. This thing rips. I was a little disappointed with the stock efficiency, however, as well as the lack of vision. The huge availability of...
Report this review to a moderator   #1255
xsn0man
I bleed burgundy and gold
xsn0man's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fairfax, VA
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: Fast, simple to maintain, lots of aftermarket part
Cons: size, looks if its not PL
I bought my Impulse in September, it is a Rat Jr. This thing rips. I was a little disappointed with the stock efficiency, however, as well as the lack of vision. The huge availability of aftermarket parts and upgrades is a tremendous advantage, as they have come down in price.

Everything can be upgraded, the board, all the internals, lpr, front cap, detents, feedneck...etc

The stock nonvision board is capped at 13 bps to avoid chopping, but that should be upgraded relatively inexpensively. a vision setup will run between $30 for a sp crickit vision board and $90 for a WAS equalizer board.

My imp weighs in at around 2 lbs. my whole setup is about 8lbs with a full 68/45 and a full empire B

a Fully upgraded PL imp should be around $200-$250, while stock internaled PL and stock bodies will run you around $80-$120

Pros: Simple to maintain, limited maintenance, but lots of room for tinkering. Shoots fast, has a lot of available upgrades for not too much money. You get a little respect for shooting an old school gat. Stock reg is pretty consistent. Many opportunities for custom milling.

Cons: A bit tall. Can be heavy for small children and (little)front players. Stock efficiency(~900 on a 68/45), stock body is kinda brickish
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision i traded my ion for one of these and it is really fast and it is air efficent. i just really like it and i give it a 10 out of 10.
Report this review to a moderator   #6529
pblover96
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: fast, air efficent
Cons: heavy, loud
i traded my ion for one of these and it is really fast and it is air efficent. i just really like it and i give it a 10 out of 10.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.7/5 stars.
Add New Review