Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Smart Parts - Impulse/Impulse Vision Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Smart Parts
100 Station Street
Loyalhanna, PA 15661

Phone: (800) 992-2147
Fax: (724) 539-2298
Email: customersvceast@smartparts.com
Website: http://www.smartparts.com
Relatively oldschool EP gun, made as a lighter and faster gun after the success of the Shocker 4x4 (however the guns differ a lot in operation,reached peak popularity around 2003,discontinued in 2006)
 Manual: Download the manual for Smart Parts Download
 Release Date: 2000
 MSRP: $425.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.0/5 stars.
 Reviews: 44
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  23%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  55%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  20%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Smart Parts - Impulse/Impulse Vision Reviews
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision This was my first true paintball marker. I have since upgraded to a DM12 but my Adrenaline Impulse was a beast. Reliable and always on target. other than weight (which is my only complaint) I have...
Report this review to a moderator   #37743
canibus35
2013 SUPA'MAN BL iNSIGHT
canibus35's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Haven CT
canibus35 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
canibus35 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $999.99
Pros: Solid Performer
Cons: Weight
This was my first true paintball marker. I have since upgraded to a DM12 but my Adrenaline Impulse was a beast. Reliable and always on target. other than weight (which is my only complaint) I have had no other problems. It shoots smooth and straight. The MaxFlo reg on the Foregrip is a good addition make those adjustments tool free. I still break it out of its case and handle with the best of them. Worth every penny I spent in the 2000's.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision I bought a RAT impulse back in the day, around 2003-2004 Back then the impulse was sick Today (2011) it is more of an antique or collector's item There were alot of available upgrades for them, lpr,...
Report this review to a moderator   #10633
DircheBag
 
DircheBag's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NJ
DircheBag has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: upgrades, fast, accurate
Cons: heavy, efficiency, feedneck
I bought a RAT impulse back in the day, around 2003-2004
Back then the impulse was sick
Today (2011) it is more of an antique or collector's item

There were alot of available upgrades for them, lpr, tapeworm, bolts, boards, feednecks, asa, frames, triggers, almost all of it could of consisted of upgraded parts.
Also there were a TON of private labels allowing for some form of uniqueness.

Having vision of the impulse was pretty much a must.
Back then it was not too heavy, kinda typical heavy. Today it is like carrying a solid 5 lb. weight constantly (that doesn't even include the hopper or tank) It's kinda blocky and massive.
the Sound signature was not too bad, today it is considered loud.
efficiency used to be good, today it is sub par
It is still crazy fast and accurate.
Consistency was around +/- 8ish not too shabby back then

It's not too shabby, get yourself one
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision although i am not a fan of sp guns, when i got the impulse, i was curious as to what it could do, but the thing that bothered me was the look of it, it was shaped like a shoebox, if it looked...
Report this review to a moderator   #31677
evil balla 21
Bay State Rebels
evil balla 21's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MASS
evil balla 21 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
evil balla 21 plays in the APPA D5 division
evil balla 21 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
evil balla 21 supports DLX Technology
evil balla 21 supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: shoots great
Cons: looks
although i am not a fan of sp guns, when i got the impulse, i was curious as to what it could do, but the thing that bothered me was the look of it, it was shaped like a shoebox, if it looked different i would have kept it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision great guns. owned a coouple in my early day. finally bought another because i was feeling nostalgic. i remember why i loved them. fast accurate pretty....what more can you ask?
Report this review to a moderator   #31587
gmandemon73
 
gmandemon73's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: richmond, va
gmandemon73 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
gmandemon73 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
gmandemon73 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: accurate, good looking
Cons: a little heavy if your a 60 lb. sack of fly poop
great guns. owned a coouple in my early day. finally bought another because i was feeling nostalgic. i remember why i loved them. fast accurate pretty....what more can you ask?
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision Great gun, has always treated me well. Can be a pain to clean if hit in the wrong part of the gun, but always been a straight shooter
Report this review to a moderator   #15839
impulseballer42586
WCPS Operations Manager
impulseballer42586's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bellevue, WA
impulseballer42586 is a Moderator
impulseballer42586 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Smooth, quiet, soft on paint
Cons: very tall, little awkward sometimes
Great gun, has always treated me well. Can be a pain to clean if hit in the wrong part of the gun, but always been a straight shooter
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision i used to have shot so many of these they were the best back in the day wish i still had mine
Report this review to a moderator   #26751
oldskoopimp1
XXX
oldskoopimp1's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
oldskoopimp1 has been a member for 10 years
oldskoopimp1 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: beast mode reliable
Cons: none whatsoever
i used to have shot so many of these they were the best back in the day wish i still had mine
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision I bought my first Toxic Impulse 2 years ago. Since then I have added a Rat and a Nasty to the collection as well. For the price, you can't beat them. They are not the lightest gun in the world by...
Report this review to a moderator   #938
rb211
Impulse Aficionado
rb211's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Marietta, GA.
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Inexpensive, reliable, fast
Cons: Weight, out of production
I bought my first Toxic Impulse 2 years ago. Since then I have added a Rat and a Nasty to the collection as well. For the price, you can't beat them. They are not the lightest gun in the world by any means, but they will keep up with almost anything out there with the right upgrades. Once they are tuned properly, they are very efficient.

Appearance wise, the stock bodied impulse isn't much to look at, but if you can get your hands on a private label body, that all changes. Some of the milling designs are truly unique. If you are stuck with a stock body, you can have it custom milled.

On the field it is a solid performer. With upgraded internals and board, they will keep up with the high dollar electros with ease. Air efficiency is great, after the gun is set up and tuned properly (almost a case on a 88/4500). Newer circuit boards like the Blackheart and WAS offer advanced fire modes.

I have had no reliability issues whatsoever. Maintenance is the key on these. Keep it properly lubed and it keeps on shooting.

Value-wise, well, the buyer has the advantage on these...... Impulse value is in the toilet basically. Private label Imps that went for $1000 a few years ago are lucky to draw $300 fully upgraded these days. Stock ones go for around $100.

Overall, I think the Impulse has become somewhat of a sleeper these days. Despite it's weight and subtle looks (compared to other, newer markers), it will hang with the best of them!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision Upgrades:: Blackheart Board Tapeworm NDZ Delrin Bolt Smart Parts Magnetic Trigger Maxflow Reg Java Drop-forward Vision Eye System Progessive Barrel NDZ Twist Lock Feedneck
Report this review to a moderator   #3086
Volcom-Paintballer
Fear of Enlightenment
Volcom-Paintballer's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 518 NY
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: Fast, Accurate, reliable
Cons: blocky, unwanted
Upgrades::
Blackheart Board
Tapeworm
NDZ Delrin Bolt
Smart Parts Magnetic Trigger
Maxflow Reg
Java Drop-forward
Vision Eye System
Progessive Barrel
NDZ Twist Lock Feedneck

http://a659.ac-images.myspacecdn.com...216293b17a.jpg

Reviewer's Comments:


After using this gun for a few months, I have seen how good they used to be...it makes me want to pick up the Nerve.
Efficiancy is decent, i get about 1300 per 68/45. Not too shabby.
It may be a brick, but you can shoot nice, accurate and fast lanes. Perfect back player marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision I have a Freak Factory impulse. i have had it about two and a half years and it is a great gun. it is relaible and consistent in pressure accuracy and just all-around workings. it is a two tone green...
Report this review to a moderator   #4944
Alexander121
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: reliable
Cons: heavy
I have a Freak Factory impulse. i have had it about two and a half years and it is a great gun. it is relaible and consistent in pressure accuracy and just all-around workings. it is a two tone green to green fade,with a 68 45 carbonfiber tank and max flo reg system. 14 inch all american front on a freak back with a 687 insert. (looking to sell if anyone is interested.)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Smart Parts Impulse/Impulse Vision I have used Impulses for a few years now, and I think I have quite enough experience to write a good review. Appearance- When it came out, the Impulse was considered a pretty nice marker. It was a...
Report this review to a moderator   #1594
TheImPgoD
Big Fruit Cup
TheImPgoD's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Choppa Talk GDT pow-pow
TheImPgoD is one of the top 500 posters on PbNation
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $230.00
Pros: Fast, efficient, easy maitenance
Cons: Heavy to some, big for today, "old"
I have used Impulses for a few years now, and I think I have quite enough experience to write a good review.

Appearance- When it came out, the Impulse was considered a pretty nice marker. It was a big improvement over the Shocker at the time, and was noticeably smaller than it as well. Although a bit ugly to some and bulky to others, PL versions of the marker were introduced quickly and came in large numbers. These had milled down bodies and special parts not found on other markers. In total there were over 20+ PL Impulses, the most popular of which was the Strange. It used basically the frame and trigger from the Shocker, but nothing else except for the max-flo.

Price - This marker was a great buy for it's price back in the day. It had great performance for less than the hugely expensive EP markers of the time, and thus gained a very large following after it's release. The price was cut a few times over the years until it was discontinued. Some PL versions even increased in price because of popularity. Now you can get a fully upgraded impulse for 250$, even the PL versions go that low. Resale is basically shot. However if you are looking for a cheap and fast gun look no further.

Reliability - This gun is no blowback. It is a full EP marker, that requires a bit of maitenance on the owners part to keep it running 100%. However, the Impulse only has a few parts that need to be regularily lubed, that being the bolt, ram shaft, and valve. Most all Impulse owners however switched out the bolt for a lighter delrin one, simplifying the process even more. You can play hard all day and the marker will hold up. No little hoses or anything to take care of. For some users, the solenoid is the hardest part to clean(Although it is very simple, people get confused with small parts.), but it can easily be sent to SP for cleaning and maitenance for a small fee, or even for free.
The recommened lube for this marker is, of course, sl33k (dow 33, the same used in Hater Sauce, Lurker Lube, Dye lube, etc.) The marker can and will run on antisiphon co2 because of the max-flo regulator having a pretty easy time with it.

Performance - When the gun came out as a sort of a preproduction version, it had to use cut-down shocker threaded barrels, had a pressed in feedneck with no threads, had some aluminum/brass/ss internals, and was quickly changed. SP made it's own threads for the Impulse, which is easily indentifiable by the unusually large threads. The feedneck also had it's own threads made. The aluminum ram shaft and bolt pin were switched out for steel ones, the brass/ss valve was switched for an aluminum housing and delrin poppit valve, and the ram housing was changed for better performance. Other changes were mostly cosmetic. The stock boards(Until vision came out) were capped at 13 bps, including the Turbo boards. When Vision was released, it was changed to 20 with eyes on, 13 with eyes off. It is relatively easy to get a good string of shots going and to walk the trigger is a very easy task. Every single part of the Impulse could be switched out for an aftermarket one. And again. And again, and so forth. Some call it heavy, I don't find it bad at all. It was light for when it came out. It is also a bit tall, but again look at the other markers of the time. It came with a 11" barrel for a while, then came with a Progressive/Teardrop style barrel. Most PL Impulses came with a Freak. The Impulse could be upgraded to whatever you want, and compete with the best of them. Efficiency for stock Impulses wasn't too great, but after a few simple upgrades it jumped by hundreds.

Overall, a great marker with some minor problems.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
Add New Review