Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - SL8R Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
Newest SL from Planet Eclipse.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $1,799.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 42
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  71%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  26%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - SL8R Reviews
Planet Eclipse SL8R This gun is amazing, bought it used, but it looks brand new like mint condition. Shoots ropes, used it all reball season now looking into a geo 2. Highly recommend this to anyone, 9.5/10
Report this review to a moderator   #38442
noahnoah900
Snipe the Pipe
noahnoah900's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Brunswick,Canada.
noahnoah900 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
noahnoah900 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
noahnoah900 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: loud'ish
This gun is amazing, bought it used, but it looks brand new like mint condition. Shoots ropes, used it all reball season now looking into a geo 2. Highly recommend this to anyone, 9.5/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R Great marker. Owned two of them at two entirely different times which both performed excellent. Do not hesitate to buy this marker.
Report this review to a moderator   #13682
paintballer14t
FLEXAN.FIN.S
paintballer14t's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Goshen, NY
paintballer14t is playing at Living Legends VII
paintballer14t supports Team VICIOUS
paintballer14t is an NCPA player
paintballer14t is Legendary
paintballer14t supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $850.00
Pros: fast, reliable, barrel kit
Cons: kicks a bit
Great marker. Owned two of them at two entirely different times which both performed excellent. Do not hesitate to buy this marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R amazing looking and shooting gun and like all sl's it holds its value good!
Report this review to a moderator   #14371
paintballking43210
YOUR FAVORITE GUN WHORE
paintballking43210's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Buffalo Ny
paintballking43210 is BST Legit
paintballking43210 supports Team VICIOUS
paintballking43210 supports Team VICIOUS
paintballking43210 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
paintballking43210 is Legendary
paintballking43210 is Boss
paintballking43210 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: shoots good
Cons: not one
amazing looking and shooting gun and like all sl's it holds its value good!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R best sl gun out of the series... pick one up.. you need to add this to your collection
Report this review to a moderator   #33801
pbkeegan88
IM SCARED
pbkeegan88's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: durty jerz
pbkeegan88 is playing at Living Legends VII
pbkeegan88 supports our troops
pbkeegan88 plays in the APPA D5 division
pbkeegan88 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
pbkeegan88 is Legendary
pbkeegan88 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $850.00
Pros: its the best
Cons: nothing
best sl gun out of the series... pick one up.. you need to add this to your collection
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R very good gun, the only con is the loudness of the gun. It;s very easy to maintain, shoots very well, and had no problems with this.
Report this review to a moderator   #23745
RelapsePB
 
RelapsePB's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern California
RelapsePB is playing at Living Legends III
RelapsePB supports Team VICIOUS
RelapsePB supports Sherwood Forest
RelapsePB posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: easy maintainence, shoots nice
Cons: pretty loud
very good gun, the only con is the loudness of the gun. It;s very easy to maintain, shoots very well, and had no problems with this.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R I really couldnt find anything wrong with my SL8r. When I compared it to my Ego 11, it held its value better and it shot just as consistent. I would buy another one
Report this review to a moderator   #36866
rkhig
Virginia Tech
rkhig's avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: VA
rkhig owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
rkhig is an NCPA player
rkhig plays in the APPA D4 division
rkhig supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: one of the best egos
Cons: that it is old?
I really couldnt find anything wrong with my SL8r. When I compared it to my Ego 11, it held its value better and it shot just as consistent. I would buy another one
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R Period of Product Use: 6 months 4 of 4 people found this review helpful. Paintball Experience: 3 years Similar Products Used: Dangerous Power Fusion FX
Report this review to a moderator   #33764
seriouslysilly
 
seriouslysilly's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: East coast
seriouslysilly owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
seriouslysilly owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
seriouslysilly posts videos on PbNation
seriouslysilly has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $900.00
Pros: reliability, ergonomics
Cons: sound signature
Period of
Product Use:
6 months 4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Paintball
Experience: 3 years

Similar
Products Used: Dangerous Power Fusion FX
System X NME
Ego 2005
Ego SL74
Ego 2008
Ego 2009
Ego SL94

Marker Setup: Ego SL74
Halo B with rip drive/Rotor
68/3000 Crossfire
Lucky 15 barrel kit

Recommended
Upgrades: Lucky 15 barrel kit



Strengths: Reliability
Ease of maintenance
Improvements over other Ego (old&new)
Shooting experience

Weaknesses: Price (even though it is 2 year old marker)

Review: I recently acquired a LNIB SL8R purely by accident. I was totally satisfied with my SL74 and was not currently looking for another marker.
I am definitely glad I had the pleasure in holding and shooting this beauty for myself.

Compared to the SL74, they both felt similar with the exception of the snatch grip and trigger guard. The snatch grip is significantly shorter than the SL74/08. I personally prefer the shorter grip on the SL8R and don't have trouble holding it there in between fields/events.
The trigger guard is noticeably bigger than the SL74/08. So much so that it almost touches the HPR reg. You now have to wrap your non-dominant hand around the HPR reg and behind the trigger guard as you will not be able to squeeze your thumb between the reg and guard. Some may not like this configuration and may seem awkward. This change allows people with larger fingers to have more room to walk the trigger.

Other positives in this package are the two valve guides to suit your needs: LP (smoothness) and HP (efficiency). Also included in the package is the fixed LPR and regular LPR. The fixed LPR is great for those that just want to shoot it stock and not have to worry about messing with the settings. Being a tinkerer, I have left the fixed LPR in the clamshell.

I have shot it side-by-side with my SL74 and it seems that the SL8R has less kick and less sound than the SL74. The SL8R is also comparable to the newer Ego 09 and SL94. Any differences among the newer egos were not significant. So much so that I sold the 09 and SL94 because there was not much difference and preferred to have my $ back. Keep in mind that my SL8R is not broken in yet as I bought it LNIB. I can't even imagine how it will perform when it does get "broken in".

Although I haven't tested the Lucky15 barrel kit on the SL8R I assume it will perform similar to my informal tests with the SL74. It is basically the same barrel (bore size, length, porting). I would imagine that the Lucky15 will reduce the sound signature even more compared to the stock SL barrel kit.


Conclusion: I actually prefer the SL8R to the SL74, Ego 09, and SL94. PE has improved its design and characteristics from the SL74 and the changes between the SL8R to the 09/SL94 are not enough to justify selling the SL8R in favor of the 09/SL94.

Anyone who is able to find an SL8R nowadays which is still in very good condition (not that rare) will definitely be thrilled with its performance. It will still hold its own among the newer markers for some time to come. There will be no doubt on why the SL74 & Sl8R series is acclaimed to be the "best" PE has made even to this day (2010).

Rating:
10 out of 10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R The Planet eclipse ego sl8r is a great marker. The packaging is great as is with most pe markers. The sl kit and 2 lprs are a great added bonus. The sl8r is my favorite gun. Its very light ,...
Report this review to a moderator   #34160
splatx39
 
splatx39's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: LI
splatx39 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
splatx39 plays in the APPA D5 division
splatx39 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
splatx39 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: light weight , fast , small, efficient
Cons: grip space
The Planet eclipse ego sl8r is a great marker. The packaging is great as is with most pe markers. The sl kit and 2 lprs are a great added bonus. The sl8r is my favorite gun. Its very light , accurate and fast. it can get 10-11 pods off of a 68/4500 fill. The gun is very quiet aswell for a poppit valve gun. The gun is very reliable for me and never has problems. it is my go-to gun because i know it will work every time i air it up to play
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R i absolutly love this gun... i own a 1 of 25 hurricanes sl8r and its the smoothest shooting gun i have evr had in my life. only problem is the trigger guard on mine..... i like to be able to grab...
Report this review to a moderator   #10010
steelersfan07090
 
steelersfan07090's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Central Jersey
steelersfan07090 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
steelersfan07090 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
steelersfan07090 supports Team VICIOUS
steelersfan07090 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
steelersfan07090 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
steelersfan07090 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
steelersfan07090 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: everything
Cons: trigger guard is a tad bit big
i absolutly love this gun... i own a 1 of 25 hurricanes sl8r and its the smoothest shooting gun i have evr had in my life.

only problem is the trigger guard on mine.....
i like to be able to grab the reg but the guard is lik 1/10 of a centimeter away from it so watevr


BEST GUN EVER!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R its pretty much the same thing as an ego8 but costs 400 more
Report this review to a moderator   #16343
TomorrowsGreatest
ATē
TomorrowsGreatest's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Florida
TomorrowsGreatest plays in the PSP
TomorrowsGreatest owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
TomorrowsGreatest plays in the APPA D2 division
TomorrowsGreatest is Boss
TomorrowsGreatest supports DLX Technology
TomorrowsGreatest supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $600.00
Pros: sexyy
Cons: cost too much
its pretty much the same thing as an ego8 but costs 400 more
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review