Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Planet Eclipse - SL8R Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Planet Eclipse
84 Cutler Street
Suite 4
Warren, RI 02885

Phone: (401) 247-9061
Fax: (401) 247-0931
Email: info@planeteclipse.com
Website: http://www.planeteclipse.com
Newest SL from Planet Eclipse.
 Manual: Download the manual for Planet Eclipse Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $1,799.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 42
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  71%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  26%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Planet Eclipse - SL8R Reviews
Planet Eclipse SL8R I thought i was doing just fine with my e-tek, ccu, zick, cure2 and star frame. I'd just sold my house for a big fat profit and was tempted by an sl8r but when the sub-zero edition came out (i play...
Report this review to a moderator   #5042
13th (mental simon)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $9,999.00
Pros: Light, consistant, never broken a ball in the brea
Cons: price, tiny kick
I thought i was doing just fine with my e-tek, ccu, zick, cure2 and star frame. I'd just sold my house for a big fat profit and was tempted by an sl8r but when the sub-zero edition came out (i play for a scotish team called ICE) i couldn't resist.

consistancy
At its best, when its warm and i'm shooting good paint and a good bore match i sometimes have to check the chronos working since it can be +- 0... usually +- 1. Now its really cold in the north of scotland and the only paint that can take it is a bit inconsistant i'm shooting +-4 at the moment.

I reckon the cure2 helps to bring the old +- fps right down by eliminating roll-back, Also the new reg springs which are mant to be planets equivalent of bump pistons... Also I use the mini preset LPR that comes with it, I've been told it's less consistant than the adjustable but my experience disproves this.

Barrel
The 5 piece shaft 2 has one of the smoothest bores of any barrel i've used. Smooth bore+bore/paint match= accuracy. I do find myself using my DW fibur + pre 2007 freak inserts to get a more exact paint fit.

Kick
The only thing that lets down the gun is the noticable kick, not really enough to affect your aim to any degree if you hold your gun steady but i'd never buy another gun if my sl8r had less kick... my backup pmr has less kick.

Recently bought a function ti2 rammer and will be testing on sunday. I'm willing to sacrafice a little consistancy and efficiency if the kick is greatly reduced.

Trigger
Spring and/or magnet return, opto or microswitch... best trigger i've ever shot.

Reliability
I fully strip down clean, lube and reasemble after every days use and it has never gone down on me... except once where a mutant large winter paintball blocked the 693 barrel back...not the sl8r's fault

Efficiency
Efficieny is very important in the highlands since we're only filling to 3000psi. This is why 95% of high end guns in the highlands are egos (and because they work in the cold)

In summary, almost the best gun there could ever be... a little less kick is what it needs. Certainly not worth the price difference from an 08 but i dont ever see me selling it... unless i go bankrupt and have already sold everything else i own and i'm very very hungry... and already eaten my cat.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R FIRST IMPRESSIONS: Finally, I got my hands on one of these Hot Figures... Just had to wait until someone broke down & bought one .. so I got to handle it for an entire day .. then clean it after...
Report this review to a moderator   #3318
rjs21
 
rjs21's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NEW to Baton Rouge, LA
rjs21 donated to help Peyton Trent
rjs21 owns a Planet Eclipse GSL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,600.00
Pros: Most advanced gun out
Cons: Is it really worth my kidney & 20 sperm donati
FIRST IMPRESSIONS:

Finally, I got my hands on one of these Hot Figures... Just had to wait until someone broke down & bought one .. so I got to handle it for an entire day .. then clean it after diving all day my honest opinion is it shoots the same as any 07/08 Ego with incredible milling and a bunch of extras. Worthiness to those who drop the money for it. Yet not worth the price over all unless you need to satisfy your EGO with having the best marker out

My complete breakdown of the SL8R

PERFORMANCE:


Accuracy-everyone will tell you paint to bore = accuracy ... but I feel the hone of the barrel matters because less friction means the paintball will be more stable when leaving the barrel. PE SL barrels are just as good as any barrel and RIDICULOUSLY LIGHT for aluminum. Get 3 backs and 2 tips ..


Shooting- Marker does have Vibration and barrel rise more than Dye or Smart Parts markers, but you will have no problem maintaining ropes, lanes, one balling

BOARD- most advanced board .. choose between opto/switch, user profiles, actual preset Ramps for 15bps, 13.3 bps over standard board. NICE LCD display ... Better than any aftermarket board most def .. if you can use an IPOD you can set this board

Trigger-
I prefer the 07 style trigger; however, this one is extremely smooth and adjustable with magnets or spring tension .. after market not needed. The extended frame is surprisingly nice .. the extra room for your fingers is less hindering bc small trigger guards get annoying when you hit them. the frame doesn't get in the way when wrapping your hands around the reg

Paint- the Cure rocks!!! not the band .. no noticeable improvement over The Cure 1, of course Zick helps. I have shot 60+ cases on my 07 .. and 3 cases on the SL8r w/o a break thus far .. INSANE

Valve- this one had the the MP valve and extra HP, LP for your desire. MP valve is great for smoothness, efficiency, and fragile paint.

Detents- my biggest about PE guns .. they still use the rubber nubs ... which are CHEAP in boths way .. wish they would switch to ball detents that last forever ... like that tattoo you have of your X's name

Reg- +/- 4 avg of any high end including older egos is +/- 5 .. very consistent for holding those tight ropes of paint. Also, easier to take apart over the older regs

Feedneck-
sits a little high but doesn't bother you as much if your hopper is cut to sit low. Swivels to adjust where the clamp is if that's a big deal to you.

Weight- might as well be holding this marker in Space. Not much lighter than the current Ego .. not a big deal .. more impressed with the Laser eyes than the weight reduction

RELIABILITY:

PE guns rarely break down, KISS (Keep is simple stupid) design makes it EZ to maintain. Just a little DOW here and oil there. PE admits you can use Vaseline and 3 in 1 oil .. but don't you feel HORRIBLE after dropping so much Quam (yes I used that word) to lube it with $2 worth of grease??? Just don't use KY jelly.

CUSTOMER SERVICE:


Everyone raves about how friendly and AMAZING they are. I will admit Jack Wood and company really back up their product, yet it never fails that I get a SMART *** remark back... I am not some kid trying to get my marker teched for no reason either .. I am in Med school and talk polite English not L33k in emails or Ebonics in person.. BUT THEY DO FIX my marker fast and right which is what matters! This is both sending it in and at events.. so your $1600 marker has Quality support ..

OVERALL:

This is the best marker $ can buy. However, I don't see it worth $1750 MSRP .. but to be fair I don't see the 08 Ego worth $1250 MSRP. I just don't use the extra barrel backs, 16" tips, and other 2 valves. It shoots exactly like a zicked 07 Ego just a tad quieter .. If you are a player that struggles financially to even play or choose between Budlight and Lone Ranger DUDE, I definitely feel this marker is not worth it over 07/08 Egos that can be bought at $850 now UNLESS .. and I hope Eclipse is reading this UNLESS they include a TALL T and ball bearing detents. Then and ONLY THEN would it be a TOTAL ECLIPSE OF THE HEART

I still recommend Ego's to anyone looking for their first tournament paintball marker ... Just don't think the price justifies this marker... Not because I am jealous because I could buy one if I really really wanted it .. but I refuse to drink that cheap beer for an entire yr ..

Please rate my review .. I wrote it on toilet paper & made a 12 yr old type it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R You get the same Ego8 box but inside you get whole shaft barrel system, including 3 backs 0.681, 0.685 and 0.693 plus a 14 and 16 front. Preset LPR , RF loom ,o-rings , manual , white stripe PE...
Report this review to a moderator   #961
Pilla
 
Pilla's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,600.00
Pros: Lighter than before,Comfortable and spacey trigger
Cons: None so far
You get the same Ego8 box but inside you get whole shaft barrel system, including 3 backs 0.681, 0.685 and 0.693 plus a 14 and 16 front. Preset LPR , RF loom ,o-rings , manual , white stripe PE barrel bag and PE tools. Test consisted of 30BPS ramp test and new Millennium 08 mode. Paint used was Chronic Pro , Cryptic , Brittle Chronic PRO and a box of mixed paint sitting in my storage room for a while.
When on chrony the +- were in the range of 10 and I already was impressed.
First test and WOW 27 bps with a b2 loader on ramp and accuracy was spot on
Second Test on Millennium 08 rules. Same as before and getting really impressed
Third test I put on the preset LPR and went Ollie look alike (wrapping my thump over the barrel for that extra stability players look for).Very comfortable and also used three fingers on trigger since that trigger guard can fit your head in it 
Fourth test was with a box of Chronic Pro paint left open since last weekend (Tuesday today) and marker on Millennium 08 mode. No problemo got rid of that paint with no problems at all and asked for more.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R PE has always made great guns and this one is no exception. first off people are complaing about the price out of any other gun in the 1000+ range this is the only one that is worth the money. after...
Report this review to a moderator   #4630
deadheads
 
deadheads's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 704
deadheads plays in the PSP
deadheads supports Team VICIOUS
deadheads plays in the APPA D3 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,600.00
Pros: light,air efficent,bigger trigger guard
Cons: none
PE has always made great guns and this one is no exception.
first off people are complaing about the price out of any other gun in the 1000+ range this is the only one that is worth the money.
after using this gun i have to say this is the best gun ive ever shot i like how they give u so many features, i also have to mention that in this gun there is a feature that allows u to switch from being air efficent to having a quiter shot.whlie im on the topic of how much air this gun uses i shot a whole case of paint off of 1 fill
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R everything of this marker is great its light, accurate,reliable,looks great,great efficiency great barrel set. This is like the whole muffin basket that planet eclipse have its just a great...
Report this review to a moderator   #4750
aznturtle
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
aznturtle is playing at Living Legends III
aznturtle owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
aznturtle is for the Gunfight
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,200.00
Pros: everything
Cons: none(maybe it cost a lot for some)
everything of this marker is great its light, accurate,reliable,looks great,great efficiency great barrel set.



This is like the whole muffin basket that planet eclipse have its just a great gun
This is what the smart parts wantded their shocker to be.

The only con is that maybe its a little overpriced but still you get for what you pay for.


Best gun out their no needs for upgrades.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R this gun is they best marker you can by . nothing is beter. every thing on it is perfect.
Report this review to a moderator   #5179
radioactivgummybears
 
radioactivgummybears's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,500.00
Pros: amazing
Cons: nothing
this gun is they best marker you can by . nothing is beter. every thing on it is perfect.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R I`ve owned almost every ego that has come out and several of one version. The SL line of markers is just like the cars. You get what you pay for. They are the top of the line. I do not think however...
Report this review to a moderator   #4415
Bladesmith
 
Bladesmith's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: AWOL
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Fantastic looks, weight, speed and reliability
Cons: Price and limited colors
I`ve owned almost every ego that has come out and several of one version. The SL line of markers is just like the cars. You get what you pay for. They are the top of the line. I do not think however that the SL74 is any different from the SL8R other than milling and of course the QEV. I`ve owned both and both are amazing markers (and for some reason I felt the SL74 felt smaller but love the milling on the SL8R). There is a much quieter sound to the SL8R but it is not all that noticeable.
I`ve used other markers but love the egos. However, you can get cheaper markers that work really well but won`t be as reliable. DM`s are okay, Thresholds for the money are great but they do tend to be more troublesome than an ego is yet you could buy two or three for the same price.
If you want the best and have the cash, this is the marker for you. Easy to maintain and deadly in all aspects. Although, if you are just getting into the tournament scene, I`d recommend something cheaper like a 07 (still a great marker but not as good as an SL) or get a SL74 and you`ll never need to buy another marker ever again but can easily compete if your skills are there.
I hope this helped.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.8/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R i work at a paintball shop and the boss just bought a 1 of 5 limted edition origin SL8r and WOW!!! light as could be efficient easy hit 21bps with psp. I didn't think there'd be that much of a...
Report this review to a moderator   #3066
ICEMAN09
UCLA
ICEMAN09's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NOR*CAL*DIRTY*530
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,400.00
Pros: light efficient sexy
Cons: none so far
i work at a paintball shop and the boss just bought a 1 of 5 limted edition origin SL8r and WOW!!! light as could be efficient easy hit 21bps with psp. I didn't think there'd be that much of a difference between my ego7 and the new sl but i'd trade any day. Best gun honestly i've ever shot, littlepricey but sooo worth it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.6/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R i got this in a package brand new, it shoots ropes, its my all time fav. gun, its light,low profile,its almost perfect, but the price is very high and the trigger is sensitive..i shot on accident my...
Report this review to a moderator   #4141
czmer
 
czmer's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,500.00
Pros: Looks,Modes,Light,Everything
Cons: $$$, and i think trigger is to senitve
i got this in a package brand new, it shoots ropes, its my all time fav. gun, its light,low profile,its almost perfect, but the price is very high and the trigger is sensitive..i shot on accident my hand on the hand guard and my palm barely shot scaring the $h!t out of me and my friends..and then i was walkin around in the woods to play 1 quick game of woodsball(usually play speedball) and i shot 4 random shot on accidents, and my hands werent on the trigger...so its suppper sensitive be careful
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.6/5 stars.
Planet Eclipse SL8R This gun is amazing! i have an etek2 and the sl-8r just puts it to shame, i realy like this gun
Report this review to a moderator   #4165
afflictionpb
Mmmmm STuD!
afflictionpb's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: your moms bed
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,600.00
Pros: speed, modes, light
Cons: cost
This gun is amazing! i have an etek2 and the sl-8r just puts it to shame, i realy like this gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Add New Review