Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Axis Goggles Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
Proto's Thermal Goggles
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $60.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
 Reviews: 11
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  55%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  45%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Axis Goggles Reviews
Proto Paintball Axis Goggles Ok, this mask is great! First and for most, the lenses are extremely easy to change out. The lenses are also anti-fog which is always nice. It has a wide range of view, which allows you to see just...
Report this review to a moderator   #5954
GaijinSamurai
 
GaijinSamurai's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Lens System, durable, comfortable, range of view
Cons: if i can think of any, i'll let you know
Ok, this mask is great! First and for most, the lenses are extremely easy to change out. The lenses are also anti-fog which is always nice. It has a wide range of view, which allows you to see just about everything around you. The materials used are high quality, and the mask is both durable and flexible. The mask is very comfortable to wear. You will hear alot of people complain about the weight, but i would have to disagree. I didn't think they were at all heavy. Unless you are getting shot in the lenses or visor(removable), most of the paint gets deflected by the rest of the mask. They have a sleek look to them as well. There are multiple lens upgrades, and you can also get a fan for the inside if you want. I find the less battery powered items you have to keep track of, the better...but that is just a personal choice. Probably one of the best masks I have ever used.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Axis Goggles I used these for a full day yesterday and I loved them. I have used two different JT systems and I prefer these overall. Positive Points: They have a great look.Very good ergonomic feel -...
Report this review to a moderator   #8063
Lucpro
 
Lucpro's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $49.99
Pros: Lens Removal, Look, Breathability
Cons: Slightly Heavy, Goggle Cushion
I used these for a full day yesterday and I loved them. I have used two different JT systems and I prefer these overall.

Positive Points:
  • They have a great look.
  • Very good ergonomic feel - COMFORTABLE
  • Detachable Visor - Keeps the sun out of your face without having to forfeit visibility in low light conditions with a tinted lens.
  • The lens is VERY easy to take out. Which is perfect for when your in the field and need to clean off mask hits in between games.
  • These goggles are very breathable. My face didn't really get hot unless I left the goggle on for over an hour without taking them off. (it was about 80-85 degrees)
  • I have a thermal lens and they never fogged up once, even though I was sweating like crazy. (I have had my thermals fog up on me before)
  • Comes with a nice bag to put them in so the lens doesn't get scratched.
  • Small but still offers a great amount of face coverage - forehead, total face and cheeks, and ears. (I have worn larger systems but it seams I am constantly hitting them with something; hopper, trees, etc)

Negative Points:
  • A little heavy - I wore for the first game and my neck started to get sore, after a couple minutes I didn't notice anymore. I might also attribute that to not wearing a mask for 3 years (Just getting back into paintball)
  • The cushion around the eyes absorbs your sweat. Its good because it doesn't drip down into your eyes but I didn't like it because every time I went to put them on it was all wet. I just started to towel dry them after each round.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Axis Goggles I used it for the first time yesterday and it was such a great mask compared to my crappy Extreme Rage XRAY 2.0 First thing you'll notice when you put it on is how it feels like you're laying down...
Report this review to a moderator   #3596
Scremox
 
Scremox's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $35.00
Pros: Design, comfortable
Cons: Weight...
I used it for the first time yesterday and it was such a great mask compared to my crappy Extreme Rage XRAY 2.0

First thing you'll notice when you put it on is how it feels like you're laying down on a pillow...well...almost haha. The foam feels very comfortable against your face. I had no issue with the field of view as it was as wide as I would have needed. I wasn't able to test the bounce factor since I was never shot in the face but I heard its good. When you breath out some of it is trapped inside but it never fogs up the mask even if you breathed directly onto it. Everytime you take a breath however, miraculously you get fresh air from the outside! Amazing design? Who knows.

The only bad thing I can say is probably the weight but I've only had the chance to compare it to a cheapo plastic-like Extreme Rage X-Ray 2.0. Im not sure if its the interior design or the weight but when I initially slip it on it feels like its pulling my forehead down. It's tugging the forehead skin and eyebrows down a bit which is a bit annoying but once I start playing thats the last thing I can feel/notice.

I had a chance to buy it for $35, probably because no one wanted the yellow mask but hey, Im a budget player and I don't care if it clashes and/or stands out like sore thumb on the field. You'll be happy with this purchase trust me!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Axis Goggles This is my first pair of goggles and while I do like them they do have some draw backs. Looks the mask looks nice to me but other players could find it ugly so it's all personal preference. Weight is...
Report this review to a moderator   #2561
UberGeekGamer
Uber is as uber does
UberGeekGamer's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Whittier, CA
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $65.00
Pros: Protection, lenses
Cons: Maintenance, weight
This is my first pair of goggles and while I do like them they do have some draw backs.
Looks the mask looks nice to me but other players could find it ugly so it's all personal preference.
Weight is one of the problems as the mask feels really heavy after only a couple rounds.
The feel of the mask feels a little bulky and also for me the hard plastic near the ears made my ears hurt after a full day but isn't really a problem for me.
Venting can be a problem if players feel like they overheat easily but I never really felt that too much.
The FOV on these are good but not as great as e-vents or profilers. And the lenses on these are great as they are thermal so they have never fogged up and also really resistance to scratches.
Protection on this mask is awesome. Players can feel safe wearing these and really never have to worry about painful face shots.
Maintenance on these is a little bit of a chore but not as much as I've heard on some other masks. Basically the strap is connected to the lenses and they twist off the lens frame comes off the then the lenses. What makes a little chore is putting them back together as the lens frame is a bit hard and is bit tricky to get it to sit in correctly.
I got these never used but still got a discount because I was a friend but other then that the value is good for the protection.
Overall it's a great mask I would recommend them to new players but not to veterans as they would be used to the pain.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Axis Goggles I have had a proto mask for 2 years, and it has served its purpose. I love how the style is. It also gives you a large viewing area. it may be hard, but most of the time you get his on the mask...
Report this review to a moderator   #344
penguin8
part angler, part dangler
penguin8's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
penguin8 is an NCPA player
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.00
Pros: Good Mask, Protects You
Cons: More For Rec
I have had a proto mask for 2 years, and it has served its purpose. I love how the style is. It also gives you a large viewing area. it may be hard, but most of the time you get his on the mask with decent paint itll break. There are a good amount of upgrades for the goggles too.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Axis Goggles This was my first mask. It looks pretty nice. Got it cheap. The thermal lenses is great. Overall - Its a great mask. I'd buy it again if in need of an affordable mask.
Report this review to a moderator   #446
KMAYER1221
rip dan donlon
KMAYER1221's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: philly
KMAYER1221 is a Paintball photographer
KMAYER1221 plays in the USPL
KMAYER1221 plays in the PSP
KMAYER1221 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $35.00
Pros: Lense system. Easy to custom paint.
Cons: Makes your head look a bit big
This was my first mask. It looks pretty nice. Got it cheap. The thermal lenses is great.

Overall - Its a great mask. I'd buy it again if in need of an affordable mask.

  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Axis Goggles These are heavy, in every sense of the word. so much that the simple lense system does not outweigh that con. it has decent visibility, but the profile is big. They feel cumbersome on your head. if...
Report this review to a moderator   #324
TherealInsomniac
Bangarang
TherealInsomniac's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
TherealInsomniac plays in the PSP
TherealInsomniac is playing at Living Legends VI
TherealInsomniac has perfected Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
TherealInsomniac supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $90.00
Pros: Lense system
Cons: weight, profile
These are heavy, in every sense of the word. so much that the simple lense system does not outweigh that con.

it has decent visibility, but the profile is big. They feel cumbersome on your head. if you are used to something much smaller and lighter.

They work well, but can be hard to clean completely. they make great Rec/woods goggles. IF you wear glasses the foam is cut to allow for this, if not, you get some extra venting. Fogging is usually a non issue.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Axis Goggles Few complaints overall a great mask. Padding is very good, lens don't fog, and very comfortable. Only issue is the hard ears...when taking off and putting on my sandana got pulled every time. ...
Report this review to a moderator   #35113
2pipes
Legend in my own MIND
2pipes's avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston, TX
2pipes owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
2pipes supports Team VICIOUS
2pipes has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
2pipes supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Thermal inexpensive
Cons: Hard ears
Few complaints overall a great mask. Padding is very good, lens don't fog, and very comfortable.

Only issue is the hard ears...when taking off and putting on my sandana got pulled every time. Really a minor problem and the price hard to beat
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Axis Goggles looks good, feels good, no fog what so ever overall great for anyone
Report this review to a moderator   #7808
bigpat57
 
bigpat57's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: looks good, thermal lense, comfy
Cons: none.
looks good, feels good, no fog what so ever overall great for anyone
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Axis Goggles I loved these when I first bought them in 2006, but they were heavy and too hard too clean.
Report this review to a moderator   #18808
DAVE_M
 
DAVE_M's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
DAVE_M posts videos on PbNation
DAVE_M plays in the APPA D5 division
DAVE_M is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
DAVE_M is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Great looks
Cons: Too many parts
I loved these when I first bought them in 2006, but they were heavy and too hard too clean.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review