Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Pure Energy - 48ci HP Tank Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Pure Energy
55 Howard Ave
Des Plaines, IL 60018

Phone: (800) 579-1633
Email: tech@paintballsolutions.com
Website: http://keeactionsports.com/index.jsp
5 year hydro steel tank.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $55.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 43
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  7%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  63%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  26%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Photos
There are 1 photos of this product, click on a thumbnail to browse the gallery.
Pure Energy - 48ci HP Tank Reviews
Pure Energy 48ci HP Tank Overall alright tank for $60 not as good as a ninja or a crossfire, but it serves its purpose.
Report this review to a moderator   #5143
aULdSLG
 
aULdSLG's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Cheap
Cons: doesn't get a lot of shots
Overall alright tank for $60 not as good as a ninja or a crossfire, but it serves its purpose.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Pure Energy 48ci HP Tank i would say this is better than c02 but for 60 bucks more a fiberglass or carbon is alot better. i am getting a better carbon fiber sooner. but if you have money..drop this and..
Report this review to a moderator   #5779
getupfront
CHILD SOLDIER
getupfront's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: McDonough, Ga
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $20.00
Pros: holds air.
Cons: heavy ugly 600 shots
i would say this is better than c02 but for 60 bucks more a fiberglass or carbon is alot better. i am getting a better carbon fiber sooner. but if you have money..drop this and..
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Pure Energy 48ci HP Tank I have 60 of these. The fill nipple o-ring is horrible, and is going to drive me insane. I replace about 20 of these a week. My local pure energy sales rep makes me pay for the parts. Seriously,...
Report this review to a moderator   #604
hhpaintball
 
hhpaintball's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brantford, ON
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $79.99
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Breaks/Leaks/Sucks
I have 60 of these.

The fill nipple o-ring is horrible, and is going to drive me insane. I replace about 20 of these a week. My local pure energy sales rep makes me pay for the parts. Seriously, this might have one of the worst regulators around, but it's cheap, so it'll never go away.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Pure Energy 48ci HP Tank Story/Explanation of Purchase: This tank is a great tank to start with. The switch from CO2 to Nitrogen is a big step in paintball. You dont have to buy a $220 to use an ion or a pmr. I purchased an...
Report this review to a moderator   #2920
InvertBaller08
 
InvertBaller08's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Savannah NOT Atlanta
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: easy switch from CO2
Cons: heavy and not alot of shots
Story/Explanation of Purchase:

This tank is a great tank to start with. The switch from CO2 to Nitrogen is a big step in paintball. You dont have to buy a $220 to use an ion or a pmr. I purchased an ion and bought this tank to use 2 christmas' ago. I sold the ion and kind of got out of paintball for a few months but later i picked up a mini. Now, I have a better tank now, but this got me through the break in of my gun.

Appearance: The reason for giving it 3 stars is because its a big hunk of steel tank and doesnt look like the nice carbon fiber tanks but it can be handled. It looks batter than a CO2 tank though.

Performance: I gave it 3 stars because you only get about 600-800 shots off of the tank. However, if you are using an ion or a cheaper gun you will only need this. Pros dont use this tank!

Reliability: I gave it 4 stars on reliability because t has lasted forever. My 68/45 has broke 3 times in 4 months and this thing has held up for more than 2 years!! It would be a 5 star but you probably cant play all day with it.

Value: Value=5 Stars!! This tank is again the perfect switch tank and for $50-$80 (i must have gotten ripped off) it does the work!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Pure Energy 48ci HP Tank In my experience, these tanks aren't reliable from the factory. I would guess about 30% of the tanks have problems with burst disks, gauges, fill nipples, or leaking. However, after replacing the...
Report this review to a moderator   #2009
sflusch
Not a sinner; Saint.
sflusch's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin, TX.
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $69.99
Pros: Great starter tank
Cons: Heavy, prone to leaks from factory.
In my experience, these tanks aren't reliable from the factory. I would guess about 30% of the tanks have problems with burst disks, gauges, fill nipples, or leaking. However, after replacing the faulty part, the tanks tend to suffer few problems.

They're a great way to get into HPA, and for a lot of recreational players, $70 is more in line with their price range than a state-of-the-art $200 HPA tank.
Downside is that the tank is heavier than a full 20 oz co2 tank, and will get fewer shots.

On the whole, if you get a tank that doesn't seem to be having any issues, I wouldn't expect many. If you own a lemon, then be prepared to switch out a lot of parts. The quality control on these isn't the best.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Pure Energy 48ci HP Tank This is a very good tank for the price, $60. It is pretty heavy and long, especially when it's on my Mini, but I would recommend this to anyone just starting to use HPA or if you are looking for a...
Report this review to a moderator   #5898
YARBY1
 
YARBY1's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Cheap,Tough
Cons: Heavy, Long, Only 500 Shots Per Fill
This is a very good tank for the price, $60. It is pretty heavy and long, especially when it's on my Mini, but I would recommend this to anyone just starting to use HPA or if you are looking for a backup tank.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Pure Energy 48ci HP Tank My friend sold one to me so he will have a buddy with whom to paintball. This tank is heavy, but for what it is worth I would not complain. It's HPA and it feeds fast enough for most beginner guns. I...
Report this review to a moderator   #857
OneUp
 
OneUp's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Heavy, may not feed fast enough for high ROF
My friend sold one to me so he will have a buddy with whom to paintball. This tank is heavy, but for what it is worth I would not complain. It's HPA and it feeds fast enough for most beginner guns. I wouldn't use this with a DM, Ego, or Borg. Its reg might not recharge fast enough with all that ramping.

If you have never held a fiber tank, do it. You can tell this one is a lot heavier. If you are starting out and you need an HPA tank, I would save up for a 68 cubic inch fiber tank, and just buck up with your CO2 tank and CO2 compatible gun for the time being.

Appearance: Nothing fancy. Black tank with sticker and stamp.
Performance: It's heavy. You can handle the weight, but after feeling a fiber tank you kind of don't want to anymore.
Reliability: I had some air recharging problems isolated to being caused by the tank, but this tank probably isn't designed with top tier guns in mind anyway, plus I could've gotten a lemon. It's fine for the common recballer.
Value: It's the economy route for HPA. Can't beat that.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Pure Energy 48ci HP Tank It's a steel HPA tank - its heavy, ugly, rugged, and tough. I wouldn't get this if you play competitively unless you still run CO2. Very good for rentals, or backyard ball when someone runs out of...
Report this review to a moderator   #1448
MVPaintballer
Mega Flagellator
MVPaintballer's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: New Hope, PA
MVPaintballer is a Mega Moderator
MVPaintballer is a Supporting Member
MVPaintballer donated to help Peyton Trent
MVPaintballer supports Bob Gurnsey
MVPaintballer posts videos on PbNation
MVPaintballer supports our troops
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $55.00
Pros: HPA, Tough
Cons: Heavy, 3000PSI
It's a steel HPA tank - its heavy, ugly, rugged, and tough. I wouldn't get this if you play competitively unless you still run CO2. Very good for rentals, or backyard ball when someone runs out of air. Also good for techs for testing. Decent backup for rec play.

You can get them for cheap used.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.4/5 stars.
Pure Energy 48ci HP Tank what can i say, its a hpa tank. the onlty thing that i hate about it is the weight. it unbalances my gun overall, i reccomend it
Report this review to a moderator   #1051
JobForACowboy666
JobForACowboy666's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: northern OH.
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: does its job of putting air into the gun
Cons: HEAVY
what can i say, its a hpa tank.
the onlty thing that i hate about it is the weight. it unbalances my gun

overall, i reccomend it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Pure Energy 48ci HP Tank The PE 48/30 was my first tank when I started playing paintball. It is better than using CO2 by a longshot. It is good for starting out, or if you like to play casually, but if you plan on playing...
Report this review to a moderator   #6205
carsonhowe22
carsonhowe22's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
carsonhowe22 is for the Gunfight
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $45.00
Pros: It works
Cons: Threads, weight, doesn't hold alot of air.
The PE 48/30 was my first tank when I started playing paintball. It is better than using CO2 by a longshot. It is good for starting out, or if you like to play casually, but if you plan on playing competitively you will need to get a different tank.

Maybe I'm the only one with this problem, but sometimes it takes me forever to screw this tank into my marker. It takes me probably 30 secs to get it started in going into the ASA of my marker. I guess the threads are just weak, but I don't know how to fix this problem other than buying a new reg. After a while, it can get expensive.

Another thing is the weight. This tank is pretty heavy for it's size. I compared the weight of just my PE tank to the weight of my friend's complete marker setup (EGO7, Rotor, CP 48/45) and my tank was heavier. This is the statement that needs to be made: if you are a front player and you will be running alot, do not get this tank. Save up some more cash and get a lighter tank (such as any of the CP tanks).

Lastly, this tank doesn't hold that much air. If I play the average round of paintball with only using what's in my hopper, I will use up at least half of the air in my tank (I am using a G3). I know this is only a 3000 tank, but I should be able to get more efficiency than that. This could be a problem in Speedball when you only have 2 mins to fill up hoppers/pods, with the added time you will need to run and fill up your tank.

Overall, this tank is OK, but I wouldn't recommend it to someone who wants to play in tournaments. If you are starting out, and just want to play casually every now-and-again, then this tank is right for you. Other than that, don't get this tank.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review