Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Nxe Paintball - Jrny Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Nxe Paintball
7835 E. McClain Drive
Suite 103
Scottsdale, AZ 85260

Phone: (888) NXE-P8NT
Fax: (480) 778-8408
Email: info@nxepaintball.com
Website: http://www.nxepaintball.com
Up to 28 BPS on-gun feed rate. Systematically engineered form-factor design provides slimline playing profile, while providing perfect equilibrium of balance.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $119.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 20
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  15%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  15%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  20%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  10%
 Link:
Nxe Paintball - Jrny Reviews
Nxe Paintball Jrny Purchased this hopper about a year ago, but never had a chance to use it until a few weekends ago. First thoughts: The Jrny is an interesting hopper with a completely different feed system than any...
Report this review to a moderator   #42549
GhostJedai
I push buttons
GhostJedai's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Southern California
GhostJedai is BST Trusted
GhostJedai has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
GhostJedai has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
GhostJedai is Legendary
GhostJedai is attending Decay of Nations VII
GhostJedai supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Feeds rather quickly, decent shape, only uses 4AAs
Cons: Popcorns, battery wear
Purchased this hopper about a year ago, but never had a chance to use it until a few weekends ago.

First thoughts:

The Jrny is an interesting hopper with a completely different feed system than any other hopper on the market. The auger it uses works similarly to the Archimedes pump (wherein, the screw would deliver water from a lower level to an upper level) by feeding paintballs via the "screw" into the raceway. Operating at low speeds, this seemed less prone to jamming than the standard force-feed systems in the Halo and other derivatives.

On gun testing:

So, I used this hopper with two different markets: a Dye DM6 and a DP G3iq. Both markers were set to semi, with the DM6 set to uncapped, and the G3iq capped at 20bps.

On the DM6, the Jrny proved more than a capable hopper... until the supply of paint began to run low before a reload. As mentioned before, and possibly the reason this hopper is no longer in service, is the auger will popcorn paint. This doesn't just "popcorn," this is similar to fleas jumping off of a dog, or watching one of those toddler toys you pull behind you with the balls bouncing around inside. The cause is fairly evident: when running low on paint, the screw will spin at various speeds to try to feed. When paint comes into contact with the screw, unless it falls neatly between the fins, it will hit the edge, thus resulting in a popcorn.

Aside from this issue, I didn't find it to be too tough on batteries, but I'll discuss this later.

On the G3, the hopper performed equally as admirable. Indeed, a steady stream of paint would often fly from the end of the barrel, and only the reloading/popcorning issue would come into play.

Results: On average, the hopper feed around 15-20bps consistently, and without jamming. Popcorning was an issue, as was the necessity to push down the awkward button in order to open the spring-loaded lid. There are no speedfeeds available, partially due to the recessed design of the opening, and also the fact that you cannot feasibly remove the lid without breaking.

While the "quick remove" drive assembly is a nice feature, the lack of breaks in the hopper meant I didn't need to use this.

Also, as a note: the battery compartment is a tad bit wonky. The screw holding in the cover is nice, but the cover is fairly awkward to begin with. And, if anything happens in the compartment, such as leaving your batteries in for too long, resulting in leakage, good luck cleaning up.

To wrap up:

Pros:
Feeds quickly and reliably while the hopper is full
Only uses 4AA batteries
Easy access to drivetrain and auger assembly

Cons:
Popcorns
No speedfeeds/lid button is unwieldy in the heat of action
Batter compartment difficult to clean if batteries leak

All in all, I believe this hopper deserves at least a solid 3, if not a 3.5. I'll keep this as a backup hopper, or the loaner I give to friends who are playing for the first time. If you can find one cheap, I'd recommend it, though do not buy without knowing about the downside.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Nxe Paintball Jrny The JRNY is a great looking hopper - probably my favorite one as far as looks go. It feeds pretty good until you are almost empty. The last few balls will popcorn a lot. This is not a big deal for...
Report this review to a moderator   #16216
liverlip
 
liverlip's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bronx
liverlip has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Looks, price
Cons: Popcorning
The JRNY is a great looking hopper - probably my favorite one as far as looks go. It feeds pretty good until you are almost empty. The last few balls will popcorn a lot. This is not a big deal for me - I just refill it. ANS (the only retailer selling them) is selling them now for $40. At that price it is worth buying for beginners on a budget.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Nxe Paintball Jrny Is a worthy hopper for only the greatest of players... This hopper wasnt supposed to enteer production but was leaked to few tehehehe! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5YQjMnbCQ0
Report this review to a moderator   #28831
M3-A1 JRNY
 
Join Date: May 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: God Like, Futuristic!
Cons: NONE It's just that good
Is a worthy hopper for only the greatest of players...
This hopper wasnt supposed to enteer production but was leaked to few tehehehe!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5YQjMnbCQ0
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Nxe Paintball Jrny very cheep hopper, never released to the public till late 2010, good for lowend slow guns.
Report this review to a moderator   #13030
paintballa1218
Kong-Ker
paintballa1218's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Staten Island
paintballa1218 plays in the PSP
paintballa1218 plays in the APPA D3 division
paintballa1218 is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: light
Cons: popcorns alot
very cheep hopper, never released to the public till late 2010, good for lowend slow guns.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Nxe Paintball Jrny I've put about 5-6 cases through it, so I think I have enough experience to give a thorough review. The hopper was never actually finished, what they had left to do was fine tune the antijam, as a...
Report this review to a moderator   #20503
Paper_Cut
Keyboard Warrior
Paper_Cut's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tampa, FL
Paper_Cut has been a member for 10 years
Paper_Cut has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Small and light, and it almost never jams
Cons: the antijam feature doesn't work
I've put about 5-6 cases through it, so I think I have enough experience to give a thorough review.
The hopper was never actually finished, what they had left to do was fine tune the antijam, as a result, the hopper doesn't clear jams on it's own. However, I don't think I have ever encountered a jam, a small shake is normally enough to clear a jam if I was doing a drop test, so most likely simply moving around is enough to keep it feeding nice.
The hopper has it's quirks, none of which really effect performance. It has a tendency when you first turn it on to spin for about 15-20 seconds churning up paintballs and I can't explain why it does that. However, this has yet to have any affect on feed rate.
It feeds as reliably and as fast as a hopper 2-3 times the price, so for $40 new you get a very reliable hopper that you can't get anywhere else for that price.
It's only drawback is the button, which can be awkward to open and close when on the field, but with practice it comes as second nature.

It has actually replaced my magna as my main hopper simply because it never jams and has yet to give me any problems.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Nxe Paintball Jrny after using this for the last few months it has worked every time, easy to use .
Report this review to a moderator   #14727
pb4life175
All day Long...
pb4life175's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: VA
pb4life175 is an NCPA player
pb4life175 supports Pev's Paintball
pb4life175 plays in the APPA beginner division
pb4life175 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $30.00
Pros: looks cool
Cons: if it breaks cant get parts
after using this for the last few months it has worked every time, easy to use .
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Nxe Paintball Jrny I got lucky and picked this hopper up from a store that was going out of buisness for $40 and for that price i love this hopper. No it is not as good as a rotor, spire, or z2 but it is a nice change...
Report this review to a moderator   #36216
Pbeast457
 
Pbeast457's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Alabama
Pbeast457 plays in the MiLP
Pbeast457 is an NCPA player
Pbeast457 plays in the APPA beginner division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: good looking, keeps up
Cons: popcorn!
I got lucky and picked this hopper up from a store that was going out of buisness for $40 and for that price i love this hopper. No it is not as good as a rotor, spire, or z2 but it is a nice change of pace. The auger system is pretty cool as a concept but the execution left a little to be desired. Overall this hopper keeps up with the 12.5 bps i need for PSP so i'm not complaining. If you can find one for cheap grab it if not just to own a piece of paintball history.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Nxe Paintball Jrny used this loader one time and will never use again. avoid it at all costs.
Report this review to a moderator   #19971
RadioactiveT
wub wub.
RadioactiveT's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auburn, WA
RadioactiveT owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
RadioactiveT is reppin' sidebar 4 life
RadioactiveT has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $119.99
Pros: its a hopper
Cons: everything
used this loader one time and will never use again. avoid it at all costs.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Nxe Paintball Jrny hopper looks good. eats batteries like a ***** and is really loud and annoying
Report this review to a moderator   #27474
southcarcocks
**** *****es get paid
southcarcocks's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alabama
southcarcocks is BST Legit
southcarcocks supports Team VICIOUS
southcarcocks supports Team VICIOUS
southcarcocks is an NCPA player
southcarcocks is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $39.99
Pros: looks good
Cons: loud, eats batteries
hopper looks good. eats batteries like a ***** and is really loud and annoying
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Nxe Paintball Jrny I dont like this hopper so much
Report this review to a moderator   #33325
yungiceflip
Ransom
yungiceflip's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In my house
yungiceflip plays in the PSP
yungiceflip owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
yungiceflip supports Team VICIOUS
yungiceflip supports Team VICIOUS
yungiceflip is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
yungiceflip supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: small,light,cool design,push lid
Cons: pos hopper,doesnt turn on,popcorns
I dont like this hopper so much
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review