Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - A-5 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
Tippmann's follow up to the 98 Custom.
 Manual: Download the manual for Tippmann Sports Download
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $179.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
 Reviews: 131
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  40%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  56%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - A-5 Reviews
Tippmann Sports A-5 Since every player is different, let me put you behind the wheel of this user, then you can understand where I am coming from. I'm woodsball ( it includes scenario ), I don't count the ball I shoot,...
Report this review to a moderator   #3957
speckledmind
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: It'�s a Tank
Cons: What a list : (
Since every player is different, let me put you behind the wheel of this user, then you can understand where I am coming from.

I'm woodsball ( it includes scenario ), I don't count the ball I shoot, I can either shoot very little in a day ( 100 - 300 balls ), or flood the opponent in a tree ball spur to advance on him or to protect my team mates, so I look for a reliable marker that will fit the bill with out going crazy and pay $1000.oo, I'm no pro, nor do I project myself as one.

I'm Slow, Old ( 49 lol ), so I'm no speed baller / demon lol, but my balls have to do the talking for me ; )

Now let's talk Marker.

Pros It's a Tank and I enjoy the marker for it.

Neutrals Weight is not an issue I like it, I have no accessories on the marker apart from the tank or a remote line ( when I use it ).

Cons It's a long list : (
- The Cyclone feed is a great idea But ! it's not called a blender for nothing, the only way to get it to work kind of average is to throw some money and upgrades at it right out of the box, then it becomes reasonable in a tree ball spur only with E-Grip ( it makes no difference if you keep it mechanical ).
If you want the Cyclone feed to be reasonable, you need the following upgrades ;
- TECH T A5 VORTEX MOD
- TECH T A5 LIGHTENING ROD
- TECH T A5 QEPH ( quick Exhaust )
- TECH T Squishy Paddles

- The hopper, change it right away to an X7 model, it's low profile and makes you less of a target.

- It uses CO2 ( or anything else ) like there is no tomorrow, it's a hog, so you better load up, having tree bottles of 20 oz handy is a good thing.
Don't wait for your CO2 bottle to be empty before you change it, as son as you notice a drop in performance, change it.

- The Barrel is worthless, they should skip including it with the marker, than offering such a bad piece of equipment, think of an upgrade right way.

- Cleaning the Cyclone feed is a pain, plan on bringing some tool and dismantling it for a good cleaning, there is no way around it.
If you don't put the above upgrades in right away, your going to chop / blend balls, clean the Cyclone all the time instead of playing, end up selling the marker because it's a pain, or give in to the upgrades any way.

- The E-Grip in tree ball spur is not bad ( with the above upgrades on the Cyclone feed of course, if you give it a chance and not use it like a mad man either / full auto style.
Since I use CO2, I have to consider letting the gas expand, and not cool down the mechanics of the maker + bottle, so ! slow but consistent rips is what works best.
Don't plan on making this marker Full Auto, forget rate of fire your wasting your time and money.

Bottom line.
Coming from a Company like Tippmann, there is no excuse for having the marker as bad as it is right out of the box, they should have redesigned the Cyclone with upgrades, and have it work better ( not counting the CO2 gouging ).
I would have rather pay more and have it perform better.

Some people still swear by it, I gave up swering at it, so I got rid of my A5 and bought a new Custom Pro Platinum / mechanical ( it's my back up ), and considering a BT-ERC as a main marker to replace my A5.
Then again, since the new redesigned X7 is out ( June - July 08 ), Tippmann may have redisegned the A5, we shall see.

PS : If you want a full auto marker, buy high end, or stay home.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports A-5 I bought my A5 w/ RT. I immediately began modding and upgrading it, so I dont know how well it works stock. With everything additional on it it works like a champ. Consistency leaves something to...
Report this review to a moderator   #3778
sQuiDly_da_XO
 
sQuiDly_da_XO's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $239.00
Pros: Durability, Reliability
Cons: GAS HOGGG!!!
I bought my A5 w/ RT. I immediately began modding and upgrading it, so I dont know how well it works stock. With everything additional on it it works like a champ. Consistency leaves something to be desired. Usually +/- 15. I have literally beat the crap out of it, and it "keeps on tickin." The one con I have to say about it is that with the R/T, cyclone, and the fact that its mechanical makes it a GAS HOGGG!!! I average about 650-750 shots per 68/4500. The upgradeability and customization ability of these markers is GREAT!!! They have all kinds of everything available for them. I am very happy with my A5. I know without a doubt that it will never fail me.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports A-5 After playing tournament paintball for 9 years, and shooting high end electronic markers, I decided to pick up an A-5 for something to screw around with. I missed the days of playing hopper ball, and...
Report this review to a moderator   #34100
team_xile
Midwest Whiteout
team_xile's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wisconsin
team_xile plays in the APPA D4 division
team_xile is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
team_xile is Legendary
team_xile supports DLX Technology
team_xile supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: Durability, price, unlimited upgrades
Cons: Stock cyclone feed, air hog, stock barrel
After playing tournament paintball for 9 years, and shooting high end electronic markers, I decided to pick up an A-5 for something to screw around with. I missed the days of playing hopper ball, and just working harder to achieve the victory, so I figured why not.

After first taking it out of the box I was actually pretty surprised at the size of it. The pictures make it look big, and bulky, but its really not. The only bulky aspect of it, is the cyclone feed coming off of the right side. Other than that I can't say its huge. The looks of the A-5 stock are actually pretty cool as well. The black air line, and the dust black of the body is a great look.

Holding it in my hands, it feels very solid. The only "plastic" feel to the gun is the front grip. The trigger frame itself is plastic, but it doesn't feel cheaply made at all. The trigger pull was short and it was very easy to maintain a consistent rate of fire.

After playing with it for a while, I realized how much of a work horse this marker really is. I've dropped it, mudded it up, dropped it in water, slid on it, and it just keeps running. It shoots as great as the day I got it.

Over the chronograph (using HpA NOT Co2) I was surprised as to how consistent it really was. 280 +/- 10 really isn't all that bad.

As far as the cons go, its really not too bad considering what you get. The stock cyclone feed is awful. I highly recommend you upgrade to the soft paddles. They are 20 bux and will save you a TON of hassle. In warmer weather i.e. 70 degrees or higher, the cyclone feed isn't all that bad. Keep the rate of fire on the lower side and you will be fine. Once the temperature drops, you are looking at serious issues with broken paint. The worst I've had it was a ball break in the cyclone feed about every 10 shots. Not only is it a pain to clean, it really ruins a day of paintball, we pay a lot of money for paint and it is a shame to see it blended because of a poor feeding system. The soft paddles should eliminate any issues with the cyclone breaking paint, so definitely get a set, you won't be disappointed.Throw that on top of the stock barrel, and you are looking at a very UN-enjoyable day of play.

As far as air consumption goes, its really not THAT big of a deal. I use a 45/4500 tank and get a full hopper and 3 pods off of a full fill. Its not great by any means, but in numbers terms you are looking at 900 shots or so from a fill.

All in all I am surprised that after all these years tippmann has still managed to maintain its durability. I've played in the rain, snow, heat, and cold with my A-5 and it has NEVER not worked (other than the cyclone feed issue) As far as a beginner gun goes you really can't go wrong. The A-5 offers a great marker for a great price. It is upgradable to fit any style of play, and once you get some soft paddles, it will NEVER let you down.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports A-5 pros you can try to kill but good luck. endless upgrading options, everything from bolts to shrouds to cyclone paddles reliable feed, as long as bps isnt to high you'll...
Report this review to a moderator   #32476
tgold996
 
tgold996's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: santaquin utah
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $179.99
Pros: its a tank
Cons: loud and inacurrate
pros

you can try to kill but good luck.
endless upgrading options, everything from bolts to shrouds to cyclone paddles
reliable feed, as long as bps isnt to high you'll almost never chop
easy maintainance you can reach basically every thing with just removing the push pins
great for the money

cons

factory barrel sucks
loud
inacurrate and inconsistent


everybody says that it guzzles gas but i dont think it was too bad i went paintballing a little while ago we only had about twenty people most of us were using 20 oz co2 there was only three of us with that didn't change tanks and i was one, and i shot over 900 balls. its not super effecient but not super horrible.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports A-5 Well Ive had the A-5 for 5 yrs now, and this is the most durable object Ive ever handled. The A-5 is one heck of a gas hog but can shoot hard and far. It does struggle in accuracy but the Flatline...
Report this review to a moderator   #6248
Tippman83
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $225.00
Pros: Durable!
Cons: See review
Well Ive had the A-5 for 5 yrs now, and this is the most durable object Ive ever handled. The A-5 is one heck of a gas hog but can shoot hard and far. It does struggle in accuracy but the Flatline Barrel helps ALOT. I also have the response trigger and tht sucks even more gas up but I still love my Tippman. The Cyclone Feeder does not mess up and is a great mechine for a hopper. Never Ever had a jam or a break in the barrel. TAking of the flatline is hard because u have to use ellen wrenches but either than tht its very easy to clean. If i was a beginier again I would definetly buy this gun. Also it is automatic which is great.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports A-5 pros thise is a very good gun . i recomend it is accurate powerfull and it looks so realistic. it is one of the best woods ball markers out there. cons the stock barrel sucks.make sure to get...
Report this review to a moderator   #5015
kendra
KILLER
kendra's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: loud,powerful and looks cool
Cons: the upggrades hard to put on and a gas hog!!!
pros

thise is a very good gun . i recomend it is accurate powerfull and it looks so realistic. it is one of the best woods ball markers out there.


cons

the stock barrel sucks.make sure to get any berral but wat ever you do not stay with yhise barrel.most of the upgrades are alot of money so watch wat you you do
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports A-5 This gun is great! it is accurate and not so heavy... You should totally get this gun! and also, the price is affordable!
Report this review to a moderator   #34775
MatManiac19
 
MatManiac19's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
MatManiac19 owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
MatManiac19 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.99
Pros: accuracy, not heavy
Cons: no cons
This gun is great! it is accurate and not so heavy... You should totally get this gun! and also, the price is affordable!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports A-5 I've owned my A-5 for about two years now and I have never had a problem with it that I could not fix or was the fault of user error. This thing has really never let me down, ever. But that might be...
Report this review to a moderator   #899
-Viper-
Embry-Riddle AU
-Viper-'s avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home:ATL School:Daytona
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $260.00
Pros: Reliability
Cons: Weight and Lenght
I've owned my A-5 for about two years now and I have never had a problem with it that I could not fix or was the fault of user error. This thing has really never let me down, ever. But that might be because I take great care of all my markers. I completely dissasemble them after every day of playing and make sure there is nothing left that could somehow mess with how well the marker works.

I've upgraded it with only performance upgrades and nothing that would just "look good."

They include:
-Freak barrel Kit
-WAS board
-Gen-X regulator
-ST drop and on/off ASA
-Macro line
-PB front bolt (meh)
-T6 Adjustable stock (not used)
-Smoke R5 hopper
-TechT Vortex
-Palmers QEV
-Polished internals
-Pen Spring
-Spring kit
-Either a Crossfire 68/45 or Ignition 68/45

People complain about the Cyclone being a big target. What they don't realize is that there is no target if you play on the left side of the bunker or tree.

It's a good marker, if you ever have any questions. Post in the Tippmann forum, but only post AFTER YOU HAVE READ THE STICKIES.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports A-5 The Tippmann A5 is an exellent gun for woodsball. It is not that pricey and it sure as hell gets the job done. I am going to get the Expasion Chamber for it this week and i hope it helps out by...
Report this review to a moderator   #5615
THE-MAIN-PLAYER
Oilfield Life-Dirty Money
THE-MAIN-PLAYER's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mission, TX
THE-MAIN-PLAYER has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
THE-MAIN-PLAYER has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
THE-MAIN-PLAYER supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $216.00
Pros: Relaiable, Upgradable, Realistic look
Cons: None what so ever
The Tippmann A5 is an exellent gun for woodsball. It is not that pricey and it sure as hell gets the job done. I am going to get the Expasion Chamber for it this week and i hope it helps out by shortening the amounts of CO2 used. I am also going to get the response trigger for it, so that i can shoot at my pace during a woodsball match. Later on ill problaly get the flatline barrel, but for right now the stock barrel is wonderful. I will also consider buying a remote coil, so that i don't have to 20 oz CO2 tank on my gun therefore making it lighter. My gun was $216.00 because i bought it as a package from a very trusted seller on ebay. I got the Tippmann A5 with all the wrenches the barrel condom manual everything was brand new in box, JT Mask with anti-fog lens Raptor model, 20oz CO2 tank, double trigger kit, 4+1 Premium paintball harness from GXG, and 4-140 round Heave Duty Tubes from GXG.
I love my Tippmann A5.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports A-5 Pros Its a Freaking Tank It Doesnt Brake Simple as that Sights Cyclone It can shoot any paint its the ion of woodsball guns(NOT PERFOMANCE) But Customization Wise Cons Barrel
Report this review to a moderator   #3512
invertballa6579
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Queen City
invertballa6579 is playing at Living Legends III
invertballa6579 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
invertballa6579 supports Team VICIOUS
invertballa6579 is for the Gunfight
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: It Never Goes Down, UPGRADES
Cons: Heavy
Pros
Its a Freaking Tank
It Doesnt Brake Simple as that
Sights
Cyclone
It can shoot any paint
its the ion of woodsball guns(NOT PERFOMANCE) But Customization Wise

Cons
Barrel
WHY COULDNT IT BE A/C Threaded
Weight
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review