Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Bob Long Technologies - Marq 6 Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Bob Long Technologies
11669 Highway 26
Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245

Phone: (209) 293-4440
Fax: (209) 293-4420
Email: techsupport@boblongdirect.com
Website: http://www.boblongdirect.com
Marq 6
 Manual: Download the manual for Bob Long Technologies Download
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $1,050.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
 Reviews: 67
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  49%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  42%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Bob Long Technologies - Marq 6 Reviews
Bob Long Technologies Marq 6 I have only had my marq for a week or two but I can easily say it is the smoothest gun i've ever shot. I like it better than my friends droid. The pillow bolt will shoot even the most brittle of...
Report this review to a moderator   #6570
DiabloSlayer167
Real Men shoot Bob Long
DiabloSlayer167's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dirty Jersey
DiabloSlayer167 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $305.00
Pros: 4 eyes, BLAST customer service, pillow bolt,
Cons: FSDO
I have only had my marq for a week or two but I can easily say it is the smoothest gun i've ever shot. I like it better than my friends droid. The pillow bolt will shoot even the most brittle of paint without a problem, especially wit the 4C eye system. The frame is very thin and feels great in your hands. Best stock trigger since the Quest IMO. The only problem I have had is FSDO but I'm sure there is a way to fix this. Solid solid gun. to bob. Pick one of these up, you'll be glad you did
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 6 The marq series markers are spectacular. They shoot really straight and really fast. Super comfortable in the hands, definitely a gun fighters gun.
Report this review to a moderator   #14919
DyeBalla182
DLX Sales Representative
DyeBalla182's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: |Bay Area, CA|
DyeBalla182 is BST Legit
DyeBalla182 supports Bob Gurnsey
DyeBalla182 supports our troops
DyeBalla182 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
DyeBalla182 is Legendary
DyeBalla182 is Boss
DyeBalla182 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Efficient, fast, comfy
Cons: No bob long wrap arounds unless milled
The marq series markers are spectacular. They shoot really straight and really fast. Super comfortable in the hands, definitely a gun fighters gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 6 I have had my Marq 6 for a few weeks now. It is my second electro (first was a Mini). I found that my hands were kind of large on the mini and so gave the Marq 6 a shot, since I could get it under...
Report this review to a moderator   #4447
jamemurp
Not every man is super...
jamemurp's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Smooth shooting, consistent, nice styling
Cons: Unusual bolt engine design
I have had my Marq 6 for a few weeks now. It is my second electro (first was a Mini). I found that my hands were kind of large on the mini and so gave the Marq 6 a shot, since I could get it under $500 BNIB.

The Marq packaging was nice, but a bit spartan. It comes with box including a cut foam insert, an O-ring kit, a 12' Bob Long barrel, and a one page instruction sheet explaining how to operate the marker. I was disappointed that it did not include any tools nor the gauges needed to measure pressure (an HPR/LPR gauge runs about $50). While this isn't bad for the price I paid, I can't imagine paying the retail and not having that included!

The marker is very nice. It is well balanced with (apparently) auto inspired milling. Mine is dust red and is a great looking marker (I prefer the angles of the Marq 6 over the slightly blockier Marq 7, but it is all subjective). Mine came stock without a milled LPR slot (the slot makes adjusting the LPR much easier), though BLAST will mill it as soon as I stop using it and send it in.

Out of the box it shot great. My first outing was with some friends using rental equipment, so I decided to see how it did with a gravity hopper. I used the stock barrel. It shot accurately and consistently through about 1500 rounds. Then I had a problem. It stopped shooting and the LED told me that the eyes had a problem. Opening it up, there was a ball stuck in the breach encased in the partial shell of another and paint everywhere. EWWW! I am not sure what happened here, but suspect a ball broke in breach and the following got stuck.

So I got to see how tough field stripping is. The screws on the eyecover are ridiculously tiny (.05), but not hard to get out. After that, you need a fine point phillips (eyeglasses screwdriver) to remove the eyes. Be sure not to mix up the left and right sides when putting them back on! Apparently, that won't work. They eyes cleaned up easily enough and I got most of the breech cleared with a squeegee and a microfiber cloth. The body tube is very finely honed and very smooth. After this field cleaning, the gun shot fine, but I decided to cut it short until I get get it home and fully clean it.

Once I got home, I removed the bolt. The Marq bolt is a bit picky to remove and requires some pressure to force the engine assembly out once the retaining screw is removed. I had no issue with red loctite being used on my marker as some owners have.

The engine itself is interesting. It has a lot of O-rings, and I imagine that will cause some issues down the road as they wear. You also have to be careful when reinserting the engine as the recommended lube swells the O-rings and it is possible to catch or roll them on the entry to the bolt shaft (a similar problem with the HPR/LPR tester).

I pressure tested mine and found the LPR was a little high so decided to take it down. To access it, you remove the grip frame (2 screws) and need to remove the HPR/front grip to easily access one of the screws. You should also remove the connection wires from the board to avoid stress on the wiring harness (just take off the grip screws to access the board). This is not necessary if you have the LPR slot. The LPR adjusts via a small rotating valve. I also disconnected my macroline to make it easier to remove the HPR and unscrewed the bottom line connection for some cleaning.

Once everything was reconnected, I had a small air leak from the threads that screw in the macroline connector. A little blue loctite should solve that (I suspect that in cleaning it I removed whatever thread seal was on the screw).

My take on the Marq 6 is that it is an excellent marker, like any in its price band. It will be my new primary as it feels more comfortable to me than the Mini (also a great marker). A guy I play with (and against) regularly says it was very quiet when I was playing against it and that he had trouble figuring out where I was if he couldn't see me. He believed it to be significantly quieter that my stock Mini. Air usage seemed comparable, that is to say good. I think the Mini was actually a bit more efficient, but that may also have to do with the fact my LPR pressure was running a bit high. Regardless, it is not an "air hog" from what I have seen.

My concerns are mainly the reliability of the engine setup due to all the O-rings (more places for one to wear out or break seal) and ball breakage. I highly doubt breaks will be a serious issue as everything I have seen indicates that this is infrequent in the Marqs. Additionally, I plan to upgrade to the proficiency kit, 4 eyes, and pillow bolt, when I send it in to get the LPR milled though I think they are probably unnecessary. The problem is I don't want to stop using it. It is a very fun gun to play with and just fits me very well. Additionally, it's not so expensive that I am worried about messing up my gun (or an expensive component) when I play or do maintenance (one of the reasons I have avoided the Ego8, DM8, etc.) but still performs at a top tier level (even if I don't ).
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 6 The Marq6 was my favorite marq until I got a gold darq, which was awesome. The 6 was the first one and I liked it more than most of the other ones. It was lighter and I believe it had cleaner...
Report this review to a moderator   #13983
laxplayer9352
USMC
laxplayer9352's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jax, NC
laxplayer9352 is a Supporting Member
laxplayer9352 is a Paintball photographer
laxplayer9352 supports our troops
laxplayer9352 plays in the APPA D3 division
laxplayer9352 is Boss
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: Light, Smooth, Fast, Efficient
Cons: Hard to adjust LPR
The Marq6 was my favorite marq until I got a gold darq, which was awesome. The 6 was the first one and I liked it more than most of the other ones. It was lighter and I believe it had cleaner milling. VERY fast in semi, and with the 4 eyes, it Never chopped. Even though it's an older gun, I'd still recommend it for sure!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 6 Love my marq6, was dust red and the thing was beautiful. Shot great, ran great, no problems at all with the marker.
Report this review to a moderator   #15026
MattDamnit
Anustart
MattDamnit's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kentucky
MattDamnit is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
MattDamnit is Legendary
MattDamnit is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Amazing gun
Cons: On/Off
Love my marq6, was dust red and the thing was beautiful. Shot great, ran great, no problems at all with the marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 6 The gun was a good shooting gun but i always had issues with the FSDO. another issue i had was with the pillow bolt. when ever i was trying to put the bolt back in the bolt always wanted to come off...
Report this review to a moderator   #13769
KidInfamous
There can only be One
KidInfamous's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
KidInfamous plays in the PSP
KidInfamous donated to help Peyton Trent
KidInfamous supports Team VICIOUS
KidInfamous posts videos on PbNation
KidInfamous is a top reviewer
KidInfamous is Legendary
KidInfamous is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Design
Cons: FSDO.
The gun was a good shooting gun but i always had issues with the FSDO. another issue i had was with the pillow bolt. when ever i was trying to put the bolt back in the bolt always wanted to come off the rod and the disassembly and cleaning was a pain. the gun shot reliable just like every thing bob makes.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 6 I bought mine NIB. I did the magnet mod on the stock trigger and installed a pillow bolt with qd ram before I ever aired the marker up. Appearance- The milling is nice and stylish, and it still...
Report this review to a moderator   #1593
powell_n
Murderer
powell_n's avatar
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Southeast
powell_n has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Fast, light, small, tournament ready out of box
Cons: stock bolt, eye cover screws
I bought mine NIB. I did the magnet mod on the stock trigger and installed a pillow bolt with qd ram before I ever aired the marker up.

Appearance- The milling is nice and stylish, and it still rings in at only 1lb 13.2oz. There are a wide variety of colors and finishes to choose from. No blemishes in anno, and only VERY minor milling marks visible (I had black dust finish). Based on the clean lines and variety of color/finish choices I give appearance a 5 out of 5!

Performance- This is where I can say I was most impressed. Out of the box this is the best shooting marker I've owned. I installed the pillow bolt and gassed up the marker and threw on a hopper. Using cheap paint bought at walmart to test the first case, it shot flawlessly. Zero problems with paint breakage in the marker and the eyes worked flawlessly. This thing easily ripped faster than 15bps in uncapped semi mode. I got about 730-750 shots out of a 45ci/4500psi tank with the stock/default settings. The Marq shot ropes easily from whomever tried it out that day. I didn't notice any drop-off whatsoever. Super lightweight, tight, best feedneck on the market, fast, quiet, not bad efficiency. What more could you really ask for? I gave it a 5 out of 5 based on performance!

Reliability- I haven't owned it long enough to really comment on this except that I shot a case of walmart paint through it as soon as I got it and it didn't break a single ball. I will speak of maintenance here though. The maintenance is extremely easy. Take out one screw and the entire "engine", which is the bolt/poppet/firing assembly come out of the back of the marker. All of which is already lubed well with dow from the factory. The only downside to maintenance would be unscrewing the stock bolt to get to the poppet, but I installed a pillow bolt prior to use to aviod the stock bolt which is a little more harsh on brittle paint. With the pillow bolt ($50) maintenance is VERY easy taking less than 3 min to relube the entire "engine". Some people will lube/replace o-rings TOO often to try and aviod problems but there really is no need to even lube anything unless you get a leak or a sticky reg, doing so will only put unneeded wear on screws and threads.
First time gassing up the marker it was shooting 305-310fps so I only had to adjust the HPR down a little. For reliability, and based off BLAST's customer service I can safely give this a 5 out of 5!

Value- I bought mine at closeout for $500 NIB, but even at retail ($850) you can't really ask for more. It is on par with the $1200-1500 markers for MUCH lower of a cost, so it definitely has a lot of bang for the buck. WELL, WELL, worth the cost. I've spent more on other markers that didn't perform near as well as this marker did. So naturally I gave it a 5 out of 5!

CONS- The only two cons I could think of were the stock bolt and eye cover screws. The stock bolt is a metal classic venturi face bolt that threads onto the ram/bolt rod. This makes getting to the poppet assembly in the engine a little more of a hassle; and you need to loctite the bolt back on the rod to prevent it from coming loose.
The eye cover screws are just TINY. You need a .05" allen wrench to take the out which makes it easy to strip (the allen wrench hole, not the threads in the body). These are really minor things. New pillow bolt is $50 and screws are like $2.

For reference, I am not partial to Bob Long markers. My last two markers were a Proto and Alien. But I am truly impressed with my Marq 6!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 6 Let me start by saying, this is the last line of gun I will ever buy outside of sponsorship. I bought this gun before 06 cup. I've had only 2 major problems. Both because of my error. But, nothing...
Report this review to a moderator   #1442
meandmyGAYtippmann
CK4L
meandmyGAYtippmann's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: OBC
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $1,050.00
Pros: Shoots Great, Tight, Sexy
Cons: Eyecover Screws, Not good w/ brittle paint, Lpr
Let me start by saying, this is the last line of gun I will ever buy outside of sponsorship.
I bought this gun before 06 cup. I've had only 2 major problems. Both because of my error. But, nothing JUST went wrong. The problems I had were that I cranked the reg too high, causing it to pop the solenoid hose off. The other was because when I was at 06 cup, some guy wanted to test some jelly on the Marq.

The main Pros:
Shoots GREAT!
I Just got it back from BLAST (eye covers stripped), and I don't what they did, but it now shoots better than anything. It shot great before, but now, I can shoot right on the crack of the mini x consistently. I know it has to do with the paint/bore/barrel but, you cant do that with out kick

It's Very Tight.
And how can it not be with such a low sitting hopper? The grip frame is super slim, but not awkward to hold.

Very Low Maintenance.
I don't know what he says now, but The Great Terry himself said to only lube and take the gun apart until you have problems. I've gone a good while before without doing too much (cleaning breech breaks: see cons) and didn't require any major disassembly. Not even lubing!

It's Dead Sexy
Simple and very slender.
And it kind of reminds me of a G7 Fly (the gun I was madly in love with body wise before this beast)

Cons:
The Eyecover Screws
They are tiny, like all guns, I just dont like it. Thats because im dumb and cant figure out how to not strip them.

Brittle Paint Is Very Iffy
I've been shooting Severe Kick'n paint for practice lately. Breaks from chest high when fresh. And a few of my teammates have been breaking paint pretty bad even with pillow bolts. I personally never had a problem with it recently. But, I did when I first got it shooting Empire Inertia.

The LPR Is Tricky
I got my Marq when it was the Onyx. So, naturally, I don't have the LPR whole infront of the trigger guard. So, if there ever WAS a problem, it would be tough. But, the newer Marqs have a whole there so you can adjust it. But it would still be tricky to measure it. How ever, my friends gun was having problems last year, and the Big Man himself (Bob Long) was able to measure the LPR by putting his finger in the breech and firing. Just throwing that out there.

All in all, if you are even thinking Marq, I would definately go for it. But, don't just take my word for it! Go find someone who owns one, and try to snagg a game or 2. You wont be disappointed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 6 hey guys i just bought a marq 6 off one of my friends and here's what i have to say about it. LOOKS: compared to other intimidators it looks very different, but i think it had a very streamline...
Report this review to a moderator   #3834
backman105
 
backman105's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort mill
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: no kick,consistent, and accurate
Cons: bolt matinence
hey guys

i just bought a marq 6 off one of my friends and here's what i have to say about it.


LOOKS: compared to other intimidators it looks very different, but i think it had a very streamline look and will catch anyone's eye on the field.

RELIABILITY: i have not had any problems with it yet, once you get the lpr set and the bolt lubed your pretty much ready to go.


CONSISTENCY: 293,295,293,294
(This gun has also had about 4 owners me being the 5th so it's very broken in)

EFFIENCY: i use a 45/45 and i get about 7 pods off a full fill.

PERFORMANCE: this gun shoots very very straight even with **** paint and it's also very gentle on paint but i do have a pillow bolt so that might have something to do with it,but it shoots very nice, kick and sound signature are similar to a matrix very little kick and very quiet

overall it's an aweome gun.

if you have the money get one you wil not regret it the least bit.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Bob Long Technologies Marq 6 Ive had my marq 6 for about a couple months now, it has shot great. This gun is reliable and it shoots ball on ball every shot. I have not had one problem with my marq. It has been great over the...
Report this review to a moderator   #4344
Rampage paintball
Poop'd on... : /
Rampage paintball's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MWMWMWMW
Rampage paintball owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Rampage paintball supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $550.00
Pros: reliable, fast, accurate, easy to maintain
Cons: nothing
Ive had my marq 6 for about a couple months now, it has shot great. This gun is reliable and it shoots ball on ball every shot.

I have not had one problem with my marq. It has been great over the chrono to with +/-3. This gun is great and i would recomend it to anyone.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review