Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - 98 Custom Platinum Series Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
This high performance semi-automatic marker features an all aluminum die cast receiver and Tippman's anti-chop technology for less cleaning and down time.
 Manual: Download the manual for Tippmann Sports Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $139.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 57
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  23%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  65%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  11%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - 98 Custom Platinum Series Reviews
Tippmann Sports 98 Custom Platinum Series I traded this gun and got a slynbarrel with it, its very accurate, but without that barrel its very unaccurate.
Report this review to a moderator   #31060
jonrod56
 
jonrod56's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Western mass
jonrod56 is for the Gunfight
jonrod56 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
jonrod56 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
jonrod56 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Durable
Cons: Bad accuracy, efficiancy
I traded this gun and got a slynbarrel with it, its very accurate, but without that barrel its very unaccurate.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports 98 Custom Platinum Series This was my first Paintball Marker. I use it every time I go because it's the only gun I have right now. I gotta say, this gun doesn't have good looks, but it sure can fire pretty good. I put a 16...
Report this review to a moderator   #10372
PaintballerDrake
I WANT AN ION!!!
PaintballerDrake's avatar
Join Date: May 2011
PaintballerDrake is for the Gunfight
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.99
Pros: Good Beginner gun
Cons: Upgrades don't do much, looks like a beginner gun
This was my first Paintball Marker. I use it every time I go because it's the only gun I have right now. I gotta say, this gun doesn't have good looks, but it sure can fire pretty good. I put a 16 inch barrell on mine, but I think it was a waste of money. It doesn't shoot any further than it did with the 8 inch barrel it comes with.

Overall I would say for a beginner gun, it was kinda worth it!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports 98 Custom Platinum Series Tippmanns can be beat horribly and still work. They are the most reliable gun, even though performance isn't the best. Good for new players, but don't put any upgrades in it, just save up for a...
Report this review to a moderator   #16346
Rockwings
Old School
Rockwings's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: BMORE
Rockwings is playing at Living Legends V
Rockwings is for the Gunfight
Rockwings posts videos on PbNation
Rockwings supports Pev's Paintball
Rockwings has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $129.99
Pros: Durable
Cons: hard on paint
Tippmanns can be beat horribly and still work. They are the most reliable gun, even though performance isn't the best. Good for new players, but don't put any upgrades in it, just save up for a better gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports 98 Custom Platinum Series Review: There isn't much I can say that has not already been said about the 98 Custom. Just for the hell of it, I'll still tell you why I love this marker. They are an excellent choice for a starter...
Report this review to a moderator   #26714
Amphibious Warlord
 
Amphibious Warlord's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Iowa
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Tough as nails
Cons: Barrel
Review: There isn't much I can say that has not already been said about the 98 Custom. Just for the hell of it, I'll still tell you why I love this marker.
They are an excellent choice for a starter gun. If you are looking for something that is low maintenance, durable, and dependable, look no further. I actually planned on having my wife use this marker to get her started and into the sport, but ended up using it a lot myself. It may not be the sexiest thing in the world, but I personally could care less. Mine is painted in digital camo, and I think it looks fine.

Durability/Reliability - There is no reason this marker should ever break on you. You'd have to actually try pretty hard to break it. It's not going to fail you if you take decent care of it. There's a reason so many places rent these out.

Maintenance - I've never needed to field strip mine. It's not difficult to take apart. I clean mine every other outing. I'd never recommend this, but I've talked to people who never have even taken theirs apart to clean it after years of use, and it still works fine.

Upgrades - It seems like there are a ton of upgrades for this, and there are, but how many really make it perform any better? I'd say very few. Just my opinion. If you like the way something looks/feels, then by all means go for it. It's your marker.

Recommended Upgrades - I have a 12 inch J&J ceramic barrel and a cyclone feed. Other than that, I'd say maybe an expansion chamber.

Overall I'd say the 98 Custom is a good buy, and not just for newbs. I've been playing on and off for around 15 years, and it's just nice to have something you always know is going to work. Nothing has changed since it's come out, but then again, nothing really needs to. It's a pretty slow marker, but I'd never use it for speedball anyway. If you're not super serious, and just like to go out in the woods and have a good time, I'd say the 98 Custom is the way to go.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports 98 Custom Platinum Series I love this gun. I have the version used to train the us military
Report this review to a moderator   #31055
bkman1397
 
bkman1397's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: mICHIGAN
bkman1397 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
bkman1397 supports Team VICIOUS
bkman1397 posts videos on PbNation
bkman1397 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: reliable
Cons: Mechanical
I love this gun. I have the version used to train the us military
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports 98 Custom Platinum Series great gun for starters can take a good beating and is really easy to clean. i would recomend just getting a longer barrell . the stock barrell is a little short fir my liking.
Report this review to a moderator   #31817
Carmine_A
 
Carmine_A's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brookhaven, New York
Carmine_A is playing at Living Legends VII
Carmine_A owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
Carmine_A has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Carmine_A has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $139.00
Pros: reliable, good, accuarate
Cons: stock barrel is a little short
great gun for starters can take a good beating and is really easy to clean. i would recomend just getting a longer barrell . the stock barrell is a little short fir my liking.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports 98 Custom Platinum Series Let me first start off by saying that the Tippmann 98 Custom is THE starter gun for most players. Most people experience using one on their first day at the field if they are renting. A rental and a...
Report this review to a moderator   #40881
Chillanator
 
Chillanator's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: New Jersey
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: Durable, Tactical rails, Customizable
Cons: Heavier than most guns, money pit
Let me first start off by saying that the Tippmann 98 Custom is THE starter gun for most players. Most people experience using one on their first day at the field if they are renting. A rental and a brand new out of the box 98 custom will perform identical. They are extremely durable and can likely survive anything you will throw at them. You can pick up a solid used for around $50-$75.
I wouldn't advise purchasing one new or any higher for that matter, the warranty is overrated because the gun is so simple to self maintain and the resale value is non-existent.
Lastly, this gun is very customizable. However, I CANNOT stress this enough. You can make yours look like no other but in the end it is STILL a 98 custom. Stop spending hundreds of dollars on upgrades that will get you nowhere, upgrade to a different gun and better gear if you are ready to take the next step in paintball or wouldn't mind trying a electronic marker. The reason paintball is so expensive is because people make it that way for themselves, DO NOT focus on having the latest gear or the coolest gadgets. Instead, focus on paint and field admission.
All in all this is a great place to start cheap and to enter the world of paintball on a budget. You acquire a gun that can take a beating and dish it out with the rest.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports 98 Custom Platinum Series The tippman platinum pro was my very first gun years ago. It's great for the occasional woodsballer but that's about it. It's very upgradable but I would rather upgrade to a better marker. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #27088
CwFritz17
 
CwFritz17's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lakeland, FL
CwFritz17 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
CwFritz17 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
CwFritz17 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $220.00
Pros: maintenance, upgradable, efficient, reliable
Cons: looks, accuracy, speed, comfort
The tippman platinum pro was my very first gun years ago. It's great for the occasional woodsballer but that's about it. It's very upgradable but I would rather upgrade to a better marker. The best thing about it was that even though a was a noob and never took care of it at all, it always functioned.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports 98 Custom Platinum Series I'm a new paintballer. I own a tippmann its a great gun if you are just starting out. But compared to other peoples guns its bad. The have newer and better guns. But i do recommend buying the...
Report this review to a moderator   #43530
DaRullo
 
DaRullo's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: PA
DaRullo has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
DaRullo has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Good beginner gun
Cons: Bad when playing pros
I'm a new paintballer. I own a tippmann its a great gun if you are just starting out. But compared to other peoples guns its bad. The have newer and better guns. But i do recommend buying the tippmann. My gun has a bunch of upgrades. Its alot better with upgrades like a scope etc. I recommend this gun!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports 98 Custom Platinum Series For what i payed for it nothing can beat it. Bought it at a local sporting goods store.( was in the referb shelf asked the person who put it on the shelf what was wrong with it. Replayed that was...
Report this review to a moderator   #21336
DEPUTYDAWG8025
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $35.00
Pros: Always worked
Cons: accuracy not to great
For what i payed for it nothing can beat it. Bought it at a local sporting goods store.( was in the referb shelf asked the person who put it on the shelf what was wrong with it. Replayed that was used for demo that was it) the marker hasnt let me down yet. I would say th accuracy is really no there even with an apex2 on it. Has been a great restart marker to get back into paintball. Never chopped a ball.Never had a problem.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review