Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
The most popular gun ever. This gun changed paintball in many diffrent ways. It made a reliable cheap paintball gun that can be upgraded to the max. With many Tippmann siblings the 98 custom revolutionized paintball still to this day.
 Manual: Download the manual for Tippmann Sports Download
 Release Date: 1998
 MSRP: $119.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 148
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  26%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Reviews
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom My Tippmann 98C was my 3rd paintball gun, after two Brass Eagles (A Blade and a Marauder). I played with it for years, and I still keep it around to let friends borrow it. The Tippmann 98 is...
Report this review to a moderator   #39564
Cauldronborn66
 
Cauldronborn66's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia
Cauldronborn66 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Cauldronborn66 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Reliable, affordable
Cons: Difficult to field strip
My Tippmann 98C was my 3rd paintball gun, after two Brass Eagles (A Blade and a Marauder). I played with it for years, and I still keep it around to let friends borrow it.

The Tippmann 98 is probably the most reliable mechanical markers there is, there's a reason it's probably the most popular rental gun at fields. I never had a problem with mine. It's somewhat difficult to field strip compared to other markers, but luckily you don't need to do that very often.

It's also a very customizable gun, there are a million accessories and upgrades out there, so you can setup your 98 anyway you want.

It's a solid mechanical gun, and you can't go wrong with it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom I've played with the old 98 C and the new 98 with piciny (so my spelling sucks) rail. The outcome is still a great reliable gun with accuracy so good (as long as you have a better barrel) i cant...
Report this review to a moderator   #9758
chiddy2010
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: CUSTOM
Cons: air leaks
I've played with the old 98 C and the new 98 with piciny (so my spelling sucks) rail. The outcome is still a great reliable gun with accuracy so good (as long as you have a better barrel) i cant even say on this site. The only down fall is how if you dont seed the gas hose to the chamber just right you will constantly have a slight hiss to full blown air leak. I'm the type of shooter that after i play with my guns i have to clean them and this is where i run into the problem. the only way i have figure out to completely take away the issue is with magazine conversion kit thats allows air through.

besides that i love this gun...tippman keep it coming and ditch the gryphon, stick to what you do best and thats make mil sim guns


gear: M4 collapsable stock, HPA Guerilla tank, ninja coil, Pathogen Milsim 2 sniper barrel. basic but gets the job done.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Used this gun as a rental at Killer Paintball Had a blast using the gun but it seemed to be heavier and not very accurate compared to the other guns on the field. Didn't chop any balls (ran about...
Report this review to a moderator   #36188
chimaro
 
chimaro's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Westland, MI
chimaro has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: Shoots Well, No Ball Chopping
Cons: Heavy, Stock Barrel
Used this gun as a rental at Killer Paintball

Had a blast using the gun but it seemed to be heavier and not very accurate compared to the other guns on the field. Didn't chop any balls (ran about 250 through)

I know this gun is very customizable so I think with a few upgrades that its a much better gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This wast first paintball marker. With the added response trigger it was even better. These have many, many upgrades available and are very affordable and reliable.
Report this review to a moderator   #33111
Choppa74
Old Dude
Choppa74's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Central Texas
Choppa74 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Choppa74 supports Team VICIOUS
Choppa74 plays in the APPA D5 division
Choppa74 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Choppa74 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Durable
Cons: Appearance
This wast first paintball marker. With the added response trigger it was even better. These have many, many upgrades available and are very affordable and reliable.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Have had over 10 tippmanns the past few years. they are cheap, durable, and great for any beginner.
Report this review to a moderator   #19155
Chris631
))><((
Chris631's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NE
Chris631 donated to help Peyton Trent
Chris631 supports Team VICIOUS
Chris631 supports our troops
Chris631 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Never will let you down.
Cons:
Have had over 10 tippmanns the past few years. they are cheap, durable, and great for any beginner.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Best starter gun for the price, nearly impossible to break. It can go through snow and rain, sleet and downpour. This gun can take a beating and keep going.
Report this review to a moderator   #41835
clay_park
Phantom
clay_park's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Samsula
clay_park owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
clay_park has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
clay_park has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Most reliable gun out there
Cons: Shoots slow and sporadically
Best starter gun for the price, nearly impossible to break. It can go through snow and rain, sleet and downpour. This gun can take a beating and keep going.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Like any Tippmann the 98 is built like a tank. This marker will take any abuse you can throw at it. Keep it oiled and it will always run. That said the performance of this marker is low. Its long and...
Report this review to a moderator   #32024
cptnemo66
 
cptnemo66's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cleveland OH
cptnemo66 is BST Trusted
cptnemo66 is playing at Living Legends VII
cptnemo66 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
cptnemo66 has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
cptnemo66 is attending Decay of Nations VI
cptnemo66 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $129.99
Pros: Built like a tank
Cons: Rental at best will cost too much to upgrade
Like any Tippmann the 98 is built like a tank. This marker will take any abuse you can throw at it. Keep it oiled and it will always run. That said the performance of this marker is low. Its long and heavy. Balance is off, very forward. Trigger is rather slow. I had one of the first and the stock barrel was a slight step up from no barrel at all! The stock barrel was just awfull. So now you bust out the wallet and start upgrading. You can change almost every piece of the marker. By the time you get it where you like. You will have spent as much or more than a better marker. Trust me I made this mistake. Only up side to the 98 I can find is if your looking to make a custom Milsim marker as the options are endless and you might not find your perfect Milsim marker off the shelf. My advice is skip the 98 just get a better marker if you want to get into the game. Leave the 98 to the rentals.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom One of the best first paintball markers ever. It's reliable PERIOD!! You can run CO2 or HPA. It doesn't care. They are heavy and not the best looking markers made but they do the job.
Report this review to a moderator   #43799
crazy_penguin85
What goes here again??!?
crazy_penguin85's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kentucky (502)
crazy_penguin85 owns a Planet Eclipse Etha
crazy_penguin85 posts videos on PbNation
crazy_penguin85 has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
crazy_penguin85 supports Empire
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Reliable, Durable
Cons: heavy
One of the best first paintball markers ever.

It's reliable PERIOD!!

You can run CO2 or HPA. It doesn't care.

They are heavy and not the best looking markers made but they do the job.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Probably the greatest started gun there is. Still great for scenario or big game play even for the seasoned player. I am not a fan of c02, because it is hard to fill at a field, and if they fill...
Report this review to a moderator   #17682
Daniel.
beer
Daniel.'s avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: California
Daniel. plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $295.00
Pros: Customization/reliability
Cons: c02 availability
Probably the greatest started gun there is. Still great for scenario or big game play even for the seasoned player.

I am not a fan of c02, because it is hard to fill at a field, and if they fill your c02 tanks at the field it is usually more 3xpensive than compressed air.

I think that tippmann makes a conversion kit for the 98 so you can used a compressed air bottle instead of using c02, but I never used that on my gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom My first real marker. Loved it. no matter what , shot great
Report this review to a moderator   #34205
DillonT
Do a wheelie!
DillonT's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Injunville, CT
DillonT is reppin' sidebar 4 life
DillonT has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
DillonT has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
DillonT has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: super reliable
Cons: nothing
My first real marker. Loved it. no matter what , shot great
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review