Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
The most popular gun ever. This gun changed paintball in many diffrent ways. It made a reliable cheap paintball gun that can be upgraded to the max. With many Tippmann siblings the 98 custom revolutionized paintball still to this day.
 Manual: Download the manual for Tippmann Sports Download
 Release Date: 1998
 MSRP: $119.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 153
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  27%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Reviews
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Ok this gun is great for starters by all means, this gun is so reliable. Maitence is only put 3 drops of oil where it pops back, feedneck where it pops back, and asa. Barrel isnt bad accuracy i...
Report this review to a moderator   #4231
1dayteam120
 
1dayteam120's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arkansas
1dayteam120 supports Cereal Killerz 2
1dayteam120 donated to help Peyton Trent
1dayteam120 supports Team VICIOUS
1dayteam120 supports Team VICIOUS
1dayteam120 supports Team VICIOUS
1dayteam120 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: last forever!, low maitence
Cons: side feedneck, weight sometimes, 9 inch barrel?? y
Ok this gun is great for starters by all means, this gun is so reliable. Maitence is only put 3 drops of oil where it pops back, feedneck where it pops back, and asa.

Barrel isnt bad accuracy i seriously dont understand the 9 inch barrel i dotn think they make anotherone that is that small why 9?


I only got rid of mine for money issues bc i had a great offer on the table 175 for a tippmann 98 custom, 20 oz tank, no electronic hopper. This marker is all stock too.


I want to get into something that really eats at me about tippmann owners. Ok guys this is a tippmann no matter what you put on it its still giong to be a tippmann and eveuentally when you want to sell it you wont get near what you paid for it. If this gun is only going to be a stepping stone for you to get a new gun dont put much money at all mabe just get the flatline if you play woodsball but thats it. I got rid of mine bc i was into speedball but most importantly airball

overall i think this gun is better than spyder vs3 and every spyder but compared to an ego or dm there is no comparision is egos and dms r 10 i give this a 7 compared to all other low end guns 9/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Great gun for a beginner, durable, reliable, cheap.
Report this review to a moderator   #49857
24/7 p8ntballer
Ghouls & Goblins
24/7 p8ntballer's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The BK Lounge
24/7 p8ntballer owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
24/7 p8ntballer has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
24/7 p8ntballer has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
24/7 p8ntballer has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Very durable
Cons: None that I can think of
Great gun for a beginner, durable, reliable, cheap.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom You could take one of these bad boys through 'nam and back. They will always shoot no matter what you put them through. Great first gun and great loaner gun. Will always keep one.
Report this review to a moderator   #19986
69!
 
69!'s avatar
Join Date: May 2001
69! is a founding member
69! has been a member for 10 years
69! is playing at Living Legends V
69! is for the Gunfight
69! is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Cheap, reliable, durable
Cons: Not high-end
You could take one of these bad boys through 'nam and back. They will always shoot no matter what you put them through. Great first gun and great loaner gun. Will always keep one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This is was and always will be one of the best markers for the buck.
Report this review to a moderator   #32994
absturion
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Awesome marker
Cons: None whatsoever
This is was and always will be one of the best markers for the buck.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Ive had this gun for about a year and 1/2 and its just great! i put on a new barrel after i bought it and an adjustable stock. I think this gun you could drop off a 4 story building and just pick it...
Report this review to a moderator   #8859
Beefjekry
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: As tough as anything,Reliable,customizable
Cons: Heavy, Taking it apart is a hastle
Ive had this gun for about a year and 1/2 and its just great! i put on a new barrel after i bought it and an adjustable stock. I think this gun you could drop off a 4 story building and just pick it up and keep playing Lol! The only bad part is its very heavy and taking it apart takes a pretty long time.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom
Report this review to a moderator   #53697
bfisher32
bfisher32
bfisher32's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: MA
bfisher32 is playing at Living Legends VII
bfisher32 owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
bfisher32 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
bfisher32 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: Reliable cheap beginners gun
Cons: not a very fast shooting gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This is a very great beginners gun. I had my 98 for 7 years. Passed down to family. Used by everyone. Such a great first timers gun. I love it
Report this review to a moderator   #31056
bkman1397
 
bkman1397's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: mICHIGAN
bkman1397 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
bkman1397 supports Team VICIOUS
bkman1397 posts videos on PbNation
bkman1397 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: very good first timers gun
Cons: nnot good if getting into being higher e3nd player
This is a very great beginners gun. I had my 98 for 7 years. Passed down to family. Used by everyone. Such a great first timers gun. I love it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom The 98C is probably the best marker you can buy if you decided to only play woods or senario ball. this marker is almost unbreakable, like the AK-47 of paintball. its highly customizable (at great...
Report this review to a moderator   #30441
BobbyDanger
Hold my beer watch this
BobbyDanger's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Bliss Tx
BobbyDanger is BST Trusted
BobbyDanger is attending Decay of Nations VII
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: RELIABLE!!
Cons: Long, bulky, ugly.
The 98C is probably the best marker you can buy if you decided to only play woods or senario ball. this marker is almost unbreakable, like the AK-47 of paintball.

its highly customizable (at great cost) and the chances of it breaking down on you are slim to none. However, I personally do not recommend this marker as a starting out marker. It is not a marker ment for use outside the woods, with a tank and a 14" barrel (you will need to buy a barrel upgrade, the stock one is horrid.) its over two feet long. Its bulky, its loud, its not very air effective.

If you want a marker that will always work. no matter if you dont clean it, or ever maintain it this is your marker. If you want a marker that will preform better with a little work I suggest spending your money elsewhere.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Gun never shot straight, I get blisters trying to shoot quickly. Due to using CO2 with the gun, there is always drop off. If you try to shoot too quickly the gun will freeze. Good starter gun,...
Report this review to a moderator   #22651
Burninator
Punisher of fleshlights
Burninator's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Texas
Burninator is a Mega Moderator
Burninator is a Supporting Member
Burninator has been a member for 10 years
Burninator is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Burninator has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
Burninator is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Always works
Cons: Never shoots straight
Gun never shot straight, I get blisters trying to shoot quickly. Due to using CO2 with the gun, there is always drop off. If you try to shoot too quickly the gun will freeze. Good starter gun, requires a quick upgrade if you keep playing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom What can be said that hasn't already? This thing is the staple for beginner guns. Excellent reliability and solid performance.
Report this review to a moderator   #15477
Captain A v2.0
2romo4u
Captain A v2.0's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Captain A v2.0 has been a member for 10 years
Captain A v2.0 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $45.00
Pros: Reliablity
Cons: Appearance
What can be said that hasn't already? This thing is the staple for beginner guns. Excellent reliability and solid performance.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review