Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
The most popular gun ever. This gun changed paintball in many diffrent ways. It made a reliable cheap paintball gun that can be upgraded to the max. With many Tippmann siblings the 98 custom revolutionized paintball still to this day.
 Manual: Download the manual for Tippmann Sports Download
 Release Date: 1998
 MSRP: $119.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 146
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  27%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Reviews
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Great gun for a beginner, durable, reliable, cheap.
Report this review to a moderator   #49857
24/7 p8ntballer
Ghouls & Goblins
24/7 p8ntballer's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The BK Lounge
24/7 p8ntballer owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
24/7 p8ntballer has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
24/7 p8ntballer has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
24/7 p8ntballer has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Very durable
Cons: None that I can think of
Great gun for a beginner, durable, reliable, cheap.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom You could take one of these bad boys through 'nam and back. They will always shoot no matter what you put them through. Great first gun and great loaner gun. Will always keep one.
Report this review to a moderator   #19986
69!
 
69!'s avatar
Join Date: May 2001
69! is a founding member
69! has been a member for 10 years
69! is playing at Living Legends V
69! is for the Gunfight
69! is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Cheap, reliable, durable
Cons: Not high-end
You could take one of these bad boys through 'nam and back. They will always shoot no matter what you put them through. Great first gun and great loaner gun. Will always keep one.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This is was and always will be one of the best markers for the buck.
Report this review to a moderator   #32994
absturion
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Awesome marker
Cons: None whatsoever
This is was and always will be one of the best markers for the buck.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Ive had this gun for about a year and 1/2 and its just great! i put on a new barrel after i bought it and an adjustable stock. I think this gun you could drop off a 4 story building and just pick it...
Report this review to a moderator   #8859
Beefjekry
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: As tough as anything,Reliable,customizable
Cons: Heavy, Taking it apart is a hastle
Ive had this gun for about a year and 1/2 and its just great! i put on a new barrel after i bought it and an adjustable stock. I think this gun you could drop off a 4 story building and just pick it up and keep playing Lol! The only bad part is its very heavy and taking it apart takes a pretty long time.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This is a very great beginners gun. I had my 98 for 7 years. Passed down to family. Used by everyone. Such a great first timers gun. I love it
Report this review to a moderator   #31056
bkman1397
 
bkman1397's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: mICHIGAN
bkman1397 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
bkman1397 supports Team VICIOUS
bkman1397 posts videos on PbNation
bkman1397 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: very good first timers gun
Cons: nnot good if getting into being higher e3nd player
This is a very great beginners gun. I had my 98 for 7 years. Passed down to family. Used by everyone. Such a great first timers gun. I love it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom The 98C is probably the best marker you can buy if you decided to only play woods or senario ball. this marker is almost unbreakable, like the AK-47 of paintball. its highly customizable (at great...
Report this review to a moderator   #30441
BobbyDanger
Hold my beer watch this
BobbyDanger's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ft Bliss Tx
BobbyDanger is BST Trusted
BobbyDanger is attending Decay of Nations VII
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: RELIABLE!!
Cons: Long, bulky, ugly.
The 98C is probably the best marker you can buy if you decided to only play woods or senario ball. this marker is almost unbreakable, like the AK-47 of paintball.

its highly customizable (at great cost) and the chances of it breaking down on you are slim to none. However, I personally do not recommend this marker as a starting out marker. It is not a marker ment for use outside the woods, with a tank and a 14" barrel (you will need to buy a barrel upgrade, the stock one is horrid.) its over two feet long. Its bulky, its loud, its not very air effective.

If you want a marker that will always work. no matter if you dont clean it, or ever maintain it this is your marker. If you want a marker that will preform better with a little work I suggest spending your money elsewhere.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Gun never shot straight, I get blisters trying to shoot quickly. Due to using CO2 with the gun, there is always drop off. If you try to shoot too quickly the gun will freeze. Good starter gun,...
Report this review to a moderator   #22651
Burninator
Punisher of fleshlights
Burninator's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Texas
Burninator is a Mega Moderator
Burninator is a Supporting Member
Burninator has been a member for 10 years
Burninator is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Burninator has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
Burninator is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Always works
Cons: Never shoots straight
Gun never shot straight, I get blisters trying to shoot quickly. Due to using CO2 with the gun, there is always drop off. If you try to shoot too quickly the gun will freeze. Good starter gun, requires a quick upgrade if you keep playing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom What can be said that hasn't already? This thing is the staple for beginner guns. Excellent reliability and solid performance.
Report this review to a moderator   #15477
Captain A v2.0
Whatevs
Captain A v2.0's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Captain A v2.0 has been a member for 10 years
Captain A v2.0 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $45.00
Pros: Reliablity
Cons: Appearance
What can be said that hasn't already? This thing is the staple for beginner guns. Excellent reliability and solid performance.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom it was a great gun until i made all the changes. stock is great , the e-trigger should have a diferent switch, poking through holes in handle sucks,the cyclone hopper broke off the first time i...
Report this review to a moderator   #9347
castar
Awaiting Email Confirmation
Join Date: Nov 2010
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $129.00
Pros: reliable
Cons: e-trigger
it was a great gun until i made all the changes. stock is great , the e-trigger should have a diferent switch, poking through holes in handle sucks,the cyclone hopper broke off the first time i dropped. with all that stuff gone now im back to a great gun. anybody agree
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom My Tippmann 98C was my 3rd paintball gun, after two Brass Eagles (A Blade and a Marauder). I played with it for years, and I still keep it around to let friends borrow it. The Tippmann 98 is...
Report this review to a moderator   #39564
Cauldronborn66
 
Cauldronborn66's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia
Cauldronborn66 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Cauldronborn66 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Reliable, affordable
Cons: Difficult to field strip
My Tippmann 98C was my 3rd paintball gun, after two Brass Eagles (A Blade and a Marauder). I played with it for years, and I still keep it around to let friends borrow it.

The Tippmann 98 is probably the most reliable mechanical markers there is, there's a reason it's probably the most popular rental gun at fields. I never had a problem with mine. It's somewhat difficult to field strip compared to other markers, but luckily you don't need to do that very often.

It's also a very customizable gun, there are a million accessories and upgrades out there, so you can setup your 98 anyway you want.

It's a solid mechanical gun, and you can't go wrong with it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review