Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
The most popular gun ever. This gun changed paintball in many diffrent ways. It made a reliable cheap paintball gun that can be upgraded to the max. With many Tippmann siblings the 98 custom revolutionized paintball still to this day.
 Manual: Download the manual for Tippmann Sports Download
 Release Date: 1998
 MSRP: $119.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 148
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  26%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  61%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Reviews
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Great starter gun. Super durable and reliable. I'd recommend this gun to anyone starting out or anyone who is generally rough with their stuff.
Report this review to a moderator   #18886
thoenew
BATMAN DON'T CARE
thoenew's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
thoenew helped look for balloons
thoenew is reppin' sidebar 4 life
thoenew has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
thoenew has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: reliable and durable
Cons: Slow shooter
Great starter gun. Super durable and reliable. I'd recommend this gun to anyone starting out or anyone who is generally rough with their stuff.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom It's a tank, It's reliable, It shoots consistently, It doesn't jam or break paint, what else do you need from a rental gun? Some of them at my local field are actually pretty quiet too. More quiet...
Report this review to a moderator   #53442
Tibenmech
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: It's for rental players.
Cons: If you're not a rental player, this sucks.
It's a tank, It's reliable, It shoots consistently, It doesn't jam or break paint, what else do you need from a rental gun?
Some of them at my local field are actually pretty quiet too. More quiet than an Etek.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Ive had 2 a 98 customs, for about 6 years now. They are worth every penny. You can upgrade almost every aspect of the gun and customize the appearance to your liking. I never had a reliability issue...
Report this review to a moderator   #27037
Tms42
 
Tms42's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: State College, Pa
Tms42 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Tms42 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Tms42 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $135.00
Pros: Upgradeable and reliable
Cons: Maintanence
Ive had 2 a 98 customs, for about 6 years now. They are worth every penny. You can upgrade almost every aspect of the gun and customize the appearance to your liking.
I never had a reliability issue with this gun until recently, fortunately it was an easy, and cheap fix.
As long as you keep it cleaned and oiled, you will not be disappointed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom I have had this gun for easily over 8 years now. It still shoots and functions great. The reliability is top notch and the upgrades are endless. I just wish they would shoot more balls per second.
Report this review to a moderator   #32792
toxicwaste29
 
toxicwaste29's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ohio
toxicwaste29 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: Reliability and availibilty of parts
Cons: Balls per second
I have had this gun for easily over 8 years now. It still shoots and functions great. The reliability is top notch and the upgrades are endless. I just wish they would shoot more balls per second.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom You can say whatever you want about a Tippmann 98 but it is hands down the absolute best starter gun. Period.
Report this review to a moderator   #21148
Tstreetman47
 
Tstreetman47's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Shaw, AFB
Tstreetman47 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Tstreetman47 supports Team VICIOUS
Tstreetman47 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Tstreetman47 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: most reliable gun you will EVER own.
Cons: nothing
You can say whatever you want about a Tippmann 98 but it is hands down the absolute best starter gun. Period.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This was the very first paintball gun I ever bought and like most I opted for the package deal with the mask. The marker NEVER failed to perform no matter what. I cleaned and lubed it after every day...
Report this review to a moderator   #41149
turbo_tc
WV R34P3R 304
turbo_tc's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
turbo_tc is playing at Living Legends VII
turbo_tc has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
turbo_tc has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
turbo_tc has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
turbo_tc supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: Reliable, Rugged
Cons: Heavy, Expensive upgrades
This was the very first paintball gun I ever bought and like most I opted for the package deal with the mask. The marker NEVER failed to perform no matter what. I cleaned and lubed it after every day of play and when it was put up for the winter it was lubed and stored in a bag and when I got it out in spring it was relubed and ready to go.

Pros:
Rugged and Reliable (Just like an AK-47)
Plethora of upgrades. You can make it look like anything you want
Regardless of cleaning/lubing it will work
Can buy electronic trigger to make it fire faster

Cons:
Very heavy, especially with a tank hanging off the back
Upgrades are very expensive
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom A buddy handed down his model 98 to me to use and keep at my first game. I later bought a 98 custom from a Guy at work for $40 in "like new" condition. Anyways, the model took 1,000+ rounds through...
Report this review to a moderator   #33488
Wivm1014
 
Wivm1014's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Springfield, Michigan
Wivm1014 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Wivm1014 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Reliability, upgradeability
Cons: Barrel
A buddy handed down his model 98 to me to use and keep at my first game. I later bought a 98 custom from a Guy at work for $40 in "like new" condition. Anyways, the model took 1,000+ rounds through it and didn't break a SINGLE ball. I was EXTREMELY impressed. The stock barrel doesn't shoot the straightest but it does the job. I recommend this gun to ANYONE. From the novice to the pros, especially woodsballers because of the upgradeability.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This gun is good for anyone. especially for woodsball. they rarely need anything done to them and shoot really good
Report this review to a moderator   #14361
xxtheshockerxx
LS4
xxtheshockerxx's avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Iowa
xxtheshockerxx has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: durable
Cons: heavy
This gun is good for anyone. especially for woodsball. they rarely need anything done to them and shoot really good
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review