Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
The most popular gun ever. This gun changed paintball in many diffrent ways. It made a reliable cheap paintball gun that can be upgraded to the max. With many Tippmann siblings the 98 custom revolutionized paintball still to this day.
 Manual: Download the manual for Tippmann Sports Download
 Release Date: 1998
 MSRP: $119.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 154
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  27%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Reviews
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom this gun completly sucks its heavy unreliable useless chops balls
Report this review to a moderator   #8772
suckmy2
 
suckmy2's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: a house
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
this gun completly sucks its heavy unreliable useless chops balls
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom I GOT THIS FROM A RELATIVE, THAT'S WHY I GOT IT CHEAP I'm going to be as simple as can be. This gun IS reliable. The gun IS efficient. The gun is a little overpriced for it being stock. DEFINATELY...
Report this review to a moderator   #8825
superkool
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $20.00
Pros: Reliable, durable, efficient
Cons: Weight, price, stock barrel
I GOT THIS FROM A RELATIVE, THAT'S WHY I GOT IT CHEAP I'm going to be as simple as can be.
This gun IS reliable. The gun IS efficient.
The gun is a little overpriced for it being stock.
DEFINATELY get this gun if you're first starting. I use this for both SPEEDBALL and WOODSBALL.
This gun can go through a case of 1,000 with a 20 ounce CO2 tank.
What people want to know when looking at a review...
NO PROBLEMS YET. CHEAP. FOR ALL GAME TYPES. DEFINATELY BUY IT
Thanks!
-Ken
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This brings back memories and it will always be a marker that is the best starting marker ever!!
Report this review to a moderator   #39177
TanBanana
Delicious
TanBanana's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cincinnati, OH
TanBanana has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TanBanana has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
TanBanana supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: Black
Cons: Not White
This brings back memories and it will always be a marker that is the best starting marker ever!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom there is a reason 9 out of 10 field use this as a rental RELIABLE (more then any other paintball marker)
Report this review to a moderator   #43505
TEAM FLAWLESS
THE BULLDOG FRONT
TEAM FLAWLESS's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: festus
TEAM FLAWLESS has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TEAM FLAWLESS has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TEAM FLAWLESS has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
TEAM FLAWLESS is attending Decay of Nations VI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $50.00
Pros: reliable
Cons: bps (but not made for that)
there is a reason 9 out of 10 field use this as a rental

RELIABLE (more then any other paintball marker)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Great gun to start with and even use for awhile. Tons of Upgrades to maximize your playing ability. Definitely Recommend this gun
Report this review to a moderator   #32199
TeamDarkRage
 
TeamDarkRage's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Martin TN
TeamDarkRage is playing at Living Legends III
TeamDarkRage owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
TeamDarkRage supports Team VICIOUS
TeamDarkRage has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
TeamDarkRage has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: Accuracy, lightness, reliability
Cons: CO2 standard hookup
Great gun to start with and even use for awhile. Tons of Upgrades to maximize your playing ability. Definitely Recommend this gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom I litertally found this gun in my uncle's barn. Cleaned her up a little bit and bought a new gravity hopper. Put in ma C02 tank and this gun still shoots like a champ. This is a great starter gun...
Report this review to a moderator   #23834
The Rookiee
@Samuel_D_Howard
The Rookiee's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Akron
The Rookiee has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
The Rookiee has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.99
Pros: Reliable, great preformance, works wonders for yea
Cons: Not that appealing looks in my opinion
I litertally found this gun in my uncle's barn. Cleaned her up a little bit and bought a new gravity hopper. Put in ma C02 tank and this gun still shoots like a champ.

This is a great starter gun for anyone whos looking to get into paintball. Perfect for woods ball. The only thing I dont like about this are the looks. To bulky I feel like and just doesn't look appealing in my eye.

Great gun for starter
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Great starter gun. Super durable and reliable. I'd recommend this gun to anyone starting out or anyone who is generally rough with their stuff.
Report this review to a moderator   #18886
thoenew
BATMAN DON'T CARE
thoenew's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
thoenew helped look for balloons
thoenew is reppin' sidebar 4 life
thoenew has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
thoenew has perfected Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: reliable and durable
Cons: Slow shooter
Great starter gun. Super durable and reliable. I'd recommend this gun to anyone starting out or anyone who is generally rough with their stuff.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom It's a tank, It's reliable, It shoots consistently, It doesn't jam or break paint, what else do you need from a rental gun? Some of them at my local field are actually pretty quiet too. More quiet...
Report this review to a moderator   #53442
Tibenmech
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: It's for rental players.
Cons: If you're not a rental player, this sucks.
It's a tank, It's reliable, It shoots consistently, It doesn't jam or break paint, what else do you need from a rental gun?
Some of them at my local field are actually pretty quiet too. More quiet than an Etek.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Ive had 2 a 98 customs, for about 6 years now. They are worth every penny. You can upgrade almost every aspect of the gun and customize the appearance to your liking. I never had a reliability issue...
Report this review to a moderator   #27037
Tms42
 
Tms42's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: State College, Pa
Tms42 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Tms42 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Tms42 supports Team VICIOUS
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $135.00
Pros: Upgradeable and reliable
Cons: Maintanence
Ive had 2 a 98 customs, for about 6 years now. They are worth every penny. You can upgrade almost every aspect of the gun and customize the appearance to your liking.
I never had a reliability issue with this gun until recently, fortunately it was an easy, and cheap fix.
As long as you keep it cleaned and oiled, you will not be disappointed.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom I have had this gun for easily over 8 years now. It still shoots and functions great. The reliability is top notch and the upgrades are endless. I just wish they would shoot more balls per second.
Report this review to a moderator   #32792
toxicwaste29
 
toxicwaste29's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ohio
toxicwaste29 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: Reliability and availibilty of parts
Cons: Balls per second
I have had this gun for easily over 8 years now. It still shoots and functions great. The reliability is top notch and the upgrades are endless. I just wish they would shoot more balls per second.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review