Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
The most popular gun ever. This gun changed paintball in many diffrent ways. It made a reliable cheap paintball gun that can be upgraded to the max. With many Tippmann siblings the 98 custom revolutionized paintball still to this day.
 Manual: Download the manual for Tippmann Sports Download
 Release Date: 1998
 MSRP: $119.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 154
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  27%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Reviews
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom pros: very very very very durable, its built like a tank alot of customizing options very easy to use great beginner gun can take any weather conditions reliable easy to fix and find parts for cons:
Report this review to a moderator   #36114
Kraig"K-Mart"Martin
412 KREW
Kraig"K-Mart"Martin's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fayette-Nam Pa
Kraig"K-Mart"Martin plays in the PSP
Kraig"K-Mart"Martin plays in the NXL
Kraig"K-Mart"Martin plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Best Beginner Gun Ever
Cons: nothing
pros:
very very very very durable, its built like a tank
alot of customizing options
very easy to use
great beginner gun
can take any weather conditions
reliable
easy to fix and find parts for

cons:
can be expensive to upgrade
a little heavy and bulky
Rof is kinda slow for basic model but can put egrip on it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This was the first gun I every owned. The 98 Custom is one tough gun I used to play in the snow, rain and mud and it never failed where others had.
Report this review to a moderator   #26699
Krueger
 
Krueger's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sumter,SC
Krueger has been a member for 10 years
Krueger owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Krueger has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Tough
Cons: Apperance
This was the first gun I every owned. The 98 Custom is one tough gun I used to play in the snow, rain and mud and it never failed where others had.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom IS GOOD FOR PRICE? YES MUICH SO. NEVER DIE ON YIU HAVE FUN IN PAINTBALL ARENA WITH ARMY MAN.
Report this review to a moderator   #13577
KyIsBack
Flim Flam
KyIsBack's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Room 502
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $95.00
Pros: DURABLE
Cons: ****TY
IS GOOD FOR PRICE? YES MUICH SO. NEVER DIE ON YIU HAVE FUN IN PAINTBALL ARENA WITH ARMY MAN.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom I have used this marker for 6+ years. I first got into paintball with this gun. I loved how light it was compared to all other guns I handled at the time. I never took the gun apart (because I was...
Report this review to a moderator   #33073
Ledeo
 
Ledeo's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Ledeo has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: Reliability Value Wieght
Cons: Looks Performance
I have used this marker for 6+ years. I first got into paintball with this gun. I loved how light it was compared to all other guns I handled at the time. I never took the gun apart (because I was new to paintball) and it still runs. The price is perfect for entering the sprot as well. I personally don't like it in the area of looks. It doesn't look like a mil-sim marker or a speedball marker, but thats just my personally preference. The performance is fine when you are starting off, but it lacks when you start moving on.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom If you want a marker that will keep working no matter how badly you treat it then the Tippmann 98 is the way to go.
Report this review to a moderator   #19153
LION_DOG
RN
LION_DOG's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Missouri
LION_DOG donated to help Peyton Trent
LION_DOG owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
LION_DOG supports Bob Gurnsey
LION_DOG posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Very Reliable
Cons: Slow firerate
If you want a marker that will keep working no matter how badly you treat it then the Tippmann 98 is the way to go.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom So, I have been using a tippmann all my life. My dads original tippmann 98c it's about 10-12 years old now and it still works like a freaking charm. It is name proof. I have bought a new one now but...
Report this review to a moderator   #36778
Matthew Fugett
Awaiting Email Confirmation
Matthew Fugett's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Matthew Fugett has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $119.00
Pros: They don't break. Ever.
Cons: The stock barrel is a joke. Seriously.
So, I have been using a tippmann all my life. My dads original tippmann 98c it's about 10-12 years old now and it still works like a freaking charm. It is name proof. I have bought a new one now but my older brother still uses "ole reliable" to great effect. Oh, and I forgot to mention. My dad never cleaned it. Not once. When he officially gave it to me I instantly took it apart to see if he has done anything under the hood. The only thing I found was ten years of built up paint. It didn't slow down the 98 at all. I was the person to take it apart in ten years. It hasn't even been oiled!!!

So yeah, it Is worth every penny! And you can turn it in to whatever you want!!! Just buy a new barrel!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This gun is the best choice for the beginners. I have used it and I am really satisfied with its features and durability. It is a great paintball gun that will remain unharmed even if you have thrown...
Report this review to a moderator   #71129
Michael Arriaga
Paintball Expert
Michael Arriaga's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: USA
Michael Arriaga has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Michael Arriaga has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: cheap, good barrel, easy to maintain
Cons: little loud
This gun is the best choice for the beginners. I have used it and I am really satisfied with its features and durability. It is a great paintball gun that will remain unharmed even if you have thrown it in the mud or water. With the use of a few oil drops, it will be ready again. It is almost indestructible, durable, reliable, has long life, and its performance is great. You can upgrade it to a better gun by purchasing other accessories. Compared to all these features, its price is very low.

Every good thing has a few cons as well. So it is little heavy and long to handle; it produces loud noises and its upgrades are expensive. It is also not very much suitable for tournaments. But by comparing all its pros and cons there is no doubt that it is one of the best paintball guns.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom I ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY TIPPMANN 98!!!! I have literal took my tippmann through everything possible. I have played in the snow,rain,mud, and i didn't baby my gun either. I took it right through all of...
Report this review to a moderator   #8916
MiNiKeefe98
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $189.98
Pros: Durable, easy to customize/clean, heafty.
Cons: To everyone else its heavy(i dont think so)
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY TIPPMANN 98!!!!

I have literal took my tippmann through everything possible. I have played in the snow,rain,mud, and i didn't baby my gun either. I took it right through all of that. Even with water dripping out of my gun it still shoots without a problem and dead on! I would recommend this gun to everyone who wants to play!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This is a very good gun for anyone just getting into the sport
Report this review to a moderator   #39453
miniman420
nice
miniman420's avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: minnesota
miniman420 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $110.00
Pros: durable cheap
Cons: slow stock barrel
This is a very good gun for anyone just getting into the sport
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom its a overall great gun has a great frame but i dont like the trigger
Report this review to a moderator   #32984
mlaguardia
 
mlaguardia's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $20.00
Pros: durable gun
Cons: heavy trigger pull
its a overall great gun has a great frame but i dont like the trigger
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review