Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Tippmann Sports
2955 Adams Center Road
Fort Wayne, IN 46803

Phone: (800) 533-4831
Fax: (260) 749-6619
Email: tech@tippmann.com
Website: http://www.tippmann.com
The most popular gun ever. This gun changed paintball in many diffrent ways. It made a reliable cheap paintball gun that can be upgraded to the max. With many Tippmann siblings the 98 custom revolutionized paintball still to this day.
 Manual: Download the manual for Tippmann Sports Download
 Release Date: 1998
 MSRP: $119.00
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 146
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  27%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  6%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  5%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  2%
 Link:
Tippmann Sports - Tippmann 98 Custom Reviews
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom the gun is reliable it in a class of its own if u ask me. good first gun lots of upgrades can be done to this marker.
Report this review to a moderator   #8857
joemancuso
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $45.00
Pros: cheap
Cons: no value
the gun is reliable it in a class of its own if u ask me. good first gun lots of upgrades can be done to this marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom I love this gun. This is the best woodsball gun for 120$. I got the powerpack version though. It is my first paintball gun. I've went through 4 cases of many different kinds of paint. I have only had...
Report this review to a moderator   #9401
kamikaze!!!
 
kamikaze!!!'s avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
kamikaze!!! owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
kamikaze!!! supports Sherwood Forest
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Nothing
I love this gun. This is the best woodsball gun for 120$. I got the powerpack version though. It is my first paintball gun. I've went through 4 cases of many different kinds of paint. I have only had 3 breaks and that was because of monster balls. I do have upgrades now and the markers preformence is amazing.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom I got this as my entery level marker and loved it. It shot great and never failed on me. Durabily/Reliability Me and my friend actually ran ours over with his jeep and it did nothing to it. I shot it...
Report this review to a moderator   #8763
Kellerman
Youngstown Gambit
Kellerman's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Warren Ohio
Kellerman owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Kellerman has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Realiable and Durable
Cons: Slightly heavy and Ugly
I got this as my entery level marker and loved it. It shot great and never failed on me.
Durabily/Reliability
Me and my friend actually ran ours over with his jeep and it did nothing to it. I shot it under water and it shot just fine when I pulled it out the next time. I have NEVER heard of one breaking. Also it works with ANY paint (frozen, disfigured, year old...)
Performance
I have never had a mechanical marker as accurate as this one. Even with the stock barrel it was accurate to about 50 feet and in woodsball I belive that is plenty. After I put the Tippmann Sniper Barrel on it would hit ball on ball for me up to around 60 feet. I was able to tag hoppers sticking out from behind trees from about that distance.
Over All
I you know someone or have a child that wants to get into the sport get this gun. It is will fire every time and that is the important thing. I have seen them for around $40 now and that is with some upgrades. BUY THIS GUN!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom I've had my tippmann 98 for about 5 years now and haven't had one problem with it yet. Upgrades I've added to mine are a foldaway stock, 32 degrees 16" nightstick barrel, remote line, double...
Report this review to a moderator   #6039
Khalm
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tacoma, WA
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $140.00
Pros: Reliable, Durable, Lots of upgrades, not costly
Cons: weight, length, ideal for only woods ball
I've had my tippmann 98 for about 5 years now and haven't had one problem with it yet. Upgrades I've added to mine are a foldaway stock, 32 degrees 16" nightstick barrel, remote line, double trigger, and a response trigger.

Pros- For a beginner this marker is perfect in my opinion. Reasons are, under $200 for a marker that requires no major maintenance and can change almost everything on it to your liking. The possibilities with this marker is endless, from making it look like a m16 to an ak47. It's like the Honda Civic of markers. Also this marker handles chopping paint really well.

Cons- With my exp with this marker, these are the flaws that i see that would make me consider choosing a different marker. One is the length of this marker. If your going to add a 16" or longer barrel, it makes it harder to control the end of the marker in tight situations (i.e. air ball). This gun even with a rt, is not ideal for air ball (compared to other markers on the market), its best just to stick with woods ball with this marker (not saying its impossible). Weight, this marker can get pretty heavy (with tank and no remote line) compared to the other guns out there. Since this is a mechanical marker, there's no eyes, so there is a possibility (like all marker, just a greater one) of chopping paint. And there is a lower limit to you bps (balls per second, and considering no e-grip). While electronic markers you can change that type of stuff.

Reasons for ratings- (First off, this is considering a stock 98 custom out of the box)
Appearance- 3/5 because compared to others like kinda bland and nothing new.
Performance- 3/5 Was based on all aspects of paint ball (i.e. woods and air). And the stock barrel is kinda a joke in my opinion.
Reliability- 5/5 because like i said, 5 years no problem
Value- 5/5 because with the possibilities with this marker, is endless. And i think its the best $140 marker out there.

So overall, i would say this, if your a beginner that just wants a marker to play and enjoy the sport, i say this is a great buy. If you want to just play air ball and get into tournaments, i would suggest looking at other markers. I've had mine for 5 years like i said, it's still going strong.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom The AK-47 of paintball guns, the 98 is a great gun no matter your skill level. It's built to be tough and reliable. It's also one of the most customizable guns on the market.
Report this review to a moderator   #24943
knight2530
NoVA and JMU Paintballer
knight2530's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NOVA
knight2530 posts videos on PbNation
knight2530 supports Pev's Paintball
knight2530 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
knight2530 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
knight2530 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $119.95
Pros: Reliable, cheap, customizable
Cons:
The AK-47 of paintball guns, the 98 is a great gun no matter your skill level. It's built to be tough and reliable. It's also one of the most customizable guns on the market.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom Well exept that it isnt the best looking marker in the market, the 98 isnt going to let you down, ever. Simple to maintain, reliable basic marker to start balling, i will never sell it. the 98 is...
Report this review to a moderator   #35615
kostis11
 
kostis11's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Behind my dorito
kostis11 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
kostis11 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
kostis11 is attending Decay of Nations VII
kostis11 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $119.00
Pros: Looots
Cons: Needs a lots of upgrades if you are goingto stick
Well exept that it isnt the best looking marker in the market, the 98 isnt going to let you down, ever. Simple to maintain, reliable basic marker to start balling, i will never sell it.
the 98 is going to live for ever.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom pros: very very very very durable, its built like a tank alot of customizing options very easy to use great beginner gun can take any weather conditions reliable easy to fix and find parts for cons:
Report this review to a moderator   #36114
Kraig"K-Mart"Martin
PITTSBURGH TORTURE
Kraig"K-Mart"Martin's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fayette-Nam Pa
Kraig"K-Mart"Martin owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Kraig"K-Mart"Martin owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Kraig"K-Mart"Martin plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Best Beginner Gun Ever
Cons: nothing
pros:
very very very very durable, its built like a tank
alot of customizing options
very easy to use
great beginner gun
can take any weather conditions
reliable
easy to fix and find parts for

cons:
can be expensive to upgrade
a little heavy and bulky
Rof is kinda slow for basic model but can put egrip on it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom This was the first gun I every owned. The 98 Custom is one tough gun I used to play in the snow, rain and mud and it never failed where others had.
Report this review to a moderator   #26699
Krueger
 
Krueger's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sumter,SC
Krueger has been a member for 10 years
Krueger owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Krueger has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $120.00
Pros: Tough
Cons: Apperance
This was the first gun I every owned. The 98 Custom is one tough gun I used to play in the snow, rain and mud and it never failed where others had.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom IS GOOD FOR PRICE? YES MUICH SO. NEVER DIE ON YIU HAVE FUN IN PAINTBALL ARENA WITH ARMY MAN.
Report this review to a moderator   #13577
KyIsBack
Flim Flam
KyIsBack's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Room 502
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $95.00
Pros: DURABLE
Cons: ****TY
IS GOOD FOR PRICE? YES MUICH SO. NEVER DIE ON YIU HAVE FUN IN PAINTBALL ARENA WITH ARMY MAN.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Tippmann Sports Tippmann 98 Custom I have used this marker for 6+ years. I first got into paintball with this gun. I loved how light it was compared to all other guns I handled at the time. I never took the gun apart (because I was...
Report this review to a moderator   #33073
Ledeo
 
Ledeo's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Ledeo has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $130.00
Pros: Reliability Value Wieght
Cons: Looks Performance
I have used this marker for 6+ years. I first got into paintball with this gun. I loved how light it was compared to all other guns I handled at the time. I never took the gun apart (because I was new to paintball) and it still runs. The price is perfect for entering the sprot as well. I personally don't like it in the area of looks. It doesn't look like a mil-sim marker or a speedball marker, but thats just my personally preference. The performance is fine when you are starting off, but it lacks when you start moving on.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review