Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
Improvements over PM5: New LP bolt kit Locking feedneck Improved LPR Proto 2 piece barrel (interchangeable with Dye Ultralight) 1/4 lb. lighter .5 in. shorter
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2006
 MSRP: $949.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
 Reviews: 49
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  43%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  51%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  4%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) Reviews
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) -APPEARANCE: 8/10 The looks of the proto PM6 is great. A nicely milled, sleek design made the flow of the gun a natural look and very smooth. The only thing that was a downer of the looks was how...
Report this review to a moderator   #9981
russianlegiontimi
Nur der VfL.
russianlegiontimi's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: In a box of grid squares
russianlegiontimi owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
russianlegiontimi posts videos on PbNation
russianlegiontimi has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: see below
Cons: see below
-APPEARANCE: 8/10 The looks of the proto PM6 is great. A nicely milled, sleek design made the flow of the gun a natural look and very smooth. The only thing that was a downer of the looks was how tall the gun was.
-FEEL: 6/10The feel of the PM6 wasn't a whole lot better from their previous model. It was tall, somewhat heavy, and nothing about it seemed to be comfortable. Unless you wanted to spend the 150+ dollars to get the UL frame, the feel of it isn't anything special.
-PERFORMANCE: 9/10 Oh man, this gun shot amazing. Completely stock, it required minimal tuning to get it up and shooting at 295 with about +/-8 fps. I don't have the fastest fingers in paintball, but this trigger definitely sat well for me, firing about 13 to 15 bps fairly consistently.

-ACCURACY: 8/10 The accuracy of all proto guns is pretty good. The stock barrel wasn't too great, broke a lot of balls for me and didn't seem to be consistent in the shots. So I threw my freak kit on it, and the gun shot ropes that could cover any lane, at any angle you want it.

-SOUND: 9/10 The sound of this gun is extremely quiet, and has a good feel to how it shoots. It's quiet enough for a great game of tactical woodsball to hide your position.

-MAINTENANCE: 5/10 I was not a fan of the design on disassembly, but most matrixes are that way. The bolt was easy to clean, but paint seemed to drip into areas that I didn't know was possible. With most guns, you can keep them running but just cleaning the bolt and throwing some lube in the reg, but this was not the case. I find matrixes to be pretty high maintanence.

-CUSTOMIZABILITY: 9/10 There is almost an unlimited amount of possibilities for this gun. The stock parts work fine, but if you want to customize and upgrade your gun, heres a list of stuff most people get (and what I got in parenthesis): Barrels (freak), feedneck (CCM), Bolt (orange), reg (CP mini), board (Tadao), Trigger (I kept the stock, it just felt good), and ASA (CP).
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) Weight- Crazy light , with a UL frame lighter than the DM6 Accuracy- Comes down to paint to bore but with my UL front and proto back it shoots most paint fairly well Kick- There is none if you...
Report this review to a moderator   #6556
SWAYED117
 
SWAYED117's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Rochester NY
SWAYED117 donated to help Peyton Trent
SWAYED117 supports Team VICIOUS
SWAYED117 posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $240.00
Pros: Light, Fast, Smooth, Cheap
Cons: Efficiency
Weight- Crazy light , with a UL frame lighter than the DM6

Accuracy- Comes down to paint to bore but with my UL front and proto back it shoots most paint fairly well

Kick- There is none if you have your gun even close to setup if its way off you may feel a lil poke. My setup is LPR at 2.6 turns out, Dwell at 18 and HPR set at whatever i need to reach 285-290ish

Feel
- Milling is great and the UL frame fits my hand nicely. Those with bigger / meatier hands will probably enjoy the stock frame more

Speed- Fast keeps up with any tournament settings (stock frame needs PSP response board or other upgraded boards for ramping)

Efficiency- Its mediocre I can only get about 5 pods and maybe a hopper off a 45/3000 fill. You can mod your gun with tricks such as the Tophat mod or 530 mod to get better efficiency at about a pod or 2 more, but results in more kick due to raise in pressure.

Overall: Go get one the price on these things have seriously dropped since its a 3yr old gun and honestly the shoot as good as highends from 09. For around 240 and cheaper for M6's you cant go wrong.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) Had one of these as a back up for my entire time playing. Throw a UL frame on this and it's just as good as most 800+ guns. Very good looking gun, easy to maintain and very reasonable. Would...
Report this review to a moderator   #16431
youngunner-2
Cash Only
youngunner-2's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
youngunner-2 has been a member for 10 years
youngunner-2 supports Team VICIOUS
youngunner-2 supports Team VICIOUS
youngunner-2 is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Everything
Cons: Efficiency
Had one of these as a back up for my entire time playing. Throw a UL frame on this and it's just as good as most 800+ guns. Very good looking gun, easy to maintain and very reasonable. Would reccomend it to anyone. Very reliable
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) This is not my gun but instead one of my father's guns. I have used/tested/worked on this marker enough to know all of its properties and I feel I know it well enough to write a good review on it. It...
Report this review to a moderator   #2171
OTEdge2
 
OTEdge2's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mission Viejo
OTEdge2 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $500.00
Pros: Mostly Everything
Cons: A Few Small Things
This is not my gun but instead one of my father's guns. I have used/tested/worked on this marker enough to know all of its properties and I feel I know it well enough to write a good review on it. It only was used with the stock frame a couple times and did not get a change to use it so this review is based mostly with the UL Frame but will in some instances compare the UL Frame to the stock.

Looks - Appearance
I think the PM6 looks alright, has good milling that isnt to busy but still isnt just a blank body. It comes in a wide variety of colors to choose from from solid colors to fades. I believe all the colors that were available came in a Dust Finish only. Out of the box there were no visible flaws, milling was perfectly smooth and no scratchs. Only major choice for changing the guns color or design is by annodizing it, that will make the biggest impact on its looks.

Accuracy - Performance
Out of the box it shoots really good with some halfway decent paint. The stock barrel leaves more to be wanted as it is only 12" and 2 peice which is not to bad but an upgraded barrel will in most cases work better. We have shot it with many different brands of paint ranging from the worst Brass Eagle boxes to the best Chronic Paint, some shot better than others to be expected. This gun is fairly consistant once broken in getting about 9+/- with the Hyper2 regualtor. Not to bad but tuning could possibly help.

Speed - Performance
This is a high end gun and of course it is fast like most others in its class, reaching 15 BPS easily. On the UL Board it offers normal semi and a couple different ramping modes, and is fairly customizable. It is accessed using dip switchs which is not a big deal but trigger access is alot more convientent. Getting a Virtue/Tadao/Etc. Board would give you alot more modes and easier access. Overall the speed is perfectly fine stock and works in most tournaments.

Feel - Performance
The gun is a little more heavy than some of the others in the year 2008 but still is far from being considered heavy. Unlike our Ego's though, the gun happens to be a little more unbalanced, it is slightly back heavy and really like in the front. Once you have the tank against your shoulder area you dont really notice this but a minor flaw. The stock frame and grips are absolutely huge, as in your whole hand can barely wrap around the thing, thats why most people have UL Frames on there Proto Matrix's. The trigger guard on both are big enough to fire in most styles exept maybe using 3 fingers to walk the trigger (Which is pretty uncommon). Long as you get the UL Frame it should feel good.

Sound & Kick - Performance
Out of box this gun shoots very softly and really quiet, nobody on the field will know where you are as its just like little puffs of air. There is hardly any kick either, you can feel a little but its really smooth and dosnt move the gun around much. It can be tuned for even less noise and kick through the LPR and Settings, he never had this gun tuned for that though as it was good anyways. You wont need any upgrades for the noise and kick but if you must, you can get a barrel with more porting that than UL has and it should be quieter.

Efficiency - Performance
Not to good but it could be worse, got about 3 or 4 pods off a 68/4500 tank after being broken in. It can be tuned for better efficency but was never done. You can buy bolt guides to improve the efficency and I belive there are at home mods available too.

Maintenance - Reliability
The bolt is accessed through the back, with a allen key. The maintainence isnt horrible but a little time consuming. The gun contains alot of O-Rings on the bolt and most of them need to be lubed or problems will occur such as Bolt stick making the gun have drop off and just overall sloppy performance. If you maintain the gun well it will more often then not, treat you very well.

Bang4Buck - Value
The gun now is very cheap when bought used, and will almost always have a UL Frame with it. Consider other guns such as Shockers and ETeks (My father and I both prefer our ETeks and Ego's over this by far). If you do get it, dont pay more than around $450 for it because they are really cheap now, and the resale value is usually not very good. Great gun but there are other options, deeply consider the PM6 though.

Disclaimer - Please Read
I take time on my reviews to make them honest and non-bias as possible, on most occasions I will spell check them and revise to. The point is I take a lot of time on this and do appreciate good ratings, or bad ratings if you feel it deserves it. Before rating please read the full review and base your ratings on my review and not the gear and my opinions on it, if you do I have no control over that but please do it just to be nice. Thanks - OTEdge
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) i shot well over 100 cases through my pm6 in about a year and a half. that gun never went down, and i had to chrono it maybe twice a year, during the season changes. maintenance was simple, and the...
Report this review to a moderator   #20054
tex_mania
BSA Support
tex_mania's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ΠΚΑ
tex_mania plays in the PSP
tex_mania owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tex_mania owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
tex_mania plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: reliable, consistent, accurate
Cons: heavy, gas hog
i shot well over 100 cases through my pm6 in about a year and a half. that gun never went down, and i had to chrono it maybe twice a year, during the season changes. maintenance was simple, and the gun was perfect after a few minor upgrades. it was a gas hog, but it always had enough to get me through an xball match, and thats all that really matters. gun shot amazing, best gun i ever owned, hands down. hated getting rid of it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) Background: I got my pm6 in a trade on PBNation. Originally, there was some leak problems, but I sent it into Dye and got everything taken care of with completely new internals. Looks/Comfort: The...
Report this review to a moderator   #3906
Nelby2388
Metrowest Bulldogs #28
Nelby2388's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Shore, MA
Nelby2388 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Nelby2388 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Quiet, no kick, looks
Cons: efficiency, maintenance
Background:

I got my pm6 in a trade on PBNation. Originally, there was some leak problems, but I sent it into Dye and got everything taken care of with completely new internals.

Looks/Comfort:

The pm6 is a beautiful gun. Mine was lime green and pink (custom anno), but they come stock in only a couple of colors. The milling is very clean. With an Ultralite frame, this gun is decently light and is extremely comfortable. The trigger on the UL frame is amazingly easy to walk and will give you high rates of fire with a lack of effort.

Pros:
-This gun is very quiet and had almost no kick.
-Looks good.
-Easy trigger to walk (with a UL frame).

Cons:
-My pm6 was a gas hog. No exact numbers, but I had to fill up often.
-Maintenance is very tedious. Many o-rings to check and it takes awhile to check/lube everything.
-Stock board only has semi auto. If you play any PSP or NXL, look for a different board.

Summary:
If you have the time/patience to maintain a pm6, it will definitely treat you well.

Overall:

8/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) As far as appearance goes, it's either a hit or miss for most people. But honestly, if you care more about the gun's appearance than its usability, then you may want to reconsider whether you're the...
Report this review to a moderator   #835
llamajoey
• RHCP •
llamajoey's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Box
llamajoey owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: quality and support you can expect from dye
Cons: O-rings, O-rings, O-rings
As far as appearance goes, it's either a hit or miss for most people. But honestly, if you care more about the gun's appearance than its usability, then you may want to reconsider whether you're the right gender. Adding a UL frame to the gun is aesthetically pleasing and ergonomically desirable.

Performance really depends on the user. Assuming that you take good care of the gun and have it configured at optimal settings (different for each gun, so dont ask), you can expect a memorable experience with the pm6. There is a soft *Poof* sound with each shot that is very likable. To be frank, it's made by Dye/Proto, a company that is reputable for their quality. Dye Hyper II is consistent, barrel could use an upgrade, and Fuse bolt is quality.

The reliability factor really goes hand in hand with performance. Take care of your honey and it will return the favor. O-rings can break, and they will need to be replaced. That was one of my main concerns, but it holds true for all spool valves. Somethings gotta give if you want that smooth shooting experience.

Value: You can buy this gun used for a fairly cheap price. It pretty much performs like its newer counterparts (recently bought a pm8, difference isn't very noticeable).

Give this gun a try. You won't be let down
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) Looks A Perfect Design For Some, Butt Ugly For Others. This Is All Personal Preference, but to Me It Looks Sexy. The Finish on This is a Nice Smooth Clean Cut Surface With a Little Proto Jewel Thing...
Report this review to a moderator   #850
Ego_Trip
✚ TK Crew ✚
Ego_Trip's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Utah, •801•
Ego_Trip supports Team VICIOUS
Ego_Trip supports Team VICIOUS
Ego_Trip supports Team VICIOUS
Ego_Trip is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: See Post
Cons: See Post
Looks
A Perfect Design For Some, Butt Ugly For Others. This Is All Personal Preference, but to Me It Looks Sexy. The Finish on This is a Nice Smooth Clean Cut Surface With a Little Proto Jewel Thing In The Back.

Shooting Feel
Their Seems to Be Almost No Kick In It At All, Yes Their is Some But Hardly Noticeable. Not Like You Can Even Care To Much about Kick During The Rush Of A Game But Yea It Helps. Next Would be the sound which is...well.....amazing. Its Like a Lazer Gun Sounding Thing. This Sound Makes You Feel Powerful (At least For Me).

Holding Feel
The Grips Are Pretty Good and The Hyper2 Is Comfy. I Would Recommend Getting an Ultralite Frame If You Feel You Need To as The Protos Frame is A Bit Bulky to me. The Weight Transfer Kind Of Bugs Me, It Feels Kind Of Back Heavy, this is just me being picky so whatever don’t listen to me or count this out of purchase. Other Than That Part This Marker Is Extremely Light, No Amazing Differences are Felt when aired up and Paintballs Loaded but its pretty cool.

Walking
Well With That Lazer Beam Futuristic Sound and the Streams Of Paint It Unloads, this thing makes me drool. When Firing Every Shot Is Nearly Ball On Top Of Ball. I Am Used To Shooting My ETek and Auto cockers So It Was Hard For Me To Adjust As Their is a Completely different shooting feel between the two. The Trigger Could Be A Good Aftermarket Part As Some May Agree They Don’t Love The Stock one, But is not a totally necessary upgrade.

Upkeep
To An Extent this Feels Like a Pretty Stable Marker But I Wouldn’t Go Throwing it Around Like a Tippmann or anything. I Cant Say To Much On This as I Have Not Used It A lot but I have Heard that the wires are pretty weak, and I have seen first hand what happens if you don’t clean it. So Make sure you know how to take care of a marker before purchasing this one. (Note To You: Don’t Listen to what I say in this little part because I have not the experience enough with this marker to judge its Maintenance and Durability)

Efficiency
It all Depends What You’re Comparing It To. Towards my ETek....it Sucks Air From Your Lungs, Towards......Whatever Inefficient Markers You Have used... its pretty good. The Person I Play With Whom owns this gun finds it annoying as he has to fill up after every two sets (Not To bad But Whatever.)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.1/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) My PM6 Setup: - Blue PM6 with black parts - Black Ultralite frame - CF Orange bolt with small tophat mod - Blue 05 Hybrid Grind push-button on/off - 14" Dye Ultralte barrel (blue back, black...
Report this review to a moderator   #3074
rlapid2112
 
rlapid2112's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: 702
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $750.00
Pros: Low kick, accurate
Cons: efficiency (not mine)
My PM6 Setup:
- Blue PM6 with black parts
- Black Ultralite frame
- CF Orange bolt with small tophat mod
- Blue 05 Hybrid Grind push-button on/off
- 14" Dye Ultralte barrel (blue back, black front)

Appearance:
You either like the 'space gun' look or you don't I like it, but compared with the latest, it is a little tall. With the Ultralite frame, it does look pretty good.

Performance:
- Accuracy: Even with crappy paint, its almost always ball-on-ball. Comparatively, its more accurate than any of the 3 Egos that I have had and that was compared using the same barrel kit & paint.
- Kick: Of course there is o such thing as 0 kick, but it sure feels like it. I used my son's Ego7 with Avalanche settings (or so it was claimed) and it felt like the Ego was kicking like a mule. The kick wasso much less on the PM6 that it felt like the gun was making a sound but not shooting.
- Speed: This thing rips. I haven't goldwaved it, but anyone who picks it up comments on how fast it rips. Credit the Ultralite frame for that.
- Efficiency: On a hot 68/3000 fill - 1 hopper and 5 pods (locklids with small bore paint) with about 800-900 psi left. That works out to 850-900 paintballs with air leftover. i truly am not sure what 'magic tune' i have going. That should be around 1600-1800 per full 68/4500.

Reliabilty: My PM6 has been great, but, logically, you look at the number of o-rings and how the fuse bolt works, you know the failure of one 0-ring means you have problems. Advice, when you replace an o-ring in the bolt, replace them all if possible.

Value: Right now, you can get a UL'ed PM6 for under $350. Enough said.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 6 (PM6) very fast, and light, has minimal kick. Doesnt come with ul frame stock.
Report this review to a moderator   #28547
wEskEr
AYO
wEskEr's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Los Angeles
wEskEr is playing at Living Legends V
wEskEr owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
wEskEr supports Team VICIOUS
wEskEr has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
wEskEr is Legendary
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $450.00
Pros: quiet, fast
Cons: no ul frame stock
very fast, and light, has minimal kick. Doesnt come with ul frame stock.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review