Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Super Light Gun (SLG) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
This is Protos entry level marker. SLG stands for Super Light Gun.
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $199.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 66
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  53%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Super Light Gun (SLG) Reviews
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) this gun is amazing... i know a lot of you are putting 4s for performance but really for 200 bucks that is the most performance you can get! i love everything about this gun and the only complaints...
Report this review to a moderator   #1211
tips_000
TIMMAH!
tips_000's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: nor mich (231)
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: fast, light
Cons: stock feedneck
this gun is amazing... i know a lot of you are putting 4s for performance but really for 200 bucks that is the most performance you can get!

i love everything about this gun and the only complaints i have are:
-short bolt thingy(reason for the 4 in reliability)
-stock feedneck is non-clamping
-my freaking ul frame hasnt come out yet!!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.7/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) the only reason i paid 280 was cause ups charged me when it got 2 the door otherwise it was very reasonable the gun is very small and maneuverable GREAT GUN!!!!!!!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #2838
yamahaguy
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: EH?
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $280.00
Pros: small regulator and bolt body
Cons: short stock barrel
the only reason i paid 280 was cause ups charged me when it got 2 the door

otherwise it was very reasonable

the gun is very small and maneuverable

GREAT GUN!!!!!!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2.6/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) Long story short, replace the trigger, feedneck, and barrel and it'll shoot with the best of em. This gun is loud and has kick, but unless you're a gun snob, it's negligible for the price. I would...
Report this review to a moderator   #3984
pbyrne233
Define Irony
pbyrne233's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: P-Ville
pbyrne233 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
pbyrne233 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Cheap, fast, effective
Cons: Stock Parts
Long story short, replace the trigger, feedneck, and barrel and it'll shoot with the best of em.

This gun is loud and has kick, but unless you're a gun snob, it's negligible for the price.

I would highly recommend to anyone, not just rookies or beginners, but any player looking to pick up a cheap and effective marker with all the function and customer support you've come to expect from Dye.

Pick it up. You won't be sorry.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) Although its a sear tripper, its a great sear. It can hold its own with some of the higher end markers.
Report this review to a moderator   #1323
Pirate Mafia
Affiliated
Pirate Mafia's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sussex County
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: Fast, light, accurate, not bad overall
Cons: none really
Although its a sear tripper, its a great sear. It can hold its own with some of the higher end markers.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.9/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) Ive had the slg for a couple months and let me tell you its a great gun. The problem like others have stated is mine was one of the first realsed slgs which means it has problems. Ive had the gun for...
Report this review to a moderator   #3306
mezz8984
 
mezz8984's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NJ
mezz8984 owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.00
Pros: good gun
Cons: needs a lot of fixing
Ive had the slg for a couple months and let me tell you its a great gun. The problem like others have stated is mine was one of the first realsed slgs which means it has problems. Ive had the gun for a couple months like i said before and Ive never got to shoot it without a problem. For you people who own a SLG when you go paintballing and someone says the SLG suck their wrong. The SLG wont chop paint unless theirs something wrong with your eyes or you have the first SLGs. My side is if you got yourself one of the earlier SLGs just ask proto to fix it for you dont sell it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.8/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) I started paintballing with your entry level autococker and upgraded to an SLG. I know the SLG is a low end gun, but this gun was such a head ache. All of my local shops had no idea how to fix all...
Report this review to a moderator   #2960
pattonsdaddy
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle, Wa
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Great weight, looks cool
Cons: doesn't work
I started paintballing with your entry level autococker and upgraded to an SLG. I know the SLG is a low end gun, but this gun was such a head ache. All of my local shops had no idea how to fix all the problems I had. The dye/Proto tech had never worked one which was comforting. This was all before I found you people on pb nation. I might have been able to salvage the sinking ship. I think this gun has far too many flaws for Proto to sell. I am not sure if Proto has fixed the problems on the new Slg's but mine and others were.....just bad.
The shop that I bought it from ended up sending it back to Dye and I ended up with a PMR. Life is good!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1.2/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) the proto slg is NOT a good marker. for the price of this gun go buy a tippmann. all the stock parts suck and this gun is as reliable as a log. it does not do players any help. you think your saving...
Report this review to a moderator   #5081
bs_paintballer94
 
bs_paintballer94's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: tampa
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 2.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.99
Pros: reg...maybe
Cons: everything (trigger bolt, eyes, feedneck, T frame
the proto slg is NOT a good marker. for the price of this gun go buy a tippmann. all the stock parts suck and this gun is as reliable as a log. it does not do players any help. you think your saving money but you are wasting it. take my word. i play with dye's and angels. do not waste time on this gun.
upgrades you need:
barrel (stock sucks)
feedneck (stock terrible)
new frame (unless you like plastic)
bolt (i suggest)

this marker sucks...
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) my proto has been screwwing up since the day i got it. it chops balls all the time some one tell me how to fix it
Report this review to a moderator   #4041
bunker king1
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: none
Cons: every thing is wrong with it
my proto has been screwwing up since the day i got it. it chops balls all the time some one tell me how to fix it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) A kid on my team bought a brand new SLG back in April. The gun never worked right from the day it was taken out of the box. You could pull the trigger once, and it would shoot.......pull it again,...
Report this review to a moderator   #6776
Chuckasaurus
Giggity
Chuckasaurus's avatar
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pleasant View TN
Chuckasaurus plays in the APPA D4 division
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: It has none
Cons: Most unreliable marker being made today
A kid on my team bought a brand new SLG back in April. The gun never worked right from the day it was taken out of the box. You could pull the trigger once, and it would shoot.......pull it again, and nothing........pull it again, and it would shoot........pull it 2 more times, and nothing.........pull it again, and it would shoot........and so on.

Nobody could figure out what the problem was.......not even the gunsmith where the kid bought it. I went ahead and bought the SLG from the kid, so he would have the money to buy a G3 like the rest of the team. I had no desire to own this SLG, but this kid needed a gun he could count on in tournaments, so I bought it simply to help him out.

I sent it back to DYE, and they fixed it and sent it back to me in about 10 days. DYE customer support was great. When I got the gun back, I aired it up, turned the eyes off, and dry fired it a few times. It worked, so I put it back in it's box, and left it. I never took it back out. We compete in 2 tournament series, and have 2 matches a month, so I didn't have time to fool with the SLG. I really didn't want to shoot, or even own this SLG.....working or not.

I'm going to be honest with you, I had decided that the SLG is a piece of crap. Every website I went to, to try and learn about the SLG, and how to fix it, all I saw were people complaining about how their SLG didn't work, and never worked right from the day it was new, or worked right for a couple of weeks, then stopped working. My opinion of the SLG became that it is the worst paintball gun being made today, and that if you took a really big turd, and put a hopper on it, that you basically had an SLG...........that the SLG was just a turd with a hopper on it. Not something worth throwing your time or money away on.

I was sitting at the house, and was kind of bored, so I took out the SLG, put a tank and hopper on it, and proceeded to shoot a couple hundred balls through it. It worked fine. The barrel is so short that you really can't be accurate with it, but it shot just fine. I took a 14 inch barrel off my G3, and put it on the SLG, and it was pretty accurate. I actually had a little fun shooting it.

I told my kid about how well the gun shot, and he went outside to shoot it for himself. It shot fine for about the first 15 balls, then started "pinching" balls with the bolt, before they could feed all the way in. About every 9 or 10 balls, one would get pinched. And when it would shoot a ball or two, you would have to hit the button on the back cap to release air and "recock" the bolt into place. It took him about 40 minutes to shoot a hopper of paint. It does that every time you shoot now.

So now that the board is actually telling the gun to shoot every time I pull the trigger, the bolt pinches the ball before it can make it to the chamber. Nice!

This gun is so gone. It isn't even worth keeping as a backup.

I did a lot of research on this gun when I was trying to figure out what was wrong with it. What I discovered from sites like PB Nation and Tech PB, was that about half of the people who own an SLG can't use it, because it doesn't work. Then I came here, and seen that kids were giving it a 5 star rating. Do a little research, and you will see that this thing doesn't even deserve 1 star, because it doesn't shoot enough to allow for a full review.

SLG = Turd with a hopper.

Do not throw your time and money away on one of these. No matter what you pay for an SLG, it was too much. If someone gives you one for free, take it. But do not spend any money on something that won't work. You'll be standing around while others are playing paintball.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) Invert mini is really good
Report this review to a moderator   #4573
LiLpayton34
LiL dye
Join Date: Sep 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: player
Cons: player
Invert mini is really good
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
Add New Review