Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Super Light Gun (SLG) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
This is Protos entry level marker. SLG stands for Super Light Gun.
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2007
 MSRP: $199.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
 Reviews: 66
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  53%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Super Light Gun (SLG) Reviews
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) SN toters Proto SLG Review At first glance the low cost electro market is flooded with high end wannabes. The SLG is not one of them. I was in the market for a backup to my AGD E-Tac One and sleek...
Report this review to a moderator   #3068
SN toter
yeah...I had a Super Nova
SN toter's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
SN toter is a founding member
SN toter has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.99
Pros: Light, efficient, cost
Cons: polymer trigger and stock feedneck
SN toters Proto SLG Review

At first glance the low cost electro market is flooded with high end wannabes. The SLG is not one of them. I was in the market for a backup to my AGD E-Tac One and sleek lines and cost of the SLG got my attention. I placed my order and 3 days later Fedex delivered.

I was impressed before I even saw the marker. Once I opened the shipping box I pulled out a beautifully packaged and incredibly small box. I really couldn't believe that it housed a paintball marker it was so small. Said box was very well designed with trendy graphics and a slick finish. I have never seen such nice packaging for a paintball marker.

Upon opening the work of art, I was greeted by the SLG itself, sitting snugly in molded foam. I removed the marker and found another layer of foam below hiding the user manual, Dye slick lube, barrel sock, Proto battery, warranty card, an allen key set, and a full parts kit with a complete set of orings and new spring detents. I read through the user manual and was impressed with it as well, it was just as well designed as the packaging box with color diagrams on glossy paper.

Onto the marker itself. I chose dust olive for the color of my SLG and to be honest, it's more of a bronze. The finish of the body is excellent and there are no visible mill or tool marks under the anodizing. I can see why they call this the 'Super Light Gun'. I expected it to be light but not that light. Very impressive. The gripframe is a high test polymer that has a nice fit and finish, it does not have that 'cheap' feel like some composites that other companies use. I was also pleasantly suprised to find the marker wasn't shipped from the factory dry, it was already lubed and the internal aluminum parts were finished with no alumninum burrs or shavings that you can find in some lower cost new-in-box markers.

After installing the 9volt barrery I applied the included barrel sock, aired the marker up, and turned it on. I was impressed with how well balanced the SLG is with an HPA tank and a full hopper. It is very maneuverable and comfortable. I went through several pods of paint to begin breaking in the reg before my day of play. The marker has a very slight amount of kick and cycles very smoothly. One of the first things I noticed was that as it is a sear-tripper(the electronic solenoid trips a mechanical sear, much like an E-mag) the solenoid clicking is considerably louder than a solenoid in a fully electro-pnuematic marker. With paint, however, this marker is not unusually loud, in fact with an after market barrel that has more porting than the stock barrel, the SLG was quite quiet.

The stock trigger is made of polymer and is a little stiff for me stock but is very easily adjustable. There are two set screws to adjust the travel of the trigger itself and a trigger sensitivity adjustment that can be made through the circuit board. In a few minutes I had the trigger right where I wanted it. The feedneck is not a clamping feedneck. It uses inset orings to pressure fit hoppers on. While this is better than a lot of stock feednecks, I would recommend upgrading to a clamping feedneck and an aluminum roller bearing trigger, any matrix feedneck will work and there are several after market SLG triggers on the market.

The stock board is more than capable. It is very easy to program and the manual takes you step by step through the process. You can adjust the firing modes, balls per second, and trigger sensitivity. The LED and buttons on the back of the gripframe, along with the trigger, make programming and operating the electronics a breeze. Other stock options include a Dye Hyper 3 reg that is incredibly consistant and comfortable, and a very nice rail based air source adapter(ASA) with macroline hose and fittings.

In play with matched paint this marker is extremely consistent and efficient. Proto quotes this at 1500 shots from a 68ci 4500psi HPA tank and I don't think that's an exaggeration. I was very impressed with the efficiency. Out of the box at the chronograph I was getting +-3 fps. After shooting over a case of paint(2000 rounds per case) I chrono'd again(Proto advises that it takes about 2000 cycles to break in the Hyper 3 regulator) and was getting +-2fps. Impressive. They eyes were great and I had no double feeding, breaks, or jams shooting the SLG at various rates of fire and holding it at different angles.

All in all? The SLG performs great out of the box. A couple upgrades(roller trigger and clamping feedneck), and this is my ideal marker. It truly is high performance marker at a low cost. It is a comfortable, affordable, fast, sleek, and quality marker. Kudos Proto, you just gained a fan, can't wait for the UL frame!

***
It should be noted that the first run of the SLG marker had a couple reported bugs that Proto has since corrected. There were some reports that the SLG bolt was about one millimeter short leading to rollback and also reports of the spring detents wearing out. These issues were quickly addressed by the manufacturer and new SLG's do not have these problems. New instruction manuals also corrected the typos with an overlay of the correct firing modes for programming the board.

Ratings explanation:
4 stars for performace? Easily is a 5 with a clamping feed, better barrel, and better trigger, I absolutely love how this marker performs. If those options came stock I'd have given it a 5(and it would have a higher msrp)
4 stars for reliability? Thus far it has been exceptional, but it's a new marker and its an electro. Once I've taking it out 10+ times I'll update this accordingly when I can accurately guage this.
5 for value? Damn right. $200 for a marker that shoots as good as anything else out there?
4 for looks? I love the looks, an aluminum frame stock and I'd give this a 5, but with that would come a higher stock price tag.

http://www.mcarterbrown.com/gallery/.../DSCF00211.JPG
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.9/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) I'm a proud owner of an SLG for about 3 months now. My SLG is one of the very first to hit the market and for that reason I came across almost every issue ever reported on this marker. From short...
Report this review to a moderator   #1021
Tcheno
 
Tcheno's avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $230.00
Pros: Check Review
Cons: Check Review
I'm a proud owner of an SLG for about 3 months now.
My SLG is one of the very first to hit the market and for that reason I came across almost every issue ever reported on this marker.
From short bolt, to weak detents and weak macro fitting, (wrong reg shim setup has also been reported in some cases but mine was fine) I've been there and that helped me learned how to fix and troubleshoot my marker.

Bolt and detent issues have been solved by Dye so only a few SLGs out there should have these issues. In case you are presented with one other early batches, don't be alarmed. Dye has awesome CS so just contact them and they should get you up and running in no time. I did and my SLG has been just perfect ever since.


OK, now to a list and description on all the SLG issues reported to date and fixes:

Short Bolt
A usual syndrome is the marker will tend do stop shooting from time to time, usually happens when shooting ropes of paint to a target far a way.
This is caused by defect during the milling process of the tip of the bolt with has rendered the bolt about 1mm shorter then what it should be.
Since the bolt is shorten then the expected design, the ball rolls back, away from the eyes, in a way that the marker's eye don't read the ball in the chamber.
The only fix to date to this issue is to contact dye and ask for a replacement.

Weak Ball Detents
A usual syndrome of this issue is you tend to chop paint. You tend to chop more often as you use the marker and wear the rubber detents.
Rubber detents have proven to be too weak as the bolt wears them out quite easily.
Dye has addressed this issue by including new spring detens on the SLGs.
For those with first batch SLGs you can use Matrix spring detents or get Killa Magnetic Spring Detents.

Weak ASA Macro fitting
Usually hat happens is that the macroline just bursts out of the ASA fitting when you attach your air tank.
Some have reported this issue, in my opinion this is due to bad planing on part of Dye since the stock macro fitting for the ASA is really lame.
Simple fix, just get to you Proshop or local hardware shop and get a decent macro fitting.

Hyper 3 Shim setup
Usual syndrome is high drop-off.
Shim stack has been wrongly setup inside your reg.
Only a few cases have been reported. But its an easy fix.
To fix this issue just open up your reg and setup the shim stack in the following manner:
])()()()()... (and so on)
^Large side of the reg's poppet

These are basically all the major issues reported by SLG users.



Now on to the the review it self:

A part of the above, the SLG is a really great marker for the money packed with high end performance and simple maintenance.

Once again, as you can see above, all reported issues are caused due some issue on the production or planing stage on the marker with means there are really not much of an issue with the more recent batches.

Maintenance is easy as pie, just get you Allen wrench, pull the bolt out back, lube the 3 bolt o-rings plus plunger o-ring, put it back in and your done.
Shoots as fast as other high ends (30bps are advertised but u can go up to 25).
Is actually very silent once you actually shoot it with paint, plus is you use a nice aftermarket barrel you'll be amazed on how quiet it is.
It's efficiency (1500 shots) and robust aluminium body is perfect for me as I play from Speedball to Rec/Scenario paintball.
With only 2.2 Lbs is one really light marker.

The only downsides I can find on the SLG are the ASA (would prefer an ON/Off), Feedneck (a clamping one would be in order although I use the stock one with my Vlocity Jr just by removing the top o-ring) and the stock trigger.

Concerning the trigger, you will find it a bit too hard to walk mostly due to the trigger spring but even this can be easily fixed if you don't wanna spend the extra buck on a new trigger.
Just take of the trigger and trigger spring and start cutting the trigger spring in quarter turn increments in order to lighten it to your liking.


Bottom-line, the SLG is really a great marker, light, fast, reliable and consistent.

I highly recommend it to everyone out there looking for a good price/quality/performance marker capable of withstanding the beat of recball, the endurance of scenario and the demand of speedball. And best of all, all that on a small and easy maintenance package.


Edit: 03-19-2008

Manual Typo
I forgot to mention that the early manuals have typos on how to configure the boards settings and the order of the firing modes.
Modes are:
1 Semi
2 PSP
3 Millennium
4 NXL

And to configure it you have to:
1 With gun off set both dip switches up
2 turn gun on
3 adjust setting to your liking
4 set dip switch 2 down
5 your set!
(lowering dip switch 1 will reset all settings to factory default)


EDIT: 04-14-2008

Full-Auto Issues
Besides the already reported "full-auto issues" like using whisper training barrels, dry-firing with a squeegee on the barrel and too high/low reg pressure, I came to find that by not screwing in the back cap properly (by hand), the full-auto issue tends to happen as you enter high high rates o fire or even as you single shot for the first time, so always use a tool to help you screw the back-cap properly.

O-Ring Wear/Leak down the barrel
Some have reported leaks down the barrel which are generally caused by wear on the plunger o-ring.

This is generally caused by wear/tear due lack of lube as this specific o-ring is "blown" by venting air every time you shoot and has to pass across the small bolt vent hole.
For those of you that have been getting this sort of issues and for those of you wanting to prevent this, I recommend that you apply a generous amount of lube on the bolt's Soft Rubber Cushion in order to enable the plunger to hit the cushion's lube and lube the o-ring every time you shoot.
This should enable you to reduce wear on this specific o-ring, reducing o-ring changes to a minimum and keep you SLG working hassle free.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) umm the gun feels great when you hold it, very compfortable. like i said the board is amazing stock for a $200 gun! better than any of the poop smart parts is rollin out these days... umm i would...
Report this review to a moderator   #3858
egomaniac99999991111
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.95
Pros: the gun shoots great and comes with a great board!
Cons: plastic trigger, and thats kinda it.
umm the gun feels great when you hold it, very compfortable. like i said the board is amazing stock for a $200 gun! better than any of the poop smart parts is rollin out these days... umm i would upgrade the trigger but if you don't have the money for a new trigger just take the trigger spring out and it should feel alot better. umm over all it's a really solid gun for the price and i have a great time out at the field with it... thanks for reading, laterz.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) This review will mainly be comparing it to two guns-an Ion and a Mini, since those are it's two closest competitors. I don't have a PMR to compare it too, but that is also a decent option in the...
Report this review to a moderator   #2651
pizzaluvr
 
pizzaluvr's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Arkansas
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: Small, Light, Fast, Reliable, did I mention small?
Cons: Sorta loud, crappy stock feedneck and trigger
This review will mainly be comparing it to two guns-an Ion and a Mini, since those are it's two closest competitors. I don't have a PMR to compare it too, but that is also a decent option in the <$350 price range.

Fit - Size


This thing is small. About the same size as the mini, with about 1 1/2" extra on the back, behind the grip. It is a lot less tall than an Ion, with a similar length overall. The Ion grip sits a little farther back than the PMR, resulting in a longer overall gun. The stock barrel is only 11", so keep that in mind with the pictures.


This gun looks pretty nice. The milling is excellent, and the dust black anno is really sharp. The silver looks pretty cool too. Only bad thing is that the Proto/Dye style milling looks weird on a single-tubed marker as opposed to a double tubed marker.


As the target audience for this gun is the beginner, it is very easy to maintain. It also doesn't have any pneumatics, so that removes more than half of the o-rings to lube. All you have to do is pop out the back cap to re-lube the o-rings before every game and your set. It even comes with another set of o-rings and a little tube of Dye lube, and a full set of hex keys.

This thing performs very well. The only negatives to it are it's loudness, but I've only tested it with the stock barrel. You should probably get a new barrel for this, because as it is stock, it's not very good. The trigger also needs some adjusting. I found it best when I just took out the trigger spring. The stock feedneck is also not adjustable, so you may want to buy a new Matrix feedneck for it.

Value Per Dollar

At the low price of $250, this thing has a very good value. It is $50 more than an Ion, and about $50 cheaper than a Mini or PMR. Although, If I was looking for a nice electro, I would go for a Mini or a PMR. They have a lot better performance for the $50.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.9/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) this gun for the price is a great value ( for the price)... it ramps like no other but it is a spool valve.(lube suckers). but it has a GREAT board for the price . BLOWS THE ION OUT OF THE WATER!!!!
Report this review to a moderator   #3877
thor94
 
thor94's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: hales corners WI
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $220.00
Pros: light, cheap,good brand
Cons: stock trigger.........
this gun for the price is a great value ( for the price)... it ramps like no other but it is a spool valve.(lube suckers). but it has a GREAT board for the price . BLOWS THE ION OUT OF THE WATER!!!!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) Pros Very light- If im not mistaken, it weighs in at 2.2 pounds. Looks- In my opinion, it has nice milling and has a nice sleek body. Easy to maintain- No screws required to take the bolt out. ...
Report this review to a moderator   #330
coolicarboy
Dont take my avatar!
coolicarboy's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
coolicarboy plays in the PSP
coolicarboy owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
coolicarboy is for the Gunfight
coolicarboy posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: See below
Cons: See below
Pros

Very light- If im not mistaken, it weighs in at 2.2 pounds.

Looks- In my opinion, it has nice milling and has a nice sleek body.

Easy to maintain- No screws required to take the bolt out. You just get an allen key, and unscrew the backcap, and your bolt is out.

Not alot of kick- Beleive me. When I first got this gun, I was expecting it to kick like a horse. To my very suprise, it hardly has any kick. I put my finger under the barrel and shot. Suprisingly, the barrel did not lift up from my finger.

Sound signature- Again, I was very suprised. When I shot it with the stock barrel, it was VERY loud. BUT, when I put my Stiffi on it, it was very quiet and sounded very nice.

Button- The button in the back of the SLG, helps alot. It clears jams, and makes it so that you cant take out the bolt when there is still air in the gun. It also makes it look kind of cool.

Fast- The SLG board is capped at 30, but the gun can go about 23. Thats still pretty fast.

Trigger- Call me crazy, but the trigger feels very nice once you put a different spring in there. I got the spring from my Invert Mini detent cap, and put it in the SLG, and the trigger pull is great now.

Cons:

Feedneck- A new feedneck is a MUST! The feedneck on the SLG doesnt have a clamp, making it very difficult to have a loader fit nice.

Trigger, again.- I know I put this as a pro, but when the stock spring is in the gun, the trigger pull is as hard as rock. Though, like I said above, you can fix that by either replacing the trigger spring, removing the spring completley, or just replacing the trigger.

Barrel- Like most stock barrels, it isnt very nice. Its light, but loud.

Low on air effect- When you get low on air, and you try to walk, there isnt enough air to return the bolt, so it starts cycling by itself, and then it leaks.

Short bolt- Some of the SLGs (Including mine) have a short bolt, which causes rollback.


Conclusion

In conclusion, the SLG is a great marker. It shoots ALOT nicer then I expected. I was expecting a Spyder with a Proto bolt, but boy, was I wrong. I dont actually think it deserves to be called a "low end marker". I think more of a mid end. I highly reccomend getting it, and know you wont be dissapointed..
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) The first thing that catches the eye about the Proto SLG is the price. Hands down it's the best stock marker at $200. Destroys the ion out of box. Now on to the review... Looks: Very small and...
Report this review to a moderator   #3325
Bassistcg
 
Bassistcg's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.00
Pros: Price, size, weight, ease of use, efficient
Cons: Stock Frame, Feed neck, barrel, asa, stock trigger
The first thing that catches the eye about the Proto SLG is the price. Hands down it's the best stock marker at $200. Destroys the ion out of box. Now on to the review...

Looks:
Very small and simple styling. The plastic frame and trigger are definitely not the most attractive however they do work and hold up (much better than compared to the stock PMR frames). Very clean.

Design:
Interesting design with the combination of a spool valve and a sear. While the clicking of the sear is noticeably louder than other fully EP guns but while shooting with paint, no substantial sound difference can be heard (comparing to most poppet style guns). Sear has been solid and reliable thus far. One screw to remove the back cap and bolt. Very easy to clean and maintain. I love the new Hyper 3 reg due to it's smaller size and added grips. For those of you who stated it has major kick, you are right, when comparing it to a high end DM or PM; however, have you ever shot a real gun? Kick? Get over it. It's minuet at best.

Electronics:
Settings for most players needs. There is no adjustable dwell that I'm aware of. Anything over 15bps is trival. I'm not a fan of dipswitches however these are relatively easy to use. The virtue featherlight micro switch (25g) has thoroughly made the SLG faster and more responsive. No chops with eyes on or off.

Overall:
The SLG is small, tight and light. The feedneck, barrel and asa need to be replaced asap. The trigger spring has a pretty hard pull so cutting it is required however I recommend a rollerbearing trigger with magnets to get that smooth pull. The stock microswitch is fine as is, but i prefer very sensitive triggers. Proto claims 1500 shots off of a 68/45 and they aren't kidding. I got 1500 shots from my 68/45 and still had 1k left in the tank and that's before being broken in. The SLG does require more lubing but it's a small price to pay for what performance it has. It has been rumored that a UL frame is in the works for it and I'm sure I'll be picking that up when it is released. No chops and only a few barrel brakes due to poor sizing and white box paint. That being said, it did shoot ropes with year old paint

In my opinion, the SLG is amazing for it's price tag. And while yes, it is still a Sear Tripper, it most certainly can hold it's own on the field against the "high ends". I do not contend it is as good as a high end because... well, it's not but it is most definitely a marker that shouldn't be considered anywhere near the "low end" either.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) I just bought my slg about 3 months ago. I bought it online at action village.com. It didn't work out of the box. It would dry fire but it wouldnt do anything once you put air in it. I took it to...
Report this review to a moderator   #4187
dirtbeast937
 
dirtbeast937's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: pennsylvania
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.99
Pros: shoots good, very light
Cons: not very dependable
I just bought my slg about 3 months ago. I bought it online at action village.com. It didn't work out of the box. It would dry fire but it wouldnt do anything once you put air in it. I took it to my local paintball store (punishers paintball) and they got it to shoot for me. Then i played with it a couple of times and it always leeked out of the feedneck. I changed the o rings and everything still leeked. Today i took out my bolt to put lube on it and i finally discovered the problem from the begginning. I front rubber part of the bolt was snapped in half where it goes into the medal part of the bolt. it always stayed on before so i never noticed it but it fell off today. I dont know why my gun came with a broken bolt out of the box. But when the bolt was still staying together the gun shot perfect. I put about 10 cases through it at 13 balls per second psp and it only has broken on ball so far. It probably only broke because of packing it into the pod. But other than the bolt problem the gun is great. I havnt heard of any of the other guns having a broken bolt other than the short bolt so i was probably just the lucky person to get the ****ed up one. So i would definatelly buy this gun. But if you can afford the extra 75 dollars just get the proto matrix rail. I think either gun smokes the empire mini or the sp ion or epiphany. Thats pretty much it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.6/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) I got the SLG and had a problem with the bolt not being lubed well enough... i fixed that but i have weak detents.. so ill get some more Great gun once you get past the problems... I love it and...
Report this review to a moderator   #4042
SuperLightGun
SLG's FTW
SuperLightGun's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $199.95
Pros: light, spooler, small asa
Cons: Stock barrel, stock feedneck
I got the SLG and had a problem with the bolt not being lubed well enough... i fixed that but i have weak detents.. so ill get some more


Great gun once you get past the problems...
I love it and would take it over a shocker hah
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Super Light Gun (SLG) PROS: dont be fooled by its "low end" internal design, this gun is quick! im pretty much a gun whore and this gun has kept up with the best of them (iv shot egos, dms, shockers, borgs, timmys...
Report this review to a moderator   #280
JPZWMP46
very nice, how much?
JPZWMP46's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: noobsvile
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: fast, reliability
Cons: loud, stock fetures
PROS:

dont be fooled by its "low end" internal design, this gun is quick! im pretty much a gun whore and this gun has kept up with the best of them (iv shot egos, dms, shockers, borgs, timmys ect.)

its very reliable and easy to work on. hardly anything to the gun very simple so theres no problem working on ur gun mid way through a practice day

CONS:

omg this gun is loud.... like spyder loud..

stock features kinda suck (plastic trigger, asa rather than on/off, non clamping feedneck) but its a cheep upgrade.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Add New Review