Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
This is a spin-off from the traditional Proto Matrix series by Dye Precision. It is a Dye/Proto's mid end marker, and offers features usually found on more expensive models at an affordable price.
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2006
 MSRP: $249.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.0/5 stars.
 Reviews: 89
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  19%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  69%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Reviews
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) ok, the pmr is a great gun that shoot when you want it to but it also has some things that are bad. the PMR needs the following things to be its best. new trigger. new feedneck. new board. better...
Report this review to a moderator   #6343
paintfreak52
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $230.00
Pros: almost everything
Cons: needs to be upgraded: see bellow
ok, the pmr is a great gun that shoot when you want it to but it also has some things that are bad. the PMR needs the following things to be its best.
new trigger.
new feedneck.
new board.
better bolt(if you can afford it)
LED
bolt cap.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) This gun is amazing. It shoots pretty fast and is quite lightweight. You will have to replace the blowback bolt though because it comes plastic and easily gets stripped. The stock trigger was also a...
Report this review to a moderator   #4705
paintfreak93
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: mechanicsburg PA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $275.00
Pros: lightweight, fast shooting, small, accurate
Cons: stock trigger
This gun is amazing. It shoots pretty fast and is quite lightweight. You will have to replace the blowback bolt though because it comes plastic and easily gets stripped. The stock trigger was also a down side because at our field you must use semi, and the trigger was not made for that obviously...so you will have to fix that. It is very light weight. The barrel on it was actully accurate, i wasn't expecting that out of it when i opened the box. I would reccomend this gun to you if you want a good gun that is relitivly cheap.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) its a good affordable gun and ive never had a problem with mine
Report this review to a moderator   #4501
Payton 2011
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Payton 2011 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: its fast feels good not real heavy
Cons: some of the o rings r hard to get in 2 place
its a good affordable gun and ive never had a problem with mine
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) I bought the PMR and it is a great gun. Before buying that gun, I had used an etha and I fell in love with that trigger. The PMR did not have a great trigger for walking but it is still a VERY good...
Report this review to a moderator   #34839
Pewis
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Long lasting
Cons: trigger :(
I bought the PMR and it is a great gun. Before buying that gun, I had used an etha and I fell in love with that trigger. The PMR did not have a great trigger for walking but it is still a VERY good gun especially for the price. I was wondering if any of you could recommend a easier to walk trigger for the PMR and put the link to it please thank you
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) First Impression: For the price, the PMR is a great shooting gun. Like any spool valve gun, it shoots very smooth and quiet. Because it has no LPR like the PM's or DM's, the gun is also very...
Report this review to a moderator   #8914
pina40607
 
pina40607's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern VA
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: quiet, very light, low profile, easy to clean
Cons: efficiency, orings, trigger, backcap
First Impression:
For the price, the PMR is a great shooting gun. Like any spool valve gun, it shoots very smooth and quiet. Because it has no LPR like the PM's or DM's, the gun is also very compact.

Upgrades:
Getting a new aluminum backcap to replace the composite one is a must. Over time the stock one will strip and cause problems, but this is only a $10-20 fix, so no biggie.

Pros:
-Smooth shot with minimal kick
-Sound. I really like the 'shoo shoo' sound of a spoolie more than the 'pop pop' sound of an ego. Its personal preference.
-Comes stock with a Hyper2 regulator (same as on the most expensive guns at the time)
-Price. These can be found used now in the ~$200 range depending on upgrades.
-Easy maintenance. At the end of the day, just disassemble the bolt, wipe it clean and relube. Takes 2mins.

Cons:
-Efficiency. I only got about 700-800 shots off of a 68/45 compared to my intimidator which got around 1200.
-Trigger. It is a bit wobbly in the frame, and the spring needs a bit of adjustment. It's very hard to walk the trigger with the stock spring because it is quite stiff. I've tried removing it, but that ends up causing way too much bounce. I cut down a pen spring to my liking and it worked great.
-Fixing leaks. Because it is a spool gun, the oring seals are extremely important. Leaks happen sometimes and are simple fixes, but my only issue is the number of orings that need to be replaced. For example if one oring is damaged and you get a leak out the back, you are required to replace all the possible orings to fix it. It's quick to replace orings, but I went through a good number of them.

Conclusion:
Overall great gun for the price if you dont mind the side-to-side motion of the trigger and dont mind changing orings.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) The PMR is/was a great idea by Dye/Proto, an entry level tournament marker that could compete with their $1200+ tournament guns. Like many lower end/ entry level guns there is a slew of upgrades for...
Report this review to a moderator   #16703
pronking
2nd Chance Paintball
pronking's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: look i have a red one!
pronking is a Supporting Member
pronking has been a member for 10 years
pronking supports our troops
pronking is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
pronking is Boss
pronking is Immortal
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: light,fast, competitive
Cons: look cheap stock
The PMR is/was a great idea by Dye/Proto, an entry level tournament marker that could compete with their $1200+ tournament guns.

Like many lower end/ entry level guns there is a slew of upgrades for these things- the most recommended ones from me would be a locking feed neck and a metal trigger frame.

don't be intimidated by the DM15 and Ego12 or what have you, a well tuned pmr can hold its own in a gun fight!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) The pmr is a very solid begginers marker. For the price you are getting a low-mid range marker that will perform. the programable board fits every style of play, i have never chopped a ball or had a...
Report this review to a moderator   #40971
Repeat_movement
 
Repeat_movement's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Repeat_movement has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: reliable
Cons: maintainance
The pmr is a very solid begginers marker. For the price you are getting a low-mid range marker that will perform. the programable board fits every style of play, i have never chopped a ball or had a ball break in the marker.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) I bought this just for a hundred, the gun shot great, when it worked. Worth it if you can find one in good condition.
Report this review to a moderator   #42269
Riptide39
Compton
Riptide39's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincoln, Rhode Island
Riptide39 is playing at Living Legends VI
Riptide39 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Riptide39 has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Riptide39 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $100.00
Pros: smooth
Cons: not reliable
I bought this just for a hundred, the gun shot great, when it worked. Worth it if you can find one in good condition.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) I wanted a Dye Matrix but didn't want to spend that kind of money. I only play woodsball or rec indoor/outdoor fields, but I like the tournament style high end guns and their performance. So when I...
Report this review to a moderator   #9705
samuriwarrior40
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: High End Performance at a reasonable price
Cons: Can be high maintenance
I wanted a Dye Matrix but didn't want to spend that kind of money. I only play woodsball or rec indoor/outdoor fields, but I like the tournament style high end guns and their performance.

So when I heard Proto makes nice guns like Dye at a lower price. I had to check them out. Dye started Proto so their gun are top quality and have great technology and design behind them.

I was really impressed with Proto Guns and bought my first Proto SLG 09. Fall in love with it immediately. Beautiful looking gun that shots really fast and accurate. Its runs circles around the Smart Part Ions and they are the same price. Just a well made gun.

Well I wasn't satisfied. I was surfing on Ebay and ended buying two Proto Matrix Rail 2007. Just couldn't pass up a great price. $150 for this level of a gun was fantastic. Sold one to my friend and got him hooked on paintballing.

I bought two PMR 07. One was black with Tadao board, the other was red with a red CP ASA and it had the Ultralite frame. Both needed tuning, rebuilding (new o-rings), cleaning, and lubing (dye grease), but when it was all fixed it performed great. Both shot accurate (maybe 8" at 60') with .689 cp barrel and proto barrel. Both had smooth and quiet operation. I was impressed and grinning from ear to ear.

I will be playing with it for the first time this Saturday and I can't wait to see how well it will work. I plan on dominating a lot of people (mostly newbies at our field).

I love the spool valve design. They say its quiet and smooth and air efficient. I like the clean simple lines of the marker. I like the size and layout of the parts. The Ultralite frame is a big plus. Better trigger, easier to grip, and much cooler looking. Mine is metal. I hear the new ones (2011) are composite.

Both markers shot really fast 25 to 30 bps capable, not that I really need that. But fast burst are amazing. It does scare the beginners.

It does need some tinkering experience, more so because I bought it used.

Well, thanks for reading my ranting.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) I used to shoot an 09 pmr with hyper 3, metal backcap, clamping feedneck, tech-t bolt. I had to put those upgrades into it in order to get it up to speed on shooting performance. I started out with...
Report this review to a moderator   #35918
Srekal
 
Srekal's avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Germany
Srekal is BST Trusted
Srekal owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
Srekal supports Team VICIOUS
Srekal has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Srekal has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Srekal has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $260.00
Pros: good value
Cons: performance
I used to shoot an 09 pmr with hyper 3, metal backcap, clamping feedneck, tech-t bolt. I had to put those upgrades into it in order to get it up to speed on shooting performance. I started out with rec-ball , which the pmr is perfect for. It shoots consistent enough to play just for fun. I played a couple of tournaments with the upgraded pmr and it shot well. I would reccommend this marker to anyone looking at getting into some more consistent playing. good performance for the price, suggest upgrades.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review