Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
This is a spin-off from the traditional Proto Matrix series by Dye Precision. It is a Dye/Proto's mid end marker, and offers features usually found on more expensive models at an affordable price.
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2006
 MSRP: $249.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.0/5 stars.
 Reviews: 89
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  19%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  69%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Reviews
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) fantastic gun. not much maintenance. one moving piece, no strikers or springs. pull out the bolt, lube it and put it back in and your ready to play again. fast, quiet and smooth for a "low end"...
Report this review to a moderator   #13322
jore13
 
jore13's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 01020
jore13 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
jore13 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $125.00
Pros: fast, easy to maintain
Cons: not a dm
fantastic gun. not much maintenance. one moving piece, no strikers or springs. pull out the bolt, lube it and put it back in and your ready to play again. fast, quiet and smooth for a "low end" gun.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) When i bought this gun it was 270 dollars and it came with an eggy hopper a chest pad a 48/3000 pure energy tank a pack pods and a mask
Report this review to a moderator   #7468
jss203
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $270.00
Pros: light good looking
Cons: not accurate
When i bought this gun it was 270 dollars and it came with an eggy hopper a chest pad a 48/3000 pure energy tank a pack pods and a mask
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) The pmr was my first electro gun. I loved it and ended up spending 300$ completely upgrading it. My only regret is that i traded it to a friend. It was the most reliable of all my electronic markers.
Report this review to a moderator   #17153
Kenny-p
 
Kenny-p's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Lubbock Tx
Kenny-p owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
Kenny-p owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Kenny-p has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
Kenny-p has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Affordable
Cons: none.
The pmr was my first electro gun. I loved it and ended up spending 300$ completely upgrading it. My only regret is that i traded it to a friend. It was the most reliable of all my electronic markers.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) I got lucky with my PMR and got a good deal on one that was already mostly upgraded. The stock bolt performed well and had medium amount of kick. With the TechT bolt it is much smoother and the UL...
Report this review to a moderator   #26476
kwik
Herbal Cultivar M.D.
kwik's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
kwik is a Supporting Member
kwik is playing at Living Legends VI
kwik is playing at Living Legends VII
kwik supports Team VICIOUS
kwik supports Pev's Paintball
kwik is Legendary
kwik supports Empire
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $135.00
Pros: small, fast easy to maintain
Cons: stock parts left something to be desired
I got lucky with my PMR and got a good deal on one that was already mostly upgraded. The stock bolt performed well and had medium amount of kick. With the TechT bolt it is much smoother and the UL frame for it is very comfortable, I never had the stock frame.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) love the gun! good bang for your buck. I recommend for new players. only problem is frame metal inserters are stripping so I am going to have to buy a dye ultralite frame
Report this review to a moderator   #5094
Lil' d
 
Lil' d's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: where ever paintball is
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: light, ,accurate, good stock stuff
Cons: frame
love the gun! good bang for your buck. I recommend for new players. only problem is frame metal inserters are stripping so I am going to have to buy a dye ultralite frame
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) I got a pmr with a ul frame as my first gun. It was pretty good to me, i bought it as part of a package for 300. I have had problems up the *** with it though. It may have been the previous owners...
Report this review to a moderator   #19237
martin028
Acta Non Verba
martin028's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ☆617☆
martin028 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
martin028 owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
martin028 plays in the APPA D4 division
martin028 supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: great entry gun
Cons: few things
I got a pmr with a ul frame as my first gun. It was pretty good to me, i bought it as part of a package for 300. I have had problems up the *** with it though. It may have been the previous owners fault but honestly its kind of annoying. For me, the elbow in the eye ribbon cable has a break in it so i need to put cardboard in between the grip and cable for the eyes to work. For a first gun id say its pretty good, but i wouldnt use it in a tournament.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) This gun all around is a good beginner marker for the price that I paid. It is acceptable in all categories. I had to do maintenance on this gun more than any other that I have owned.
Report this review to a moderator   #32412
mattbcollier94
 
mattbcollier94's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Lovelady, Texas
mattbcollier94 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
mattbcollier94 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Feels "grippy", Nice looking
Cons: Too much plastic
This gun all around is a good beginner marker for the price that I paid. It is acceptable in all categories. I had to do maintenance on this gun more than any other that I have owned.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) overall its a good performer for the price but upgrade barrel and trigger
Report this review to a moderator   #24767
MSpeedFreak03
beans, bullets, bandages
MSpeedFreak03's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: LasVegas
MSpeedFreak03 has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
MSpeedFreak03 has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: quiet, matinance
Cons: not air efficient, trigger
overall its a good performer for the price but upgrade barrel and trigger
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) ok i suck at spellin so ya,I got this gun off of one of my friends slightly used about a month ago. I used it a couple of rounds and found out it was horrible on air, it didnt bother me much cus we...
Report this review to a moderator   #4943
ok.p-baller
 
ok.p-baller's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $150.00
Pros: clean cut, light, fast
Cons: bad on air, lots of lube plastic parts
ok i suck at spellin so ya,I got this gun off of one of my friends slightly used about a month ago. I used it a couple of rounds and found out it was horrible on air, it didnt bother me much cus we have a big tank to refill when we need to. it lasted through a hopper and 4 pods with a lil left in it while using a 72 3000( i know its a big tank but it doesnt bother me). this is plenty for me as a front player cus i veary rarely carry more than that. the gun shoots super fast and accurate. with several realy nice modes something i dont like is how you change the modes, you have to take off the grips and thats a pain to me. another one of the few things about the pmr that i dont like is some of the plastic parts. its good that some of the parts are plastic so lightness but not the parts that get alot of ear and tear, like the back cap i always have to take it off to lube the bolt and it stripped one time. its no big deal i had to order a new one and i got a metal one this time so it probally wont happen again. it has good consisityover the crono with tha hyper2 reg it has an awesome feel to it. over all it is extremely light and fast and i highly recamend it to everyone before they go and get an ion and any other gun in its price range
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) setup: red pmr green macro line virtue board metal back cap dye matrix feed neck UL trigger J&J barrel kit Review
Report this review to a moderator   #6337
paintball1628
 
paintball1628's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: accurate
Cons: problems
setup:
red pmr
green macro line
virtue board
metal back cap
dye matrix feed neck
UL trigger
J&J barrel kit
Review

very good gun for the price, paid only 200 for mine with a virtue and a dxs 48/45 carbon fiber tank. this marker is one of the most accurate ones you will find. the speed is also very good.the one bad thing about the gun is that mine had a lot of leakage problems. highly recommended upgrade-metal back cap. it is good because the stock one strips easily then cant screw in all the way so it leaks. other then that it is a phenomenal marker
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review