Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
This is a spin-off from the traditional Proto Matrix series by Dye Precision. It is a Dye/Proto's mid end marker, and offers features usually found on more expensive models at an affordable price.
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2006
 MSRP: $249.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.0/5 stars.
 Reviews: 90
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  19%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  69%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Reviews
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Good gun, must buy ul frame. I think i may have jsut had a bad one. Mine constantly broke and struggled to keep up wiht my speed without fsdo or drop off.
Report this review to a moderator   #1244
cmosser502
Murkin' and Glitchin'
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Light, Value, kick, quiet
Cons: Composite parts, Realibility, slow,
Good gun, must buy ul frame. I think i may have jsut had a bad one. Mine constantly broke and struggled to keep up wiht my speed without fsdo or drop off.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Overall I love this gun, This is my first electronic marker and it has performed beyond my standards. It is pretty lightweight and compact. I am very pleased with it and I like the upgrades. I...
Report this review to a moderator   #3975
Crazymidget84
 
Crazymidget84's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: See Review
Cons: See Review
Overall I love this gun, This is my first electronic marker and it has performed beyond my standards. It is pretty lightweight and compact. I am very pleased with it and I like the upgrades. I bought a stock, brand new PMR and I like the upgrades. My feedneck snapped from when the allan wrench was screwing my hopper into place. But I replaced it and it is fine now. I also screwed in the back cap too tight and stripped it, so I bought the metal upgrade backcap and works nicely. I aslo bought a Special Edition frame which has a much nicer trigger and trigger guard. Which is much better. I would also like to get an on/off ASA. Otherwise this gun is greatI like the 12 inch one-piece barrel it came with. I would definetly recommend it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Beyond Satisfied... enough said.
Report this review to a moderator   #3977
EmoVillagePillage
Born Good
EmoVillagePillage's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Outside of Chicago
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $285.00
Pros: Upgradeable, awesom marker
Cons: no lpr
Beyond Satisfied...
enough said.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) First Day. i bought my pmr off someone on the nation for320, brand new in the box still sealed. when i first bought it in march of last year, i looked up the recomended upgrades. i immeadatly ordered...
Report this review to a moderator   #2886
FallenHero_08
KCCO
FallenHero_08's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Las Cruces NM
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $320.00
Pros: light, fast, looks great and loads of ups
Cons: people Think it sucks, but thats really a pro.
First Day. i bought my pmr off someone on the nation for320, brand new in the box still sealed. when i first bought it in march of last year, i looked up the recomended upgrades. i immeadatly ordered a new designes parts kit, and a halo v35 to replace my velocity so i didnt have to keep switching hoppers between guns. i filled it up and set it to psp 15 bps and ripped on a bunce of kids at planet extreme. i loved the feel of the gun, it was fairly accurate for a stock setup. i then put on the ndz parts and fell in love.

UPGRADES
Tech t L7. bought this fo 80$ and it is worth every penny
ul frame. one of the best ups on the gun
LE eyeplates. they look and fit great.
Tadao yakuza ul board. oled and easy to use
ndz backcap. looke great and dosent strip
Ndz slik trigger. amazing double roller and just slik.
ndz feedneck. looks good and i love the flip lever
redz pepperstik. shoots soooo straight.
bloodline asa. fits and look great.

Custom milling.
OK so about a month ago i officially started to sand down my pmr to have it annoed. i didnt like the rail or the v cuts that were on the back of the gun and the one up front that was already in inside of the main v cut. i decided to make the gun look kinda like a PM7 with one long sweeping cut up the side. i finished up milling and sanded everything down. i decided to polish the whole gun to get some of the sanding lines out. i have decided to not ano it for this season.

performance.
i have had so many guns. i had a 07 ego, etek, pm6, shocker nxt, and a 06 marq. i can honestly say this pmr will out shoot all. with th L7 bolt i can rip 35+ cps and not skip a beat. i am running it at 130 psi and dwell set at 16. i can run it at 28 bps and not chop a single one. the gun is so increadably easy to matain. i lube it after every day of play and i have only had one problem when i had the stock bolt in it. i did lose an eyeplate at cpx but it was my fault.

i would sugest anyone looking for a gun to buy one and make sure to get a new back cap.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) very lightweight and for a good price. it was pretty fast and compact. but i didnt find the plastic very attractive and the milling was just overall boring.
Report this review to a moderator   #4020
hummel33
white 08'
hummel33's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: corn is my neighbor
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: light, pretty fast, pretty accurate
Cons: plastic plastic plastic! and no on/off
very lightweight and for a good price. it was pretty fast and compact. but i didnt find the plastic very attractive and the milling was just overall boring.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Great gun go buy it! Review over
Report this review to a moderator   #3978
IGotAEpiphany
UNACTIVE
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Earth
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $225.00
Pros: Fast, Lite, Consistant
Cons: Stock Barrel Sucks
Great gun go buy it!

Review over
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) This review is based on my friend's PMR SE. He bought it brand new. Its a great marker. The milling is nice. The SE has all alloy parts, so no need to upgrade the plastic junk. The trigger is...
Report this review to a moderator   #579
KMAYER1221
rip dan donlon
KMAYER1221's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: philly
KMAYER1221 is a Paintball photographer
KMAYER1221 plays in the USPL
KMAYER1221 plays in the PSP
KMAYER1221 is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $275.00
Pros: Light, Cool milling, GREAT barrel
Cons: Stiff trigger. Tricky bolt assembly.
This review is based on my friend's PMR SE. He bought it brand new.

Its a great marker. The milling is nice. The SE has all alloy parts, so no need to upgrade the plastic junk. The trigger is extremely stiff (adjust it, and remove spring). I was however very impressed with the stock 2-piece barrel. The milling is just like the Ultralight. The feedneck is decent, no need to upgrade. The bolt can be a little tricky. It needs normal lubing, obviously. He runs his on HP. Better results with HP than LP.

Overall- I'd give it an 8-10. Its fast, affordable, appealing, and would take it over an Ion any day.

PLEASE REMEMBER THIS REVIEW WAS BASED ON THE PMR SE (SPECIAL EDITION).
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) this is a great gun for the price, mine came with a cp reg, cp rolling trigger, cp on off asa, and a locking feed-neck, i love this gun because it is simple, although in the beginning it had some...
Report this review to a moderator   #4055
pballer114
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: light, durable, easy to maintain
Cons: drop off issues in the beginning
this is a great gun for the price, mine came with a cp reg, cp rolling trigger, cp on off asa, and a locking feed-neck, i love this gun because it is simple, although in the beginning it had some drop off issues but i just had to break it in and now it works better than ever!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Luckily I waited to buy my PMR after the pricedrop. I played with it for the first time and was very impressed. It was more comfortable and better looking than my Ion. I don't have the UL frame on...
Report this review to a moderator   #3735
pbmike88
Wasted Generation
pbmike88's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Manchester, Connecicut
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Looks really good. Fast
Cons: Ton's of o-rings
Luckily I waited to buy my PMR after the pricedrop.

I played with it for the first time and was very impressed. It was more comfortable and better looking than my Ion. I don't have the UL frame on it yet, but it is on my list of future upgrades.

The only problem I had with it so far was a serious dropoff issue. I repeatedly tore the gun apart checking orings and everything and i couldn't solve the problem. I found two things that were happening.

1. The O ring in the top cap of the regulator was missing. I don't remember seeing one when I first took it apart but it could have been my mistake. It was causing a small leak coming from the front of the marker.

2. The front o ring on the bolt manifold would pop out of place and could be seen if you look down the feedneck of the marker. This was caused by too much pressure and would make a pop when the marker was gassed up. The regulator being too high was also my mistake because to get the reg off you could to turn it all the way into the open position, and it was left that way by accident.

The problems are fixed now and I learned that almost anything that goes wrong with a PMR is most likely because of an o ring somewhere.

Recommended Upgrades

1. No doubt getting a metal back cap will save you a ton of aggravation down the road with your pmr

2. on off asa

3. i would personally get a better bolt. pmrs arent known for efficiency and though i dont know for sure but it should improve it a little bit at least.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Once I got my Proto Rail The first thing I looked at was the trigger I love the feel of the grips and this gun is very easy to walk. The one thing that is kinda anoying is that it is hard to clean...
Report this review to a moderator   #3503
pbramper22
Awaiting Email Confirmation
pbramper22's avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portland Maine
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Trigger
Cons: Cleaning
Once I got my Proto Rail The first thing I looked at was the trigger I love the feel of the grips and this gun is very easy to walk. The one thing that is kinda anoying is that it is hard to clean your gun with out taking apart some parts it would be a little bit better if you didnt have to take it apart. I love the new eyes and anti chop sistem I like it a lot I barley chop balls. The barrel I have for it is very presice and if you are a new paintball player or you just want to have a gun with good preformance and you are a pro I would really recramend this gun
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review