Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
This is a spin-off from the traditional Proto Matrix series by Dye Precision. It is a Dye/Proto's mid end marker, and offers features usually found on more expensive models at an affordable price.
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2006
 MSRP: $249.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.0/5 stars.
 Reviews: 91
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  20%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  68%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  8%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  3%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Reviews
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) **Please do not give me a good rating because you like the product reviewed/my ratings on the review. Please do not give me a bad rating because you don't like the product reviewed/my ratings on the...
Report this review to a moderator   #827
bballryand316
Custom Projects are fun.
bballryand316's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Worcester, MA
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: See below.
Cons: See below.
**Please do not give me a good rating because you like the product reviewed/my ratings on the review. Please do not give me a bad rating because you don't like the product reviewed/my ratings on the review. Please read my review fully, whether it is good or bad, before passing judgment. This message will be put onto all of my reviews.**
__________________________________________________ _______________

Over the years, I've owned many guns. When the PMR was finally released, I was really wanting to try one out.

I found a used PMR for $350. I decided that I'd buy it.

First Impression:

Upon receiving my PMR, I noticed a few things: Lightweight, rubber frame, grips were very comfortable, and the gun was very small.

I had the original box and manual, so I *re-read the manual.* I believe this is essential when it comes to owning a new gun.

First time shooting:

I took my gun out and tested it out. I was greeted by a few leaks. I contacted the seller, and he said he'd send me an oring kit. That never got to me, but that's not relevant now.

I degassed the gun and went to the page in the manual regarding air leaks. At this point, I was kind of bummed out that the ASA was not an on/off type.

I took out the macro line and had to cut that to make it straight. I took out the bolt, lubed it up, and checked the orings. All of them were alright.

I went to retest it, and it no longer leaked (After I adjusted the macro line properly). I had it on Semi auto, and I was using a Pulse loader. The Pulse loader would not properly tighten into the feedneck. (I didn't like the rubber collar, so I later replaced it)

While shooting, I realized that the trigger was not very good. The gun was fairly loud and had some kick too it. It also 'exhausted' air from the back cap after every shot. Needless to say, it shot decent. Wasn't anything spectacular, but it was no pushover, either.

Upgrades:

Over the next few months, I added some upgrades to my PMR.

On.Off ASA - I added an on/off ASA as I did not like the stock airport. I really didn't like the built in rail and the screw inside the bottom of the frame, so I took it out and used a CP Direct Mount.
Feedneck color - I bought this because my stock feedneck collar was rubber, and didn't seem to tighten properly. With the metal/aluminum one I bought from NDZ, I no longer had this problem.
New Back cap - I had seen lots of people with stripped and leaking back caps here on PbNation. I bought this to be safe, and to replace another piece of the plastic.
Spring Detents - I bought these to replace the rubber 'nubs' that come stock on a PMR. They didn't really have a problem with paint, but they can get destroyed with reballs.
UL Frame - Anyone who's used a Dye/Proto gun knows that the harnesses (along with orings) are the most common problems. The UL frame eliminated the need for a battery harness. I lost the 'Hidden NXL Mode' from the stock board, but I believe the feel of the frame was worth it.

I also added some other small things; Laser Eyes, new trigger, Barrel kit.

Performance:

I'm going to try to keep this honest and straight forward;

During the months where I used one of my PMR's (I've owned several), I noticed the performance was not up to my expectations.

Coming from using a DM4, I was expecting the PMR to be as good/better, performance wise. It was louder, a little less efficient, had a different type of bolt, and lacked an LPR.

I suppose my expectations were that it was another high-end from Dye. This is not saying that it is a bad gun; it's just not as good as I had expected/hoped. I had a few small issues, which will be covered later on.

During this use, however, I can say that it was a fast gun, once I had a new trigger and RF chip in it. It was also very small and lightweight.

Pros and Cons:


Pros:
  • Good name/brand behind it.
  • Comes stock with the Hyper 2 regulator.
  • Light and compact.
  • Good solenoid; has been proven to shoot 30cps.
  • Good stock board. The board has a few different firing modes and is capped at 30bps.

There's a few other small things, such as:
  • No internal hoses.
  • Comes with a locking feedneck and asa. While they may not be high quality, they are at least there, stock.
  • Decent amount of aftermarket parts.
  • Milling and annodizing looks very clean.
  • Stock frame is lighter than the 'UltraLight' frame.
  • Comfy stock grips.


Cons:
  • Stock ASA is not an on/off
  • No LPR
  • Least efficient of all Dye/Proto Matrices.
  • It is a louder than other spool-valve guns.
  • Not a traditional Dye/Proto FUSE bolt.

Other small things:
  • Most aftermarket parts are cosmetic.
  • Stock trigger, even without the spring, is horrible.
  • Eye covers are weak; sometimes have trouble getting flush with the body.
  • Random leaks from the bolt/back cap.
  • ASA (connects regulator to the body/frame) sometimes gets stuck onto the regulator, making it hard to unscrew.
  • Frame and some parts are composite/covered in rubber.
  • Lots of bolt orings, which will need to be lubed regularly.

I may have forgotten something for Pros/Cons, but that shows most, if not all, of the main points. It was (hopefully) honest and straight forward.

Customer Service:


Dye is known to have some of the best Customer Service in the paintball industry.

My experience:

I had a problem in one of my PMR's. The gun wouldn't fire. The board was fine, the solenoid seemed fine in another PMR. Dwell and regulator were set properly. I could not figure it out, so I called Dye.

I described the problem and my attempts at a solution. The employee gave me instructions and an RMA number.

I mailed in the PMR. It arrived back about 11 days later. Considering shipping would be 6 or 7 days (3 each way; we're across the country from each other), that is a very quick turnaround time.

The gun was fixed.......But my Virtue laser eyes were replaced with stock eyes! I had just spent $35 on eyes, and then spent time installing them, and Dye just took them, put stock eyes in, and never mentioned it. I never did receive my laser eyes back.

I realize this may be their policy, but no one had told me in advance on here or on the phone when I called Dye.

Final Thought:

The PMR is a decent marker. While it was not what I had been hoping for, it still does the job.

My problem is that I was expecting another high end from Dye at an affordable price. The PMR is a low/mid end gun, and the price fits that.

This in no way is saying it's a bad gun, it's just saying it's not the absolute best gun.

Will it shoot 15bps? 20? Maybe 25? Yes. Will it perform well enough for tournaments? Yes.

Overall, the PMR is a fairly nice gun. It is an affordable, small, lightweight spool valve. It will do well against other guns in it's price range, and even some that are more expensive.
__________________________________________________ _________

This is my second review for PbNation, so hopefully it was done nicely. I tried to be as honest and straight-forward as I could be.

My ratings:

Appearance - 3/5. The PMR looks pretty nice. If it wasn't for the composite/plastic/rubber parts, stock frame, and the frame reaching to the vertical ASA, it'd have gotten a perfect 5. I wish I could have given it a 3.5, but I rounded this one down, and performance up.

Performance - 4/5. I wish I could have done 3.5/5, but it deserves more than a 3, so a 4 will have to do. It was nothing ground breaking, but it was decent, nonetheless.

Reliability - 3/5. The wiring in any Dye gun, as well as the bolt orings is enough to keep it from a 5. The PMR seemed a little less reliable than other Dye/Proto markers, usually with leaks. Can they be fixed? Yes. Should the occur so regularly? No.

Value - 4/5. I wouldn't want to pay another $350 and then $250 more in upgrades like I did a year ago. However, with it's new low retail price and used selling prices, it's a good gun for the money. I just sold my last one with upgrades for $110.

Thanks for reading. Any questions/comments feel free to PM me.

- Ryan
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Ive had this gun for a little over a year now and i love it. it is perfect for me. not too fancy not too crappy. great buy for the price. its fast and light and this gun looks good. i paid around 300...
Report this review to a moderator   #6104
aldrinovino
***Monkey Poo Is Legit***
aldrinovino's avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: CA
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: fast, light, sexy, quality for low price
Cons: a little kick, plastic frame, feedneck

Ive had this gun for a little over a year now and i love it. it is perfect for me. not too fancy not too crappy. great buy for the price. its fast and light and this gun looks good. i paid around 300 for this and it shoots beautifully. ive had a few upgrades such as a new cp on/off asa, cp rake trigger, cp 14" barrel, virtue lazer eyes, and a new back cap. i have yet to buy a dye UL frame and a new bolt. this gun works great with my setup which is the proto rail, an empire b2 hopper, and a draxxus 68/4500 psi tank. with this tank i get well over 1000 shots and ive never had one chopped ball. overall i am very happy with this gun and i really think that anyone would love it
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) The PMR is a gun I would deffinatley reccomend to a more begginer level and entry level market. It shoots pretty decent for what you pay. I did not like the feel of the plastics on the marker at all,...
Report this review to a moderator   #15739
tweeter4
Ascendant PB
tweeter4's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lancaster PA
tweeter4 posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $180.00
Pros: Light, cheap, basic design.
Cons: Plastic feels cheap
The PMR is a gun I would deffinatley reccomend to a more begginer level and entry level market. It shoots pretty decent for what you pay. I did not like the feel of the plastics on the marker at all, especially the feedneck, it seemed cheap and break prone in its design. The UL frame for this gun is a must get upgrade in my opinion as is a better barrel. Overall I would reccomend it to entry level players.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Setup Black PMR Ultralite Frame NDZ Backcap NDZ Feedneck Variety of Barrels (Freak, UL, Stiffi, etc.) 68/4500 HP Crossfire Tank Starting with the outside of the PMR, I wasnt amazed yet not...
Report this review to a moderator   #3157
OTEdge2
 
OTEdge2's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mission Viejo
OTEdge2 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Check Review
Cons: Check Review
Setup
Black PMR
Ultralite Frame
NDZ Backcap
NDZ Feedneck
Variety of Barrels (Freak, UL, Stiffi, etc.)
68/4500 HP Crossfire Tank


Starting with the outside of the PMR, I wasnt amazed yet not disappointed. All Dye Markers come in a square box with foam and other accessories inside, and the PMR was no different. They could have steped it up and put it in boxs like what Planet Eclipse packs there items in but this is a cheap marker and cant expect to much. So I open the box and there is a PMR, Small Bottle of Lube, Manual, Tools, O-Rings, a Battery, and a Barrel. Everything in it was the standard for Dye and most other companies. The looks on this gun are a little bland, there isnt to much going on with the milling. There is a line on the top of the gun, and a couple curves on other parts of it to, not a lot though, so it is pretty good but could be more.
Out of the box it had no milling or annodizing flaws that I could see, but there are a lot of upgrades that can be bought to make your gun look better such as new eye covers, backcaps, feednecks, regulator parts, etc. Or if those are enough then you can always get an annodizing, but that can start to get a little pricey.
As for the actual plastic parts, some are ok and some are not, and I will try to give you the break down on that. So for starters we have the plastic eye covers. Honestly, there is absolutly nothing wrong with these exept that they arnt a deep black to match the guns color, which isnt a big deal. You can get aftermarket eye covers which serve mostly just for cosmetics. Next would be the feedneck, which is a little so-so. The plastic "feedneck" is just a collar going around a true metal feedneck, but if over tightened the plastic will snap, so I recommend getting a new aluminum lever feedneck, just a lot more reliable, but if you are careful and dont tighten the plastic collar to much then it should work for a while. The backcap is one of the biggest problems, as it will stip and or crack easily. Mine had the problem of cracking, I was putting it back in and "SNAP", there goes the backcap, just broke right in two peices. Others have had the problem of it stripping which leads to major complications. A new aluminum backcap is a mandatory upgrade for this gun. Lastly, we have the frame and trigger. This can be a matter of opinion but most people find that the trigger is terrible, including myself. Even after trying to adjust it I couldnt get it to feel good so I just got a aftermarket one, and later on got the UL Frame. The stock frame is fine, pretty combfortable and durable. I will talk about the electronics placement later though which isnt so good.
The only gun I can compare the feel of shooting it with is my Ego's sadly. You would think a spool valve gun would be nice and smooth but this has plenty of kick and a slightly loud sound signature. Im assuming it is because of dropping the LPR, mixed with this boost technology stuff, causing more recoil. The sound is weird, it has a low tone to it but is pretty loud still, not as bad as the cracking of the Ego but still a lot worse than any other matrixs.
I dont belive there are any upgrades to decrease these exept maybe a new bolt which im not sure right of hand who makes them and I have never tryed them.
Despite it being loud and having kick, it shoots great. Accuracy is supream, with almost all aftermarket barrels. The stock barrel leaves a little to be wanted, as the Proto 1 Peice isnt exacly the best on the market, but it will do until you can buy another aftermarket barrel. The consistancy on this is nothing to brag about but works, after the regulator was broken in I was getting about 9+/- so it was working good enough.
Holding the gun itself is pretty nice, especially when you get the Ultralite Frame. It balances out pretty well and with all the stock parts it is very light, until you start throwing on aluminum things. The stock grips are normal sized and not ultra bulky like PM5-7 grips, yet are tacky and dont slip out of your hand. The stock trigger guard is also decent sized and works will for simple 2 finger walking, im not so sure about 3 fingers though.
Speed is no downside on this marker, as it shoots just as fast as any other guns out there. The board comprised of 4 different firing modes. It has Semi, PSP, Millenium and NXL (Not shown in manual). The board is the same thing as the PM7's board so you can expect a lot out of it, electronics wise. In the stock frame, here is a big problem that pisses most people off, and that would be how the board goes in. The have it going vertical ways, and it comes out easy, so replacing the batteries is a pain. Also when you take out the board, 95% of the time the buttons fall out and it is hard to get them back in along with putting the board in at the same time, all of it is just a big hassle. Another problem inside the frame is that the wires, like most other matrixs, are very fragile. After taking battries out 5 times carefully, the battery wireing still broke, hence the main reasons why I got the UL Frame.
Air usage is a big problem with the PMR, probably the worst efficency that I have ever seen. I will get about a hopper and 3 pods off my 68/4500, and being I am a back player, I have to refill after every match. So back players beware, this thing is a air guzzling mother trucker.
Maintaining the gun isnt to much of a hassle, no where as easy as Ego's though. Bolt is acessed through the back, and has 3 parts. One of the O-Rings block the way to get the entire thing apart so a O-Ring Pick or a Dental Pick would be good to invest in. This thing requires a ton of lube, so be prepared to go through your stock bottle quick. You never want to skip out on lubing the bolt because you will regret it the next time you play. The Hyper2 is a little bit of a hassle to clean unless you have a strap-wrench, but thats for another review and a another time. Long as you take care of the gun it will treat you well, so keep up that maintainence.
Overall I think this is one of the best guns for the price, and with a few upgrades it can definitally compete among other high-end markers. Go get your PMR today!

Pros
Looks (Customizable, Simple Milling)
Plastic Parts (Very light)
Fast (Semi, PSP, Millenium, NXL)
Accurate (9+/- Consistancy)
Maintainence (Not to complicated)
Feel (Combfortable, Balances Out)
Value (Great gun for good price)


Cons
Plastic Parts (Some not reliable)
Maintainence (Lots of Lube needed)
Electronics (Board Placement, Wires)
Barrel (12" Proto One Peice)
ASA (No On/Off)
Shooting (Kicks and Kind of Loud)
Efficency (1 Hopper and 3 Pods)
Value (Terrible Resale)
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Okay guys, I ordered my Black Dust Proto Matrix Rail off a site for 350 as you see up there. I thought this would be a great beginner gun, and it was. Its a great gun for a beginner or for someone's...
Report this review to a moderator   #2583
paintballinguptexas
paintballinguptexas's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: F-Town, texas
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Accuracy, Price, Looks
Cons: Efficiancy, It's a Ptoto
Okay guys, I ordered my Black Dust Proto Matrix Rail off a site for 350 as you see up there. I thought this would be a great beginner gun, and it was. Its a great gun for a beginner or for someone's first electro. I ordered it with a UL frame so it will not be totally accurate. I did however change the settings on the UL frame to be exactly how it is on the stock board though.

First Impressions:
I took it out of the nicely packaged box and just stared at it for awhile. This was my first DYE/PROTO marker so i was amazed. The milling is great and it has 2 eye-pieces instead of the ugly 1-piece on the proto matrix 5-6.

Weight:
This marker is pretty light to me. It doesn't fall into the EGO category but its definitely no brick*cough*SHOCKER 4x4*cough*. its pretty easy to hold and shoulder.

Test Shots:
I took some test shots to see how it would fire. It was so quiet and easy to adjust since there is no LPR to mess with. I had some bad drop off issues but it was normal since it wasn't broken in yet. Hyper2 is very easy to adjust. Righty Tighty Lefty Loosy. I think its right for the regulator.

Accuracy:
Magical, it has ball-on-ball accuracy for being a "LOW-end gun" as it is classified here. Stock barrel is fine but for 11 inches, dye could have at least put a 2-piece 12 incher on it.

Cleaning/Maintenance:
Very easy to do.
1.degas marker
2.take allen key and remove bolt by twisting ccw
3.take apart bolt and re-lube
4.put bolt back in
5.gas up
6.mow some faces

Conclusion:
Great gun to use. Good Project gun as there are tons of upgrades out there.
although efficiency may not be too good(6 pods and hopper off a 70/45 for me),its great. and for the new price of i think $250, almost anyone can afford it.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.7/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) Pros: Very good looking Extremely light Very upgradeable, and better yet, doesn't need upgrades to shoot great Cons: It is horrible on air. Trigger is very stiff (Take the spring out) The back cap...
Report this review to a moderator   #268
SpyderPB819
 
SpyderPB819's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte
SpyderPB819 donated to help Peyton Trent
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: see review
Cons: see review
Pros:
Very good looking
Extremely light
Very upgradeable, and better yet, doesn't need upgrades to shoot great

Cons:
It is horrible on air.
Trigger is very stiff (Take the spring out)
The back cap stripped.
The rubber came off of the frame.


First Impression
I got this Marker in January, hoping for something a little better than my Ion, because I had been having problems left and right. I got it at the proshop, took it home, and opened up the box. Holy god it's so light. It looks incredible. I open up the grips and mess around with settings... and I find that it is incredibly easy to change modes. Back on semi now, I record this video. It is pretty fast, although I really do not like the way the trigger felt. That is extremely easy to adjust though, took me a couple seconds to get a really nice pull. This video is the result of that new, lighter, adjusted trigger.

First Day out with it
I got a ton of kills of the break with this, it shot ropes! The barrel is dead-on accurate with a good bore match. I shot 3 bags out of it, but then... Leak. Easily fixed just a blown o-ring. Carried on to have a great rest of the day.

Conclusion
Get this marker. It is light, accurate, and doesn't need upgrades to compete. I did break the Battery harness recently, but that was an easy fix.

EDIT: 3/2/08

I have used this a couple times now, and am already having problems. I would first like to say, that the efficiency is... bad. It's awful. I have a 48ci, 3000 psi tank (High) and I only get a hopper and 2 1/2 pods. This is easily the worst gun on air I have ever used. GET A BIGGER TANK. DO NOT USE A 48/30 WITH THE RAIL

2nd, my backcap is now stripped. and O-ring broke towards the end of a game (and we lost because of it, I was the last man standing)... I take the thing apart, change the O-ring, and put it back in. I had some trouble getting the backcap in, so I run my finger over the threads. It got cross threaded and stripped BADLY.

the third thing that happened is the rubber on the back of the frame came off, and I had to superglue it back on.

I'm very disappointed in this markers Inability to be used by a back player 4 times. I've bump all my ratings down one star.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) First Impressions Well, I got My PMR brand new, and upon taking it out of the box, I was astounded. The milling is absolutely gorgeous, and you can say the same for the anno. Although the frame is...
Report this review to a moderator   #2156
bunker276
Think Outside the Box.
bunker276's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY - East Coast
bunker276 owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
bunker276 is an NCPA player
bunker276 supports Pev's Paintball
bunker276 plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $375.00
Pros: Very Lightweight
Cons: Prone to leaking - Inefficient
First Impressions
Well, I got My PMR brand new, and upon taking it out of the box, I was astounded. The milling is absolutely gorgeous, and you can say the same for the anno. Although the frame is plastic, its not easy to tell. The gun is extremely comfortable when shooting, and its probably one of the lightest guns I've owned to date (which means its lighter than an ion, pm7, 05 ego, pm6, SFT shocker, NXT shocker)

First Shooting Experience
When I aired it up, I got about a hopper out of it. It shot great for its price - very consistent, very quick. But then it began to leak from the bolt. I took the bolt out of it, checked the orings, lubed it up, and it was fine. But, this was an ongoing problem for the few months that I owned it, and it leaked repeatedly until I got sick of it. From what I've heard, a lot of other people have had leakage problems with the PMR as well (a teammate cost me a game using the same gun, PM me for the story )

Leaks out the Back Cap?

A lot of people complain about the "air/exhaust" from the back cap. Its indeed uncomfortable, but if you're wearing a mask, then its not a problem. For those who don't know, the PMR has "boost-technology" incorporated into the bolt system. It basically gives the bolt a second push every cycle, which enables faster fire rates. The extra air is then pushed out of the back-cap, causing the so called "leak from the back cap." ITS SUPPOSED TO BE THERE.

Upgrade Suggestions

Unfortunately for this gun, there are quite a few - I will order them from most to least important (be aware this is in my opinion). First off, I would invest in a new ASA. The stock one cant be turned on and off, and with a gun so prone to leaking, its a major pain to screw the tank in and out every time you want to test a fix. Secondly, (depending on how much care you put into your gun - the more you do, the more important this upgrade is) is a metal back cap. The stock plastic one is prone to stripping if you happen to insert and remove the bolt a lot. This is almost a given since protos/matrixes must be cared for very often. Next should be a trigger. There is no real "sweet spot" on the stock trigger, and its pretty awkward. Lastly, you're definately going to want a new barrel. The stock 11 inch barrel doesnt hug paint and is too short to offer a straight shot past about 50 feet.

What Did I like about it?

The technology. The PMR's board was easily tuneable, and it comes stock with Millenium, PSP ramping, NXL full auto, and semi. The gun is certainly capable of hitting about 26 bps consistently, which is a big plus. The stock board offers a range of adjustments from trigger sensitivity to ramp start. Its the best part of the gun.

NOTE: NXL full auto has been referred to as "the secret mode" because it is not listed in the manual. Its a fourth click of the trigger when changing modes.

Anyone planning on buying this gun, its VERY well worth the money, as long as it is properly maintained. Keep a close eye on the orings, because once it begins leaking, its a chain reaction.

Good luck!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) The PMR is a low/mid end gun. Proto/Dye made this as another lower end counterpart to their main series (dm5-8... PM5-8). It has sexy milling for a gun priced at about 300. The bolt needs normal...
Report this review to a moderator   #122
chillinspyder2
Rockin' Cocks
chillinspyder2's avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Sexy Milling, Shoots Great, decent stock board
Cons: Stock Plastic Parts
The PMR is a low/mid end gun. Proto/Dye made this as another lower end counterpart to their main series (dm5-8... PM5-8). It has sexy milling for a gun priced at about 300. The bolt needs normal lube, and upkeep can be a little tricky if you new to the proto/dye gun's. It comes with a stock 1 peice barrel, and unfortunately plastic frame/trigger/backcap/feedneck. This is probably the most disappointing part of the PMR, as it would cost proto just a little more to mill stock metal parts. But they decided to put in cheap flimsy plastic parts. A big let down compared to other guns in that range.

Fortunetly there are a few options for upgrading the frame. NDZ makes a pro-lite frame, and dye makes a UL frame. Both of which are a great upgrade on the stock plastic frame/trigger. The UL frame accepts DM triggers, just another plus. There are other aftermarket parts available for the feedneck, trigger, and back cap.


Except for the annoying plastic parts coming stock with the pmr, its a great gun, decently reliable, has good board options, and shoots fairly well out of the box.

7.5/10
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3.2/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) this gun is great for the price, however you may need to replace a few parts beacause there are to many plastic parts like feedneck,trigger and backcap if you buy this gun upgaded it helps alot...
Report this review to a moderator   #4019
a5v23
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: great gun for its price
Cons: way to many plastic parts
this gun is great for the price, however you may need to replace a few parts beacause there are to many plastic parts like feedneck,trigger and backcap if you buy this gun upgaded it helps alot upgade these parts feedneck,trigger,backcap,frame ( get a ul frame ),asa,barrel and eyes if you want overall the stock pmr is great for all levels! trust me i give this gun two thums up!
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix Rail (PMR) I recieved my Proto Matrix Rail from Paintballdiscounters.com, Tho the shipping took forever i was happy with there service... Anyway, i took the gun out and of coarse it was light, and compact. The...
Report this review to a moderator   #3401
Amart77
The Rippahh
Amart77's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CM NY
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: Cheap, Fast, Light
Cons: Plastics (mostly the backcap)
I recieved my Proto Matrix Rail from Paintballdiscounters.com, Tho the shipping took forever i was happy with there service... Anyway, i took the gun out and of coarse it was light, and compact. The stock trigger frame is a hard durable plastic, and the guns grips are comfy. stock barrel sucks but it will do until you upgrade. Unlike some others when i gassed my gun up there were no leaks or anything. *If u know how to dissassemble the bolt i recomend you do it if u are buying online. When i recieved my gun the back caps oring was off, and it was jammed inside the bolt assemble in between the reciever and the bolt.* i fixed this and didnt have to replace the back caps o ring. When i shot it, i was amazed about how fast it shot. the accuracy was decent but thats because it comes with a bad barrel. Overall the best mid end gun on the market, if u only want to spend around 300, consider getting the PMR, or the Invert Mini since it recieved good reviws as well overall GREAT GUN
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Add New Review