Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
Proto Matrix 2008 edition.
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $749.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 62
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) Reviews
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) This was a great lil gun, with the exception of needing a few upgrades, after a dm9/10 billy wing bolt-dm9 feedneck-and dm newer asa this marker is a dm9/10 and shoot well enough to prove it, loved...
Report this review to a moderator   #17595
galatijx
Don't Wipe, :P
galatijx's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Jersey
galatijx plays in the PSP
galatijx owns a Planet Eclipse CSL
galatijx owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
galatijx is Legendary
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: It was a dm9/10 in 07/08
Cons: upgrades needed
This was a great lil gun, with the exception of needing a few upgrades, after a dm9/10 billy wing bolt-dm9 feedneck-and dm newer asa this marker is a dm9/10 and shoot well enough to prove it, loved mine even though it was proto/dye
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) The pm8 is an amazing gun for the price. Its beautiful looking and it shoots great. I love it. The only problem for me is the maintenance requirements but its like that with any dm/pm so its fine
Report this review to a moderator   #52433
gt_usn
bang it to the curb
gt_usn's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: virginia
gt_usn owns a Planet Eclipse Geo
gt_usn has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
gt_usn has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
gt_usn has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: beautiful. great shooter.
Cons: high maintenance
The pm8 is an amazing gun for the price. Its beautiful looking and it shoots great. I love it. The only problem for me is the maintenance requirements but its like that with any dm/pm so its fine
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) I have had my PM for about a year now and I must say it rips. It cycles so smoothly that sometimes you can't tell your shooting. Maintenance is fairly easy and as long as you regularly clean it...
Report this review to a moderator   #14063
hawk_graves
[SoCal Knights]
hawk_graves's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Indio, CA
hawk_graves owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
hawk_graves plays in the APPA beginner division
hawk_graves has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: Smooth, Smooth, Smooth
Cons: Air Effeciency
I have had my PM for about a year now and I must say it rips. It cycles so smoothly that sometimes you can't tell your shooting. Maintenance is fairly easy and as long as you regularly clean it and check the lube you won't have any problems.
As far as air effciency, well, lets just say it's not an ego. This gun thrives best when you are playing near a steady air supply. As long as you can air up often than prepare for the smoothest marker you have ever shot.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) Pros - Smooth - Light - Excellent Milling (Best looking Dye/Proto Marker) - Easy Maintenance - Ergonomics - UL Frame Cons - Eyepipe can crack if not careful
Report this review to a moderator   #44214
Inexist
Graphic Designer
Inexist's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NYC
Inexist is playing at Living Legends VII
Inexist owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Inexist supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: See Review
Cons: See Review
Pros
- Smooth
- Light
- Excellent Milling (Best looking Dye/Proto Marker)
- Easy Maintenance
- Ergonomics
- UL Frame

Cons
- Eyepipe can crack if not careful

Great shooting light, tight, fast, and reliable marker. Best marker ever made by Dye/Proto in my opinion. Cannot go wrong with these markers especially for the price they go by now. Essentially a DM8/DM9 with negligible and minimal differences. Only issue i'd complain about is eye pipes can easily crack if you aren't careful (screw in barrel too tight)

5/5
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) this was my fav gun if you get it set up just right it will shoot like a dm8
Report this review to a moderator   #24947
INPB812
INPB812's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The 812
INPB812 is playing at Living Legends V
INPB812 is for the Gunfight
INPB812 posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: nice gun for the cash
Cons: the trigger
this was my fav gun if you get it set up just right it will shoot like a dm8
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) I bought this PM8 a little while back, and it is super reliable and light for its age . . . definitely one of the best proto matrixes ever made.
Report this review to a moderator   #38039
Invidia
The Girl that Rips
Invidia's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Invidia owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Invidia owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Invidia has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Invidia supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $260.00
Pros: Reliable, Quiet, Light
Cons: Ribbon Eyes
I bought this PM8 a little while back, and it is super reliable and light for its age . . . definitely one of the best proto matrixes ever made.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) This is an amazing gun, will easily keep up with any $1000+ marker out there
Report this review to a moderator   #33026
jake21
Reppin' the 406
jake21's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bozeman, Montana
jake21 is a Supporting Member
jake21 has been a member for 10 years
jake21 supports Team VICIOUS
jake21 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Lighweight, comfortable
Cons: ribbon eyes
This is an amazing gun, will easily keep up with any $1000+ marker out there
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) had this gun for years, had many problems with it, but when it works it is the best gun on the planet, shoots so smooth and light, plus very comfy. you can get them really cheap too
Report this review to a moderator   #32081
madpber
 
madpber's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Newfoundland,Canada
madpber has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
madpber has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: comfy, shoots amazing
Cons: slightly unreliable
had this gun for years, had many problems with it, but when it works it is the best gun on the planet, shoots so smooth and light, plus very comfy. you can get them really cheap too
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8)
Report this review to a moderator   #35863
martix_agent
Not actually from ICD
martix_agent's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lafayette, Indiana
martix_agent has been a member for 10 years
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: looks sexy
Cons: issues with the eye pipe
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) Great shooting gun, won't let you down. You will enjoy using it and it's not expensive.
Report this review to a moderator   #22856
mini ben
 
mini ben's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
mini ben plays in the PSP
mini ben plays in the MiLP
mini ben donated to help Peyton Trent
mini ben plays in the APPA D3 division
mini ben is Legendary
mini ben is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: light
Cons: efficiency
Great shooting gun, won't let you down. You will enjoy using it and it's not expensive.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review