Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Proto Paintball
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: customerservice@protopaintball.com
Website: http://www.protopaintball.com
Proto Matrix 2008 edition.
 Manual: Download the manual for Proto Paintball Download
 Release Date: 2008
 MSRP: $749.95
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.6/5 stars.
 Reviews: 60
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  60%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  35%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  3%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  2%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  0%
 Link:
Proto Paintball - Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) Reviews
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) Pros - Smooth - Light - Excellent Milling (Best looking Dye/Proto Marker) - Easy Maintenance - Ergonomics - UL Frame Cons - Eyepipe can crack if not careful
Report this review to a moderator   #44214
Inexist
Graphic Designer
Inexist's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NYC
Inexist is playing at Living Legends VII
Inexist owns a Planet Eclipse Etek
Inexist supports Empire
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $200.00
Pros: See Review
Cons: See Review
Pros
- Smooth
- Light
- Excellent Milling (Best looking Dye/Proto Marker)
- Easy Maintenance
- Ergonomics
- UL Frame

Cons
- Eyepipe can crack if not careful

Great shooting light, tight, fast, and reliable marker. Best marker ever made by Dye/Proto in my opinion. Cannot go wrong with these markers especially for the price they go by now. Essentially a DM8/DM9 with negligible and minimal differences. Only issue i'd complain about is eye pipes can easily crack if you aren't careful (screw in barrel too tight)

5/5
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) this was my fav gun if you get it set up just right it will shoot like a dm8
Report this review to a moderator   #24947
INPB812
INPB812's avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The 812
INPB812 is playing at Living Legends V
INPB812 is for the Gunfight
INPB812 posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $800.00
Pros: nice gun for the cash
Cons: the trigger
this was my fav gun if you get it set up just right it will shoot like a dm8
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) I bought this PM8 a little while back, and it is super reliable and light for its age . . . definitely one of the best proto matrixes ever made.
Report this review to a moderator   #38039
Invidia
The Girl that Rips
Invidia's avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Invidia owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Invidia owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Invidia has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Invidia supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $260.00
Pros: Reliable, Quiet, Light
Cons: Ribbon Eyes
I bought this PM8 a little while back, and it is super reliable and light for its age . . . definitely one of the best proto matrixes ever made.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) This is an amazing gun, will easily keep up with any $1000+ marker out there
Report this review to a moderator   #33026
jake21
Reppin' the 406
jake21's avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bozeman, Montana
jake21 is a Supporting Member
jake21 has been a member for 10 years
jake21 supports Team VICIOUS
jake21 has achieved Level 3 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Lighweight, comfortable
Cons: ribbon eyes
This is an amazing gun, will easily keep up with any $1000+ marker out there
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) had this gun for years, had many problems with it, but when it works it is the best gun on the planet, shoots so smooth and light, plus very comfy. you can get them really cheap too
Report this review to a moderator   #32081
madpber
 
madpber's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Newfoundland,Canada
madpber has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
madpber has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $350.00
Pros: comfy, shoots amazing
Cons: slightly unreliable
had this gun for years, had many problems with it, but when it works it is the best gun on the planet, shoots so smooth and light, plus very comfy. you can get them really cheap too
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8)
Report this review to a moderator   #35863
martix_agent
I'm out of creativity
martix_agent's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lafayette, Indiana
martix_agent is playing at Living Legends VIII
martix_agent is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $250.00
Pros: looks sexy
Cons: issues with the eye pipe
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) Great shooting gun, won't let you down. You will enjoy using it and it's not expensive.
Report this review to a moderator   #22856
mini ben
 
mini ben's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
mini ben plays in the PSP
mini ben plays in the MiLP
mini ben donated to help Peyton Trent
mini ben plays in the APPA D2 division
mini ben is Legendary
mini ben is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: light
Cons: efficiency
Great shooting gun, won't let you down. You will enjoy using it and it's not expensive.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) Loved my 07 SE PMR, just wish it was a little more efficient on air. The PM8 is everything I loved about my PMR but with 500 more shots per fill. Major fan of the dye and proto line.
Report this review to a moderator   #40013
moojr
Moo! Moo!
moojr's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jacksonville N.C.
moojr has achieved Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
moojr has perfected Level 1 in PbNation Pursuit
moojr has achieved Level 2 in PbNation Pursuit
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $300.00
Pros: Shots fast, Quiet, Light, Compact
Cons: More maintenance than poppits, lots of Orings
Loved my 07 SE PMR, just wish it was a little more efficient on air. The PM8 is everything I loved about my PMR but with 500 more shots per fill. Major fan of the dye and proto line.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) This is one of the best looking guns and shot just as good. Required a lot of lube constantly or wouldn't work. I'd buy one again in a heartbeat though.
Report this review to a moderator   #14060
mrpurplehawk
Whoops, my gun jammed.
mrpurplehawk's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sachse, Texas
Length of use: More than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $280.00
Pros: Shoots smooth, looks good
Cons: eats lube
This is one of the best looking guns and shot just as good. Required a lot of lube constantly or wouldn't work. I'd buy one again in a heartbeat though.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Proto Paintball Proto Matrix 8 (PM8) Not a bad gun. Shoots pretty good. Almost no kick. Accurate as heck. Very Very Very light! Good gun for the money
Report this review to a moderator   #8256
neuville21
Dirty Dirty
neuville21's avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Green Bay,WI
neuville21 helped look for balloons
neuville21 supports Team VICIOUS
neuville21 is for the Gunfight
neuville21 supports Sherwood Forest
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 3.3/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
Price paid: $400.00
Pros: Light, sexy, good board, nice barrel, fuse bolt
Cons: goes down every once and a while
Not a bad gun. Shoots pretty good. Almost no kick. Accurate as heck. Very Very Very light! Good gun for the money
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 0/5 stars.
Add New Review