Find fields & stores near you!
Find fields and stores
Zipcode
PbNation News
PbNation News
Community Focus
Community Focus

Add New Review
Dye Precision - Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel Information
Manufacturer Information Edit Product Description Edit
Dye Precision
10637 Scripps Summit Court
San Diego, CA 92131

Phone: (858) 536-5183
Fax: (858) 536-5191
Email: service@dyeprecison.com
Website: http://www.dyeprecision.com
Two Piece barrel.
 Manual: Submit a manual
 Release Date: Unknown
 MSRP: $89.99
 Average Rating:
  • Currently 4.7/5 stars.
 Reviews: 289
 Rating Summary:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
  71%
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
  27%
  • Currently 3/5 stars.
  1%
  • Currently 2/5 stars.
  0%
  • Currently 1/5 stars.
  1%
 Link:
Dye Precision - Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel Reviews
Dye Precision Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel I purchased two UL barrels back in 2005 to use on my Ion. I liked the sleek look of the barrel and it was my first two piece barrel. I used it for 2 years until I got my Stiffi. But, for a few...
Report this review to a moderator   #3775
lrYerfdog
Armageddon
lrYerfdog's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Timbucktwo
lrYerfdog owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
lrYerfdog is reppin' sidebar 4 life
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $70.00
Pros: Light, accurate, many colors
Cons: price
I purchased two UL barrels back in 2005 to use on my Ion. I liked the sleek look of the barrel and it was my first two piece barrel. I used it for 2 years until I got my Stiffi. But, for a few different reasons I chose to go with the UL on my Defiant 2 instead of a Stiffi. My brothers still use their to this day I cant really complain about these barrels "They're Grrrrrreat."

Look - This barrel looks really nice. I like the way it flows with smooth edges and nice transition from the back to the front. The great thing about this barrel is that you can customize it to fit almost any marker. There are so many different colors that you can mix and match fronts and backs to match your marker. I personally use a solid gloss black one on my ion and a gloss black/dust red tip on my D2. The ability to match your gun makes this barrel very appealing to those who like everything to match.

Durability - Overall the UL barrels that I have used have survived through some rough dives and other seemingly damaging play. When I first held the barrel I thought it couldn't be very strong, but it proved me wrong. The only thing that seems to happen is the anno wears off on the tip. I did have one incident that turned me off of the UL for a little while and led to my purchase of a Stiffi. I was playing in a tournament, after owning the barrel for 2 years, and the barrel threads stripped. I know I did not cross thread the barrel because I take special care putting the barrel together but, for some reason the barrel kept coming unscrewed during play. I was actually bunkering someone one game and the barrel tip fell off. I tried to catch it but I was already next to the guy so I let it fall and bunkered him with just the back. Inevitably I ended up being called out for leaving a non-disposable item more than 5 feet from myself. After this I attempted to use teflon tape to hold it together but the vibrations of the paintballs ripping through the barrel caused it to wiggle loose. I was going to glue it and make it a one piece but I was afraid that since the barrel was wobbly when I placed it in the back that when I glued it the bore would not be straight. So, I was frustrated that this happened to me in a crucial time and this led to my purchase of a new barrel for my Ion. But, when I decided it not logical to use a stiffi on my D2, the UL was my next choice. (A/C threads take a long time to unscrew so, since no battle swabs can be used in them you need to take the barrel off to use a rubber pull through. This is not logical in the middle of a game unless of course you would like to carry a long rubber straight shot squeegee onto the field with you.)

Performance - Well like most high end barrels this one was decently accurate. I shoot ball on ball all the time with this barrel. The link (provided below) to The Paintball Barrel Test shows that the Dye UL's accuracy is a little above average amongst the other high end barrels it was tested against. I rarely ever get a barrel break but when I did it was a quick swipe of my battle swab and it worked prefect once again. I don't believe that there is much difference between the accuracy/spread of any high end barrel on the market. They all seem to work great as long as the bore is very close or perfectly matched with the barrel, and all seem to shoot fairly poorly with a bad bore to ball match. The UL seemed to shoot a lot better than my Freak kit when over or under-bored. Different markers may require different length barrels to achieve the best accuracy. So, having the ability to change out the tip, which comes in sizes ranging from 12"-18", gives the player a quick way to change their barrel length. Finally, it is available in many different threads to fit all different markers.

Price - The price of the barrel itself is a bit expensive for me. It retails as around $100 and I think it is worth the price but I also feel that no barrel should exceed $75 unless it is a kit. Another downfall of the UL is that Dye only offers a single barrel option and no kit. There are many different bores to choose from raging from .684 -.695, so a kit can be made by buying a bunch of backs and one tip. The only problem with this is you will have to buy each back and the tip all at individual retail pricing. This means for a 5 piece kit it will cost around $175 and a 10 piece kit will cost $350. So getting the standard .688/.698 bore size and just using one barrel for all paint is the most cost effective way of rocking this 2-piece barrel. The 2-piece build of this barrel has two great features which include being able to buy half a barrel to change length or threads and not having to purchase a whole new barrel.

Miscellaneous - This barrel weighs a lot less than most of the barrels out on the market today but, all carbon fiber barrels are much less that the UL. The Paintball Barrel Test provides a lot of great information on the loudness and weight of many of the barrels out on the market. Depending on the chosen combination of length and bore size, the UL weighs in the range of 109-132 grams. There is not much difference between barrels when it comes to loudness, but the UL is in the middle of the pack (average).

I would recommend this barrel to anyone who is looking for exceptional quality, accuracy, easy cleaning, light weight, and customizability in their barrel. It comes in all sizes so it is great for any position on the field or any person's style of play. You can find answers to any of your questions or problems in the Barrel forum here on PbNation. If your question is not asked already there are plenty of experienced people in there that can help you figure it out.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel I use a boomstick front and ultralight back.I would say Dye makes the most accurate barrels on the market.
Report this review to a moderator   #39756
Codypbnation
Name's Ball,Paint Ball
Codypbnation's avatar
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Houston TX
Codypbnation is playing at Living Legends VII
Codypbnation owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
Codypbnation is attending Decay of Nations VII
Codypbnation supports DLX Technology
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $0.00
Pros: accurate light compatible with boomstick
Cons: no problems
I use a boomstick front and ultralight back.I would say Dye makes the most accurate barrels on the market.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel I am a Dye fan to the fullest. Their markers are great, and coupled with the market's best barrel makes them incredible. The Ultralite is light, accurate, and overall a great barrel. They can go with...
Report this review to a moderator   #16099
L8r_H8r
Timers are ready
L8r_H8r's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: *407*
L8r_H8r supports our troops
L8r_H8r supports DLX Technology
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Great sound profile, looks modest, shoots great
Cons: None of the actual barrel, but lack of kits.
I am a Dye fan to the fullest. Their markers are great, and coupled with the market's best barrel makes them incredible. The Ultralite is light, accurate, and overall a great barrel. They can go with any gun and still manage to not look unnatural on Dye guns. It's style and function are worth the penny (for used barrels). Dye needs to make a kit that is at the right price.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.3/5 stars.
Dye Precision Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel The dye ultralite barrel is a very good barrel. It is very light and has very good accuracy. I loved the one I had and if I needed to buy a barrel I would consider getting another ultralite.
Report this review to a moderator   #26150
Venemous Fire
 
Venemous Fire's avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CC, Texas
Venemous Fire is playing at Living Legends V
Venemous Fire owns a Planet Eclipse Ego
Venemous Fire supports Team VICIOUS
Venemous Fire has achieved Level 4 in PbNation Pursuit
Venemous Fire has achieved Level 5 in PbNation Pursuit
Venemous Fire is Legendary
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $75.00
Pros: shoots straight, light, looks good
Cons: none.
The dye ultralite barrel is a very good barrel. It is very light and has very good accuracy. I loved the one I had and if I needed to buy a barrel I would consider getting another ultralite.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Dye Precision Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel My favorite barrel of all time would have to be the Ultralight by Dye. There are several reasons for this, foremost among them is the sheer versatility of the system. Multiple tip lengths, bore...
Report this review to a moderator   #15281
DarkRipper
Elite
DarkRipper's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: VA
DarkRipper is a founding member
DarkRipper is BST Legit
DarkRipper donated to help Peyton Trent
DarkRipper owns a Planet Eclipse Lv1
DarkRipper is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $69.95
Pros: Looks, modular, multiple bores
Cons: Price
My favorite barrel of all time would have to be the Ultralight by Dye.

There are several reasons for this, foremost among them is the sheer versatility of the system. Multiple tip lengths, bore sizes, and the fact that you can get them for almost any modern marker also make the UL a great barrel.

The 'back' is a nice long control bore for your paintball, while you can adjust your game by having either a 10" (overall length when attached), 12", 14" (most common), 16", or a HUGE 18".

These are available in nearly every color under the sun and two camoflauge patterns from Dye.

The all aluminum Ultralight replaced the older stainless steel model (to much rejoicing) as well as the titanium model.

The only real downside to this barrel is the price. For a simple tube of milled and anodized aluminum, you pay dearly, particularly if you want new in packaging (usually a great idea, particularly for the back part).

I recommend these for all players, woods/scenario or speedball.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.2/5 stars.
Dye Precision Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel Ive always used DYE barrels because or their quality and DYE's customer support.
Report this review to a moderator   #19707
haynboy8223
Fear is only an illusion!
haynboy8223's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: On Your Side 40!
haynboy8223 has been a member for 10 years
haynboy8223 is one of the top 250 posters on PbNation
haynboy8223 is a top reviewer
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $89.99
Pros: Best barrels out there
Cons: none that I know of
Ive always used DYE barrels because or their quality and DYE's customer support.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4.1/5 stars.
Dye Precision Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel These are awesome and I highly recommend them to anyone. I honestly have nothing bad to say at all. There are different color combinations that work well with any gun and different back sizes for any...
Report this review to a moderator   #15791
Cory688
 
Cory688's avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Cory688 is a Supporting Member
Cory688 has been a member for 10 years
Cory688 plays in the APPA D4 division
Cory688 is one of the top 1000 posters on PbNation
Cory688 is Boss
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $40.00
Pros: Light, work great
Cons: None at all
These are awesome and I highly recommend them to anyone. I honestly have nothing bad to say at all. There are different color combinations that work well with any gun and different back sizes for any paint. Can't go wrong with these at all.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel Great barrel, classic look that goes with almost any gun. This is the standard barrel that I use most weekends unless I get some funky paint that requires a different bore. Great barrel as long as...
Report this review to a moderator   #15345
HoktFonix
TTU & VT PB Ex-President
HoktFonix's avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: McKinney, TX
HoktFonix has been a member for 10 years
HoktFonix plays in the PSP
HoktFonix supports our troops
HoktFonix is an NCPA player
HoktFonix is reppin' sidebar 4 life
HoktFonix is a top reviewer
HoktFonix is Boss
Length of use: Less than 6 months
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 4.8/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Price paid: $80.00
Pros: Classic Look, Reliable
Cons: Hard to get different bore sizes
Great barrel, classic look that goes with almost any gun. This is the standard barrel that I use most weekends unless I get some funky paint that requires a different bore. Great barrel as long as you have the right paint/bore size. If not you are hard pressed to find different bore sizes in this thing. They're available but not like bore sizes in other barrels
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel The ultralite is a must have in my gearbag. The barrel is ball on ball in every situation and one of my favorites to shoot. Although getting new backs to change bore size is slightly expensive to do,...
Report this review to a moderator   #12216
TheMike
I'm A Professional
TheMike's avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 330
TheMike plays in the APPA D5 division
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $60.00
Pros: Style
Cons: Price
The ultralite is a must have in my gearbag. The barrel is ball on ball in every situation and one of my favorites to shoot. Although getting new backs to change bore size is slightly expensive to do, the cost can be worth it. Plus, they come in a variety of colors.
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Dye Precision Ultralite 2-Piece Barrel The Dye UL barrel is one of the best barrels in paintball history. It is light and makes for a great accurate barrel
Report this review to a moderator   #14057
tweeter4
Ascendant PB
tweeter4's avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lancaster PA
tweeter4 posts videos on PbNation
Length of use: More than 1 year
Overall Rating:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Appearance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Performance:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Reliability:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Value:
  • Currently 5/5 stars.
Price paid: $45.00
Pros: Accurate. Light
Cons: very small bore sizes limited
The Dye UL barrel is one of the best barrels in paintball history. It is light and makes for a great accurate barrel
  This review has been rated:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.
Add New Review